Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 310 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 61Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9271 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axxion View Post

Colnago you can always take a page from us pc enthusiasts and build a large tank and fill it with mineral oil and stick your tv into that. The oil will keep all the components cool without risk of a short as oil doesnt conduct electricity. Add a pump and cooling system for the oil and youll really be in low operating temperature territory. It might effect the picture though so i suggest pressing the tv as close to the glass of the tank so its flush, thats why panasonic went with this non protruding bezel design, for this very scenario. The two "fans" in the back are actually mini oil circulators.


"Us PC enthusiasts"? I'm all about the mods, and fans...I guess that's why the "Fan issue" was a "non-issue" for me. Here is my BF2 rig, and A/C mod (box w/keyboard on top is my forum's BF2 server smile.gif ):






If the "fan issue" did become one for me however, I would have gone this route, and cut out the fan vent holes on my ZT, to eliminate and turbulance caused by the cover:


colnago is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9272 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
LOJIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Upon awakening this morning I was pleasantly surprised to find a titanfall beta code for the xbox one in my inbox. I am loving it, especially on my beautiful ZT. I am still adjusting to the increased size panel, I jumped from a 46 to 65!

LOJIN is offline  
post #9273 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 12:19 PM
Member
 
ppipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by synaptech View Post

I haven't even powered mine on yet so there's a while yet but are there any recommended Canadian calibrators ? I'm in Hamilton, ontario.

This person seems close to me with good reviews.
http://www.avsforum.com/u/35995/michael-osadciw

Anyone else to consider?


Did you order the ZT from the U.S. or purchased in Canada? As far as calibrators go,i have heard good things about Michael Chen.
ppipro is offline  
post #9274 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 01:26 PM
Member
 
synaptech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
J
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppipro View Post

Did you order the ZT from the U.S. or purchased in Canada? As far as calibrators go,i have heard good things about Michael Chen.

Bought from amazon.com in us. Will buy a USA square trade and I should be good smile.gif
synaptech is offline  
post #9275 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 01:32 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Just wanted to note here that I have officially sworn off this thread courtesy of the rabidity: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1361871/official-pioneer-kuro-reddish-tint-problem-thread/2100_100#post_24358251 (Panasonic apparently failed). If any dual owners want to take up the battle, there's your head's up. The constant disingenuous comparison by a certain forumgoer of a tweaked 9.5G with the final Panasonic model (apparently the only way any Panasonic panel can measure up is in a scenario where the 9G is a lemon, lol) drives me up the wall, but the back-and-forth is even more tiresome.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #9276 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Just wanted to note here that I have officially sworn off this thread courtesy of the rabidity: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1361871/official-pioneer-kuro-reddish-tint-problem-thread/2100_100#post_24358251 (Panasonic apparently failed). If any dual owners want to take up the battle, there's your head's up. The constant disingenuous comparison by a certain forumgoer of a tweaked 9.5G with the final Panasonic model (apparently the only way any Panasonic panel can measure up is in a scenario where the 9G is a lemon, lol) drives me up the wall, but the back-and-forth is even more tiresome.

Are you happy with your ZT?
ShockFett is offline  
post #9277 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 02:12 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Yes...but do I wish during low APL scenes that it could be tweaked to go as deep as the aforementioned 9.5G sets at even a factory level, you betcha'. What I loathe are dishonest comparisons.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #9278 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 02:15 PM
Member
 
DavidW1820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22

Question for the gang. As a ZT60 owner with FIOS cable fed directly into the TV (not into a receiver with any processing), do I get a better picture setting the cable box to output at 1080i or 720p? I just watched a video explaining that 720p actually has more resolution than 1080i due to the interlacing cutting out half the lines at any given moment. I realize that the TV does its own processing and upscaling because it runs at 1080p. I just wondered which source setting results in the best final picture for the majority of content.

DavidW1820 is offline  
post #9279 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 02:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidW1820 View Post

Question for the gang. As a ZT60 owner with FIOS cable fed directly into the TV (not into a receiver with any processing), do I get a better picture setting the cable box to output at 1080i or 720p? I just watched a video explaining that 720p actually has more resolution than 1080i due to the interlacing cutting out half the lines at any given moment. I realize that the TV does its own processing and upscaling because it runs at 1080p. I just wondered which source setting results in the best final picture for the majority of content.

Set the box to pass-through/native and let the ZT do the processing, not a $00.25 processing chip in the Fios box

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #9280 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 02:26 PM
Member
 
DavidW1820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post


Set the box to pass-through/native and let the ZT do the processing, not a $00.25 processing chip in the Fios box


I get that but the box doesn't have a check mark for native, you have to pick a number. Anyone know what native would be in Fios's latest set top box?

