Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 160 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4771 of 12743 Old 12-06-2013, 05:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
music_to_my_ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Are there any ZT60 owners that are happy with the set find the 3D brightness to be not enough? Or is it sufficient?

Im still trying to decide between the ZT60 and VT60 for my cave
music_to_my_ear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4772 of 12743 Old 12-06-2013, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim leonhardt View Post

Good to know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zcp m3 View Post

That's the thing, I am a Prime member so I didn't pay for shipping. Apparently their default compensation is still to refund what the shipping would have been. I'm not one to argue with that! biggrin.gif

I thought my Prime membership excluded TV's-nice!

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #4773 of 12743 Old 12-06-2013, 05:52 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post

Be interesting to see how many the eventually build - CNET has panel # 00000 - see their Review by David Katzmaier
The Panasonic insider at high def junkies stated 30,000 for NA.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #4774 of 12743 Old 12-06-2013, 06:51 PM
Member
 
Terebi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post

Are there any ZT60 owners that are happy with the set find the 3D brightness to be not enough? Or is it sufficient?

Im still trying to decide between the ZT60 and VT60 for my cave

Just watched Into Darkness 3D with no complaints. Had to duck a few times though.

smile.gif
Terebi is offline  
post #4775 of 12743 Old 12-06-2013, 06:58 PM
Member
 
Terebi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim leonhardt View Post

Isn't prime membership only about 75 a year? Why pay 300 in shipping when it's free with a prime membership?

Wait, wasn't shipping free on the TV to begin with, without a membership? It was when I got mine.
Terebi is offline  
post #4776 of 12743 Old 12-06-2013, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
 
SwiftSweeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbustanut View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post

I have a 65ZT panel number 857- with a build date of July 2013 - how many panels have they now produced? anyone have a higher panel #?

October build date for me #14773

#15249 - October build.

Has anyone heard of November or later ZT builds?
SwiftSweeper is offline  
post #4777 of 12743 Old 12-06-2013, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
SwiftSweeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post

Are there any ZT60 owners that are happy with the set find the 3D brightness to be not enough? Or is it sufficient?

Im still trying to decide between the ZT60 and VT60 for my cave

I tried a 3D movie on Netflix and a few PS3/PS4 3d games. I did not find 3d brightness of my ZT to be an issue.
SwiftSweeper is offline  
post #4778 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 03:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Had Samsung PN63C700 - 65ZT MUCH Brighter!!!! - No issue with brightness at all!

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is online now  
post #4779 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
cosmos5861's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Got my new ZT60 this week!

Where can I find D-Nice settings?

Also I am trying to find the very low profile mount. Any suggestions?
cosmos5861 is offline  
post #4780 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 10:04 AM
 
changboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
deleted
changboy is offline  
post #4781 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 10:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Earlier this year during the flat panel shootout it seems that the zt and vt were day calibrated to something around 30 foot lamberts.

I suspect that they would have gone higher but didn't due to some technical reason.

I'm trying to find out if anyone recalls what the reason was as it very well may matter to whether I purchase a ZT/VT.

Was it because pushing the brightness higher pushed the panels above the level where you could accurately calibrate them?


I tried to search for this and found 20 pages of links and I'd like to make a purchase before they go off sale.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #4782 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 11:33 AM
Member
 
Mrbustanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Earlier this year during the flat panel shootout it seems that the zt and vt were day calibrated to something around 30 foot lamberts.

I suspect that they would have gone higher but didn't due to some technical reason.

I am running CNET settings that were calibrated for 38 foot-lambert. Picture looks stunning, no problems at all.
Mrbustanut is offline  
post #4783 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
cosmos5861's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have gone into Menu - Help - Version - Status 4 and it reads A0012-00000 how to I determine how many hours used?
cosmos5861 is offline  
post #4784 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Mine is calibrated for optimum picture and it measured 30FL. Some calibrators also have a day setting but I imagine there's some compromise involved for the sake of a brighter picture.

repete66211 is offline  
post #4785 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
SwiftSweeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Does running D Nice slides as the break in method mess up ZT picture pre sets such as THX Cinema and THX Bright Room?

