Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammie2980 View Post


I didn't post the settings but if anyone is interested in them I can send them via PM

I see that Sammie posted his ZT settings Here

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 04:17 PM
Member
 
SodomySquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

I've heard Prometheus is good. Hugo as well. Some folks created lists showing their top 20. I didn't bookmark the post(s) like I should've, but all 3 of the above made the cut. Dredd was also mentioned.

This?

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1425519/official-picture-quality-rankings-for-blu-ray-the-tiers-list-updated-through-march-9-2013#user_anchor1
SodomySquirrel is offline  
post #273 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 05:31 PM
Member
 
stpetematt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I heard Dredd was surprisingly great. It was shot in 3D so should look really good. Highdefdigest.com gave it a really good review. I'm planning on ordering it and trying it soon.

Has anyone out there tried pairing the Panasonic BDT-DMP500 with the TV? I am trying to choose between it and the Oppo 103 so I can watch 3D and use my amp at the same time...

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 HDTV
Onkyo TX-SR805 THX Ultra 2
Axiom M60 Towers
Axiom VC-160 Center
Axiom QS8 Surrounds
HSU Engineering VT-15 Sub
PS3/360
stpetematt is offline  
post #274 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
yaomizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by stpetematt View Post

I heard Dredd was surprisingly great. It was shot in 3D so should look really good. Highdefdigest.com gave it a really good review. I'm planning on ordering it and trying it soon.

Has anyone out there tried pairing the Panasonic BDT-DMP500 with the TV? I am trying to choose between it and the Oppo 103 so I can watch 3D and use my amp at the same time...

Get the oppo


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

yaomizzle is offline  
post #275 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 06:39 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Nope, it was a few plasma owners here who chimed in with their 10 cents. wink.gif
vinnie97 is offline  
post #276 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 07:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,721
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoor View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

I was originally aiming at 500 hours before calibration with our Kuro, but with scheduling and all it was 900 hours. UMR was back at around 2,800 hours to do some audio work, He did a small no charge touch up. At 5,100 hours it needed a full re-calibration. I'll let you know what I think in another 5,000 hours. biggrin.gif

I'm not doubting what the engineer told you, but individual displays can vary. Our set is the 6010, so that may have something to do with it.

Oh, the Podcast was done after Pioneer shutdown, so guess he was free to talk more openly. I think he claimed he was the head of research/development. And he seemed very creditable.

One kind of funny story he told that in Japan they had a lot more reported power supply failures than NA. They found out that the Japanese tended to turn off the set when they left the room for a few minute where we just leave it running. And it was hard on the PS components. LOL
Cold starts kill! eek.gif
htwaits is online now  
post #277 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 07:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,721
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newenglander View Post

This is a newbie question as I have never owned a Panasonic monitor in the past. I currently have a Kuro with a damaged screen and was hoping to replace it with a ZT60. In THX modes, can adjustments be made to the color gamut (hue, saturation, brightness) or just adjustments to the grey scale. Also, for those who now have the monitor and have owned a Kuro in the past, how does the brightness compare?? I have a 151 that I watch in Pure Mode and would not want anything dimmer than that.

Thanks!
All you'll need to come very close to your Kuro is one of the well respected professional calibrators included in your budget. See the link in the signature area at the bottom of my post. smile.gif
htwaits is online now  
post #278 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 07:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
dasanii19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hey guys, was gonna pop in life of pi in 3D. Do I need to tweak any 3D settings or should I be good to go? Thanks

MY NAME IS SUE!!! HOW DO YOU DO!!!

"I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it."
dasanii19 is offline  
post #279 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 07:17 PM
Member
 
grap3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chicagoans getting their sets now!



My setup's a mess at the moment and I'll post a proper pic when I've gotten it cleaned up sometime next week (hopefully).
grap3 is offline  
post #280 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 07:21 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Man, that is so dim. How can you stand it? *sarc* tongue.gif
vinnie97 is offline  
post #281 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glashub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - 818
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Got my ZT and am currently running slides. Very 1st impressions are that it there is something ineffably better about the image over the VT50. It seems in THX Cinema to be as bright as my VT50 with Cnet settings. I'll post more later this week. Does anyone know how to disable the TV sound? I can't remember how I did it on my VT.

Thanks!
Glashub is offline  
post #282 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 08:05 PM
Member
 
SodomySquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Watching the heat game. Switched the sonos playbar with energy powerbar elite
SodomySquirrel is offline  
post #283 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 08:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Watching Blu-ray of Gangster Squad. It is a
Very darkly filmed movie. Most scenes are night
Scenes. My wife complained at how dark it was
So I put it on THX Bright room mode even though
We were watching in a dark room. If anyone else
Watches this Blu-ray let me know if you find it
Much darker than normal.
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #284 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 08:21 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glashub View Post

Got my ZT and am currently running slides. Very 1st impressions are that it there is something ineffably better about the image over the VT50. It seems in THX Cinema to be as bright as my VT50 with Cnet settings. I'll post more later this week. Does anyone know how to disable the TV sound? I can't remember how I did it on my VT.

