Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 265 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 61Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7921 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Paw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cranbrook BC
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by bourmb View Post

I lost my Sony XBR-55HX929 in a tornado recently and I always loved the one piece of glass look. In terms of the Sony, it was Gorilla Glass.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk

Wow, if you could of found it that would've been some testimonial for the Gorilla Glass. Hope everyone was okay though.

On my previous set I watched slides for 100 hours or so but found it boring so I switched to test patterns. For some reason my wife didn't want to watch either of them.
Mr Paw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7922 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Paw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cranbrook BC
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by royalkilla408 View Post

Never mind. Mine doesn't have the fan fix =( ****ing Panasonic. Should've of bought it from Amazon. Too bad there is no better TV than this one or I'd return it.

Remember it's not a big deal for everyone. If you have a PVR the hard drive and fan are probably loader. Mine are.
Mr Paw is offline  
post #7923 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 04:44 PM
Member
 
larrygeary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somerset County, NJ
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Paw View Post

On my previous set I watched slides for 100 hours or so but found it boring so I switched to test patterns. For some reason my wife didn't want to watch either of them.

Looking forward to your review. biggrin.gif
larrygeary is offline  
post #7924 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by bourmb View Post

I look forward to running slides for the next 10,000 hours.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk

Will that be long enough??
bourmb likes this.

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is online now  
post #7925 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 05:11 PM
Member
 
larrygeary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somerset County, NJ
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by bourmb View Post

I look forward to running slides for the next 10,000 hours.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk

I was going to run slides for 100 hours, then switch to HBO for the next 300. After 48 hours I became concerned that the slides may be unnecessarily stressing the panel, so I switched to HBO at that point. At the 200+ hour mark I decided to switch the TV off at night to see if the on/off cycles would produce any problems (like micro-fractures). Somewhere around 360 hours I relaxed and turned off the set, only turning it on when I want to watch something. I'm in no rush to get a calibration, so I'll probably let the set accumulate 600 hours before I start to think about it. That may be later this year. Meanwhile I can play with settings and decide just which modes and inputs I will eventually want to pay to have calibrated.
larrygeary is offline  
post #7926 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 05:20 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by rifleman69 View Post

#1 too cheap to pay for calibration?

Use the other settings that are out there on the net and find one that looks good to you!

Yes I am plus I am not sure the value is worth it the cost of calibration is 1/4 the price of the TV:eek:

The THX mode is very good, I used the CNET and I like it I might just be good biggrin.gif
wse is offline  
post #7927 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Slides are overrated. Just watch the damn thing. I can't believe some of these posts...
drewTT is online now  
post #7928 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 05:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Axxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by royalkilla408 View Post

Panasonic used such tiny fans. No wonder people get annoyed of the noise lol. Should of used regular sized fans 120mm.
Not so much about size, other things come into play like how many blades, grooves in blades, angle of blades, thickness of blades, voltage (speed), and a few others. Although a small fan can be silent, a bigger one is usually the better option if you can apply it. Maybe they went with this size to focus airflow at a certain point.
Axxion is offline  
post #7929 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 05:23 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post

Slides are overrated. Just watch the damn thing. I can't believe some of these posts...

I agree I used PIXAR movies and reached 100 hours in no time wink.gif forget the slides
wse is offline  
post #7930 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 05:42 PM
Member
 
royalkilla408's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A little help please. How can I access the USB pictures to run the Break In Slides? Thanks.

Never mind guys. I figured it out.
royalkilla408 is offline  
post #7931 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Axxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by royalkilla408 View Post

A little help please. How can I access the USB pictures to run the Break In Slides? Thanks.
Button on the remote. 2nd one from the bottom
Axxion is offline  
post #7932 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
bourmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington, IL
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15

Here is what is left of my Sony tv...minus the Gorilla Glass front!
Mr Paw and tim leonhardt like this.
bourmb is offline  
post #7933 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 204
^^^So you moved that one to the bedroom?

repete66211 is online now  
post #7934 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
rifleman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Yes I am plus I am not sure the value is worth it the cost of calibration is 1/4 the price of the TV:eek:

The THX mode is very good, I used the CNET and I like it I might just be good biggrin.gif

Did you pick up your tv for $1300? If so, congrats! My calibration is coming on Tuesday and it's only $325. Everything I've found is somewhere from $300 to $400 for reputable calibrators in my area. THX mode may be very good, I want to see how much better the tv can get!
rifleman69 is offline  
post #7935 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 07:08 PM
Member
 
Terebi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrygeary View Post

I was going to run slides for 100 hours, then switch to HBO for the next 300. After 48 hours I became concerned that the slides may be unnecessarily stressing the panel, so I switched to HBO at that point. At the 200+ hour mark I decided to switch the TV off at night to see if the on/off cycles would produce any problems (like micro-fractures). Somewhere around 360 hours I relaxed and turned off the set, only turning it on when I want to watch something. I'm in no rush to get a calibration, so I'll probably let the set accumulate 600 hours before I start to think about it. That may be later this year. Meanwhile I can play with settings and decide just which modes and inputs I will eventually want to pay to have calibrated.