DavidW1820 is offline  
post #9281 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 02:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidW1820 View Post


I get that but the box doesn't have a check mark for native, you have to pick a number. Anyone know what native would be in Fios's latest set top box?

If you have the Motorola box believe the default is 1080i - if that is the case I would leave it @ 1080i

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #9282 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 02:43 PM
Member
 
DavidW1820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post


If you have the Motorola box believe the default is 1080i - if that is the case I would leave it @ 1080i


Thanks Bob, that's what I thought.

DavidW1820 is offline  
post #9283 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

^biggrin.gif I'm happy to report I have finally paid off the TV as of today (only 8+ months after purchase eek.gif ). The good news is I have dodged the interest bullet, already having yielded over $421 in deferred charges. It would appear I can easily get another 4+ years out of this flagship (like I did with the Kuro).

Congrats! Now unless you bought an extended warranty pray that your TV doesn't break. These banks and no interest payment crap do nothing for you if something happens to the merchandise. Compared to credit cards with extended warranty.
mohanman is offline  
post #9284 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 03:11 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

Congrats! Now unless you bought an extended warranty pray that your TV doesn't break. These banks and no interest payment crap do nothing for you if something happens to the merchandise. Compared to credit cards with extended warranty.
I'm covered (hopefully) with a Mack. The reason I say hopefully is because they require you to be within 25 miles of an authorized service company for in-home service, and I am not 100% sure that I am (it doesn't help that they fail to keep an online searchable database). Otherwise you have to ship/transport the panel directly to them. With a, I believe, 4% fail rate, I'll probably be fine. *knock on wood*
vinnie97 is offline  
post #9285 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 03:15 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Yes...but do I wish during low APL scenes that it could be tweaked to go as deep as the aforementioned 9.5G sets at even a factory level, you betcha'. What I loathe are dishonest comparisons.

If you dislike it why go find it?

Just enjoy your panel man. wink.gif

I can't wait to see what dnice measures my panels at. smile.gif
ShockFett is offline  
post #9286 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 03:28 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Probably my obsessive-compulsiveness kicking in (it's an epidemic here). wink.gif I used to follow that thread on-and-off as an owner, and I have been doing the same as a nonowner from a different perspective. I have sworn it off as of today.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #9287 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sonyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint Louis. MO
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Yes...but do I wish during low APL scenes that it could be tweaked to go as deep as the aforementioned 9.5G sets at even a factory level, you betcha'. What I loathe are dishonest comparisons.

Vinnie don't feel too bad, while my 101fd does get a bit darker in low apl scenes, the ZT60 is stunning in a darkened setting. I watched alien on blu ray the other night and it was stunning!! The ZT60 is in that good enough category as far as black level goes. Panasonic did an amazing job with the ZT60! Not once have I watched a movie yet and thought, man I wish I was watching my kuro instead. I still do give my pioneer the nod because it's calibrated and has a little more of a natural look to it. But my ZT only has 150 hours on it. Bottom line is you have a damn good television!!!smile.gif
Sonyboy is offline  
post #9288 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Axxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Vinnie youve seem to have found yourself caught in the middle of a horde of elitists. Blind of all reasoning. Just let their panels die and return when it happens, posting a pic of yours lol. I have to say though, sitting 6 inches from a 50 inch display and saying its the same is quite amusing.
Sonyboy and vinnie97 like this.
Axxion is offline  
post #9289 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Famouss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Just wanted to note here that I have officially sworn off this thread courtesy of the rabidity: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1361871/official-pioneer-kuro-reddish-tint-problem-thread/2100_100#post_24358251 (Panasonic apparently failed). If any dual owners want to take up the battle, there's your head's up. The constant disingenuous comparison by a certain forumgoer of a tweaked 9.5G with the final Panasonic model (apparently the only way any Panasonic panel can measure up is in a scenario where the 9G is a lemon, lol) drives me up the wall, but the back-and-forth is even more tiresome.
No screw that lol, as it is the only perceivable difference to me from a tweaked 101fd and my 65vt60 is the same as the jump from my vt50 to vt60, which is just slight at low low apl. I do not have a stock 9g Kuro to compare, but I assume it has to be identical to the zt/vt, aka no difference. If people want to get technical then quite a few calibrators have the zt/vt at under .001. Even then I don't care, if a 65" set is near identical to a 50" set, I will opt for the 65" always and that is why I have the 101fd in my bedroom instead of the theater room. Literally any ambient light makes them both look 100% indistinguishable to me.
Sonyboy likes this.

Panasonic TC-P65VT60
Sony BDP-S5100
Elite PRO-101FD
Famouss is offline  
post #9290 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 04:35 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Thanks for making me look less loony, folks. wink.gif
htwaits likes this.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #9291 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 04:42 PM
Member
 
LeKnobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axxion View Post

Lots of people here have even complained about the lipnsync issue, thats a result of the processing the zt does.