Thanks!
Question of the century: Does it finally make you forget about the Kuro? smile.gif
vinnie97 is offline  
post #285 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 08:22 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post

Watching Blu-ray of Gangster Squad. It is a
Very darkly filmed movie. Most scenes are night
Scenes. My wife complained at how dark it was
So I put it on THX Bright room mode even though
We were watching in a dark room. If anyone else
Watches this Blu-ray let me know if you find it
Much darker than normal.
It's not just you, that's just how it was filmed. wink.gif I watched it during daylight, however, so I was hoping a nighttime viewing would resolve noticeably more detail. So much for that theory.eek.gif
vinnie97 is offline  
post #286 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Thanks for reply Vinnie! Guess the director was going
For a very "Film Noir" look to the movie. But it sure was
Very Darkly filmed movie. Too much So for our taste.
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #287 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glashub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - 818
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Got a stuck pixel and can't figure out how to disable tv sound so I can use my av when the tc is on.
Glashub is offline  
post #288 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 09:14 PM
TWD
AVS Special Member
 
TWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 32
You have to mute or turn down the volume there is no opinion to turn off the sound.

TWD
TWD is offline  
post #289 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glashub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - 818
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 118
If anyone else runs into this problem -- you'll have to go into your receiver to HDMI control and turn it off. On the VT50 it had to be on for ARC.
Glashub is offline  
post #290 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 09:55 PM
Member
 
SodomySquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glashub View Post

Got a stuck pixel and can't figure out how to disable tv sound so I can use my av when the tc is on.

Got a stuck pixel too. Now I can't unsee it!
Ken Ross likes this.
SodomySquirrel is offline  
post #291 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 10:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,721
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by SodomySquirrel View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glashub View Post

Got a stuck pixel and can't figure out how to disable tv sound so I can use my av when the tc is on.

Got a stuck pixel too. Now I can't unsee it!
Try looping the Pixar film of your choice. That has been known to work.

The brighter and more vivid the primary colors, the better.
htwaits is online now  
post #292 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glashub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - 818
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Thanks HT. The pixel unstuck itself while running slides. I gently massaged it (with a soft cotton shirt) and lightly tapped with my finger too but can't say that helped at all. squirrel if it's green that means it's stuck and probably get unstuck itself.
Glashub is offline  
post #293 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 11:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glashub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - 818
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Question of the century: Does it finally make you forget about the Kuro? smile.gif

Too early for me to give you a fair assessment Vinnie.
Glashub is offline  
post #294 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 11:43 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Figured I'd jumped the gun a bit on that inquiry. Let's give you at least a week. wink.gif
vinnie97 is offline  
post #295 of 12424 Old 06-01-2013, 11:48 PM
TWD
AVS Special Member
 
TWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Glashub,

Please provide as much info as you can regarding how the ZT compares to the VT50.

Thanks. I have a VT50 and a ZT on order.

TWD
TWD is offline  
post #296 of 12424 Old 06-02-2013, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Glashub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - 818
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Video processing seems to be much better on ZT -- YouTube looks great. The new chip brings up YouTube really fast.

These are 1st impressions based on very little critical viewing. I think the calibrators are right -- there are very little performance gains over the VT50 -- but they are enough to put the ZT firmly in 9G Kuro territory -- really firmly -- whereas the VT50 always seemed like an 8.5G. The filter is really good but it's not striking as a filter that's a big step up from the VT50.

My opinions will change as I get into more viewing. The black levels really are good and 9G like now. However, is it worth the thousands I'll end up paying over the VT50? Well, I am greeted by Studio Master Series in a very elegant script now.

I'll keep it because I want to be back in 9G territory again and the ZT gets me there. Those who never owned a Kuro -- well, the VT50 is so close -- why spend the money? The problem is as once you owned a Kuro and seen those blacks -- it's like a siren.

More to come.
Glashub is offline  
post #297 of 12424 Old 06-02-2013, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post

.Just curious , what shows does she watch that are not in HD, Three's Company?

Mostly sentimental channels that nobody else I know watches, such as Hallmark, Lifetime, etc.
shadowspawn is online now  
post #298 of 12424 Old 06-02-2013, 09:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
hogues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by grap3 View Post

Chicagoans getting their sets now!



My setup's a mess at the moment and I'll post a proper pic when I've gotten it cleaned up sometime next week (hopefully).

Nice, I was going to go to the MGT on Elston to check one out this week.

Edit: Go Hawks!

hogues is offline  
post #299 of 12424 Old 06-02-2013, 09:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
hogues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glashub View Post

I think the calibrators are right -- there are very little performance gains over the VT50.

More to come.

I understood the calibrators opinion a bit differently. I took away that there is a good difference between the vt50 and the zt60, but not enough to justify upgrading if you already own a vt50. I could very well be wrong, though.

hogues is offline  
post #300 of 12424 Old 06-02-2013, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Glashub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - 818
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I'm not sure they said there is a good difference between the vt50 and the zt60. But even if so, how much of a good difference can there be if there's not enough to justify upgrading from a VT50? It's playing with words in a sense. Your call, your money. I'm just taking the time to offer an opinion.
Glashub is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off