Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 414 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12391 of 12414 Old 07-23-2014, 08:21 PM
Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post
If I could get a 65" ZT60 for $1,700 I'd take my chances with the IR, especially if they threw in a warranty or some extras.

It still amazes me that in this day and age TV stores don't take better care of their floor models. I mean, everyone knows about IR. How can a manager not make the effort to ensure 16:9 content is run on all TVs--even the LCDs--7all the time? This just boggles the mind.
I pretty much agree with everything you said. How do the people running these stores take no precautions? I think the risk becomes worth it at some point. I guess that point is what I'm trying to identify.
B T C is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12392 of 12414 Old 07-23-2014, 11:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post
You can't eyeball greyscale. its impossible for a human to do it. D-nice has said this many many times ( I'm guessing he tried to do it himself and couldn't get anything out of it by eye )

A meter is a must to get any positive adjustment of the greyscale otherwise you can't see what ur adjusting good or bad
Pretty sure we've already had this discussion. Not talking a full blown calibration, just picking a Color Temp setting from a pulldown of maybe a handful of options. I can eyeball when grey has the least amount of coloration to it. Be happy to show you.
fmalczewski is offline  
post #12393 of 12414 Old 07-23-2014, 11:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post
I agree. I think voltages may have been set higher than normal causing IR to be more prone on the 2013 sets. Probably the best guess I've read on this forum of why IR is soo common on 2013

Also, my set before it hit 1500 hours was very very resistant to IR for any content....now its nearing 1600 hours and I can make out IR from just the menu after I switch to a white slide but it fades away after content is displayed. Im guessing at 1500 hours the voltage levels jumped keep up with aging phosphours or something...sorta like what happened with the VT25 black level rise when the word was some Panasonic engineer goofed on the voltage algorithm too early and too aggressively
That wouldn't surprise me at all. Seems to be the case for me too, with possibly a bump (or two) prior to that. Pretty easy to get anything with bright lettering to stick relatively easily as of late, particularly towards the bottom of the screen.

But... even when the set was practically brand new I ran into some of the same IR early on when I thought I'd run slides for 100 hours or so. Right off the bat, I think just from running the application to get them to play. (Not really sure it's just IR, so much motion involved in the (video) noise that goes along with it; towards the top I've seen some IR too, but none of the video noise.)

Last edited by fmalczewski; 07-23-2014 at 11:44 PM.
fmalczewski is offline  
post #12394 of 12414 Old Yesterday, 04:54 AM
Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I saw some mild IR on my VT60 from the application to play video and it could not have been on the screen for more than a minute, probably closer to 30 seconds. This was with 1000+ hours on the set.
B T C is offline  
post #12395 of 12414 Old Yesterday, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 204
I see IR when I launch the PS3 Amazon Video app. It's up for just a few seconds and it fades pretty quickly. My old Samsung plasma did the same thing. I don't really consider short term IR like that a concern.
repete66211 is offline  
post #12396 of 12414 Old Yesterday, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
My IR still does seem to fade, but seems like it's there with the slightest provocation now, so as one bout is fading another comes along to take its place quite readily. Contemplating just making it a blu-ray/dvd only panel (but in the real world...)

At least it is still "only" visible/present with 16:9 mostly light/white content (black bars on the side, per 4:3 content, invisible; darker 16:9 content mostly always invisible, but sometimes if you look...).
fmalczewski is offline  
post #12397 of 12414 Old Yesterday, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
garnettrules21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm in the same boat with my plasma in regards to IR, its just an ST60. I have 2800 hours on it and run contrast on logo'd channels at a modest 60 and it will still generate IR no problem almost instantly. I also have line bleed pretty good on the low and mid brightness settings but when I put the panel brightness to high it diminishes it quite a bit but I normally run in mid or low cause of the image retention running in "high" seems like it sticks around longer. Sometimes even a persons eyes create slight line bleed.

I too was thinking maybe the voltage has become out of whack but is that normal? How does that even happen? I nervously went into the service menu to check my VSUS but it said it was set to low, was hoping it was set to high or something that would explain it. Not sure where to go from here. I'm passed my warranty and don't really want to pay for a tech to come out if its gonna cost over $50 or so. The only thing I could think of at this point though is that the voltages on the back of the panel are set too high or something. Not sure. It's aggravating.