I understand that D Nice slides suppose to make ZT panel perform similarly to his own set. This implies to me that the slides alter ZT panel's characteristics such as brightness, contrast, color, and such. I also understand that the THX picture pre sets are calibrated individually on each ZT at the factory, so the THX presets have different settings on each ZT. Therefore, there will be a mismatch between THX settings and the panel after the slides are run because the slides altered ZT panel's characteristics. Granted, it might not matter if one uses the slides or full screen content for ZT break in because ZT plasma panel's characteristics change during break in regardless of the break in method used.

Am I off base in my conclusions?
SwiftSweeper is offline  
post #4786 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
SwiftSweeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmos5861 View Post

I have gone into Menu - Help - Version - Status 4 and it reads A0012-00000 how to I determine how many hours used?

It shows that you have 12 hours on your set so far.
SwiftSweeper is offline  
post #4787 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwiftSweeper View Post

Does running D Nice slides as the break in method mess up ZT picture pre sets such as THX Cinema and THX Bright Room?

I understand that D Nice slides suppose to make ZT panel perform similarly to his own set. This implies to me that the slides alter ZT panel's characteristics such as brightness, contrast, color, and such. I also understand that the THX picture pre sets are calibrated individually on each ZT at the factory, so the THX presets have different settings on each ZT. Therefore, there will be a mismatch between THX settings and the panel after the slides are run because the slides altered ZT panel's characteristics. Granted, it might not matter if one uses the slides or full screen content for ZT break in because ZT plasma panel's characteristics change during break in regardless of the break in method used.

Am I off base in my conclusions?
All units have the same THX settings. They are not calibrated individually. A test unit was calibrated and whatever the settings were on that one are applied globally to all units.

As far as your other questions go, the plasma's picture will vary over time with usage. The picture at 300 hours is not identical to that at 10 hours. To what degree they vary is testable but short of that it's anyone's guess. The purpose of the slides (as you know) aren't to alter the picture, they're to get the phosphors past the "hot" stage. So the THX (and any other) settings won't look the same right out of the box as they will after some use.

repete66211 is offline  
post #4788 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
cosmos5861's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have my panel on THX bright room. I am watching DirecTV 1081source (Football Game). The display seems very dim. On the ATT commercial which has a white backgrounds seems very dark not white at all? When watching Avengers on my MacMini THX Bright seem also dark. Any advice or setting that I need to adjust?
cosmos5861 is offline  
post #4789 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 01:57 PM
Member
 
vahighland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So, I've been D-NICEing my tv and have almost 300 hours with the slides and 'safe' programs. At what point is it ok to start watching 4:3 material?
vahighland is offline  
post #4790 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 01:59 PM
Member
 
DrJayDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by vahighland View Post

So, I've been D-NICEing my tv and have almost 300 hours with the slides and 'safe' programs. At what point is it ok to start watching 4:3 material?

It is "safe". No worries

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
DrJayDub is offline  
post #4791 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 02:06 PM
Member
 
DrJayDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmos5861 View Post

I have my panel on THX bright room. I am watching DirecTV 1081source (Football Game). The display seems very dim. On the ATT commercial which has a white backgrounds seems very dark not white at all? When watching Avengers on my MacMini THX Bright seem also dark. Any advice or setting that I need to adjust?

Check to see if CATS is "off", "Black level" under "Advanced picture" is set to "Light" and increase your "Contrast" and "Brightness" settings. Let us know if that helps.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
DrJayDub is offline  
post #4792 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
cosmos5861's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJayDub View Post

Check to see if CATS is "off", "Black level" under "Advanced picture" is set to "Light" and increase your "Contrast" and "Brightness" settings. Let us know if that helps.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

Yes CATS is off, Black Level set to Light.

http://imgur.com/P7UMSCA

http://imgur.com/MFPBBuX I have macbook that is looking at the same screen as ZT60.
cosmos5861 is offline  
post #4793 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 04:15 PM
Member
 
DrJayDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmos5861 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJayDub View Post

Check to see if CATS is "off", "Black level" under "Advanced picture" is set to "Light" and increase your "Contrast" and "Brightness" settings. Let us know if that helps.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

Yes CATS is off, Black Level set to Light.

http://imgur.com/P7UMSCA

http://imgur.com/MFPBBuX I have macbook that is looking at the same screen as ZT60.

