Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 416 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12451 of 12815 Old 08-03-2014, 02:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Hi Bob,

You can add mine to the list, if you so wish:

A14694 - 3294 - 21 October 2013 - TC-P65ZT60 - Delivered on 16.02.2014 - Canada

The fans are super quiet, no visible banding or line bleeding.

Michael
Michael, Done - see below - appears they "manufactured" 3772+ panels between October 17th & October 30th.

A12650 - October 17
A13021 - October 17
A13073 - October 17 - 65ZT60
A14120 - October 18- 65ZT60
A14196 - October 21 - 65ZT60
A14694 - October 21 - 65ZT60
A14773 - October
A15249 - October 22 - 65ZT60
A15303 – October 22 – 60ZT60

A15890 - October 23 - 60ZT60
A15900 - October 23 - 60ZT60

A16422 - October 30 - 65ZT60

I have A08576 - July 10 - 65ZT60 and very little fan noise , no IR or any other problem @ 1334 hours

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12452 of 12815 Old 08-03-2014, 02:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
From my experience, I would say that, as a general rule, regular (i.e. not severe) IR is curable with a combination of watching regular programming and running the screen wipe for at least 1.5x the duration that the image that caused the retention was on.
Thanks for the data Michael9009. Your conclusion matches my general impression after owning the ZT60 for a year, my first plasma (and probably last ).

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is online now  
post #12453 of 12815 Old 08-03-2014, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
SwiftSweeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I am nearing 3000 hours on my beautiful ZT, and I feel that IR is no longer an issue for me. It was my only initial nitpick with this set after it replaced my original ZT.

I enabled Pixel Orbiter, which seems to help with IR issue, and I stopped actively looking for IR. I played Destiny Beta (a video game with fixed HUD) for several hours each day for a week, and I did not see IR. Granted, I did watch an hour or two of Netlfix every day during that time. I just do not see IR on regular content anymore.

I am now a believer in Pixel Orbiter. Panasonic should have allowed users to enable Pixel Orbiter in THX Cinema mode since this is the mode that majority of new ZT users start with.
SwiftSweeper is offline  
post #12454 of 12815 Old 08-03-2014, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post
I stand corrected - I have been using the "NIGHT SETTING" which has panel brightness as MID - for the "DAY SETTING" it is HIGH - both has color temperature as "NORMAL"

New D-Nice NIGHT is Wonderful - Have have the D-Nice Old, CNET, and D-Nice New - the only one I watch is the D-Nice New - I think it looks spectacular!

Do you have a link for the new settings?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
drewTT is offline  
post #12455 of 12815 Old 08-03-2014, 05:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post
Do you have a link for the new settings?
Here it is - Scroll down to the DAY & NIGHT ZT settings - I think the New D-Nice Night is WONDERFUL!!

2013 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread
Edllguy likes this.

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is online now  
post #12456 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post
Here it is - Scroll down to the DAY & NIGHT ZT settings - I think the New D-Nice Night is WONDERFUL!!

2013 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread
"New D-Nice NIGHT is Wonderful - Have the D-Nice Old/Night, CNET, and D-Nice New/Night - the only one I watch is the D-Nice New/Night - I think it looks spectacular!"

All Quoted by Bob Brennan

^^^ Yes, I also agree 100%, the new D-Nice Night settings has made made the viewing enjoyment of my ZT panel phenomenal. And yes that is the only setting I leave on for all my 2D day and night viewing.

This panel just keeps getting better and better

Last edited by Edllguy; 08-04-2014 at 08:39 AM. Reason: Additional content
Edllguy is offline  
post #12457 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edllguy View Post
"New D-Nice NIGHT is Wonderful - Have the D-Nice Old/Night, CNET, and D-Nice New/Night - the only one I watch is the D-Nice New/Night - I think it looks spectacular!"

All Quoted by Bob Brennan

^^^ Yes, I also agree 100%, the new D-Nice Night settings has made made the viewing enjoyment of my ZT panel phenomenal. And yes that is the only setting I leave on for all my 2D day and night viewing.

This panel just keeps getting better and better
You got me thinking and what I am going to do is add the new D-Nice Day setting to the CUSTOM mode & see how it looks - have custom available to play with.

ZT never ceases to amaze!!
Edllguy likes this.

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is online now  
post #12458 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
rifleman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I'm going to add his night setting to see how it compares with my calibrated setting. I like normal colors too (actually if I had to choose, I'd take the cool colors over the warm colors)
rifleman69 is offline  
post #12459 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 11:12 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 24
How new are these day settings? Are we referring to when D-Nice added them several months ago, or did D-Nice revisit/retweak them more recently?
wandering_star is offline  
post #12460 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 209
The settings he lists are unique to the TV he calibrated. He could list a different set of settings each time he visits a customer, which is why it follows that while using someone else's settings may get you in the ballpark, it's not anything like an actual calibration. Better than nothing? Maybe. Does this apply to the THX settings as well? Absolutely.