I wrote panasonic on twitter about this and they told me its not normal (obviously). They want me to take a few picture examples and send them to them and they will share with their tech team. Gonna do that at lunch. I'm sure they will look at them and say its either "within normal operating guidelines" or something to that extent. Ideally I'd like for them to send a knowledgeable tech out for free to check the voltages.

Even as it stands its the best tv I've owned and don't plan on getting rid of it till it completely craps out.
garnettrules21 is offline  
post #12398 of 12414 Old Yesterday, 03:46 PM
Member
 
jliedeka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott brown View Post
I'm moving and might have to mount the 65inch on a brick wall. I'd like a full motion mount that will extend up to 20 inches or so. What would you recommend? Sanus? Any particular model? Are all the mounts Sanus claims to be compatible with the TC-P65ZT60 actually compatible?

Any recommendations other than Sanus?

Thanks!
When I got my 65" ZT60, I gave my girlfriend my older 50" V10. That weighs 75 pounds and we used a Peerless fully articulated mount. The installation went smoothly but I was just installing into two studs behind standard drywall. The Peerless was a bit cheaper than the comparable Sanus model and was really well built.

Jim
jliedeka is offline  
post #12399 of 12414 Old Today, 04:47 AM
Member
 
scott brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC area
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jliedeka View Post
When I got my 65" ZT60, I gave my girlfriend my older 50" V10. That weighs 75 pounds and we used a Peerless fully articulated mount. The installation went smoothly but I was just installing into two studs behind standard drywall. The Peerless was a bit cheaper than the comparable Sanus model and was really well built.

Jim
There's a friendly contractor working on the building next door who said he'd send a guy over to mount the zt on the brick wall next week. So that makes it easy. Now to decide if I want the dual arm mount or not. Amazon has the Sanus mounts for basically half of the retail price. My zt replaced my Kuro, which is now in the bedroom. Maybe I'll mount that on the wall, too
scott brown is offline  
post #12400 of 12414 Old Today, 05:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
You guys are all totally over reacting about this IR thing. I have a 55" VT30 that had the DISH logo from that hopper box on the screen everyday for days. I thought it was burned in and became very sad about the situation because it would never go away. It was there with white screens, grey screens... etc. The 55" VT30 went to storage because I then got a GT50 and now a ZT60. It was in storage for one year. I then took it out to put in one my bedrooms, and voila... the IR is gone completely. NO more dish logo.

Mo!

So if you are concerned about IR, just put it in storage for one year
mohanman is offline  
post #12401 of 12414 Old Today, 06:33 AM
Senior Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by garnettrules21 View Post
I'm in the same boat with my plasma in regards to IR, its just an ST60. I have 2800 hours on it and run contrast on logo'd channels at a modest 60 and it will still generate IR no problem almost instantly. I also have line bleed pretty good on the low and mid brightness settings but when I put the panel brightness to high it diminishes it quite a bit but I normally run in mid or low cause of the image retention running in "high" seems like it sticks around longer. Sometimes even a persons eyes create slight line bleed.

I too was thinking maybe the voltage has become out of whack but is that normal? How does that even happen? I nervously went into the service menu to check my VSUS but it said it was set to low, was hoping it was set to high or something that would explain it. Not sure where to go from here. I'm passed my warranty and don't really want to pay for a tech to come out if its gonna cost over $50 or so. The only thing I could think of at this point though is that the voltages on the back of the panel are set too high or something. Not sure. It's aggravating.

I wrote panasonic on twitter about this and they told me its not normal (obviously). They want me to take a few picture examples and send them to them and they will share with their tech team. Gonna do that at lunch. I'm sure they will look at them and say its either "within normal operating guidelines" or something to that extent. Ideally I'd like for them to send a knowledgeable tech out for free to check the voltages.

Even as it stands its the best tv I've owned and don't plan on getting rid of it till it completely craps out.
Panasonic said IR and Line Bleed were not normal? I understand about you saying your line bleed results are mixed based on screen brightness but these two things are typical "features" of a Plasma. IR and Line Bleed have been talked about for years on this forum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post
You guys are all totally over reacting about this IR thing. I have a 55" VT30 that had the DISH logo from that hopper box on the screen everyday for days. I thought it was burned in and became very sad about the situation because it would never go away. It was there with white screens, grey screens... etc. The 55" VT30 went to storage because I then got a GT50 and now a ZT60. It was in storage for one year. I then took it out to put in one my bedrooms, and voila... the IR is gone completely. NO more dish logo.

