Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 397 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11881 of 12407 Old 05-23-2014, 08:13 AM
Newbie
 
Belloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belloso View Post

I was watching THE ADVENTURES OF TINTIN 3D Blu-ray the other night and had the THX Cinema 3D mode engaged but the 3D refresh rate toggle was dimmed. Any ideas why this is so? I had watched previous 3D movies and was able to set it to 96hz. Help?

Watching via PS3 and Onkyo receiver. Never had this problem with 3D viewing before.

Anybody experience anything like this or have any insight?
Belloso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11882 of 12407 Old 05-23-2014, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belloso View Post

Anybody experience anything like this or have any insight?
A THX mode is a preset group of settings. The THX Cinema, Bright & 3D modes all have fewer options for tweaking the picture. The idea is that all settings have already been optimized, which is the whole point of the THX mode. It's not just refresh rate, but also pixel orbiter and some of the other picture settings like gray scale, color, etc.

repete66211 is online now  
post #11883 of 12407 Old 05-23-2014, 08:31 AM
Newbie
 
Belloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post

A THX mode is a preset group of settings. The THX Cinema, Bright & 3D modes all have fewer options for tweaking the picture. The idea is that all settings have already been optimized, which is the whole point of the THX mode. It's not just refresh rate, but also pixel orbiter and some of the other picture settings like gray scale, color, etc.

Yea I know that. It's just weird because I remember watching a 3D movie on that THX mode and the 96hz was able to be toggled. That's why I quoted what movie I was watching as I only witnessed it first on that specific movie. Wonder why it worked for others but not for that one.
Belloso is offline  
post #11884 of 12407 Old 05-23-2014, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
mcjimsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekarita View Post

Just want to say, I've had my May build running as my main TV for months with no issues and a great pic.  I'm a happy camper!

Ditto! Calibrated ZT65 since October w over 3000 hrs and still amazed!!

Bob
CrazyNurse likes this.
mcjimsey is offline  
post #11885 of 12407 Old 05-23-2014, 04:04 PM
Member
 
jasjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntculenuf View Post

Me too, as suggested in a few post back the 96hz setting seems to help. I'm either getting used to it or as the tv gets more hours on it i don't notice it as much.

Sorry is 96hz 24p? If so that's what I always play blu rays at and it still gives me brightness fluctuations in 3D.

Panasonic ZT65
Onkyo HT-R390
Popcorn hour A-400
SKY HD
Xbox One
Xbox 360
IPAD Air 32GB
Samsung Galaxy S4
Virgin Broadband 120MB
jasjw is offline  
post #11886 of 12407 Old 05-24-2014, 05:18 AM
Senior Member
 
AVKIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Don't mean to start a war, but where has self been?? Just curious.
AVKIK is offline  
post #11887 of 12407 Old 05-24-2014, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 70
After two months of having everything in storage, I got my system setup in the new pad. Watched Gravity and was once again blown away by the picture quality and the immersion.
drewTT is offline  
post #11888 of 12407 Old 05-24-2014, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
rifleman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVKIK View Post

Don't mean to start a war, but where has self been?? Just curious.

Somewhere over the rainbow.
rifleman69 is offline  
post #11889 of 12407 Old 05-24-2014, 10:15 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVKIK View Post

Don't mean to start a war, but where has self been?? Just curious.
banned...
vinnie97 is offline  
post #11890 of 12407 Old 05-24-2014, 10:31 AM
Member
 
RoyMacDonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rye East Sussex UK
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaayoung View Post

Glad your calibration went well. How much do calibrators charge in England? In the US, the cost is around $400. My ZT was the first TV I've had calibrated. Very please with the results. Won't be the last one either.

£200 Worth every penny.
RoyMacDonald is offline  
post #11891 of 12407 Old 05-24-2014, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
AVKIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

banned...
Is that true? How does that happen? Btw, loving my zt60. Wish it didn't have the glow when all is black, but I guess that's the nature of the beast.
AVKIK is offline  
post #11892 of 12407 Old 05-24-2014, 11:48 AM
Member
 
RoyMacDonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rye East Sussex UK
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post

Exactly what I've been saying all along although I have a VT60 and use an Oppo 103D for my tivo roamio OTA video processing. The Lumagen probably does even better. I'm curious- how much a difference in PQ do you see when using the Lumagen versus the ZT60 directly doing its own upscaling for HD satellite?

Here are some photos, but don't compare them with other photos, just each other. The camera loses a lot of detail your eyes can pick up, by the time it's gone through all the processes to reach your monitor. The photos were taken in daylight and are of a regular broadcast from my satellite box. The amount of detail pre and post in the presenters hair are typical of the extra detail I'm seeing now. The pre is the panels own scaling and the post are the Lumagen's.

