Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 445 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 435Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2015, 12:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by discone View Post
Nice!! I'm sure you'll enjoy them even more with whatever you watch. Chad did mine this past summer.
While content from BluRay via my PS3, the native ZT Netflix/amazon apps, and Roku look great, unfortunately, content from my Dish Network feed, which is what I watch the most, still looks odd. Gamma seems to be off, as some images look washed out, while at the same time Red/Magenta seem too saturated and Blue's a bit vibrant. From yesterdays SB, Patriot's red facemasks and gloves were really blurry/smeared, and Seahawks fans/staff wearing the "lighter" blue gear (jackets and pants), seemed neon/glowy. I wish there was a way to adjust the Dish boxes' display settings...I may just have to watch via component, as PQ seems a bit more balanced.
colnago is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2015, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 6,406
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 830 Post(s)
Liked: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by colnago View Post
While content from BluRay via my PS3, the native ZT Netflix/amazon apps, and Roku look great, unfortunately, content from my Dish Network feed, which is what I watch the most, still looks odd. Gamma seems to be off, as some images look washed out, while at the same time Red/Magenta seem too saturated and Blue's a bit vibrant. From yesterdays SB, Patriot's red facemasks and gloves were really blurry/smeared, and Seahawks fans/staff wearing the "lighter" blue gear (jackets and pants), seemed neon/glowy. I wish there was a way to adjust the Dish boxes' display settings...I may just have to watch via component, as PQ seems a bit more balanced.
I have the Dish Hopper and a VT60 and I get great picture quality. I did add a darbee into my chain because I felt the dish picture was just a tad soft. Is your set calibrated ? Another tweak that really improved my picture quality was Redmere cables, recently switched all my components to the 3 foot ones.

55EG9100
55ST60
Dish Network Hopper/Oppo 103d/ Sony XT1 Soundbase/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
My JS9500 Calibration review(CHADB)http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post36534866
chunon is offline  
Old 02-02-2015, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I've got 622/722 boxes from Dish, and ZT60s done by Chad yesterday. I don't think Dish's image is soft at all, as a sharp/foused image is my primary concern. So much so that I'll back out color to get rid of the bleed/saturation until the image is very flat. I used to think the Dish feed was blurry, but recent settings changes that I'd done, with no calibration tools, brought out a very "clean" image, though not accurate on color, nor greyscale (red/blue saturation levels down to ~(-22) for both, color ~38).
colnago is online now  
Old 02-02-2015, 07:42 PM
Member
 
Oldfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaayoung View Post
How many hours are you at? I've had my ZT for 1 year and have 2,940 hours on my set. I love my ZT and wouldn't trade it for any TV currently available. But this set been prone to IR more than any other Panasonic plasma TV I've owned. Without question, the picture is the best of any TV I've owned. But seeing a channel 5 logo in the lower right corner the screen when I start up Netflix is a bit concerning. And I'm beginning to wonder if it will ever go away.
I haven't checked, but on average, it's on about 38 hrs. a week so roughly about the same as you do. I don't game on it, but I do watch a lot of cable with the logos. They usually go off when commercials come on, so far, so good...

To some, experience does not count as education.
Onkyo TX 8522 Kenwood KR6050
BSR EQ 3000 JVC TD-661
TEAC CD-RW 880 Panasonic DMP BDT220
Panasonic DMR ES35V Cerwin Vega XLS215
Kenwood LS 408B Panasonic 60ZT60
Oldfool is offline  
Old 02-02-2015, 08:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldfool View Post
I haven't checked, but on average, it's on about 38 hrs. a week so roughly about the same as you do. I don't game on it, but I do watch a lot of cable with the logos. They usually go off when commercials come on, so far, so good...
I haven't gamed on mine either. Didn't run the break-in slides either. I've never experience IR like I've experience on this plasma. It's not bad. But it's there if you know where to look and solid color background.
eaayoung is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 03:16 AM
Member
 
Oldfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaayoung View Post
I haven't gamed on mine either. Didn't run the break-in slides either. I've never experience IR like I've experience on this plasma. It's not bad. But it's there if you know where to look and solid color background.
I didn't run the slides either. This is my first plasma, it replaced an old RCA console I had for 20+ yrs. I wanted a good TV to replace it, did tons of research and settled on a Panasonic plasma.The ZT was the only Panasonic model BB had left when decided to purchase one, so I went over my allotted budget and bought it. What I got was a great TV! Like I've posted earlier, maybe I'm just lucky, but I haven't had any issues whatsoever. I often look for them, but again, nothing so far. I have been careful though, and will continue to be.

