Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 106 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3151 of 13839 Old 09-12-2013, 04:47 PM
Member
 
roadbike60035's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'd agree with Repete - maybe. Hard to tell from the pic, but your room looks brighter behind the screen than in front of it (viewing area). My rooms pretty bright with windows on one side & glass patio doors 30 feet or so shining onto the screen. Frankly, I get reflection off the chrome trim but not the screen unless it's a really dark video image. The light filter works well.

That said, the Samsung is known to be brighter so if that's your primary driver go for the samsung. If you can somehow manage the sunlight I would highly recommend the ZT though. The pic quality is outstanding & it will play nice with BOTH IOS & Android. All our guests have commented about the picture on this set.

Good luck- tough choice ahead, but in the end it's all good.
roadbike60035 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3152 of 13839 Old 09-12-2013, 05:12 PM
Member
 
jnzz001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I said already that Samsung is below any acceptable level of mine.
And my 10th generation 50" PF50UK (or PH whatever is full HD) has same visibility from any angle.

Now to the person who says 80 degree - JUST FYI - I am not referring to the horizontal angle as it's a OK... but vertical one.

It seems to be distracting when your picture changes before and after you seat in front of the screen. Never seen anything like this on my previous plasmas. Now these are CONSUMER TV's so I understand they are cheap and buggy - ANYBODY knows when I would be able to buy a professional business PLASMA based on the same panel?

I bet that these quirks will be non-existent and better polarity filter would be used to prevent the above banding issue...
rolleyes.gif
jnzz001 is offline  
post #3153 of 13839 Old 09-12-2013, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 2,023
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Screw it. I'm getting the ZT60.
drewTT is offline  
post #3154 of 13839 Old 09-12-2013, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Consumer panels are miles ahead of professional panels these days

64F8500
55ST60
Harmony 650
Sony XT1 Soundbase
OPPO 103d
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3/Lumagen 2143
chunon is offline  
post #3155 of 13839 Old 09-12-2013, 06:00 PM
Member
 
jnzz001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes - they are in a sense that they do not put "unfinished" tech in them, and consumer TV's are "miles" ahead since they had appz, internet, netflix, tuner etc and all other CRAP which no high-end users need whatsoever...

If you have EVER seen a sony trimaster BVM monitor you would probably apologize for your post above. Tey even a decent PVM...
You will be surprised.
jnzz001 is offline  
post #3156 of 13839 Old 09-12-2013, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 618
I am talking about Panasonic plasmas only and I don't have to apologize for anything

I think your a little out of touch with current plasma technology but I wish you the best

64F8500
55ST60
Harmony 650
Sony XT1 Soundbase
OPPO 103d
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3/Lumagen 2143
chunon is offline  
post #3157 of 13839 Old 09-12-2013, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Even with the vertical viewing angle you're getting a good 60 degrees. You'd have to be sitting very low or really close in order for that to be a problem. Where do you have it, over a fireplace?

The light filter is what's limiting the angle by the way. It's an effective trade-off for most applications.

repete66211 is offline  
post #3158 of 13839 Old 09-12-2013, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnzz001 View Post

If you have EVER seen a sony trimaster BVM monitor you would probably apologize for your post above.
Are you referring to the $17,500 17" model or the $26,000 25" model?

repete66211 is offline  
post #3159 of 13839 Old 09-12-2013, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Jason626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: illinois
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnzz001 View Post

I said already that Samsung is below any acceptable level of mine.
And my 10th generation 50" PF50UK (or PH whatever is full HD) has same visibility from any angle.

Now to the person who says 80 degree - JUST FYI - I am not referring to the horizontal angle as it's a OK... but vertical one.

It seems to be distracting when your picture changes before and after you seat in front of the screen. Never seen anything like this on my previous plasmas. Now these are CONSUMER TV's so I understand they are cheap and buggy - ANYBODY knows when I would be able to buy a professional business PLASMA based on the same panel?

I bet that these quirks will be non-existent and better polarity filter would be used to prevent the above banding issue...
rolleyes.gif
Maybe think about trying st60. No fans and less aggressive AR filter.
Jason626 is offline  
post #3160 of 13839 Old 09-12-2013, 10:16 PM
Member
 
jnzz001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
will take a look or do some more research - thanks!

smile.gif
jnzz001 is offline  
post #3161 of 13839 Old 09-12-2013, 11:06 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnzz001 View Post

Now to the person who says 80 degree - JUST FYI - I am not referring to the horizontal angle as it's a OK... but vertical one.
As it's already been stated, this has everything to do with the aggressive anti-reflective filter they've applied to the panel this year and nothing with QC.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #3162 of 13839 Old 09-12-2013, 11:38 PM
Newbie
 
Phil1975m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost! View Post

[quote name="Phil1975m" url="/t/1474480/official-zt60-owners-thread/3120#post_23728667"]The Engineers wall mounted the TV for me ...[/quote]Just curious, was the TV wall mounted prior to the fan fix? In other words, who/how did they demount the TV?

