Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 462 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #13831 of 13858 Old 07-07-2015, 02:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I currently own a 55st60 and absolutely love it. We are finishing our basement and I have a 14x12 TV room to buy toys for. I was pretty certain I was going to buy the Sony 850c until a local shop told me they had a 65ZT60 with 1655 hours on it. for $2k. Not sure what the true life expectancy is, but can anyone give me a reason not to buy a ZT60 with 1655 hours. Seems too good to be true at that price.
zsl1282 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13832 of 13858 Old 07-07-2015, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Run a full screen of white or light gray and examine for image retention. If you don't see any then the only other thing you should worry about are the front panel of glass separating at the corners and the potential for fan noise in certain situations. Units built after August of 2013 had the "fan fix" installed at the factory, which would diminish the possibility of hearing the fan noise. Build date is determined by the serial number in on the back. Search this thread for further details on that. Otherwise, that sounds like a fair price for a great TV.

repete66211 is online now  
post #13833 of 13858 Old 07-09-2015, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Not sure if this is frowned upon here, but does anyone know where I might be able to order a new ZT60? I know that they are in really short supply. Thanks.
Drewfonse is offline  
post #13834 of 13858 Old 07-09-2015, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewfonse View Post
Not sure if this is frowned upon here, but does anyone know where I might be able to order a new ZT60? I know that they are in really short supply. Thanks.
Try Ebay and Amazon but you are going to pay alot if you can find a NIB one.

65JS9500
55ST60
Harmony 650
Sony XT1 Soundbase
OPPO 103d
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3/Lumagen 2143
chunon is online now  
post #13835 of 13858 Old 07-09-2015, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks! I don't know how to quote. Any suggestions on a more readily available high end plasma, 60" preferred?

Really appreciate it.
Drewfonse is offline  
post #13836 of 13858 Old 07-09-2015, 11:32 AM
Member
 
dajmacd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tennessee River Valley
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was going to suggest the Samsung 60F8500 but those seem to be scarce now too.

Symmetry is the most boring and unimaginative form of balance.
dajmacd is offline  
post #13837 of 13858 Old 07-09-2015, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewfonse View Post
Thanks! I don't know how to quote. Any suggestions on a more readily available high end plasma, 60" preferred?

Really appreciate it.
60" f8500 if you can find one but they seem to have a propensity to Buzz, my 64" doesnt buzz at all beautiful set.

65JS9500
55ST60
Harmony 650
Sony XT1 Soundbase
OPPO 103d
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3/Lumagen 2143
chunon is online now  
post #13838 of 13858 Old 07-09-2015, 01:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 105
A person recently purchased a 65" ZT on Amazon. Cost was $5000 as I recall.
eaayoung is online now  
post #13839 of 13858 Old 07-10-2015, 04:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaayoung View Post
A person recently purchased a 65" ZT on Amazon. Cost was $5000 as I recall.
Brand new on ebay in CA for $ 8,500.00

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #13840 of 13858 Old 07-11-2015, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've got a 65zt60 that I've had since November 2013. Last Saturday morning after watching a movie the night before it kicked off and gave me a 6 blink code. I called Panasonic, who didn't know what the code meant, so the gave me the number of a service guy. He told me the panel itself is going out, which is a $3100 part that he can't even get anymore. So I just figured I'd double check and make sure he's right. I can't find anything on the 6 blink code for the zt60. Any help is much appreciated.

A little more info. I've got a 450w sub that was going pretty good during the movie that I feel could have loosened something, but I'm not holding my breath on that.
Blake Lewis is offline  
post #13841 of 13858 Old 07-11-2015, 09:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Could be fan related. Review this 2013 AVS post:

Panasonic TH-50PHD6 - 6 blink error

Good luck. Let us know what you learn.
eaayoung is online now  
post #13842 of 13858 Old 07-13-2015, 08:45 AM
Member
 
grilodan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaayoung View Post
A person recently purchased a 65" ZT on Amazon. Cost was $5000 as I recall.
I had two ZT65, and although the panel had 1,800 hours on it, I sold one for $2,900 in Chicago. I couldn't believe it, since I bought them both at the end of 2013 at Best Buy for $2,157 as they were closing out production. Best investment ever made, as far as rapidly depreciating assets go.
grilodan is offline  
post #13843 of 13858 Old 07-13-2015, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
With C.A.T.S on in standard in a dim room it ran for two hours before I switched it to THX cinema with C.A.T.S off where it ran for probably 5 minutes and went back to the six blinks. I waited about 10 minutes and unplugged and replugged it, and turned it back to standard with C.A.T.S on and went for about 15 minutes and I decided to turn it back off so I don't damage anything else. It doesn't feel particularly hot anywhere. It's a warmer on the side with the buttons midway up between the two vents, but it doesn't seem that bad. I also vacuumed all the vents. I'm waiting to hear back from Panasonic before I pull it off the wall and look inside, but maybe these details will make sense to someone.
Blake Lewis is offline  
post #13844 of 13858 Old 07-13-2015, 11:46 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,822
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by grilodan View Post
I had two ZT65, and although the panel had 1,800 hours on it, I sold one for $2,900 in Chicago. I couldn't believe it, since I bought them both at the end of 2013 at Best Buy for $2,157 as they were closing out production. Best investment ever made, as far as rapidly depreciating assets go.
! yes did you buy an OLED
wse is offline  
post #13845 of 13858 Old 07-13-2015, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewfonse View Post
Thanks! I don't know how to quote. Any suggestions on a more readily available high end plasma, 60" preferred? Really appreciate it.
Besides the 8500, check out the 5300 models.....they are still around but you better move.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #13846 of 13858 Old 07-13-2015, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaayoung View Post
A person recently purchased a 65" ZT on Amazon. Cost was $5000 as I recall.
What that did TV retail for when it first came out and what did it sell for a year or so later when it was no longer top-line but the scarcity crap had not yet hit ?
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #13847 of 13858 Old 07-13-2015, 01:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post
What that did TV retail for when it first came out and what did it sell for a year or so later when it was no longer top-line but the scarcity crap had not yet hit ?
I live across the river from you and I paid $3,250 delivered on 11/1/13 panel # A08576 a 65ZT60

