Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 417 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12481 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
music_to_my_ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post
Here it is - Scroll down to the DAY & NIGHT ZT settings - I think the New D-Nice Night is WONDERFUL!!

2013 Panasonic Settings/Issues Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edllguy View Post
"New D-Nice NIGHT is Wonderful - Have the D-Nice Old/Night, CNET, and D-Nice New/Night - the only one I watch is the D-Nice New/Night - I think it looks spectacular!"

All Quoted by Bob Brennan

^^^ Yes, I also agree 100%, the new D-Nice Night settings has made made the viewing enjoyment of my ZT panel phenomenal. And yes that is the only setting I leave on for all my 2D day and night viewing.

This panel just keeps getting better and better
New ZT night settings? What!? There a new settings?
music_to_my_ear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12482 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Then get rid of that cable.

If you're buying new cables check out Monoprice dot com. Their cables are good, they sponsor AVS, and their prices are good.
Crazy that one cable caused a lot of headache for me. The cable actually says high speed on the packaging, but I think something is wrong with it. Will try monoprice. PQ and motion are 100 times better. My current settings if anyone cares:

Thx Cinema (all default except):
Color 54
Brightness -5
I also use graphics mode on the HDMI input, it makes the picture much more sharp and detailed

mo!
mohanman is online now  
post #12483 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post
New ZT night settings? What!? There a new settings?
I tried them, but for my panel the THX picture modes look more color accurate (no measurement equipment, just eyeballs). On my panel D-nice's latest settings make skin tones look blueish.

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is offline  
post #12484 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 02:24 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 25
THX Bright Room on mine has an appearance of turbid green skin tones. D-Nice is a big improvement! And I don't believe they're new.
wandering_star is offline  
post #12485 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by sooke View Post
I tried them, but for my panel the THX picture modes look more color accurate (no measurement equipment, just eyeballs). On my panel D-nice's latest settings make skin tones look blueish.

Try Sammie's settings, look close to THX with more light. D-Nice settings on my set look indeed a bit on the cool side.




http://www.avsforum.com/forum/dbtrev...review&id=4322

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #12486 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 223
^^^All testaments to panel variance & therefore the importance of calibrating your specific panel.

repete66211 is offline  
post #12487 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post
^^^All testaments to panel variance & therefore the importance of calibrating your specific panel.

True but if we find something better than THX Cinema , what's the harm ? It's free.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #12488 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 03:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by wandering_star View Post
THX Bright Room on mine has an appearance of turbid green skin tones. D-Nice is a big improvement! And I don't believe they're new.
I agree, both the THX modes on my ZT look "green".

The D-Nice settings are new - I have the old D-Nice Night in my Cinema mode & new in Professional 1. Also have the new D-Nice Day in Custom - by changing color temp from Warm2 to Normal was a significant improvement!

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #12489 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
rifleman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Yeah Warm2 was getting to me...I'd actually rather take Cool2 over Warm2 if I had to choose. Little brighter and more pop using Normal.
rifleman69 is offline  
post #12490 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post
^^^All testaments to panel variance & therefore the importance of calibrating your specific panel.

Yeah, hopefully someday. I'ld have to figure out how to sell that to the wife.


I'm actually really happy with the THX modes. My only complaint is I can't engage the pixel orbiter.

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is offline  
post #12491 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I posted this in the home theatre construction forum yesterday and didn't get much advice. Reposting here in the off chance someone has an idea.


Ever had a Redmere cable fail like this?
I've had 2 fail on me in the last 6 months. By fail, I mean quit working and the end that plugs into my display becomes very hot. Any one else experience something like this? I thought Redmere has a good reputation so I'm worried something in my system is killing whatever electronics are in the cable connector.

Here is my setup: Three 6' Redmere cables:
Cable box --> TV
Xbox 360 --> TV
Blu-ray --> TV

Model numbers are all in my sig.

The second one to fail was the one from cable box to TV. The first one I'm not positive, but I _think_ was also between the cable box and TV. So either this kind of thing is known to happen on rare occasions with Redmere and I'm just unlucky, or one of my sources is killing the cable. I felt all 3 last night after the system had been on for a few hours and all were cool.

