Pioneer KURO Experience 2008 Download - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 128 Old 05-15-2014, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post

I downloaded the file last night & used Firefox with the MEGA add-on. I have DSL which is not as fast as cable internet so I let it download overnight. The file is 14,256,898,048 bytes so I presume it's correct. Now I just have to find a way to play it since my PC's do not have Blu-ray drives.


you can use a virtual BR drive like Elby Cone drive, or you can use MediaPlayer Classic to play the file.

vega509 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 128 Old 05-15-2014, 04:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post

I downloaded the file last night & used Firefox with the MEGA add-on. I have DSL which is not as fast as cable internet so I let it download overnight. The file is 14,256,898,048 bytes so I presume it's correct. Now I just have to find a way to play it since my PC's do not have Blu-ray drives.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1473242/pioneer-kuro-experience-2008-download/30#post_23348441
sawfish is online now  
post #93 of 128 Old 05-15-2014, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post


you can use a virtual BR drive like Elby Cone drive, or you can use MediaPlayer Classic to play the file.

I tried MPC-HC & it didn't play at all. I figured perhaps I need to update MPC-HC which I did. Now it plays about 30 seconds & freezes. Clicking Play or Pause does nothing. But if I move the scrolling indicator a bit it starts up again. However it plays the same 30 seconds. No matter where I place the scrolling indicator I always get the same 30 seconds of video & then it freezes.

Is there some setting that needs to be changed?
Mike99 is online now  
post #94 of 128 Old 05-15-2014, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41

I saw that. I don't have WinRAR but am guessing that's not a problem to get.

However I also do not use XBMC. Will the .m2ts files play in VLC or MPC-HC or anything else?
Mike99 is online now  
post #95 of 128 Old 05-15-2014, 06:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post


I tried MPC-HC & it didn't play at all. I figured perhaps I need to update MPC-HC which I did. Now it plays about 30 seconds & freezes. Clicking Play or Pause does nothing. But if I move the scrolling indicator a bit it starts up again. However it plays the same 30 seconds. No matter where I place the scrolling indicator I always get the same 30 seconds of video & then it freezes.

Is there some setting that needs to be changed?


you may want to check the codecs you have installed, I'm using the K-Lite codec pack, it plays perfectly on my pc, and streams perfectly also. My pc is an Intel I7 3770 with 16gb ram.

vega509 is online now  
post #96 of 128 Old 05-15-2014, 07:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post

I saw that. I don't have WinRAR but am guessing that's not a problem to get.

Doesn't have to be WinRAR, just any program that can extract files from .iso files.

Quote:
However I also do not use XBMC. Will the .m2ts files play in VLC or MPC-HC or anything else?

They should play just about everywhere and do with VLC and PotPlayer. They even play off a thumb drive through my ST60's built-in media player, though the TV complains that the audio format isn't supported.
sawfish is online now  
post #97 of 128 Old 05-15-2014, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post


you may want to check the codecs you have installed, I'm using the K-Lite codec pack, it plays perfectly on my pc, and streams perfectly also. My pc is an Intel I7 3770 with 16gb ram.

So far I just tried playing it on my AMD quad core desktop.PC. I'll give it a try on the Intel G620 HTPC which happens to have MPC-HC on it but I never use it. I use WMC7 on the HTPC & don't have any separate codec packs installed on either PC as never needed any.
Mike99 is online now  
post #98 of 128 Old 05-16-2014, 05:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 388
It's MPEG-2 footage. Decoding it is trivial for any remotely recent PC.
Stereodude is online now  
post #99 of 128 Old 05-16-2014, 06:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Don't have a BD-R burner. Anyone willing to burn one to a disc for me? I'll gladly pay for the disc and shipping.

ISF Calibrator

Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320

Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #100 of 128 Old 05-16-2014, 08:28 AM
Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
dsskid my son made me want a few months ago I have an original one so I'd be glad to ship it to you just pay the shipping PM me your address
rcapprotti is online now  
post #101 of 128 Old 05-16-2014, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post

dsskid my son made me want a few months ago I have an original one so I'd be glad to ship it to you just pay the shipping PM me your address

Thanks,
You have PM.

ISF Calibrator

Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320

Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #102 of 128 Old 05-16-2014, 12:26 PM
Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Okay I got your address I'll send it out tomorrow
rcapprotti is online now  
post #103 of 128 Old 05-16-2014, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Thanks again.

ISF Calibrator

Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320

Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #104 of 128 Old 05-17-2014, 12:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post

It's MPEG-2 footage. Decoding it is trivial for any remotely recent PC.

Both of my PCs play MPEG-2 just fine. And .iso files also. But not this one.

I updated MPC-HC on the HTPC & it freezes just like my other PC. The Kuro .iso is the only Blu-ray .iso I've ever tried & it's obviously different than non-Bluray ones.

I haven't had time to extract the files yet but will do.
Mike99 is online now  
post #105 of 128 Old 05-17-2014, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post

I updated MPC-HC on the HTPC & it freezes just like my other PC. The Kuro .iso is the only Blu-ray .iso I've ever tried & it's obviously different than non-Bluray ones.
What version of MPC-HC are you using, and how are you trying to play the .iso?
Stereodude is online now  
post #106 of 128 Old 05-18-2014, 01:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post

What version of MPC-HC are you using, and how are you trying to play the .iso?