Try increasing contrast to 100 and play with the Brightness setting.

FYI Any LCD will be brighter than a plasma.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
DrJayDub is offline  
post #4794 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 04:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,140
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post

Be interesting to see how many the eventually build - CNET has panel # 00000 - see their Review by David Katzmaier
Be sweet to have # 00000 . I guess it would be sweeter though to have a car vin number being the 1st one off the line.

Forum Sponsor // \\
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1-866-651-0049 // \\
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #4795 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
cosmos5861's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJayDub View Post

Try increasing contrast to 100 and play with the Brightness setting.

FYI Any LCD will be brighter than a plasma.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

Contrast is set for 100 and no matter what i set the brightness to it doesnt help.
cosmos5861 is offline  
post #4796 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 04:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Axxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Be sweet to have # 00000 . I guess it would be sweeter though to have a car vin number being the 1st one off the line.
No. Better to have a later revision of an item with the kinks worked out.
Axxion is offline  
post #4797 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Newenglander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmos5861 View Post

I have my panel on THX bright room. I am watching DirecTV 1081source (Football Game). The display seems very dim. On the ATT commercial which has a white backgrounds seems very dark not white at all? When watching Avengers on my MacMini THX Bright seem also dark. Any advice or setting that I need to adjust?


My panel does not look that dim on THX bright room. As far as the white is concerned, it looks off because there is an error in the gray scale. In this setting, mine seems to be plus yellow and whites look just awful. I opened up the pro settings and set the panel to a slightly cooler temperature with the white balance. Now whites look great and there is just a slight error in the color gamut which will be eliminated when the display is calibrated.

As far as brightness is concerned, there is only one correct setting for this that can be determined with a calibration disc. Contrast can be varied to some extent, but if it is too high the source material will look over saturated (crushing whites). The perceived brightness on this panel is also greatly affected by gamma. If it is set greater than 2.4, everything will look too dim.

This panel can produce stunning PQ, but it needs to be calibrated after the 300 hour break-in period by someone who knows what they are doing and has the right equipment.

I you want my pre-calibration settings, PM me. They are not perfect, but will get you through until you have your set calibrated.
Newenglander is offline  
post #4798 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 06:29 PM
 
changboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
deleted
changboy is offline  
post #4799 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
cosmos5861's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by changboy View Post

Well , gamma setting on the ZT is a big + when you have the right one, the depth of the picture is amazing with a stunning black and a great white.

Just curious how did you calibrate your panel?
cosmos5861 is offline  
post #4800 of 12743 Old 12-07-2013, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
SwiftSweeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by SwiftSweeper View Post

Does running D Nice slides as the break in method mess up ZT picture pre sets such as THX Cinema and THX Bright Room?

I understand that D Nice slides suppose to make ZT panel perform similarly to his own set. This implies to me that the slides alter ZT panel's characteristics such as brightness, contrast, color, and such. I also understand that the THX picture pre sets are calibrated individually on each ZT at the factory, so the THX presets have different settings on each ZT. Therefore, there will be a mismatch between THX settings and the panel after the slides are run because the slides altered ZT panel's characteristics. Granted, it might not matter if one uses the slides or full screen content for ZT break in because ZT plasma panel's characteristics change during break in regardless of the break in method used.

Am I off base in my conclusions?
All units have the same THX settings. They are not calibrated individually. A test unit was calibrated and whatever the settings were on that one are applied globally to all units.

As far as your other questions go, the plasma's picture will vary over time with usage. The picture at 300 hours is not identical to that at 10 hours. To what degree they vary is testable but short of that it's anyone's guess. The purpose of the slides (as you know) aren't to alter the picture, they're to get the phosphors past the "hot" stage. So the THX (and any other) settings won't look the same right out of the box as they will after some use.

Yeah, on my previous ZT, skin tones seem to look more natural after I passed 200 hour mark. Thank you for the explanation. smile.gif
SwiftSweeper is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off