It's fairly standard for all the calibrators to do a day, night, and 3D calibration, for all your inputs, so no need to decide which ones to get calibrated.

Sure, you could wait until you get 600 hours before calibration, but why wait that long? That's just that many more movies you'll have to rewatch once you see how good it looks with the calibration!
Terebi is offline  
post #7936 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 07:35 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by rifleman69 View Post

Did you pick up your tv for $1300? If so, congrats! My calibration is coming on Tuesday and it's only $325. Everything I've found is somewhere from $300 to $400 for reputable calibrators in my area. THX mode may be very good, I want to see how much better the tv can get!

$2000 1/4 = $500

Let me know how good it is!
wse is offline  
post #7937 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
mjodotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post

Yes - with electric you don't have the "feel" - very easy to over tighten with drills and electric screwdrivers - like a torque wrench.

Many of them have torque settings though that you can set pretty light.

For reference, the techs that recently did my foam fix used electric screwdrivers and by spot checking a few they were probably more loose than I would have done by hand wink.gif
mjodotcom is offline  
post #7938 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
bourmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington, IL
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Well, I couldn't help but just watch some HD OTA content for a few moments before starting the break in slides. Yes, it is dimmer than the Sony XBR 55HX929 it replaced, but the content had almost a 3D effect! I wasn't use to seeing motion without LCD judder, either. Keep in mind this is with the default picture settings!!!! This TV almost wish I purchased a second model in 65 inches to put in our new home theater rather than the Mits 8000 projector I just bought. Subjecting the Panny to the fireplace and broadcast TV almost seems like a sin.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk
bourmb is offline  
post #7939 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sonyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint Louis. MO
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Update

I finally got my 60ZT60 up and running this evening. I thought I had a dead unit for the first 10 minutes because I kept plugging in my cord for my kuro and wondering why I wasn't getting power. I felt like a total idiot when I realized what I was doing. So far my July build Zt looks excellent! While it doesn't get as black as my 101fd, it's pretty close and everything else seems on par. My kuro is calibrated, so it obviously has the edge there. I have used thx cinema so far. What's up with standard mode? I don 't think I've ever seen such a dim picture mode on a tv before. My set is very quiet, as I can only hear the fans if I get behind the tv. While I do plan on getting it calibrated, it won't be for a while so I am not planning on running slides. I will be cautious with some of my content for the first 100 hours or so. Is there a way to unlock the professional mode? Overall I'm very impressed so far! I have UP playing right now via bluray and it looks fantastic!
Sonyboy is online now  
post #7940 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bvader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClemsonChad View Post

I can't wait to watch more reference/extremely high picture quality BDs with this TV. I've already started making a list of great PQ movies that I need to purchase...

Seriously ... it has been mentioned here before but I thought I would Echo... Pacific Rim...this panel was *made* for content like that... pretty fun movie too if your a sci-fi /action fan!

I have some reference "Scenes" I use that I know well and know what the PQ should be to make me happy... the "1st chapter" of Pacific Rim has joined my collection.. along with opening Scene from The Dark Night (IMAX Full Screen), Some Blade Runner Scenes, Casino Royal, was watching Hot Fuzz the other day spectacular.

I am becoming even more happy as this panel ages the PQ is stunning, I like all my action stuff but the simple skin tones make this display as well. No calibration yet using some of the settings CNET S&V etc

Anyone else want to add some "Favorite" reference scenes???

PS... May build was all hung up on the fans... don't even notice now. Folks...let your ears tell you...not the posts...

