TCP60ST60 issue with PS3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2013, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
booger8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: nowhere, TX
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First off, sorry if I posted this in the wrong place ...

I recently purchased a TCP60ST60 and hooked it up with an Onkyo TX-NR717 along with my PS3 slim and DirecTV HD DVR. For the past few weeks, everything has worked flawlessly. Today, my PS3 would not display on the screen. First thing I did was to try to reset the PS3 to Safe Mode with no success. The, I hooked up the PS3 directly to the ST60 (bypassing the Onkyo receiver) with no luck. I even swapped out the Hard Drive in the PS3 - still no display. Next thing I did was to hook up the PS3 to a different TV and everything worked great. So, I narrowed my problem down to the TV and the receiver. Not wanting to believe that the problem was with the TV, I updated the firmware on the Onkyo receiver - still no display. I have directly connected the PS3 to all three HDMI inputs on the TV with no luck. So, now what? Any suggestions ... ?

Thanks in advance,
drew
booger8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2013, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
booger8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: nowhere, TX
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UPDATE

I left my PS3 unplugged all night. This morning, I plugged it in and turned everything on and it worked fine. Some observations that may be relevant:

1. Yesterday, when I turned the TV and receiver on with the PS3 OFF, the TV displayed a black screen with the "no input detected" screen intermittently displayed
2. Yesterday, when I turned the PS3 ON, the screen would flash blue then go back to black. The display on the Onkyo receiver would indicate that a signal was present, but there was never any sound or picture.
3. Today, after plugging the PS3 in, but with it still in OFF, the TV displayed a blue screen
4. Today, after turning on the PS3, it worked like normal.

Hopefully, this is only a glitch and won't happen again.

drew
booger8 is offline  
Old 05-22-2013, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,922
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by booger8 View Post

UPDATE

I left my PS3 unplugged all night. This morning, I plugged it in and turned everything on and it worked fine. Some observations that may be relevant:

1. Yesterday, when I turned the TV and receiver on with the PS3 OFF, the TV displayed a black screen with the "no input detected" screen intermittently displayed
2. Yesterday, when I turned the PS3 ON, the screen would flash blue then go back to black. The display on the Onkyo receiver would indicate that a signal was present, but there was never any sound or picture.
3. Today, after plugging the PS3 in, but with it still in OFF, the TV displayed a blue screen
4. Today, after turning on the PS3, it worked like normal.

Hopefully, this is only a glitch and won't happen again.

drew

Glad you got it working again, it is odd that it did that, hopefully never happens again.wink.gif

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 THX, Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's, Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52, Sub-Klipsch Sub 12, Surround - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360, HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,7 TB, Video Processor -Darbee

http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2236715
Latinoheat is online now  
Old 05-22-2013, 10:12 AM
Member
 
mattf0124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My onkyo is sometimes wonky switching sources, my HT 360 blew 3 HDMI boards, after the second replacement board they sent me a 460 that has held up, but once every few months it will just put a blue screen....unplug everything for a bit and all is good for awhile till the next time.

I loved my old onkyo that was pre HDMI....I used it for sound and thats it....now running all my video sources through it, I doubt I will go onkyo again.
mattf0124 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off