Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 148 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4411 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by denaliman View Post

What connection are you using to TV... single HDMI? any other connections from TV to AVR,BD etc? If a single hdmi connection try to disconnect that hdmi cable then turn tv on...hum still there?

You are onto something. Single HDMI to TV from receiver. Nothing going back out from the TV.

If I have the TV on and unplug single HDMI connection going to TV, the hum goes away.
drewTT is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4412 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 07:47 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axxion View Post

Usually in dead silence, you can hear just about anything. Hopefully this isnt what everyones been complaining about, if so thats crazy.
We not crazy. I can hear them on low volume content...occasionally distracting, but I've learned to live with it.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #4413 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 07:51 PM
Member
 
denaliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axxion View Post

I live in a apt, also dont want to get that down and dirty, 30 feet of 12 gauge will do fine. Anyone know if any of the viewing modes has less input lag then others? Im aware turn on game mode and turn off any extra processing features. Curious is all, im sensitive to input lag.

You could try a Hum X.
denaliman is offline  
post #4414 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 07:54 PM
Member
 
denaliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post

You are onto something. Single HDMI to TV from receiver. Nothing going back out from the TV.

If I have the TV on and unplug single HDMI connection going to TV, the hum goes away.

try using another hdmi cable.current hdmi cable may be bad.
denaliman is offline  
post #4415 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by denaliman View Post

try using another hdmi cable.current hdmi cable may be bad.

No dice. Swapped cables and still humming. The only time it stops humming is if the HDMI cable from AVR to TV is disconnected. The ground switch on the back of the JL doesn't do anything in either position.
drewTT is online now  
post #4416 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 08:17 PM
Member
 
denaliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post

No dice. Swapped cables and still humming. The only time it stops humming is if the HDMI cable from AVR to TV is disconnected. The ground switch on the back of the JL doesn't do anything in either position.

diagnosis can be a bitch. did you try another hdmi port on the tv?
denaliman is offline  
post #4417 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by denaliman View Post

diagnosis can be a bitch. did you try another hdmi port on the tv?

Yes. I plugged the HDMI cable into HDMI 2 on the TV. Hum went away but as soon as I switched TV over to HDMI 2, hum is back. LoL...this is getting comical.
drewTT is online now  
post #4418 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 08:23 PM
Member
 
denaliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post

No dice. Swapped cables and still humming. The only time it stops humming is if the HDMI cable from AVR to TV is disconnected. The ground switch on the back of the JL doesn't do anything in either position.

could try this in post 13
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1349193/hum-over-hdmi-cable-from-tv-to-reciever
denaliman is offline  
post #4419 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Don't want to double post but this is my biggest concern? The 65 inchZT box is huge!

-I live in a condo on the 17th floor and the delivery guys will have to use the moving elevator to bring up my ZT. The 65 inch ZT box in inches is the following: 75.8 wide, 40.5 high, 14.1 depth. The moving elevator in inches is the following: 82 wide, 100 high, 52 depth and the door to get into the elevator is 42 wide and about 80 or so high. Does anyone here see any issues or problems with this large size box/carton safely getting into the elevator? Let me know since I'm trying to project how much time this will all take. Also the elevator will be taken out of normal service to accomodate my delivery. I'm just trying to estimate all of the things that could cause problems for me and trying to mitigate those possible problems.

Thanks
Edllguy is offline  
post #4420 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 08:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,015
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 838
I cant imagine any problem with the elevator. What are you thinking might cause a problem?
Edllguy likes this.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4421 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 08:47 PM
Member
 
denaliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
corner to corner dimension inside elevator would be 97 inches. Given door dimension, by my calculation that would leave 88 inches from back corner of the elevator to edge of door opening diagonally. lots of room to squeeze box diagonally through elevator door opening
Edllguy likes this.
denaliman is offline  
post #4422 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 08:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

I cant imagine any problem with the elevator. What are you thinking might cause a problem?

Will it fit? Is my biggest concern and if not they will have to take it out of the box which I'm worried about things going wrong.
Edllguy is offline  
post #4423 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by denaliman View Post

corner to corner dimension inside elevator would be 97 inches. Given door dimension, by my calculation that would leave 88 inches from back corner of the elevator to edge of door opening diagonally. lots of room to squeeze box diagonally through elevator door opening

Awesome, thanks for responding. This alleviates one of my biggest concerns. Thanks for helping with the math calculations.
Edllguy is offline  
post #4424 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 08:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,015
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edllguy View Post

Will it fit? Is my biggest concern and if not they will have to take it out of the box which I'm worried about things going wrong.
According to your own dimensions it will easily fit.
Edllguy likes this.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4425 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 09:02 PM
Member
 
denaliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edllguy View Post



Awesome, thanks for responding. This alleviates one of my biggest concerns. Thanks for helping with the math calculations.

NP you are welcome. No worries it will fit...enjoy your TV. Mine comes on Tuesday. diagonal= (h2+w2)1/2
Edllguy likes this.
denaliman is offline  
post #4426 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 09:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,015
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by denaliman View Post

corner to corner dimension inside elevator would be 97 inches. Given door dimension, by my calculation that would leave 88 inches from back corner of the elevator to edge of door opening diagonally. lots of room to squeeze box diagonally through elevator door opening
It doesnt even have to be that hard. He quoted the dimensions in a confusing way. What it amounts to is the door is 42" wide and the box is 40.5" wide. If its on a dolly you can just push it right into the elevator.
Edllguy likes this.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4427 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 09:06 PM
Member
 
denaliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edllguy View Post



Awesome, thanks for responding. This alleviates one of my biggest concerns. Thanks for helping with the math calculations.

