Bricked LG 42pj350, lg mode 1.6.10 on firmware 3.32 - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 48 Old 06-24-2013, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
I meant of the picture I attached - connector1.jpg.
tom669 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 48 Old 06-25-2013, 01:04 AM
Member
 
ferrantr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't find connector I

I upload pictures...





















Tell me
ferrantr is offline  
post #33 of 48 Old 06-25-2013, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
I need one of this connector and the text near it.

http://i.imgur.com/UXk0FZ6.jpg
tom669 is offline  
post #34 of 48 Old 06-25-2013, 01:41 PM
Member
 
ferrantr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ferrantr is offline  
post #35 of 48 Old 06-25-2013, 04:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
OK, you need to unplug that connector from the main board end, so it's still connected to the main board.

Then you should take a 100 ohm (or up to 470 ohm) resistor and jumper between STBY and RL_ON. You need to do the same for STBY and M_ON.

Then, place a wire jumper across the EXT AUTO GEN.

Unplug the LVDS cable (between the control board and main board.)

Then plug the TV in, do you see test patterns?
tom669 is offline  
post #36 of 48 Old 06-26-2013, 12:10 PM
Member
 
ferrantr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I take this cable LVDS off the control board,



and TV tick tick like when you turn on, or off the TV, but does not start., now sounds like buuuuuuuuuufffff and see this, there is a light flashing, but look's like she's has a pattern, like the main board on the computers when you are initializing and someting is wrong (bee bee, etc)

I made a video and I upload to youtube... http://youtu.be/4hZvjKjSKNk

I'm sorry but I do not do the following points, I only made the first one,

OK, you need to unplug that connector from the main board end, so it's still connected to the main board.

Then you should take a 100 ohm (or up to 470 ohm) resistor and jumper between STBY and RL_ON. You need to do the same for STBY and M_ON.

Then, place a wire jumper across the EXT AUTO GEN.

Unplug the LVDS cable (between the control board and main board.)

Then plug the TV in, do you see test patterns?



Only the firts line,

What I do now?????


THANK YOU
ferrantr is offline  
post #37 of 48 Old 06-26-2013, 12:46 PM
Member
 
ferrantr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WE ARE DOING PROGRESS smile.gif

When I turn the power ON the TV

http://youtu.be/Zd87oLVkpY4

The screen goes on for a second or two, and turns off, but

the screen now is NOT fully dark, like before un plug the cable LVDS


I tried to reflash the firmware with a computer and the TERA TERM, but I can't pass the software to the TV

THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP
ferrantr is offline  
post #38 of 48 Old 06-26-2013, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
In the second video, did you put the wire across the EXT AUTO GEN?
tom669 is offline  
post #39 of 48 Old 06-26-2013, 02:33 PM
Member
 
ferrantr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, let's try....

I will tell you in a moment..
ferrantr is offline  
post #40 of 48 Old 06-26-2013, 02:59 PM
Member
 
ferrantr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, some test pattern apear...

I link the video

http://youtu.be/xgrvRc2JVVQ
ferrantr is offline  
post #41 of 48 Old 06-27-2013, 01:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrantr View Post

Yes, some test pattern apear...

I link the video

http://youtu.be/xgrvRc2JVVQ

In which case, replace the main board.
tom669 is offline  
post #42 of 48 Old 07-05-2013, 05:21 AM
Member
 
ferrantr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ferrantr is offline  
post #43 of 48 Old 07-05-2013, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Glad you fixed it. smile.gif
tom669 is offline  
post #44 of 48 Old 11-24-2013, 12:12 PM
Newbie
 
cvijanovic84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Today I solved bricked LG Plasma 42PJ350... My friend complained to me that he killed TV by patching with LGMOD 1.7 to get USB Video capability, with these Symptoms:

 

When Power cable is insterted, TV powers ON, screeng gets light and after few seconds turns of, but not completly, in dark room I saw it glows a little bit. Stand By LED not working, TV doesn't respond to remote controller. Thats what all people call as Bricked TV.

 

So I disassembled TV and I saw NAND Flash chip on mainboard and also a RS232 port, so I made a Null Modem serial Cable with this pinout

 

and Installed Tera Term software for Windows (I used Win7 X64 SP1) to connect to flash chip content and make some repairs.