Long Live The Gorn!
bvader is offline  
post #7941 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 08:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
mjodotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

I agree I used PIXAR movies and reached 100 hours in no time wink.gif forget the slides

On my set - there is still about a 3/4" "dead zone" on the top and bottom of the picture - even for animated movies. I take it this is normal? It's not present on any of the menus and I honestly never really noticed before and also had the impression the whole screen was filled wink.gif

mjodotcom is offline  
post #7942 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 204
That's the reason I turned off Lawrence of Arabia--it broke my TV, making the top and bottom of the screen all black. Thankfully I was able to fix it.biggrin.gif

repete66211 is online now  
post #7943 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonyboy View Post

What's up with standard mode? I don 't think I've ever seen such a dim picture mode on a tv before. Is there a way to unlock the professional mode?
Standard mode is unusable. It's dim so Panasonic can understate power requirements & satisfy energy efficiency requirements. You can unlock pro mode in the menu.

repete66211 is online now  
post #7944 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
skidawgz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bvader View Post

Seriously ... it has been mentioned here before but I thought I would Echo... Pacific Rim...this panel was *made* for content like that... pretty fun movie too if your a sci-fi /action fan!

I have some reference "Scenes" I use that I know well and know what the PQ should be to make me happy... the "1st chapter" of Pacific Rim has joined my collection.. along with opening Scene from The Dark Night (IMAX Full Screen), Some Blade Runner Scenes, Casino Royal, was watching Hot Fuzz the other day spectacular.

I am becoming even more happy as this panel ages the PQ is stunning, I like all my action stuff but the simple skin tones make this display as well. No calibration yet using some of the settings CNET S&V etc

Anyone else want to add some "Favorite" reference scenes???

PS... May build was all hung up on the fans... don't even notice now. Folks...let your ears tell you...not the posts...

I am a big fan (sound and video) of Scott Pilgrim vs. The World.

Casino Royale and Pacific Rim are great choices.

AVR: Marantz 7008 Phono: Pro-Ject Debut III Speakers: BW CMC2 + 2xCM9 + Energy 2xCB-10 (rear)
TV: Panasonic 65ZT60, Samsung 60F5300
skidawgz is offline  
post #7945 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 09:21 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,720
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by rifleman69 View Post

#1 too cheap to pay for calibration?

Use the other settings that are out there on the net and find one that looks good to you!

Yes I am plus I am not sure the value is worth it the cost of calibration is 1/4 the price of the TV:eek:

The THX mode is very good, I used the CNET and I like it I might just be good biggrin.gif
You are fine. The reason professionals don't want their settings posted is that they have no control over how those settings, that were developed for one particular set, will look on a large sample of other sets. What do you think the owners of those sets would post? "I tried this professionals settings and they look like crap. Don't pay a professional to mess up your set." eek.gif

Or something like that. wink.gif
htwaits is offline  
post #7946 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 09:44 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjodotcom View Post

On my set - there is still about a 3/4" "dead zone" on the top and bottom of the picture - even for animated movies. I take it this is normal? It's not present on any of the menus and I honestly never really noticed before and also had the impression the whole screen was filled wink.gif


Interesting, may be some of them do that, I played Up, Nemo, Toy Story 3 full screen biggrin.gif
wse is offline  
post #7947 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 10:03 PM
Member
 
royalkilla408's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TV is amazing. The picture quality looks fantastic with CNET setting. One bad thing though as I was using my TV my Denon 3313CI stops working! Last time I buy a Denon. What a disappointment.


Anyways 3D looks good too but even at the brightest setting it's not as nice as regular 2D.

Very happy. Can't hear the fans either but I can hear the plasma buzz when it's full white screen.
royalkilla408 is offline  
post #7948 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 10:15 PM
Member
 
ryan8886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Reference your handshake issue....depends on the receiver. I have a Sherwood 972 that has horrible lag in handshaking (sometimes 5-6 seconds) but I suck it up to have the Trinnov room processing, The leftover glitch with the 972 and HDMI is the need to, after powering everything down, re-start in the same mode (i.e. if the last active input was BD, I can't re-start with my sat box...have to re-start in BD and THEN switch to the sat box.) Kind of a drag...but there are still a few HDMI handshake issues running around out there. Just a thought.
ryan8886 is offline  
post #7949 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 10:20 PM
Member
 
royalkilla408's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought so too and reset my Denon many times (Microprocessor and Network) and nothing. I plugged it back into my older Panasonic TV that was working fine with it until today and no signal. The Denon will not switch to HDMI at all and its just stuck on Ana (Analog). I'm just happy my TV works great at least. Panasonic has never disappointed me.
royalkilla408 is offline  
post #7950 of 12423 Old 01-29-2014, 11:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianny View Post

Any recommendation for a good FIXED wallmount for my 65ZT60?
Digicom : PMA-5041, nice and cheap, grabs 3 studs in most cases, most wall mount DO NOT.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off