To some, experience does not count as education.
Onkyo TX 8522 Kenwood KR6050
BSR EQ 3000 JVC TD-661
TEAC CD-RW 880 Panasonic DMP BDT220
Panasonic DMR ES35V Cerwin Vega XLS215
Kenwood LS 408B Panasonic 60ZT60
Oldfool is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 04:29 AM
Member
 
X-RaVer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi. I own a P60ZT60E ( European Model ) and have a little issue with it, don't know if this could ever be gone!
I have 2 sripes with some magenta/purple coloration on the bottom of the screen, they seem to be caused by the subtitles i use on movies, they appear on the same place the subs are placed.
The stripes have been there for some time now, 2 / 3 months maybe, they have faded from the first time i've saw them, but now it seems they're on a stage that does not fade anymore.
I'v tried Screen Wipe from the TV itself, and Pixel Flipper from Disney WOW some times now, it did seem to have some positive effect at the beginning, but not anymore.

Can you all please have a look a let me know your opinion?
Is this covered by the warranty?

Thanks in advance to the community

NOTE: the stripes are placed on the bottom center of the screen and are hilighted by the lighter area of the image (the lights coming on from the typical 20th Century Fox movie intro)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	XP_C_7961.JPG
Views:	106
Size:	947.1 KB
ID:	521641   Click image for larger version

Name:	XP_C_7984.JPG
Views:	92
Size:	799.8 KB
ID:	521649  
X-RaVer is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 05:40 AM
Senior Member
 
B T C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI via Kentucky, Georgia & Tennessee
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 43
If it's image retention or burn in, it's not covered by Panasonic's warranty. I would quit using subtitles, if possible, and hope it goes away with time.
B T C is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 07:45 AM
Member
 
X-RaVer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by B T C View Post
If it's image retention or burn in, it's not covered by Panasonic's warranty. I would quit using subtitles, if possible, and hope it goes away with time.
Thanks for your quick reply. I would say it's persistent IR to some extent.

The non-use of subtitles is just not possible, i'm Portuguese, and despite my english is quite good, i'm not the only one that uses the TV at home.
In Europe Panasonic has already exchanged some panels and even did full refunds regarding IR/Burned Screens, i believe in the US they're not so flexible on this.
Anyway, what would you do? Give a call to Panasonic or just let it be as it is?
X-RaVer is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 09:23 AM
Member
 
RoyMacDonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rye East Sussex UK
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldfool View Post
I haven't checked, but on average, it's on about 38 hrs. a week so roughly about the same as you do. I don't game on it, but I do watch a lot of cable with the logos. They usually go off when commercials come on, so far, so good...

Can anyone tell me the logic of having the logos go off during commercials? (I'm glad they do. Less logo is always better) Isn't that when it could be any channel as you don't know what the program is? Shouldn't the logo be on during commercials and off during the program?
X-RaVer likes this.
RoyMacDonald is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 09:35 AM
Member
 
RoyMacDonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rye East Sussex UK
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by X-RaVer View Post
Thanks for your quick reply. I would say it's persistent IR to some extent.

The non-use of subtitles is just not possible, i'm Portuguese, and despite my english is quite good, i'm not the only one that uses the TV at home.
In Europe Panasonic has already exchanged some panels and even did full refunds regarding IR/Burned Screens, i believe in the US they're not so flexible on this.
Anyway, what would you do? Give a call to Panasonic or just let it be as it is?

The European consumer law gives a 2 year warranty for repair or replacement on goods. UK consumer law warranty extends that to 6 years.