Why I want to know the cause: If it's the Redmere quality/reliablity I'ld like to start using a passive HDMI incase the next Redmere to fail does so in a way that damages the HDMI input on my expensive, beloved, and not easily replaced TV. But if the culprit is the cable box (for example), I'ld rather stick with Redmere and sacrifice the cable if it ever happens again, as opposed to letting the cable box damage the TV HDMI input electronics. At least until I can pin-point the cause and correct it.

I guess I should proactively replace the cable box for a start (that's free to do, though I loose about 90 hours of stuff on the DVR).

Any other advice?

Thanks.

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control

Last edited by sooke; 08-06-2014 at 06:57 PM.
sooke is offline  
post #12492 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 06:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post
I agree, both the THX modes on my ZT look "green".

The D-Nice settings are new - I have the old D-Nice Night in my Cinema mode & new in Professional 1. Also have the new D-Nice Day in Custom - by changing color temp from Warm2 to Normal was a significant improvement!
Welp, I suppose I'll be touching mine up to make sure I have the latest. Cheers!
wandering_star is offline  
post #12493 of 13128 Old 08-06-2014, 11:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
rifleman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by sooke View Post
Yeah, hopefully someday. I'ld have to figure out how to sell that to the wife.


I'm actually really happy with the THX modes. My only complaint is I can't engage the pixel orbiter.
Copy it over to custom and then enable the pixel orbiter.
rifleman69 is offline  
post #12494 of 13128 Old 08-07-2014, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by rifleman69 View Post
Copy it over to custom and then enable the pixel orbiter.

Not the same. THX has some internal adjustments that can't be copied.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #12495 of 13128 Old 08-07-2014, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by rifleman69 View Post
Copy it over to custom and then enable the pixel orbiter.
Wish I could, but the Copy_Settings option is greyed out for the THX modes. Also, the Pro_Settings menu is greyed out, so I can't see the THX white balance and color adjustments to do the copy manually.

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is offline  
post #12496 of 13128 Old 08-07-2014, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by sooke View Post
Wish I could, but the Copy_Settings option is greyed out for the THX modes. Also, the Pro_Settings menu is greyed out, so I can't see the THX white balance and color adjustments to do the copy manually.

You can only copy settings, not the internal adjustments that each mode has. A contrast at 1oo on standard mode will not produce a picture like the contrast at 100 on THX mode, even with all other settings identical.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #12497 of 13128 Old 08-07-2014, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sooke View Post
I'm actually really happy with the THX modes. My only complaint is I can't engage the pixel orbiter.
On my VT50 I can enable overscan (HD Size, Size 1) and then the pixel orbiter can be turned on in the THX modes. It's weird that, on the ZT60, activating the overscan feature does not allow the pixel orbiter to be enabled. Overscan is required so that the TV could shift the image slightly, in all directions, without the apparition of black strips along the edges of the screen.

In my case, I prefer to display the entire image, pixel-by-pixel. Not only I see everything but scaling the image - this is what the overscan feature does - may lead to a loss of definition, the generation of artifacts, etc.

I, too, am very happy with the THX modes and factory default settings on both the ZT60 and VT50, even without any special calibration.
Michael9009 is offline  
post #12498 of 13128 Old 08-07-2014, 03:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post
You can only copy settings, not the internal adjustments that each mode has. A contrast at 1oo on standard mode will not produce a picture like the contrast at 100 on THX mode, even with all other settings identical.
Ok, that's interesting. I've wondered about that, thanks.

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is offline  
post #12499 of 13128 Old 08-07-2014, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
antennahead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post
You can only copy settings, not the internal adjustments that each mode has. A contrast at 1oo on standard mode will not produce a picture like the contrast at 100 on THX mode, even with all other settings identical.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sooke View Post
Ok, that's interesting. I've wondered about that, thanks.
I noticed that early on. I "think" it might have to do with preset brightness levels in non-adjustable modes......... some use mid while others might use low. I like the Home Theater mode for nighttime Blu ray viewing ................. my lighting is controlled and dark, just some overhead cans on the lowest dim setting. Home Theater gives a nice picture. I use THX Cinema for DirecTV sat viewing. The factory contrast on the Home Theater setting is 100, and my THX Cinema is on 50. The two have a very similar brightness level, with the THX Cinema being just a hair brighter.
antennahead is offline  
post #12500 of 13128 Old 08-07-2014, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
THX lovers should try Sammie's settings. It is very close to THX Cinema but with more light, preserving black level.




