Firmware update for Panasonic TH42PX8ESA - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-09-2013, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
megan-varna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I would appreciate if you could help me to find a firmware update for my old Panasonic TH42PX8ESA, as well as the way how to do that since it doesn't have SD card or USB slot.
The problem is that it doesn't show DVB-T picture, but only sound. I suppose it doesn't show the picture because its on MPEG4 and the current firmware is settled for MPEG2. So I hope there is a way to update the firmware to receive the MPEG4 signal.

Best regards,

Megan
megan-varna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-10-2013, 03:01 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
megan-varna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please, help! Don't leave just because my TV is an old version? We should not get tricked by business and to order a new TV, cause I don't have the knowledge in this field to update the firmware?!!!
megan-varna is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-10-2013, 03:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by megan-varna View Post

Hi guys,

I would appreciate if you could help me to find a firmware update for my old Panasonic TH42PX8ESA, as well as the way how to do that since it doesn't have SD card or USB slot.
The problem is that it doesn't show DVB-T picture, but only sound. I suppose it doesn't show the picture because its on MPEG4 and the current firmware is settled for MPEG2. So I hope there is a way to update the firmware to receive the MPEG4 signal.

Best regards,

Megan
What makes you think its capable of a firmware update? What makes you think theres an update to fix your specific problem? Have you looked at the Panasonic website where all the updates are posted?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-10-2013, 03:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 69
If your TV is not receiving a DVB-T signal any more it may be because of a change to the Freeview (or other free-to-air) standard.

On some TVs an update can be made via a PCMCIA card supplied by the manufacturer, however, that does require that the manufacturer has produced the card and is willing to loan or sell it to you.
megan-varna likes this.
tom669 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-11-2013, 05:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
megan-varna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't believe that this kind of smug attitude shall be helpful in this forum for an exchange of experience, ideas and support. If you can't think then this is not your place. Nothing is impossible - that makes me think the firmware can be changed/updated. Hope it helps enough.
megan-varna is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-11-2013, 05:24 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
megan-varna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom669 View Post

If your TV is not receiving a DVB-T signal any more it may be because of a change to the Freeview (or other free-to-air) standard.

On some TVs an update can be made via a PCMCIA card supplied by the manufacturer, however, that does require that the manufacturer has produced the card and is willing to loan or sell it to you.

Thank you for your response. I get the DVB-T signal and sound's working, but the video doesn't show. So perhaps the problem is in the different signal between MPEG2 and MPEG4.
megan-varna is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-11-2013, 05:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 820
I wasnt being smug. Its a rather strange inquiry so I was asking for more information in order so that I and others may be more helpful. I dont have time to do all your research for you and you didnt answer any of the questions so have a good day.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-12-2013, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Your best bet right now may be to purchase an external Freeview or Freesat box. Repair of the TV might not be worth it. It's inconvenient to have two remotes so you may be able to find a universal one which will do both the box and the TV.
tom669 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off