You could balance the use of subtitles by running non subtitle content while no one watches. That could help age the pixels more evenly.
Edllguy and X-RaVer like this.
RoyMacDonald is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 09:41 AM
Member
 
X-RaVer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyMacDonald View Post
The European consumer law gives a 2 year warranty for repair or replacement on goods. UK consumer law warranty extends that to 6 years.


You could balance the use of subtitles by running non subtitle content while no one watches. That could help age the pixels more evenly.
Yes, i am aware that the consumer law in Europe grants 2 Years for repair/replacement , but as everyone nows, the manufacturers tend to try to exclude their responsability in some kind of products, like the case of a plasma screen.

The TV is used most of the time to watch Cable content in my native language, without subtitles. The use of subtitled content should be about 1/8th of the native content.. and that isn's solving the issue that can be seen on the pictures ( not easily seen of course, but the stripes are there! ... on a 5K TV... )
About ageing the phosphors ... the TV had the break-in period with solid slides for aprox 250hrs , now it has 2500hrs clocked in
X-RaVer is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 09:57 AM
Member
 
RoyMacDonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rye East Sussex UK
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by X-RaVer View Post
Yes, i am aware that the consumer law in Europe grants 2 Years for repair/replacement , but as everyone nows, the manufacturers tend to try to exclude their responsability in some kind of products, like the case of a plasma screen.

The TV is used most of the time to watch Cable content in my native language, without subtitles. The use of subtitled content should be about 1/8th of the native content.. and that isn's solving the issue that can be seen on the pictures ( not easily seen of course, but the stripes are there! ... on a 5K TV... )
About ageing the phosphors ... the TV had the break-in period with solid slides for aprox 250hrs , now it has 2500hrs clocked in

It's the retailers responsibility to fulfil the warranty entitlement, not the manufacturer, and the can say what they like but the courts won't back them.


Can't you watch all TV in your native language then? Or is it other family members? I'm always tell my kids to turn off the Disney HD channel because of the stark white logo. Why a channel would induce viewer not to watch it is beyond me!
RoyMacDonald is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 10:16 AM
Member
 
X-RaVer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyMacDonald View Post
It's the retailers responsibility to fulfil the warranty entitlement, not the manufacturer, and the can say what they like but the courts won't back them.


Can't you watch all TV in your native language then? Or is it other family members? I'm always tell my kids to turn off the Disney HD channel because of the stark white logo. Why a channel would induce viewer not to watch it is beyond me!
My native language is Portuguese , all movies are in english , at home we need the subtitles to "understand" what is said... it's like you watching movies in Chinese ( assuming you can't speak/read Chinese... ) , you would need subtitles for sure
Agree on the Disney Channel logo ... crazy one, easy to leave some faint marks... but since i use my contrast setting very very low for all-day viewing, logos aren't a serious problem for me.
Only the subtitles appearing on the black bar section of the HD movies i watch pose a problem!

PS: Panasonic would think twice before going on a legal action. I'll talk to them to see what they have to say.
X-RaVer is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 10:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by X-RaVer View Post
...PS: Panasonic would think twice before going on a legal action. I'll talk to them to see what they have to say.

Given the very good chance that there are very few replacement panels available, if any at all, at best, you may be offered an LED TV of some sort.

Good luck either way.
X-RaVer likes this.
colnago is online now  
Old 02-03-2015, 10:39 AM
Member
 
X-RaVer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by colnago View Post
Given the very good chance that there are very few replacement panels available, if any at all, at best, you may be offered an LED TV of some sort.

Good luck either way.
Well, i would only go for a new panel or a full refund, there's no way i'm getting an LED model ... whatever model they would offer, i wouldn't take it.
I hope they have a spare panel ...
X-RaVer is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 08:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 114
My IR seems to have picked up at some point after 2000 hours. Don't see the IR all that often but its there.
X-RaVer likes this.
eaayoung is offline  
Old 02-03-2015, 10:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaayoung View Post
My IR seems to have picked up at some point after 2000 hours. Don't see the IR all that often but its there.
You're going to be fine. I went through the same thing with my 65VT60 right around 2100 hours when I couldn't buy a smidge of IR even if I'd wanted to before that. That's when someone on the VT60 thread told me they'd gone through the same thing right around the same 2100 mark but their set had stabilized a couple of hundred hours later. Low and behold, mine did too right around the 2400 hour mark and its been smooth sailing ever since. My understanding is that the panel goes through some kind of change right at the 2000 hour mark and settles after that. The next danger point will be the 3000-3100 hour mark once again.