Completly wrong. If you are getting synch issues with audio that is a receiver or chaining issue, not ZT.
LeKnobber is offline  
post #9292 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 04:49 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axxion View Post

Vinnie youve seem to have found yourself caught in the middle of a horde of elitists. Blind of all reasoning. Just let their panels die and return when it happens, posting a pic of yours lol. I have to say though, sitting 6 inches from a 50 inch display and saying its the same is quite amusing.
That is one of the more ridiculous arguments I've seen around here lately. Size matters, and it doesn't just start mattering when you reach projector size. It's just a justification mechanism since the ZT60 is the closest (and it is close) panel in PQ compared to those beloved 50-inchers. The claims about OLED blacks are getting old, too. They are operating outside of spec, so there most certainly has to be some sacrifice involved in PQ here (black crush being the most obvious/likely). Phosphors glow. There's no way around it. Could Pioneer have potentially crippled their flagships at the time of release? That seems pointless because they already had lower end models with features removed. Then, there's the inherent risk of fiddling with the service menu and introducing instability that requires constant monitoring. That doesn't mean I'm not excited about what the DIYers will discover with the ZT of which I suspect there will be plenty once the warranties expire.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #9293 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Thanks for making me look less loony, folks. wink.gif

No you're still crazy lol wink.gif
ShockFett is offline  
post #9294 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 04:59 PM
Member
 
Rixvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cairns
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Guys thanks for your comments in regards to this set. Due to the warranty issues I will face, a bit like car manufacturing in Australia, lol. Iv decided to go with new technology and what I know. Thanks again. Mark
htwaits likes this.

CHEERS
Rixvegas

LIVE BY THE SWORD
DIE BY THE SWORD
Rixvegas is offline  
post #9295 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Paw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cranbrook BC
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
And now for something completely different...

Has anyone tried out the iPad app called Panasonic TV Remote 2? I just discovered that it has a calibration feature. It's pretty cool. I would imagine that if you put up a grayscale ramp test pattern and had good colour vision you could tweak out any green push in ten IRE steps along the ramp. You can also see the changes using the different colour specs and control all the other settings for each input.

Mike
Mr Paw is offline  
post #9296 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 05:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hey guys I'm using Roku 3 and pled with 1080p movies. Should I be using this 1080p direct setting to on?
Little confused
Thanks!
mohanman is offline  
post #9297 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Axxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeKnobber View Post

Completly wrong. If you are getting synch issues with audio that is a receiver or chaining issue, not ZT.
Are you saying the zt knows its processing delay compared to audio and appropriately compensates? If so how do you know this? I think i noticed a differnce between game mode off and on for the tv speakers. And your post is the one completely wrong, the ZT has delay due to processing. The receivers are the ones forced to compromise by adding delay. Not the zt adding picture delay because audio is too slow. Turn on motion smoothing to high and tell me you dont notice a delay.
Axxion is offline  
post #9298 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 05:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Axxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

Hey guys I'm using Roku 3 and pled with 1080p movies. Should I be using this 1080p direct setting to on?
Little confused
Thanks!
Chad had mine switched to on after calibration was complete, meaning after he set the day and night and thx modes he played with settings like your mentioning. When i was playing with settings to see which gave me the highest light output for pixel orbiter, i noticed having 1080p direct on made the static screen look pink, instead of more white with pure direct off. So now i have it set to off. I tried to observe a color shift in normal content outside pixel orbiter but couldnt. I cant say for sure but i doubt that setting makes a difference.
Axxion is offline  
post #9299 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 06:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Axxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Paw View Post

And now for something completely different...

Has anyone tried out the iPad app called Panasonic TV Remote 2? I just discovered that it has a calibration feature. It's pretty cool. I would imagine that if you put up a grayscale ramp test pattern and had good colour vision you could tweak out any green push in ten IRE steps along the ramp. You can also see the changes using the different colour specs and control all the other settings for each input.

Mike
I have the app too. I didnt play with it, i passed it off as a toy, but i didnt give it a chance either.
Axxion is offline  
post #9300 of 12420 Old 02-14-2014, 06:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thxtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Paw View Post

And now for something completely different...

Has anyone tried out the iPad app called Panasonic TV Remote 2? I just discovered that it has a calibration feature. It's pretty cool. I would imagine that if you put up a grayscale ramp test pattern and had good colour vision you could tweak out any green push in ten IRE steps along the ramp. You can also see the changes using the different colour specs and control all the other settings for each input.

Mike

Didn't try that. I'd be curious to compare that and the THX app and see what's what. The THX app is a bit basic but does some pretty good tweaks considering.

Thxtheater is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off