Official ZT60 Owners Thread - Page 472 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 436Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14131 of 14159 Old 02-11-2016, 02:12 PM
Member
 
powerdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boos View Post
I'm going by memory here but I thought the 60 inch variants of the ZT/VT only have 2 fans, while the 65 inch has three with one in the middle as shown in your photo. Perhaps that is why the fan plug is different?

The A board part # in my TV matches a VT60- TNPH1043UB

But what you say sort of makes sense as well- as a 65ZT60 control board has the same board layout and plug as mine.just with gold connections. Whether or not it would work in my case I do not know.

None of the board diagrams or other board part #'s match anything on any of the other sets though which is really weird. And I can't find a part # on the panel itself- does anyone know where it *should* be located?
powerdubs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14132 of 14159 Old 02-11-2016, 02:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerdubs View Post
You know I have no way to transport it and no box. But if you pick it up, I'll email you the service manual and parts PDF files I purchased to try to figure out what it is. I've already wasted money on them, and on purchasing a proper ZT60 control board that won't work, and the insides of this thing don't match any part #'s I found anywhere in the manuals. Oh, you would also get a free LED bias lighting strip, I bought one and adhesived it to the back panel. It plugs into the USB port.
what is the exact part number for the "A" board you tried, including the suffix (2 letters on the card) see pic
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	a1uuuus.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	40.9 KB
ID:	1246529  
Lounger17 is offline  
post #14133 of 14159 Old 02-11-2016, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boos View Post
I'm going by memory here but I thought the 60 inch variants of the ZT/VT only have 2 fans, while the 65 inch has three with one in the middle as shown in your photo. Perhaps that is why the fan plug is different?
Hmm... https://www.avforums.com/threads/pan...#post-19103961
xvfx is offline  
post #14134 of 14159 Old 02-11-2016, 03:32 PM
Member
 
powerdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lounger17 View Post
what is the exact part number for the "A" board you tried, including the suffix (2 letters on the card) see pic

The one I purchased is TXN/A1UVUUS TNPH1043UD

I also sent this info to your PM.
powerdubs is offline  
post #14135 of 14159 Old 02-11-2016, 03:41 PM
Member
 
Boos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post
65zt60:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	56ef4e96_IMG_1083.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	193.0 KB
ID:	1246649  
Boos is offline  
post #14136 of 14159 Old 02-11-2016, 04:16 PM
Member
 
powerdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I received a Pm asking me to try to turn it on with the fans disconnected. So I did.

It gave me an error message that it knew there was a problem with the fans and would shut down- but it stayed on long enough for me to get into the menu and see that there were indeed now the THX modes, something called brilliance mode and something called EBU mode.

This makes me curious if the 65ZT60 board that has the proper fan plug would work?? Uggh.. should I risk more money spent?
powerdubs is offline  
post #14137 of 14159 Old 02-11-2016, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerdubs View Post
I received a Pm asking me to try to turn it on with the fans disconnected. So I did.

It gave me an error message that it knew there was a problem with the fans and would shut down- but it stayed on long enough for me to get into the menu and see that there were indeed now the THX modes, something called brilliance mode and something called EBU mode.

This makes me curious if the 65ZT60 board that has the proper fan plug would work?? Uggh.. should I risk more money spent?
Well the other possibility might be that the fan(s) you have were prototypes too, with different connector(s).
fmalczewski is offline  
post #14138 of 14159 Old 02-11-2016, 04:35 PM
Member
 
ace54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerdubs View Post
The mystery machine-



why would you put it face down on the floor? you can take the back cover off while on the stand
ace54 is offline  
post #14139 of 14159 Old 02-11-2016, 04:56 PM
Member
 
powerdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace54 View Post
why would you put it face down on the floor? you can take the back cover off while on the stand

It is not face down on the floor. It is face down, on a clean soft blanket on my coffee table. I don't use it on the original stand, I use a tower mount which bolts to the back of the TV requiring it to be dismounted to remove the back. I suppose I could mount it back onto the stand before taking the back off, but that would certainly make it more awkward to work on it.
powerdubs is offline  
post #14140 of 14159 Old 02-11-2016, 06:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerdubs View Post
You know I have no way to transport it and no box. But if you pick it up, I'll email you the service manual and parts PDF files I purchased to try to figure out what it is. I've already wasted money on them, and on purchasing a proper ZT60 control board that won't work, and the insides of this thing don't match any part #'s I found anywhere in the manuals. Oh, you would also get a free LED bias lighting strip, I bought one and adhesived it to the back panel. It plugs into the USB port.
Rent a van and take him up on his offer. UHaul and other companies sell flat panel TV boxes. You could be done with it.
eaayoung is offline  
post #14141 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 02:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
fluxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Official ZT60 Owners Thread

Euro 60" ZT60:



It's a bit hard to say, but you might not actually be far off having a fully functional ZT60, albeit slightly odd with an extra fan?