http://www.avsforum.com/forum/dbtrev...review&id=4322

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #12501 of 13128 Old 08-07-2014, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post
THX lovers should try Sammie's settings. It is very close to THX Cinema but with more light, preserving black level.




http://www.avsforum.com/forum/dbtrev...review&id=4322
What mode did he use
Thanks
william06 is offline  
post #12502 of 13128 Old 08-07-2014, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
What mode did he use
Thanks
Professional 1 or 2

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #12503 of 13128 Old 08-07-2014, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post
Professional 1 or 2
Thanks
I did it in cinema
Have been using it in cinema d- nice in pro 1&2. But liking it so much going to try pro2
Thanks again
william06 is offline  
post #12504 of 13128 Old 08-07-2014, 06:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
...
In my case, I prefer to display the entire image, pixel-by-pixel. Not only I see everything but scaling the image - this is what the overscan feature does - may lead to a loss of definition, the generation of artifacts, etc.
....
I agree completely. But I'll probably make an exception for football games this fall and see if the pixel orbiter helps with the FOX logo.

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is offline  
post #12505 of 13128 Old 08-08-2014, 11:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
rifleman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by sooke View Post
Wish I could, but the Copy_Settings option is greyed out for the THX modes. Also, the Pro_Settings menu is greyed out, so I can't see the THX white balance and color adjustments to do the copy manually.
Enable the pro settings.

*edit* Didn't know that 100 contrast on one isn't the same pic as 100 contrast on another setting...interesting.
rifleman69 is offline  
post #12506 of 13128 Old 08-09-2014, 07:48 AM
Newbie
 
Alphabase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have an opinion on the power save feature that reduces brightness to save energy?

I put this on when I first got my set and then spent hours breaking it in and trying different calibration settings.

Only now do I wonder if the picture has been compromised by using this setting. Is anyone using this or has done a comparison to using this versus not?
Alphabase is offline  
post #12507 of 13128 Old 08-09-2014, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
discone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alphabase View Post
Does anyone have an opinion on the power save feature that reduces brightness to save energy?

I put this on when I first got my set and then spent hours breaking it in and trying different calibration settings.

Only now do I wonder if the picture has been compromised by using this setting. Is anyone using this or has done a comparison to using this versus not?
I would turn it off. It dims or increases light output based on lighting in room. If watching a day or night calibrated setting it will change the light level too what it thinks it should be. You do not want to have the Tv doing any more to the picture then it has to, just like turning off all other enhancements.
discone is offline  
post #12508 of 13128 Old 08-09-2014, 09:35 AM
Newbie
 
Alphabase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by discone View Post
I would turn it off. It dims or increases light output based on lighting in room. If watching a day or night calibrated setting it will change the light level too what it thinks it should be. You do not want to have the Tv doing any more to the picture then it has to, just like turning off all other enhancements.
Hi I'm not talking about CATS, I agree that isn't a great idea. I'm talking about the energy save setting only.
Alphabase is offline  
post #12509 of 13128 Old 08-09-2014, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
discone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alphabase View Post
Hi I'm not talking about CATS, I agree that isn't a great idea. I'm talking about the energy save setting only.
I got the power save brightness level lowered, confused with the eco-mode which does use CATS and turn's off the tv if no input. If the person whose calibrated settings you put into your set did not use power saving mode when they did the calibration and now you do use it light output is lower for you. I would not worry about using it as it only would save me a few bucks a year, but that's my thought.
discone is offline  
post #12510 of 13128 Old 08-09-2014, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alphabase View Post
Does anyone have an opinion on the power save feature that reduces brightness to save energy?

I put this on when I first got my set and then spent hours breaking it in and trying different calibration settings.

Only now do I wonder if the picture has been compromised by using this setting. Is anyone using this or has done a comparison to using this versus not?
Power save mode dims the picture. Brightness isn't exactly the ZT's strong suit, so I would never engage it. I'll pay the extra $4 a year for a better picture.

repete66211 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off