I'd be very interested to see what kind of range for each setting a professional calibrator typically sees for this unit. I suppose it's possible D-Nice's settings actually are an "average" rather than from a specific calibration so maybe we've seen this already.

repete66211 is offline  
post #12461 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 11:34 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 24
To my knowledge, they are an average, which is why it took him at least a year to post any in the first place.
wandering_star is offline  
post #12462 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by wandering_star View Post
How new are these day settings? Are we referring to when D-Nice added them several months ago, or did D-Nice revisit/retweak them more recently?
These are the ones he tweaked several months ago - did day/night the same time (April 2104) If my memory serves me right!

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000

Last edited by bob brennan; 08-04-2014 at 11:56 AM.
bob brennan is online now  
post #12463 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Ok I like my Zt60 and everything, but motion bothers me I'm not sure why. I use a ROKU 3 and I feel like there is lots of juddering. Can someone tell me why this is, I have tried changing many many settings, THX, Dnice settings, this/that setting, nothing helps. Could it be because I'm using HDMI 1.3 cables vs 1.4?
Thanks
mohanman is offline  
post #12464 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 12:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by wandering_star View Post
To my knowledge, they are an average, which is why it took him at least a year to post any in the first place.
Based on my reading of his posts for the past seven years, D-Nice has never posted average settings for anything.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #12465 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Based on my reading of his posts for the past seven years, D-Nice has never posted average settings for anything.

There is no such thing as average settings, I guess.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #12466 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
D-Nice and several other settings published here look very good on my 65ZT60 but only when watching from a Bluray player, which is probably the source used during the calibration. I have U-Verse for cable and picture is way too dark, clipping blacks pretty badly, even using THX . There is a significant difference between the bluray and the U-Verse signal, do you guys think AT&Tis not using a standard gamma or anything like that ? Is there a huge difference black-wise between Dish/Directv and a bluray disk ? I know the picture on bluray is much better but I found the blacks dramatically different. Thanks for any input.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #12467 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Source matters. I used to watch Game of Thrones on HBOGo through my PS3 and THX Cinema was brighter than THX Day, which had worse shadow detail. Pro 1, my calibrated mode, didn't look that great at all with that content, but it does look best with anything on Uverse & the PS3's Amazon app.

repete66211 is offline  
post #12468 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 01:44 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Based on my reading of his posts for the past seven years, D-Nice has never posted average settings for anything.
Maybe not, but I am curious as to how he reaches the particular settings configuration that he posts. I would have to surmise it's just the settings that he feels represent the middle of the pack.
wandering_star is offline  
post #12469 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by wandering_star View Post
Maybe not, but I am curious as to how he reaches the particular settings configuration that he posts. I would have to surmise it's just the settings that he feels represent the middle of the pack.
That would make sense. But it would also make sense if he has access to a unit that he uses as his "reference" ZT.

P.S. I might be wrong but I read htwaits's comment to mean that D-Nice's calibrations are not average. That is, above average, superior, exemplary.

repete66211 is offline  
post #12470 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 02:21 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Yup, he might have, but it would be a curious response to my post. I would have phrased my original post without the indefinite article "an" if I had meant insult.
wandering_star is offline  
post #12471 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 03:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by wandering_star View Post
Maybe not, but I am curious as to how he reaches the particular settings configuration that he posts. I would have to surmise it's just the settings that he feels represent the middle of the pack.
D-Nice either buys a set or on occasion is provided one by a dealer. He owns several Pioneer Kuro sets and at least one Panasonic from the 2013 models.

He calibrates each set (new out of the box) after he has completed aging them. The 2013 Panasonic sets seem to have caused him to revisit them over time. Using his settings, according to D-Nice, is only a first step toward an actual calibration.

Of course, calibrations done by D-Nice are not average , but I was referring to the idea that he would post an average of the calibrations that he has done on a given model. What ever he has posted would be the results on one specific set, and would never be from one of his customers displays.
wandering_star likes this.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #12472 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 03:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post
The settings he lists are unique to the TV he calibrated. He could list a different set of settings each time he visits a customer, which is why it follows that while using someone else's settings may get you in the ballpark, it's not anything like an actual calibration. Better than nothing?
D-Nice has stated many times that he never posts settings from his customers displays.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #12473 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 03:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post
There is no such thing as average settings, I guess.
Eight or more years ago some guy was selling what he called his "average" settings for the Samsung HLP RPTV models for about $100. He included some amount of phone support to his customers. His idea didn't last long.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #12474 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 03:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post
D-Nice and several other settings published here look very good on my 65ZT60 but only when watching from a Bluray player, which is probably the source used during the calibration. I have U-Verse for cable and picture is way too dark, clipping blacks pretty badly, even using THX . There is a significant difference between the bluray and the U-Verse signal, do you guys think AT&Tis not using a standard gamma or anything like that ? Is there a huge difference black-wise between Dish/Directv and a bluray disk ? I know the picture on bluray is much better but I found the blacks dramatically different. Thanks for any input.
You might try looking for any HDMI settings on your U-Verse set top box. It's a longshot, but maybe there is an hdmi setting similar to game consoles (eg. xbox 360) where you set the video range (ie. 0-255 or 16-240). Should be the second one, often called standard. If not set to match your display it can cause bad clipping.
music_to_my_ear likes this.