Honestly, I don't know what to make of this. It is a very unusual situation, that's for sure.

I don't suppose you could share any other part numbers with us? It seems like an interesting puzzle to try and solve.

Last edited by fluxo; Yesterday at 03:01 AM.
fluxo is online now  
post #14142 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 02:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
fluxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Official ZT60 Owners Thread

It's a bit hard to see on my phone, but flipping back and forth between pictures of your TV and the Euro ZT, it really does like quite similar apart from the extra fan and the fan wiring arrangement.

As you now know, these sets have a failsafe mechanism to prevent full operation without working fans. It should not be that difficult to get some fans working, though.

Looking at the two photos, the fan wires on yours connect to the (old?) A board on the upper left side. On the Euro A board they connect on the left upper side.

This is from Lounger's 65 ZT pic and looks like your arrangement:



This from the 60 ZT60E:



This is the A board you apparently ordered:



This is the 65" A board:



I'm thinking maybe the fan wire socket on the 65" mainboard is wider because it has more fan wires to connect to? And it looks like the incoming wires plus connector terminating those wires is potentially replaceable? Could you hook up just two fans to the new A board?

Is it 3 pins per fan at the mainboard socket?

Last edited by fluxo; Yesterday at 03:57 AM.
fluxo is online now  
post #14143 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 05:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerdubs View Post
If you give me your email, I will send you the service manual. I don't know if what you are looking for is in there but it might be.
Done thank you
william06 is offline  
post #14144 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 05:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
fluxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Could I have a copy, too, please?

Thanks!
fluxo is online now  
post #14145 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 07:21 AM
Member
 
powerdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Ok, here is what everything should be-
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PCBLAYOUT2.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	184.8 KB
ID:	1247601   Click image for larger version

Name:	PCBLAYOUT.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	142.8 KB
ID:	1247609   Click image for larger version

Name:	BoardPartsList.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	87.9 KB
ID:	1247617   Click image for larger version

Name:	PCBLAYOUT3.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	209.6 KB
ID:	1247625  
powerdubs is offline  
post #14146 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 07:30 AM
Member
 
powerdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
And here is what I have for the big boards-






powerdubs is offline  
post #14147 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 07:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
fluxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Official ZT60 Owners Thread

Thanks powerdubs. Could you perhaps pm a link to the document from which that parts table comes from?

By the way: if you put the top numbers into Google, they do come up as parts on ebay described as being for the 60ZT60.

I'm struggling a bit on the phone with the images, but will hopefully get on the computer later.

[Edit] Looking online it seems that there might be two identifiers, part numbers and board numbers.

E.g.:
http://m.ebay.ca/itm/PANASONIC-SUB-P...313?nav=SEARCH

Has the MPF6916A that is on the label in your image. Can you scan the QR code (if that's what it's called) with your phone? Apps are available for that.

Cheers.

Last edited by fluxo; Yesterday at 08:44 AM.
fluxo is online now  
post #14148 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 12:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Here are some pics of the relevant cards,
1.) TNPH1043UB is the card that was in the TV 6 pin fan plug top entry next to camera USB jack VT.
2.) TNPH1043UD is also 6 pin top entry fan plug, documented to be the A card for P60ZT60
3.) TNPH1043UE is side entry 9 pin fan plug for 65" 3 fans

you said you wanted me to pick it up, is that still correct or are you going to work on it some more.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	UB_6_pin.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	117.3 KB
ID:	1248257   Click image for larger version

Name:	UD_6_pin.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	112.5 KB
ID:	1248265   Click image for larger version

Name:	UE_9_pin_side.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	125.1 KB
ID:	1248273  
Lounger17 is offline  
post #14149 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 01:12 PM
Member
 
powerdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Dave,

At this point, it looks like I need the '65' board for the 3 fans plug. I'm hoping the image will just scale down to the 60 screen. It is my guess that the board won't know the difference because the pixels are the same amount, no?