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #13848 of 13858 Old 07-13-2015, 07:29 PM
Newbie
 
worldattorney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
IP Control doesn't work after move

Recently moved and TV must have been damaged as IP control no longer works (TV connects to network..but neither Roomie nor Panasonic Remote APP will do anything other than Wake-on LAN)....TV is 'seen' by all apps and wake-on LAN works but all other buttons do nothing (except show a red 'X' on the communication icon). I have set-up these network connections and Roomie control many times and it is not set-up or LAN problem.

Does anyone know which circuit board is the one that would have all the IP/Network chips etc so that I can swap it out with a new one?

Thanks!
worldattorney is offline  
post #13849 of 13858 Old 07-17-2015, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 21
could someone check their idle power usage for me please ?

I have a UK ZT60 - and have been trying to work out why we use 480W of electricity all day every day when "house is idle"

my home theater setup is a particular bad candidate

from inititial tests - my power meter (clip on outside cable job so maybe inaccurate) - seems to suggest my Panasonic uses 70W "off" at idle?

suggests 300W ish when on - which seems about right

seems very high if true ? I've checked and all things like DLNA server, USB charge are all off

when I plug into mains I hear a "pe-buzz" as something internal turns on, and after about 2 mins not being turned on I hear another click -but power usage doesn't seem to drop

any ideas please ?
markabuckley is offline  
post #13850 of 13858 Old 07-17-2015, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Seems quite similar to my VT50. Even with the side button pressed with no red light, it is using 30 - 50watt. Including the clicks when plugged in/power switch pressed.
xvfx is online now  
post #13851 of 13858 Old 07-17-2015, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 21
xvfx - oh -thats not a promising response ! but thanks

the reviews of the VT/ZT range stated about 0.11W in standby

so I can't understand why I'm not getting effectively no reading

I'll try another power meter later
markabuckley is offline  
post #13852 of 13858 Old 07-17-2015, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 188
What are you using? I'm using the OWL USB. http://theowl.com/index.php/energy-m...itors/owl-usb/
xvfx is online now  
post #13853 of 13858 Old 07-17-2015, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 21
same meter !
markabuckley is offline  
post #13854 of 13858 Old 07-17-2015, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 21
did some reading up

and found quite a few threads going way back generations of Panasonic plasmas

could either be legit power reading

or an issue with the assumptions the meters make ref power factor- ie its not really drawing that much power

so really not sure but siding with an incorrect reading - in the sense that the power meter is basing Power on Current Draw- then assumes 100% (I think) Power Factor

whereas in reality could be anywhere from 0-100%

<EDIT> again lots of variables, and prob not reading accurately - but I dug around in detail in menus, and found in a sub menu check for system updates in standby - I turned this off, and for first time I saw a drop in power usage on the meter when you hear the click a couple of mins after you turn tv off .....

Last edited by markabuckley; 07-17-2015 at 04:52 PM.
markabuckley is offline  
post #13855 of 13858 Old 07-18-2015, 05:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 188
I've aways had that off and it was still drawing power with the side button powered off. No red light on the set and it was still drawing more than 20 - 40 watt until pulling the plug.
xvfx is online now  
post #13856 of 13858 Old Today, 06:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Broke the Toslink flap on my ZT yesterday when moving equipment around. Found a suggestion of gluing a right angle Toslink adapter into the port. Hopefully it will work. Should work out better than what I was using since the Toslink port is on the side of the ZT.

Really dislike the Toslink connections. I've broken the flaps before and I'm sure this won't be the last Toslink flap that I break.
eaayoung is online now  
post #13857 of 13858 Old Today, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
repete66211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Wouldn't electrical tape work just as well?

repete66211 is online now  
post #13858 of 13858 Unread Today, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by repete66211 View Post
Wouldn't electrical tape work just as well?
Got it taped with regular tape for now. Electrical tape will leave a sticky residue. Ordered a 90 degree Toslink adapter from Amazon tonight. Will use hot glue to attach when it arrives. I could probably switch out the cables to my soundbar from Toslink to anolog. Since I'm only using it for 2.1 sound, don't think it matters.
eaayoung is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off