Yes the TV was wall mounted.
The engineers demounted the TV then placed it on a bench face down eek.gif

Then applied the foam fix.
Phil1975m is offline  
post #3163 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 02:41 AM
Member
 
jnzz001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
happens sporadically - you need to change the picture mode back and again...
jnzz001 is offline  
post #3164 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 03:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by keilalajlb View Post

Got new ZT 65" inch this week and have been watching when suddenly it auto-dimmed from a good level brightness to something dark/hard to see. Does the TV have an auto dimming feature? Has anyone else seen this?0LiUl

Yes Eco settings should be set to standard I believe, also make sure "CATS" is off

64F8500
55ST60
Harmony 650
Sony XT1 Soundbase
OPPO 103d
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3/Lumagen 2143
chunon is offline  
post #3165 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil1975m View Post

Yes the TV was wall mounted.
The engineers demounted the TV then placed it on a bench face down eek.gif

Then applied the foam fix.
If I were a betting man I'd say the frame was bent in the process.

repete66211 is offline  
post #3166 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 07:12 AM
Newbie
 
buzzcock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Rosche View Post

Just got my 65ZT a week or so ago. Ran it up just over 200 with the slides. The one thing that seems odd compared to my pioneer is the motion. It looks kinda like LEDs in spots with the soap opera effect and sometimes the motion looks jerky. I have set it to 96 hz and tried with motion smoother off and weak. In general it's hard to explain but the motion just doesn't look right and So far I find that it bothers me. Not sure why my pioneer would have delt with that better because reviews haven't mentioned a motion problem. Any of you guys experience the same?

I'm experiencing the same problem as well. I suspect that it's a combination of the source material and my cabling...currently using 1.3 HDMI cables and I'm switching those out this weekend for high speed cables...could that be your issue?
buzzcock is offline  
post #3167 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzcock View Post

I'm experiencing the same problem as well. I suspect that it's a combination of the source material and my cabling...currently using 1.3 HDMI cables and I'm switching those out this weekend for high speed cables...could that be your issue?
Do you have "Motion Smoothing" engaged? HDMI 1.4 added Ethernet & Audio Return Channel so your 1.3 spec shouldn't have an impact in motion rendering.

repete66211 is offline  
post #3168 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
buzzcock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^Yes, motion smoothing are set to weak by default (my choice), the first thing I did try was turning that completely off...it seemed to improve it somewhat, can't really be sure since it was still there...
buzzcock is offline  
post #3169 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzcock View Post

^Yes, motion smoothing are set to weak by default (my choice), the first thing I did try was turning that completely off...it seemed to improve it somewhat, can't really be sure since it was still there...
If motion looks artificially smoothed the primary suspect is going to be motion smoothing video processing. I can't duplicate what you're describing so that's all I can suggest. Good luck.

repete66211 is offline  
post #3170 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Lost!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil1975m View Post

Yes the TV was wall mounted.
The engineers demounted the TV then placed it on a bench face down eek.gif

Then applied the foam fix.

These TVs are very sensitive. The only one I had with a broken/chipped glass, was the one that they rotated it roughly to attach the pedestal. I guess you have to be very careful. Also, I think I read somewhere that putting the TV face down is a big no-no.
Lost! is offline  
post #3171 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 11:24 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost! View Post

These TVs are very sensitive. The only one I had with a broken/chipped glass, was the one that they rotated it roughly to attach the pedestal. I guess you have to be very careful. Also, I think I read somewhere that putting the TV face down is a big no-no.
Read it where? I did it when attaching the stand with no untoward effects. smile.gif The rule of thumb of course is to always handle with care.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #3172 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Lost!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Read it where? I did it when attaching the stand with no untoward effects. smile.gif The rule of thumb of course is to always handle with care.

I am pretty sure I read it on AVS. Something about Phosphors and screen uniformity problems. Not to mention the weight of components on the glass from behind.
Lost! is offline  
post #3173 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 279
In the early days of plasma I remember hearing from a salesman that you should never lay them flat.

repete66211 is offline  
post #3174 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 01:01 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost! View Post

I am pretty sure I read it on AVS. Something about Phosphors and screen uniformity problems. Not to mention the weight of components on the glass from behind.
Uh oh, maybe that's why I have slight DSE tongue.gif (probably not in actuality, as it also appeared on all the Kuros I owned, which I don't believe I ever laid down on their glass surfaces).
vinnie97 is offline  
post #3175 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Bardia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I had a bluray film on repeat to play on the TV while I'm at work but now that I am home the TV is off. I didn't set the timer or nothing. Could it be that it shuts off after a few hours if it gets too hot??
Bardia is offline  
post #3176 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 08:32 PM
Senior Member
 
rx74ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Tv times out and shuts off on "no signal". Probably something went wrong with the player.

Display: VIZIO P702ui-B3, Speakers: 5.1, Polk Monitor 70 Biamped (R,L), Polk CS20 (Center), Polk OWM3 (Rears), Yamaha (Woofer) Previous Displays: Panasonic TC-P65ZT60, Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD, Sony XBR-65HX950, Toshiba 55SV670U, Mitsubishi WD-65734, Panasonic PT-47WX49
rx74ray is offline  
post #3177 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 08:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Settings/Eco navigation/No activity for 4 hours-->
You have the option of staying on but the default is "Power TV off".

repete66211 is offline  
post #3178 of 13839 Old 09-13-2013, 09:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Bardia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post

Settings/Eco navigation/No activity for 4 hours-->
You have the option of staying on but the default is "Power TV off".
That's what
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post

Settings/Eco navigation/No activity for 4 hours-->
You have the option of staying on but the default is "Power TV off".
That was it
The movie was still playing
Bardia is offline  
post #3179 of 13839 Old 09-14-2013, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Sometimes I get a notice that the TV will be powering off in X minutes even when it's playing content. 'm not really sure how it's determining "no activity".

repete66211 is offline  
post #3180 of 13839 Old 09-14-2013, 08:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 13,181
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 941 Post(s)
Liked: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Consumer panels are miles ahead of professional panels these days
You are correct. They used to be equal, not even close any more........
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off