Turn your pixel orbiter to On when using the set and run the screen wipe with pixel orbiter back to auto liberally other times during this critical time. If you have any channel logos stuck at this time, it'll take a while for it to go away but rest assured it will- once you pass those critical hours. I had a channel logo that was badly stuck on mine that I couldn't completely get rid of but eventually I stopped worrying about it and it disappeared.

Like I said, you'll be fine
X-RaVer likes this.

Last edited by Chere; 02-03-2015 at 10:54 PM.
Chere is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 01:26 AM
Member
 
Oldfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyMacDonald View Post
Can anyone tell me the logic of having the logos go off during commercials? (I'm glad they do. Less logo is always better) Isn't that when it could be any channel as you don't know what the program is? Shouldn't the logo be on during commercials and off during the program?
I wish someone could tell me the logic in having those logos constantly present at all. I find them rather annoying, myself. Years ago, they would put on a few second "commercial" saying "you are watching ..." with their logo, then back to the program you were watching. Why it's on during regular programing now is beyond me.

To some, experience does not count as education.
Onkyo TX 8522 Kenwood KR6050
BSR EQ 3000 JVC TD-661
TEAC CD-RW 880 Panasonic DMP BDT220
Panasonic DMR ES35V Cerwin Vega XLS215
Kenwood LS 408B Panasonic 60ZT60
Oldfool is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 02:43 AM
Member
 
X-RaVer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaayoung View Post
My IR seems to have picked up at some point after 2000 hours. Don't see the IR all that often but its there.
My ZT is now with aprox 2500 ( a little more ) and those magenta bars haven't gone ... really don't believe they'll ever fade completely
X-RaVer is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 06:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post
You're going to be fine. I went through the same thing with my 65VT60 right around 2100 hours when I couldn't buy a smidge of IR even if I'd wanted to before that. That's when someone on the VT60 thread told me they'd gone through the same thing right around the same 2100 mark but their set had stabilized a couple of hundred hours later. Low and behold, mine did too right around the 2400 hour mark and its been smooth sailing ever since. My understanding is that the panel goes through some kind of change right at the 2000 hour mark and settles after that. The next danger point will be the 3000-3100 hour mark once again.

Turn your pixel orbiter to On when using the set and run the screen wipe with pixel orbiter back to auto liberally other times during this critical time. If you have any channel logos stuck at this time, it'll take a while for it to go away but rest assured it will- once you pass those critical hours. I had a channel logo that was badly stuck on mine that I couldn't completely get rid of but eventually I stopped worrying about it and it disappeared.

Like I said, you'll be fine
I seem to recall someone posting about this previously. Will see how my set changes. Hopefully for the better. I'm up to 2958 hours.
eaayoung is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 68
HDMI audio passthough?

Have the ZT60 connected to my processor by HDMI and using ARC.


Should the ZT60 be passing DD and or DTS from another HDMI-connected device through ARC to the processor?


DD from an internal app like Netflix works fine, but I tried temporarily connecting a BD player to one of the HDMI inputs on the TV but all I'm getting over ARC is PCM. Should I be getting DD pass though?


(yes, I have confirmed the BD player is set to bitstream output)

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 287
I seriously doubt the TV is going to pass multichannel audio on board apps & OTA antenna, but not an outside device.
repete66211 is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Maybe it won't, but I'd like to know for sure.


Considering it's all HDMI connection that should ensure all the proper handshake & HDCP stuff, it sure seems like a bogus situation not to be able to pass at least DD.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 287
If it did it would be a new development. I remember in the old days it was an issue with HTIBs not being able to get more than 2 channel audio from all the devices connected to the TV.

Edit: Have you looked at the on board eHelp? Audio out is touched on in "All Settings/Sound". However, I can't find the some of the settings it discusses.