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is online now  
post #12475 of 12815 Old 08-04-2014, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by sooke View Post
You might try looking for any HDMI settings on your U-Verse set top box. It's a longshot, but maybe there is an hdmi setting similar to game consoles (eg. xbox 360) where you set the video range (ie. 0-255 or 16-240). Should be the second one, often called standard. If not set to match your display it can cause bad clipping.

My U-Verse box only allows for resolution settings (720/1080), there is nothing I can see otherwise. I will do some search to see if there is any hidden menu. I'm pretty sure it is NOT matching my display. Thanks.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #12476 of 12815 Old 08-05-2014, 05:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post
Ok I like my Zt60 and everything, but motion bothers me I'm not sure why. I use a ROKU 3 and I feel like there is lots of juddering. Can someone tell me why this is, I have tried changing many many settings, THX, Dnice settings, this/that setting, nothing helps. Could it be because I'm using HDMI 1.3 cables vs 1.4?
Thanks
Ok since no one replied I took my roku3 and hooked it up directly via HDMI to the ZT60 bypassing my Yamaha Aventage Receiver. The PQ is much better and there is no longer and motion blur problems. Now Im stuck. Is it because my HDMI cables are mixture of 1.4 and 1.3, is it because of my receiver? If it is the receiver how the hell do I get audio from the roku to the receiver, the optical output on the TV only gives PCM??
I hate HDMi!
mohanman is offline  
post #12477 of 12815 Old 08-05-2014, 12:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post
Ok since no one replied I took my roku3 and hooked it up directly via HDMI to the ZT60 bypassing my Yamaha Aventage Receiver. The PQ is much better and there is no longer and motion blur problems. Now Im stuck. Is it because my HDMI cables are mixture of 1.4 and 1.3, is it because of my receiver? If it is the receiver how the hell do I get audio from the roku to the receiver, the optical output on the TV only gives PCM??
I hate HDMi!
There should be settings in your AVR that stop it from processing the video. There should be "video pass through" options. Check in the AVS thread for your AVR to get help finding those settings.

The HDMI cables are not related to HDMI version numbers. HDMI cables are rated "standard" and "high speed". You should make sure that all your HDMI cables are rated "high speed". The ideal length for passive HDMI cables is 6'. What you're experiencing is not a typical HDMI cable problem.

Your HDMI devices are rated by version number but all HDMI devices are backward compatible.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by htwaits; 08-05-2014 at 12:22 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #12478 of 12815 Old 08-05-2014, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Jason626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: illinois
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post
Ok since no one replied I took my roku3 and hooked it up directly via HDMI to the ZT60 bypassing my Yamaha Aventage Receiver. The PQ is much better and there is no longer and motion blur problems. Now Im stuck. Is it because my HDMI cables are mixture of 1.4 and 1.3, is it because of my receiver? If it is the receiver how the hell do I get audio from the roku to the receiver, the optical output on the TV only gives PCM??
I hate HDMi!
Do you know if your receiver has any video processing turned on? Some have it. If it does try setting it to pass through.

Edit: follow htwaits advice.
Jason626 is offline  
post #12479 of 12815 Old 08-05-2014, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
There should be settings in your AVR that stop it from processing the video. There should be "video pass through" options. Check in the AVS thread for your AVR to get help finding those settings.

The HDMI cables are not related to HDMI version numbers. HDMI cables are rated "standard" and "high speed". You should make sure that all your HDMI cables are rated "high speed". The ideal length for passive HDMI cables is 6'. What you're experiencing is not a typical HDMI cable problem.

Your HDMI devices are rated by version number but all HDMI devices are backward compatible.
Thanks for the advice. The receiver is set to pass thru. I think the problem is that one of my hdmi cables from the roku to the receiver is standard, while everything else is high speed. Switching it out I think made a huge difference.
mohanman is offline  
post #12480 of 12815 Old 08-05-2014, 05:45 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post
Thanks for the advice. The receiver is set to pass thru. I think the problem is that one of my hdmi cables from the roku to the receiver is standard, while everything else is high speed. Switching it out I think made a huge difference.
Then get rid of that cable.

If you're buying new cables check out Monoprice dot com. Their cables are good, they sponsor AVS, and their prices are good.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off