I should add the presenter uses a large amount of spray tan.

Post calibration


Post Calibration



Pre calibration
Chere and ChadThunder like this.
RoyMacDonald is offline  
post #11893 of 12407 Old 05-24-2014, 12:15 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVKIK View Post

Is that true? How does that happen? Btw, loving my zt60. Wish it didn't have the glow when all is black, but I guess that's the nature of the beast.
Too many red flagged posts from active users, I think. wink.gif
vinnie97 is offline  
post #11894 of 12407 Old 05-24-2014, 02:52 PM
Newbie
 
AVsuperhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Whatever picture settings you prefer, he's what is found out finally after 6 months of ownership .
In the pro settings, if your not watching blu ray, like cable or streaming boxes, make sure that in pro settings, the color gamut is set to rec709 not native. Under native the tv is expanding color depth artificially so on not so great signals the picture is just weird. Not natural. This works fine for blu rays too but you will see a nice improvement with the gammut set to native. My exact settings for a perfect picture are:

Picture mode custom
Contrast 79
Brightness 0
Color 50
Tint 0
Sharpness 71
Color temp NORMAL
Vivid color on
Cats OFF
video nr off
MPEG remaster auto
Resolution remaster auto

In pro settings

Panel bright MID
AGC 6
Black extension 4
Color gamut rec 709

Now go to gamma detail adjustment and set
GAMMA to 2.2 not 2.6

That's it. Good luck.
MADDOCTOR likes this.
AVsuperhead is offline  
post #11895 of 12407 Old 05-24-2014, 06:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVsuperhead View Post

Whatever picture settings you prefer, he's what is found out finally after 6 months of ownership .
In the pro settings, if your not watching blu ray, like cable or streaming boxes, make sure that in pro settings, the color gamut is set to rec709 not native. Under native the tv is expanding color depth artificially so on not so great signals the picture is just weird. Not natural. This works fine for blu rays too but you will see a nice improvement with the gammut set to native. My exact settings for a perfect picture are:

Picture mode custom
Contrast 79
Brightness 0
Color 50
Tint 0
Sharpness 71
Color temp NORMAL
Vivid color on
Cats OFF
video nr off
MPEG remaster auto
Resolution remaster auto

In pro settings

Panel bright MID
AGC 6
Black extension 4
Color gamut rec 709

Now go to gamma detail adjustment and set
GAMMA to 2.2 not 2.6

That's it. Good luck.


Maybe the Vivid color on has something to do with "the picture is just weird".

I recall this being one of the settings in place when I originally watched some 3D blus... cartoon colors seemed like.

MPEG remaster, Resolution remaster, suggest turning all those sorts of things off. Sharpness above a certain value, more picture weirdness, set it to zero to be safe.
fmalczewski is online now  
post #11896 of 12407 Old 05-24-2014, 07:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Vivid color enhances blues & greens. It's probably best left off.

repete66211 is online now  
post #11897 of 12407 Old 05-24-2014, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 1,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post

Vivid color enhances blues & greens. It's probably best left off.

Way off topic but how's the ATI working?
smurraybhm is online now  
post #11898 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 08:23 AM
Member
 
ntculenuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasjw View Post

Sorry is 96hz 24p? If so that's what I always play blu rays at and it still gives me brightness fluctuations in 3D.
when the tv is in 3d mode you can go into the picture settings and under some of the settings you can change the refresh rate of the TV. i believe the 24p is on the blue ray side not the TV but i could be wrong, maybe some one with more knowledge can step in and answer this better. as i said before i am not noticing the fluctuation that much now that i have had the TV for awhile.

ntculenuf is offline  
post #11899 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
ChadThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyMacDonald View Post

Post Calibration



Pre calibration

Calibration looks good smile.gif

The filter on the ZT works better than I thought, compare the the light coming off the bezel compared to the display area
ChadThunder is offline  
post #11900 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,711
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyMacDonald View Post

Here are some photos, but don't compare them with other photos, just each other. The camera loses a lot of detail your eyes can pick up, by the time it's gone through all the processes to reach your monitor. The photos were taken in daylight and are of a regular broadcast from my satellite box. The amount of detail pre and post in the presenters hair are typical of the extra detail I'm seeing now. The pre is the panels own scaling and the post are the Lumagen's.

I should add the presenter uses a large amount of spray tan.

Post calibration


Post Calibration



Pre calibration
Not that you can really compare using a camera but wouldn't it be at least a better comparison to see the same frames side by side?