Last edited by repete66211; 02-04-2015 at 09:38 PM.
repete66211 is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Yeah, I looked in the eHelp audio settings and as well don't seem to have some of them in the actual Audio menu.


Maybe I've lost my mind, but I'd swear I was getting DD pass through on ARC from my STB (the only source normally direct-connected to the TV via HDMI) but it's not happening now. However, when the STB is connected to the processor via HDMI I do get DD on programs so encoded. That's not a great confidence builder re. HDMI/ARC DD pass though. Geez...I'd have bet it was working before but that's not what the evidence suggests. Hmmm?

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
Old 02-05-2015, 07:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 51
For those who had their set calibrated, and also have Dish Network, do you use different picture settings for your Dish feed? I just had my sets calibrated, and while everything looks "spot on" with content from PS3 Blu-ray, native Netflix/amazon/hulu apps, and Roku 3, the Dish feed looks over saturated with red and over lumitated with blue/cyan, to the point where the image looks smeared (e.g. Patriots red gloves during SB look like "mittens" due to color bleed). I'm wondering if Dish 622/722 uses different color standard RGB or 4:2:2 vs. 4:4:4, and if that would make a difference with the calibrated PQ?

I've tried just dialing down red/blue saturation/luminance, to varying and extreme levels, but it doesn't seem to help.
colnago is online now  
Old 02-05-2015, 02:48 PM
Member
 
djsketchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99 View Post
Yeah, I looked in the eHelp audio settings and as well don't seem to have some of them in the actual Audio menu.


Maybe I've lost my mind, but I'd swear I was getting DD pass through on ARC from my STB (the only source normally direct-connected to the TV via HDMI) but it's not happening now. However, when the STB is connected to the processor via HDMI I do get DD on programs so encoded. That's not a great confidence builder re. HDMI/ARC DD pass though. Geez...I'd have bet it was working before but that's not what the evidence suggests. Hmmm?
Panasonic TVs don't pass through multi channel audio from external devices, only internal apps and OTA. External devices get dumbed down to 2 channel PCM. Certain TV manufacturers do allow this capability, most don't. I have a VT60, and mine does not, which is kind of a bummer, but not the end of the world.

This article might shed some light on the subject for you: http://www.cnet.com/news/20-tvs-test...o-a-sound-bar/
djsketchie is offline  
Old 02-05-2015, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsketchie View Post
Panasonic TVs don't pass through multi channel audio from external devices, only internal apps and OTA. External devices get dumbed down to 2 channel PCM. Certain TV manufacturers do allow this capability, most don't. I have a VT60, and mine does not, which is kind of a bummer, but not the end of the world.

This article might shed some light on the subject for you: http://www.cnet.com/news/20-tvs-test...o-a-sound-bar/

I'm not sure thats completely correct - my ZT60/65 seems to convert 5.1 DD+ from Netflix to 5.1 DD

my AV amp is too old to have HDMI or DD+

wife bought a Sony Bluray player with built in Netflix

any 5.1 content played via Sony direct via Coaxial to my AV amp only comes up as 2 channel PCM

BUT I switch to the optical out from my ZT65 into my AV amp- I get 5.1 D. Digital

so I believe not only is it passing through but its converting from DD+ to DD
markabuckley is offline  
Old 02-05-2015, 02:57 PM
Member
 
djsketchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post
I'm not sure thats completely correct - my ZT60/65 seems to convert 5.1 DD+ from Netflix to 5.1 DD

my AV amp is too old to have HDMI or DD+

wife bought a Sony Bluray player with built in Netflix

any 5.1 content played via Sony direct via Coaxial to my AV amp only comes up as 2 channel PCM

BUT I switch to the optical out from my ZT65 into my AV amp- I get 5.1 D. Digital

so I believe not only is it passing through but its converting from DD+ to DD
Perhaps the European model is different, but if you read the CNET article, it unequivocally shows that certain TV manufacturers allow pass through of multi channel audio from an external device to a soundbar / speaker setup. They tested the ZT60 as well as the VT60, and both failed the test, which is confirmed by testing my own set. Again, the European model may allow it, but US models don't.
djsketchie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off