 

I connected RS232 Cable to PC and to TV with TV Power Chord Unplugged.

 

After that, I started Tera Term Terminal, Choosen COM Port Connection (My was COM3, but your might be some other number)

and in Main Menu of Tera Term terminal find Setup option, in drop-down menu click "Serial Port..." and set values like this below:

 

Baud rate “115200”

 Data “8 bit”

 Parity“none”

 Stop “1 bit”

Flow control “none"

Transmit   delay “0 msec/char 0 msec/line”, and click “OK”

 

Next I step:

 

Pulled out Power Cable from TV and pressed number 1 Key on keyboard.

 

I pressed and hold number 1 key on my PC keyboard while I plugged in Power cable to TV.

After few seconds in the terminal window i got message below:

 

starting pid 227, tty '/dev/ttyS0': '/etc/init.d/rcS'

 

than released number 1 key. Dont get confused if you see a whole line of numbers 1, like this 11111111111111111111 in terminal window, thats because you hold 1 key. Ignore that and hit ENTER key on keyboard to activate terminal window...

 

 

Copy and paste in the terminal window next command:

 

rm -rf /mnt/lg/user/lgmod

 

and hit enter... this command will erase any pathches that bricked your firmware. After remove process is completed you will maybe get some errors in terminal window but don't bother with that...

Just type "reboot" command in terminal window to reboot TV, after the TV is rebooted check if the problem is solved.

 

This way you deleted any patches and LGMOD's you previously installed to get some features on your TV. 

 

Now your remote should be able to turn on TV and TV should work good.

 

This procedure will help if you didn't messed up flash partitions, If you only bricked TV by patching with LGMOD epk file.

 

I hope someone will get some help from my post.

 

Greetings from Bosnia.

cvijanovic84 is offline  
post #45 of 48 Old 06-11-2014, 05:39 AM
Newbie
 
godfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi, I have the same problem whereby the TV got sound but no picture. My TV screen does not glow in a dark room when I switched it on. What could be the likely problem?

godfinger is offline  
post #46 of 48 Old 06-11-2014, 06:21 AM
Newbie
 
cvijanovic84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Could be that your plasma screen is dead or some of the circuits that powers the plasma screen are broken, If you are able to hear the sound from TV Channels and not to see them, that is not the firmware problem. This post is about how to solve the bricked TV with the MOD installation in order to get Video Reproduction from USB Devices. Sorry, there is no much you can do about it except take it to the nearest LG service. 

 

Regards

cvijanovic84 is offline  
post #47 of 48 Old 06-11-2014, 09:27 PM
Newbie
 
godfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cvijanovic84 View Post
Could be that your plasma screen is dead or some of the circuits that powers the plasma screen are broken, If you are able to hear the sound from TV Channels and not to see them, that is not the firmware problem. This post is about how to solve the bricked TV with the MOD installation in order to get Video Reproduction from USB Devices. Sorry, there is no much you can do about it except take it to the nearest LG service. 
 
Regards
Hi, I do not want to involved the local LG service Crew as the charges that they quoted are out of this world. I was wondering could it be the Main Board issue? I really have the urge to replace the Main Board and then see if it works. Anyone can help further?? Thanks.
godfinger is offline  
post #48 of 48 Old 09-07-2014, 11:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Dear Friends,


I want to ask if it is possible to fix this LG PLASMA TV


Yesterday i tried with my friend to use the USB on the back of TV MODEL LG 50PQ10R but no option was there and the Service remote i used on my phone did not bring an option to enable EMF like all hacks online, so i decided to check for some firmware ugprade since it is 3.13 on it.


We got some firmware 3.49 online that seems to be for the same TV or the variant of it, when put on USB and plug to the tv, it detected and asked to start upgrade.. after finish the TV reboot and no longer start and showing standby steady light, screen off, and no response to remote.


I tried the U-BOOT method to get into the modem and flash the original flash i found online but no luck to get into boot, since the process asking to power the tv on and it is not responding to remote.




Anyone have any idea what could be before
zako is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 42pj350 42 Inch 720p Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off