Also, why do you have a couch directly in from of your ZT? Hopefully you were just rearranging some furniture.
eric3316 is online now  
post #11901 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntculenuf View Post

when the tv is in 3d mode you can go into the picture settings and under some of the settings you can change the refresh rate of the TV. i believe the 24p is on the blue ray side not the TV but i could be wrong, maybe some one with more knowledge can step in and answer this better. as i said before i am not noticing the fluctuation that much now that i have had the TV for awhile.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasjw View Post

Sorry is 96hz 24p? If so that's what I always play blu rays at and it still gives me brightness fluctuations in 3D.

24fps is the frame rate for most bluray discs - in you ZT E-HELP - page 174 for 3D refresher rate info - Most recommend 96hz for both 2D & 3D

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is online now  
post #11902 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 393 Post(s)
Liked: 321

Anyone own the Panasonic Plasma and OLED and if so which would you give up?  I am deciding between a 55 LG OLED @ $4,000 and a ZT60 65" at 2.5K?

Vegas oled is online now  
post #11903 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 03:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,709
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post

Anyone own the Panasonic Plasma and OLED and if so which would you give up?  I am deciding between a 55 LG OLED @ 4K and a ZT60 65" at 2.5K?
Where did you find a 4k OLED set? Where will you find a ZT60?
htwaits is offline  
post #11904 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post

Anyone own the Panasonic Plasma and OLED and if so which would you give up?  I am deciding between a 55 LG OLED @ 4K and a ZT60 65" at 2.5K?
Vinny has both and I believe the OLED is his primary display now. That tiny, little 55" OLED. biggrin.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

Where did you find a 4k OLED set? Where will you find a ZT60?
I think he means $4,000.

repete66211 is online now  
post #11905 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 03:24 PM
Member
 
RoyMacDonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rye East Sussex UK
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post

Not that you can really compare using a camera but wouldn't it be at least a better comparison to see the same frames side by side?

Also, why do you have a couch directly in from of your ZT? Hopefully you were just rearranging some furniture.

Sadly I no longer have a home cinema room since I moved, but the ZT can be seen fine despite the sofa. I am planning to build a separate building to house a home cinema. I live in a 500 year old listed building so I'm unlikely to get planning consent for an extension.

Yes identical frames would be best but I just shot a regular transmission for the before frame and have no other. You can see the comparative difference in quality though. Especially if you enlarge the photos. I wasn't going to bother at all as photos don't show how good the picture is now. There are so many processes and variables I have no idea how close to what I've taken and posted is being seen. I was just trying to answer a previous post.
RoyMacDonald is offline  
post #11906 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 03:30 PM
Member
 
RoyMacDonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rye East Sussex UK
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadThunder View Post

Calibration looks good smile.gif

The filter on the ZT works better than I thought, compare the the light coming off the bezel compared to the display area
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadThunder View Post

Calibration looks good smile.gif

The filter on the ZT works better than I thought, compare the the light coming off the bezel compared to the display area

Yes as you see the curtains are open on the main window. The picture is better with the curtains drawn of course but it's not popular with my family to close them in the day time.
RoyMacDonald is offline  
post #11907 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 03:36 PM
Member
 
RoyMacDonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rye East Sussex UK
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post

Anyone own the Panasonic Plasma and OLED and if so which would you give up?  I am deciding between a 55 LG OLED @ $4,000 and a ZT60 65" at 2.5K?

I asked my calibrator that and he said he preferred the ZT and that was the one he would buy if he had the money.
RoyMacDonald is offline  
post #11908 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 05:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,709
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post

Anyone own the Panasonic Plasma and OLED and if so which would you give up?  I am deciding between a 55 LG OLED @ 4K and a ZT60 65" at 2.5K?
Vinny has both and I believe the OLED is his primary display now. That tiny, little 55" OLED. biggrin.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

Where did you find a 4k OLED set? Where will you find a ZT60?
I think he means $4,000.
Right. smile.gif
htwaits is offline  
post #11909 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thxtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post

Anyone own the Panasonic Plasma and OLED and if so which would you give up?  I am deciding between a 55 LG OLED @ $4,000 and a ZT60 65" at 2.5K?

Without hesitation I'd get the ZT60 and put the extra $$ into audio gear. 10 extra inches is plasma screen size plus better audio wins hands down in my book.

Thxtheater is online now  
post #11910 of 12407 Old 05-28-2014, 06:31 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post

Vinny has both and I believe the OLED is his primary display now. That tiny, little 55" OLED. biggrin.gif
I think he means $4,000.
Well, the Kuro made me a black level fiend, so I have been more invigorated to watch my collection again on the OLED for said visual immersion than I have the ZT. That said, the ZT still sits stately in the "great room." It does a few things better in terms of grayscale uniformity and motion resolution.
vinnie97 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off