Mo!

So if you are concerned about IR, just put it in storage for one year
I don't think many of us are fortunate enough to have multiple TV's where we could put one in storage for an entire year. Also I thought the only way to remove IR is to watch mixed content. How does not watching any TV get rid of IR?
HLdan is online now  
post #12402 of 12414 Old Today, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post
You guys are all totally over reacting about this IR thing. I have a 55" VT30 that had the DISH logo from that hopper box on the screen everyday for days. I thought it was burned in and became very sad about the situation because it would never go away. It was there with white screens, grey screens... etc. The 55" VT30 went to storage because I then got a GT50 and now a ZT60. It was in storage for one year. I then took it out to put in one my bedrooms, and voila... the IR is gone completely. NO more dish logo.

Mo!

So if you are concerned about IR, just put it in storage for one year
LOL. So folks are overreacting when all they have to do for every IR they get is put the TV in the basement for a year? Well, >phew<, glad to hear it's such an easy solution.
antennahead likes this.

No @#$%tard zone.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #12403 of 12414 Old Today, 07:17 AM
Senior Member
 
garnettrules21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLdan View Post
Panasonic said IR and Line Bleed were not normal? I understand about you saying your line bleed results are mixed based on screen brightness but these two things are typical "features" of a Plasma. IR and Line Bleed have been talked about for years on this forum.
They said getting instantaneous IR with low contrast after having 2800+ hours on the panel is not normal.
antennahead likes this.
garnettrules21 is offline  
post #12404 of 12414 Old Today, 07:18 AM
Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Would unplugging the set for some period of time potentially have an impact on IR?
B T C is offline  
post #12405 of 12414 Old Today, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by garnettrules21 View Post
They said getting instantaneous IR with low contrast after having 2800+ hours on the panel is not normal.
I have a Panny 55GT50 and a 64F8500 being delivered today in fact. I have the Panny set on Standard for most of my viewing since I watch TV late at night with the lights off and early in the morning before work. It keeps it cooler and it's easier on my eyes. Every day since day one, the second I turn on my Panny the "Smart Viera" logo pops up and leaves temporary IR. It seems ridiculous to me since there's no way to avoid that bright logo from popping up. After 5 minutes or less it goes away but it is instant IR. Although I have heard numerous times that the Samsung plasmas are much more immune to IR than the Panasonic TV's I'm already prepared for the same experience with IR on my Samsung being delivered today. If you're getting instant IR for example the CNN logo being on your screen for less than a minute but it stays for hours then there is something most likely wrong with your panel. Panasonic probably won't do a free or low priced service call but maybe you can find a local authorized Panasonic repair shop you can take it to who will do a free diagnostic.
HLdan is online now  
post #12406 of 12414 Old Today, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
garnettrules21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLdan View Post
I have a Panny 55GT50 and a 64F8500 being delivered today in fact. I have the Panny set on Standard for most of my viewing since I watch TV late at night with the lights off and early in the morning before work. It keeps it cooler and it's easier on my eyes. Every day since day one, the second I turn on my Panny the "Smart Viera" logo pops up and leaves temporary IR. It seems ridiculous to me since there's no way to avoid that bright logo from popping up. After 5 minutes or less it goes away but it is instant IR. Although I have heard numerous times that the Samsung plasmas are much more immune to IR than the Panasonic TV's I'm already prepared for the same experience with IR on my Samsung being delivered today. If you're getting instant IR for example the CNN logo being on your screen for less than a minute but it stays for hours then there is something most likely wrong with your panel. Panasonic probably won't do a free or low priced service call but maybe you can find a local authorized Panasonic repair shop you can take it to who will do a free diagnostic.
Yea, its really annoying but I'm 100% ready to just live with it. Regardless of temporary IR and line bleed (which doesn't happen a ton), its by far the best tv I've owned.
garnettrules21 is offline  
post #12407 of 12414 Old Today, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Thxtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by garnettrules21 View Post
Yea, its really annoying but I'm 100% ready to just live with it. Regardless of temporary IR and line bleed (which doesn't happen a ton), its by far the best tv I've owned.
I suggest calling Panasonic. That sounds odd. I'm assuming contrast isn't set to 100%?
Thxtheater is offline  
post #12408 of 12414 Old Today, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thxtheater View Post
I suggest calling Panasonic.
It'd be nice if that worked, but I suspect you'd have as much luck fixing the problem just talking into an empty coffee can. I seriously doubt Panasonic will tell you anything beyond the regular script, "IR is not covered. What you're experiencing is normal. Plasma? We don't make plasmas."

repete66211 is offline  
post #12409 of 12414 Old Today, 11:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
antennahead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
BTW, I too get the "instant IR" that goes away fast if I leave something static up for a few minutes, especially against a black screen. The IR I have been referencing in my previous posts is a long term one resulting from hours on the same channel day after day. I can report that it has further reduced itself down to a point where I would say it is about 95% gone. I have been running a lot more screen swipe, intermittently, than I did prior to the discovery. I have not watched that channel since this occurred.