I did extract the .m2ts files from the .iso & they play just fine using MPC-HC 1.7.5, 64 bit on either PC. I just drag the .m2ts or the .iso file onto the the MPC-HC desktop icon in order to play it.

The .iso plays what appears to be the first 1minute 10 seconds of the 00002.m2ts file but in only 25 seconds & then freezes. IOW it plays fast then stops short.
Mike99 is online now  
post #107 of 128 Old 05-18-2014, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post

I just drag the .m2ts or the .iso file onto the the MPC-HC desktop icon in order to play it.

The .iso plays what appears to be the first 1minute 10 seconds of the 00002.m2ts file but in only 25 seconds & then freezes. IOW it plays fast then stops short.
I've never tried playing an .ISO file like that. I always mount it with Virtual CloneDrive. However, I tried your method of dragging and dropping the .ISO and basically observed the same behavior. It played fast and choppy and eventually stops.

Dragging the .m2ts or .mpls files from the folders on the disc, after mounting the .iso, works fine.
Stereodude is online now  
post #108 of 128 Old 05-18-2014, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 388
At the risk of having hoards of people chasing me with pitchforks and torches, I just want to say, that the video quality of this disc is not stellar. The content is good in terms of contrast, color and the like, but the MPEG-2 compression does it no favors (even at ~35Mbit/sec). There is some fine video noise in some of the scenes of the footage that didn't get along all that well with the compression.
Stereodude is online now  
post #109 of 128 Old 05-18-2014, 09:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post

At the risk of having hoards of people chasing me with pitchforks and torches, I just want to say, that the video quality of this disc is not stellar. The content is good in terms of contrast, color and the like, but the MPEG-2 compression does it no favors (even at ~35Mbit/sec). There is some fine video noise in some of the scenes of the footage that didn't get along all that well with the compression.

When I ripped the disc for uploading, I performed a 1 to 1 .iso rip so all this is inherent in the oroginal.
makaveddie81 is online now  
post #110 of 128 Old 05-19-2014, 03:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

When I ripped the disc for uploading, I performed a 1 to 1 .iso rip so all this is inherent in the oroginal.
I wasn't trying to suggest you altered the video quality. I was simply suggesting that it could have been mastered better with some light noise filtering before the MPEG-2 compression stage. Or, even better, been compressed with AVC / H.264.
Stereodude is online now  
post #111 of 128 Old 05-19-2014, 04:13 AM
Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
stereodude I have a question don't take this wrong If the quality of the video is not up to par then why have they used this particular video at the flat-panel shootout? I would imagine that they would want to use a Quality Blu-ray disc to do demonstrations on these high-end TVs. I guess it don't take it wrong just asking
rcapprotti is online now  
post #112 of 128 Old 05-19-2014, 04:20 AM
Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I have an original kuro blu-ray disc that I bought on eBay and I have one that i made and I can't tell the difference between the original kuro disc and the one that I made
rcapprotti is online now  
post #113 of 128 Old 05-19-2014, 04:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post

stereodude I have a question don't take this wrong If the quality of the video is not up to par then why have they used this particular video at the flat-panel shootout? I would imagine that they would want to use a Quality Blu-ray disc to do demonstrations on these high-end TVs. I guess it don't take it wrong just asking
It depends what you're trying to show. If you want to show off black level, contrast, or color there's nothing wrong with it. If you want to show off how clean and pristine a blu-ray can look there are some MPEG-2 compression artifacts that detract from the image quality in some of the scenes. They're most obvious in the diagonal panning of the flowers against the white background in the middle of Kuro Best II. They're also fairly visible in the close up shots of the model's face at the start of the same segment.
Stereodude is online now  
post #114 of 128 Old 05-19-2014, 06:45 AM
Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Ok i will take your word on that because you no a lot more about this stuff then I do .that way I ask they say the only dumb question is the is the one you don't ask.so thanks for the info and have a good one
rcapprotti is online now  
post #115 of 128 Old 05-19-2014, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post

It depends what you're trying to show. If you want to show off black level, contrast, or color there's nothing wrong with it. If you want to show off how clean and pristine a blu-ray can look there are some MPEG-2 compression artifacts that detract from the image quality in some of the scenes. They're most obvious in the diagonal panning of the flowers against the white background in the middle of Kuro Best II. They're also fairly visible in the close up shots of the model's face at the start of the same segment.

OK I see what you're saying. It's not as pristine as a reference blu-ray. I also see this on the red rose scene in Kuro Best II.
makaveddie81 is online now  
post #116 of 128 Old 05-19-2014, 10:46 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Would've been nice if they used a more robust codec (AVC or VC1) , but I have to say the imperfections don't stand out when your jaw is dropping to the floor with a display that faithfully reproduces the high contrast. biggrin.gif
vinnie97 is offline  
post #117 of 128 Old 05-21-2014, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post

Okay I got your address I'll send it out tomorrow

I received the disc today, and it works flawlessly. Thanks again, I really appreciate it.

ISF Calibrator

Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320

Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #118 of 128 Old 05-21-2014, 06:24 PM
Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Glad I could help and enjoy
rcapprotti is online now  
post #119 of 128 Old 05-26-2014, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Anybody have any extra copies? My computer is dated.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #120 of 128 Old 05-26-2014, 11:29 AM
Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I have a copy but it's not Blu ray
rcapprotti is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite Kuro Pro 1150hd 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off