AVS Forum banner
8K views 43 replies 20 participants last post by  tubetwister 
#1 ·
Hi, I'm fairly new to the world of plasma, started with an LG PA5500, and was plauged by "moving dots"( they move even on still images) all over the screen and odd artifacting, got rid of the LG and got a 60" ST60 and the dot problem is much much worse,

http://s42.photobucket.com/user/iceman0124/media/pana/20130519_205405.jpg.html

http://s42.photobucket.com/user/iceman0124/media/pana/20130519_205420.jpg.html

http://s42.photobucket.com/user/iceman0124/media/pana/20130519_205516.jpg.html

http://s42.photobucket.com/user/iceman0124/media/pana/20130519_205504.jpg.html

The above is from the Amazing Spiderman blue ray (it actually looks worse in person but this conveys the gist of the problem) , pretty much any dimly lit to dark scene you can see these dots moving around clearly from my normal viewing area wich is 11 feet away....just finished watching the latest episode of Hannibal and it looked terrible.....

Bottom line, in the world of plasma is this acceptable and par for the course? If not, should I try an exchange or opt for a repair attempt? On my Lg the dots werent near as visible from normal viewing distance byt still a distraction, also on the LG I had a small area about 1/4 inch around the screen that was devoid of these dots which I found odd, and what prompted me to try and get it fixed in the fist place.

Thanks!

See less See more
#27 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316  /t/1473522/panasonic-st60-is-this-normal#post_23347315

Since they are most likely not an authorized dealer does that mean Panasonic won't honor the warranty? I know with some companies you would be SOL when purchasing through non authorized dealers but not sure what Panasonic's take on it is.