Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 295 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8821 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Snowhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post

Indeed. Same thing on the car forums I frequent. Most people join and post only about issues they are having. It is much rarer that people pop in to say that their cars are running perfect.

It's true that more people complain than praise. I learned that many, many years ago. I hated coming on here and complaining. I've been a long time lurker and learner (10 yrs). Most of my posts have been questions on things that I couldn't find answers to. I was actually looking forward to posting on here about how great this set is and how it was worth the wait (had to brag somewhere as most people I know just don't get it when it comes to this stuff). I guess that just added to my disappointment. I just hope that they can fix things.
stsjfsd and dmwctw like this.
Snowhunter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8822 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrygeary View Post

There is a magic button press sequence to get you into the service menu. (I don't know it, but it's posted in this thread.) ...

1)Press and hold the "VOL -" button ON THE PLASMA TV.
Do not release the "VOL-" button just yet.

2)While holding the "VOL-" button on the TV set itself, now press the "INFO" button on the remote control 3 times
colnago is offline  
post #8823 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:25 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrygeary View PostThere is a magic button press sequence to get you into the service menu. (I don't know it, but it's posted in this thread.)
That is what I am looking for :)
Your local Panasonic repair shop may be able to order the manual for you, or you might be able to order it yourself from Panasonic, but I don't think it's available for free.

My humble Cinema
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wse is offline  
post #8824 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:26 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by colnago View Post
1)Press and hold the "VOL -" button ON THE PLASMA TV.  Do not release the "VOL-" button just yet.

2)While holding the "VOL-" button on the TV set itself, now press the "INFO" button on the remote control 3 times

THANK YOU what does it do? Pictures please


My humble Cinema
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wse is offline  
post #8825 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

THANK YOU what does it do? Pictures please

Wait, help me understand...you're asking, multiple times that is, for the Service Menu access, but you don't know what it does?
repete66211 likes this.
colnago is offline  
post #8826 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:37 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by colnago View Post

Wait, help me understand...you're asking, multiple times that is, for the Service Menu access, but you don't know what it does?

Yes that's what I want to read the service manual wink.gif

My humble Cinema
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wse is offline  
post #8827 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:41 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 334
LG Drops OLED TV Prices
Posted on: February 10, 2014
LG Electronics said Monday that it is dropping prices of its leading OLED TV models, in order to "significantly grow the OLED market in 2014."

LG's 55-inch 55EA9800 TV will now retail for $7,999.99, which is less than half of the introductory price when the product was introduced last year. LG will also offer a $1,000 instant rebate, bringing the "real" price to under $7,000.

“With our superior WRGB technology, LG has been a leader in OLED technology from the very beginning, and our position continues to get stronger,” William Cho, President and CEO of LG Electronics USA, said as part of the announcement.

My humble Cinema
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wse is offline  
post #8828 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:42 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,800
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by oreb View Post

I woke up this morning to find that my zt has been on the whole night. I left it on with the player turned off so thankfully it was just a black screen... Now to go check the weather and see if my picture appears darker than usual.

Anyone know if I should be worried about anything having a static black screen on for 7 hrs straight?
There is absolutely nothing a black screen will do to a panel. Absolutely nothing. Rest in peace. smile.gif

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is online now  
post #8829 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Yes that's what I want to read the service manual wink.gif

But why are you asking me to post picture of what is in 'your' set, when I posted how to access? A zt60 "Service Manual" download is available online for $16.99...hard copy is $24.99.
colnago is offline  
post #8830 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:47 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,800
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by habittel View Post

So I found a unit with around 500 hours on it. It looks like there is some image retention from what could have been the ESPN ticker bar, but the actual ESPN logo isn't visible. There is only a faint line that shows up. Thoughts? Think that might be correctable?
Can you see the faint line when watching normal programming other than ESPN?

If everything else is OK for you, and the price is right, the IR will eventually go away unless you keep ESPN on as background noise every day..