I am in Ontario as well, where did you get your ZT from?
denaliman is offline  
post #4428 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by denaliman View Post

I am in Ontario as well, where did you get your ZT from?

Golden Electronics in Richmond Hill Ontario.
Edllguy is offline  
post #4429 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 09:37 PM
Member
 
denaliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

It doesnt even have to be that hard. He quoted the dimensions in a confusing way. What it amounts to is the door is 42" wide and the box is 40.5" wide. If its on a dolly you can just push it right into the elevator.

Ya...42.5" if you flip it end to end. I don't think he wants them to flip the box on its end so the TV is on its side. The package says not to lay flat or end to end
denaliman is offline  
post #4430 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 09:40 PM
Member
 
denaliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edllguy View Post

Golden Electronics in Richmond Hill Ontario.

Never heard of them. Just checked the website. Cheapest I have seen advertised in the area.
denaliman is offline  
post #4431 of 12617 Old 11-24-2013, 09:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,015
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by denaliman View Post

Ya...42.5" if you flip it end to end. I don't think he wants them to flip the box on its end so the TV is on its side. The package says not to lay flat or end to end
It shouldnt be transported on its end. It wont hurt it one bit just to get it in and out of the elevator.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4432 of 12617 Old 11-25-2013, 06:00 AM
Member
 
Terebi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edllguy View Post


-I'm going to assume that the stand for the ZT must be assembled? How long will this take since I'm the one who will assemble it? The delivery guys will only unbox and inspect for visible outer panel damage and then leave. I have a friend who will help me put panel on assembled stand but later in the day.

-and lastly any other feedback would be greatly appreciated?

Thanks guys

Stand takes about 5 min. to assemble. Manual is on Panasonic site if you want to read up on assembly prior to delivery. Congrats!
Terebi is offline  
post #4433 of 12617 Old 11-25-2013, 06:25 AM
Senior Member
 
TheAnswer_03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edllguy View Post

Golden Electronics in Richmond Hill Ontario.

How much for delivery? Do they deliver province wide? I checked their site and could not find any delivery information or "Add to cart" button to buy online. I'm near the Ottawa area.
TheAnswer_03 is offline  
post #4434 of 12617 Old 11-25-2013, 06:26 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
cappy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: HHI
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post

Yes. I plugged the HDMI cable into HDMI 2 on the TV. Hum went away but as soon as I switched TV over to HDMI 2, hum is back. LoL...this is getting comical.

If I understand it correctly:

A. You even get the hum in the sub when the TV is on and the audio cable to sub is disconnected.

B. Removing the ground using the switch on back of sub makes no difference.

B. The hum is a rolling type that repeats every 20 seconds

C. You have a single HDMI cable from TV to receiver. With TV on and HDMI unplugged the hum goes away.

D. When you moved the HDMI cable to the HDMI2 input there was no him initially, but when you selected HDMI2 with receiver the hum came back.

Four questions:

1. You state that you get hum with audio cable to sub disconnected. You also state that it hums with the ground switch lifted on the back of sub. Did you try both at same time or just one at a time? If you did both together such that it hums with ground switch lifted and audio cable unplugged I am stumped and think you need to call in Ghostbusters.

2. Is there anything else connected to the receiver besides the speaker cables and the single HDMI input?

3. Is the receiver mounted in a metal rack panel or touching any other equipment (metal to metal)?

4. Is anything else connected to the TV besides the receiver?
cappy1 is offline  
post #4435 of 12617 Old 11-25-2013, 06:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edllguy View Post



Awesome, thanks for responding. This alleviates one of my biggest concerns. Thanks for helping with the math calculations.
You can always take it out of the box and it will fit for sure........
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #4436 of 12617 Old 11-25-2013, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Donloz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: GTA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edllguy View Post

Golden Electronics in Richmond Hill Ontario.


He paid too much. I know 2 stores cheaper. 1 in Scar, 1 in Downsview.

Every day above ground is a good day.
Donloz is offline  
post #4437 of 12617 Old 11-25-2013, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAnswer_03 View Post

How much for delivery? Do they deliver province wide? I checked their site and could not find any delivery information or "Add to cart" button to buy online. I'm near the Ottawa area.

You would have to call them directly but I don't think they deliver Province wide, only Greater Toronto area.
Edllguy is offline  
post #4438 of 12617 Old 11-25-2013, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donloz View Post

He paid too much. I know 2 stores cheaper. 1 in Scar, 1 in Downsview.

Cash is king at checkout wink.gifbiggrin.gif
Edllguy is offline  
post #4439 of 12617 Old 11-25-2013, 12:14 PM
Member
 
revo1059's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any recommendations for a wall mount for a 65ZT60? Just need tilt, not size to side. Prices are all over the place, but I really don't need a $500 mount.


Any special considerations for the wall? This thing is HEAVY!
revo1059 is offline  
post #4440 of 12617 Old 11-25-2013, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by revo1059 View Post

Any recommendations for a wall mount for a 65ZT60? Just need tilt, not size to side. Prices are all over the place, but I really don't need a $500 mount.


Any special considerations for the wall? This thing is HEAVY!
I recently mounted my old 50" Samsung plasma using a Cheetah Mounts from Amazon. It was my first mount job and wasn't a problem at all. Although I mounted a 50" Samsung it does explicitly state that it will work with 65" Panasonic plasmas. It's the #1 seller and highly rated. It tilts up to 15 degrees. At $25 the price is right and it comes with a nice looking HDMI cable and a handy level.

repete66211 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off