I digress from the subject at hand a little, but doesn't it chap your a** that the major networks pretty much have a "screw you " attitude towards the consumer over these channel logos ............ forcing them down our throat whether we like it or not...... I mean we put our display on the channel.... we already know what channel we are watching, and when you first turn it on, if you didn't remember where you left it, one click of a button and the info pops right on the screen
antennahead is online now  
post #12410 of 12414 Old Today, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 204
I always thought the logo was there for copyright reasons or something. You know, to prevent people from recording and selling a program/movie. Whatever the reason, there is no reason not to have the logo opaque rather than stark white.
antennahead likes this.

repete66211 is offline  
post #12411 of 12414 Old Today, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
antennahead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post
I always thought the logo was there for copyright reasons or something. You know, to prevent people from recording and selling a program/movie. Whatever the reason, there is no reason not to have the logo opaque rather than stark white.
And to add to that, cycle it on and off with more "off" than on, in addition to the completely opaque design.
antennahead is online now  
post #12412 of 12414 Old Today, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
music_to_my_ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by garnettrules21 View Post
I'm in the same boat with my plasma in regards to IR, its just an ST60. I have 2800 hours on it and run contrast on logo'd channels at a modest 60 and it will still generate IR no problem almost instantly. I also have line bleed pretty good on the low and mid brightness settings but when I put the panel brightness to high it diminishes it quite a bit but I normally run in mid or low cause of the image retention running in "high" seems like it sticks around longer. Sometimes even a persons eyes create slight line bleed.

I too was thinking maybe the voltage has become out of whack but is that normal? How does that even happen? I nervously went into the service menu to check my VSUS but it said it was set to low, was hoping it was set to high or something that would explain it. Not sure where to go from here. I'm passed my warranty and don't really want to pay for a tech to come out if its gonna cost over $50 or so. The only thing I could think of at this point though is that the voltages on the back of the panel are set too high or something. Not sure. It's aggravating.

I wrote panasonic on twitter about this and they told me its not normal (obviously). They want me to take a few picture examples and send them to them and they will share with their tech team. Gonna do that at lunch. I'm sure they will look at them and say its either "within normal operating guidelines" or something to that extent. Ideally I'd like for them to send a knowledgeable tech out for free to check the voltages.

Even as it stands its the best tv I've owned and don't plan on getting rid of it till it completely craps out.
VSUS was on low? What would happen if you changed it to mid or high? You said having brightness on high allowed the IR to disappear rather quickly

If you do change anything just be to write your original settings down!

ps: I know there was a thread on LG plasmas some folks were adjusting the pots on the back for some reason and it had a positive effect on the picture

Are there pots on the back on the 2014 plasmas that can be tweaked or something?
music_to_my_ear is offline  
post #12413 of 12414 Old Today, 12:41 PM
Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm going to be checking out another floor model ZT60 tomorrow that, according to the sales person, "looks good" with respect to IR.
B T C is offline  
post #12414 of 12414 Old Today, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
garnettrules21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post
VSUS was on low? What would happen if you changed it to mid or high? You said having brightness on high allowed the IR to disappear rather quickly

If you do change anything just be to write your original settings down!

ps: I know there was a thread on LG plasmas some folks were adjusting the pots on the back for some reason and it had a positive effect on the picture

Are there pots on the back on the 2014 plasmas that can be tweaked or something?
No, Panel Brightness High just helped line bleed diminish had no effect on IR other than probably making it stick longer. I believe there is only a VSUS Low and High. I'd be too nervous to go in changing that stuff around. I think I'm gonna try a factory reset and see if that does anything, doubtful but worth a shot. Like I said, these issues annoy me but I'm not going to any lengths like adjusting the pots and stuff on the back.
garnettrules21 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off