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is online now  
post #8831 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:51 AM
Member
 
ArcticHaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
65 inch July build here I got it a few days after cyber Monday when it went on sale at Amazon for $2,800 and I had the local Bestbuy / Magnolia price match it. I have almost 500 hours. Since everyone is worried about all the defects I thought I would share my 'mostly' very good experience. Given the micro fracture issues I don't think I would ever get this thing opened up and fixed. I'm generally happy with what I got given the issues I listed. 10/10 picture quality and 8.5/10 as far as my own TV itself because of the issues below. I'm letting my obsessive compulsive nature rest on this one and I would just take the TV for what it is. Honestly the fans on the PS4 and XB1 is louder than this thing. In a sea of bad news I hope this gives some of you some comfort and assurance smile.gif

a.) yes it buzzes on mostly white screens
b.) yes I can hear the fan when it's very quiet or in whispering dialogues
c.) I have one "confused" pixel. It doesn't show all colors and I can't see it from 10 feet away. I saw someone post that it might be a dust particle which actually be true.
d.) no micro fractures. Then again it has never been opened.
e.) the corners are not peeling off and the all look the same - very slightly elevated, uniform with the rest of the front panel
f.) IR from gaming (COD Ghost) is a lot less now even after playing for 2 hours straight. I try to limit my gaming to that and then I watch normal content.
g.) watching Pacfic Rim on Blue Ray using a Oppo 103D with Darbee on is completely mind blowing as far as picture quality - using Dnice's settings.
h.) if anyone jumps in the living room the whole TV wobbles since it's on its factory stand That thing acts like a fulcrum
i.) I installed the bias lighting from Amazon and it definitely helps with the eye strain. I can't say it makes the blacks any blacker the TV already blends with the back wall on a mostly black screen. Plus at least now I can find my phone and remotes even if there is no other light source turned on in the living room .
ArcticHaze is offline  
post #8832 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:55 AM
Newbie
 
habittel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, you can see it during other programming. Right now it's only evident when the content is lighter colored and is most pronounced against a white background. It's faint, but it's definitely there. It disappears when the content is dark. Everything else on the unit looks prestine. It was a display model they just took out a few weeks ago. Too bad they didn't leave it in the box. The price is okay, but not a steal by any means. They have offered to include a 3 year extended warranty.
habittel is offline  
post #8833 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:55 AM
GC3
Advanced Member
 
GC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Georgia in the rear view mirror
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by colnago View Post

Wait, help me understand...you're asking, multiple times that is, for the Service Menu access, but you don't know what it does?

GC3 is offline  
post #8834 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
rifleman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by colnago View Post

Sorry to hear. FWIW, I watch CNBC for 10+ hours every time that I work from home, with no IR. Just curious, when you first received your set, did you watch with reduced contrast/brightness for the first 300 hours?

I have a little bit of IR from CNBC but I've been slowly picking at it with pixel flipper. Calibrator dude ran white slides for quite a bit and it got rid of most of it.
rifleman69 is offline  
post #8835 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
rifleman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by GC3 View Post


Agreed, google is a foreign concept to the OP apparently.
synaptech and colnago like this.
rifleman69 is offline  
post #8836 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by rifleman69 View Post

Agreed, google is a foreign concept to the OP apparently.


That said, please be cognizant that changes made in the Service "Menu" could possibly render your TV useless.
colnago is offline  
post #8837 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 12:19 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArcticHaze View Post

c.) I have one "confused" pixel. It doesn't show all colors and I can't see it from 10 feet away. I saw someone post that it might be a dust particle which actually be true.
Since your pixel is "confused," it is probably not dust and is more than likely a stuck pixel or simply a defective subpixel (which is why it's not visible on all colors).
vinnie97 is offline  
post #8838 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 12:28 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by colnago View PostThat said, please be cognizant that changes made in the Service "Menu" could possibly render your TV useless.

Better stay away then :)


My humble Cinema
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wse is offline  
post #8839 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
rifleman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Better stay away then smile.gif

That might be one of your best posts ever in this thread. You know your limitations. smile.gif
rifleman69 is offline  
post #8840 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post

I don't understand why some are having so many IR issues with this set. I haven't see any with mine and I have done some long gaming and ESPN watching sessions. I do subconsciously try to vary the content though. I guess I have been lucky so far...
Lucky or just not there yet. I used to game for hours without seeing any IR but now It appears regularly.

repete66211 is online now  
post #8841 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Better stay away then smile.gif

That's your call...knowledge is power. Especially when it is more readily available via the internet, when compared to having to use the Dewey decimal system. I had no problem spending several hours, over the past 6 years, in the service menu of my Panny 700U...but that's me.
colnago is offline  
post #8842 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 12:33 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by rifleman69 View PostThat might be one of your best posts ever in this thread. You know your limitations. smile.gif

Of course I do!


My humble Cinema
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wse is offline  
post #8843 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Of course I do!

Given that the level of effort you exerted requesting the information you sought, was higher than what was needed to find on your own, access to the Service Manual, and Service Menu, may be a bit ambitious if you are using this thread for the bulk of your assistance. Although your enthusiasm and desire to learn is something to be commended.
colnago is offline  
post #8844 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 12:46 PM
Member
 
larrygeary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somerset County, NJ
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
There's a bright side to this issue of glass separating and lifting in the corners: Some people have to pay extra to get a curved TV.
synaptech and repete66211 like this.
larrygeary is offline  
post #8845 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 01:21 PM
Member
 
Inseconds99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22

Can someone post settings for optimal video clarity from my ps3/ps4 for my ZT60 to enjoy blu-ray movies? I don't have a standalone blu-ray player and I want to use one of these players as my main blu-ray player. There are a bunch of video settings within the menus that effect the picture output and I am not sure which settings are optimal. There are RBG settings and 24p settings and I am just not sure what I should set each of these options to.

 

Can someone break down the optimal ps4 and ps3 settings separately for blu-ray viewing for my ZT and which one of the 2 will give me the best PQ on my ZT?

Inseconds99 is offline  
post #8846 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inseconds99 View Post

Can someone post settings for optimal video clarity from my ps3/ps4 for my ZT60 to enjoy blu-ray movies? I don't have a standalone blu-ray player and I want to use one of these players as my main blu-ray player. There are a bunch of video settings within the menus that effect the picture output and I am not sure which settings are optimal. There are RBG settings and 24p settings and I am just not sure what I should set each of these options to.

Can someone break down the optimal ps4 and ps3 settings separately for blu-ray viewing for my ZT and which one of the 2 will give me the best PQ on my ZT?

That info, for the PS3 at least, is on a PS forum. A quick google search should turn up the settings for a "neutral" picture. I have my PS3 setup based on the generally accepted "correct" settings.
colnago is offline  
post #8847 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Y'all buying any extended warranties on these?

Normally I don't but for some reason this one is sticking in my mind as maybe I should.

When I registered the TV with Panasonic, a SquareTrade message came from Panasonic. $250 for four years (actually three beyond mfg warranty....).

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #8848 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 01:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,800
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by colnago View Post

That said, please be cognizant that changes made in the Service "Menu" could possibly render your TV useless.
Better stay away then smile.gif
Yes. At least that's what I do. smile.gif

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is online now  
post #8849 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99 View Post

Y'all buying any extended warranties on these?

Normally I don't but for some reason this one is sticking in my mind as maybe I should.

When I registered the TV with Panasonic, a SquareTrade message came from Panasonic. $250 for four years (actually three beyond mfg warranty....).
You can get the same warranty--3 years beyond manufacturer--through Costco for $99.99 here. As always, read the fine print. Extended coverage is usually only a winner for those selling it, but it's not a bad idea with this unit. Unfortunately I didn't discover this option until after the 60 day window had passed.

repete66211 is online now  
post #8850 of 12743 Old 02-10-2014, 01:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,800
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inseconds99 View Post

Can someone post settings for optimal video clarity from my ps3/ps4 for my ZT60 to enjoy blu-ray movies? I don't have a standalone blu-ray player and I want to use one of these players as my main blu-ray player. There are a bunch of video settings within the menus that effect the picture output and I am not sure which settings are optimal. There are RBG settings and 24p settings and I am just not sure what I should set each of these options to.

Can someone break down the optimal ps4 and ps3 settings separately for blu-ray viewing for my ZT and which one of the 2 will give me the best PQ on my ZT?
You should leave your PS3 or PS4 with their default settings (or recognized neutral settings), and calibrate your ZT. At least that's what the best professional calibrators do.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off