I could try to find a new plug to splice on and run only 2 fans on the current board but that would be a last resort.

I just want this thing to work. And currently it doesn't. Can't play a bluray due to hdmi issues on the 'original' board (which explains why we couldn't get the disk to work at your house either) and the 3 LED blink issue that requires an unplug and reboot to turn on.

Does anyone have an idea on the new EBU mode that is in the picture settings with the 60ZT60 board in it? I googled it and it seems to be a european mode?

What are all the picture modes on a U.S. 60ZT60?

Thanks- Josh
powerdubs is offline  
post #14150 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 01:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerdubs View Post
Dave,

At this point, it looks like I need the '65' board for the 3 fans plug. I'm hoping the image will just scale down to the 60 screen. It is my guess that the board won't know the difference because the pixels are the same amount, no?

I could try to find a new plug to splice on and run only 2 fans on the current board but that would be a last resort.

I just want this thing to work. And currently it doesn't. Can't play a bluray due to hdmi issues on the 'original' board (which explains why we couldn't get the disk to work at your house either) and the 3 LED blink issue that requires an unplug and reboot to turn on.

Does anyone have an idea on the new EBU mode that is in the picture settings with the 60ZT60 board in it? I googled it and it seems to be a european mode?

What are all the picture modes on a U.S. 60ZT60?

Thanks- Josh
i would not get the 65" board, i don't think it would work, if you want to keep it, use 2 fans, i read that the 3 blink issue can be due to the A board which you are replacing. Any HDMI issues you had should also be fixed with A board.
Like someone else said you could also solder a 9 pin jack on the UD board the solder pads are there, it may work for 3 fans.
either way i need to know today, if you are keeping it because i just arranged to buy another 65" TV and I don't want to hold him up.
Lounger17 is offline  
post #14151 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 03:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
just bought a P65VT60 so i am not as anxious to take the TV back, especially going to your house and packing it up in the cold, but I am still willing to take it if you bring it to my house.
Lounger17 is offline  
post #14152 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 03:15 PM
Member
 
powerdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
That's ok.

Just ordered a 65ZT60 board. I think it will work.
powerdubs is offline  
post #14153 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 03:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerdubs View Post
That's ok.

Just ordered a 65ZT60 board. I think it will work.
ok good luck, but i doubt that the only difference is the fan connector
Lounger17 is offline  
post #14154 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I recently put my Zt60 for sale on craigs list. Im not easily going to part with it unless I get a good offer. Some of these bozos were offering 1500-2000 for the 65". One guy told me he bought old models, repaired them, probably put some second hand parts in them and then resold them and made 1000-2000 per TV. I wonder if that's what this individual above has?
MM
mohanman is offline  
post #14155 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sonyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint Louis. MO
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post
I recently put my Zt60 for sale on craigs list. Im not easily going to part with it unless I get a good offer. Some of these bozos were offering 1500-2000 for the 65". One guy told me he bought old models, repaired them, probably put some second hand parts in them and then resold them and made 1000-2000 per TV. I wonder if that's what this individual above has?
MM
Why are you selling it? Are you looking at going Oled 4k?
Sonyboy is offline  
post #14156 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 04:12 PM
Member
 
powerdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lounger17 View Post
ok good luck, but i doubt that the only difference is the fan connector

No crazier than the confirmed VT board that was in it when you sold it to me.

I'm pretty sure it will work, and if it doesn't, I either return the board or sell it.
powerdubs is offline  
post #14157 of 14159 Old Yesterday, 10:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
colnago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post
I recently put my Zt60 for sale on craigs list. Im not easily going to part with it unless I get a good offer. Some of these bozos were offering 1500-2000 for the 65"...
Is 60-65% of retail a low offer for a 2-3 year old TV, which may not be able to be repaired in the event of a panel issue?
colnago is offline  
post #14158 of 14159 Old Today, 12:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by colnago View Post
Is 60-65% of retail a low offer for a 2-3 year old TV, which may not be able to be repaired in the event of a panel issue?
That's a more than fair price for a TV this age.
video_analysis is online now  
post #14159 of 14159 Old Today, 02:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
fluxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerdubs View Post
No crazier than the confirmed VT board that was in it when you sold it to me.

I'm pretty sure it will work, and if it doesn't, I either return the board or sell it.
There are some possibilities to consider if you wish to try to get the TV working like a regular retail model, which seems to be your preference.

Firstly, you can get the 65" A board and it seems you have one on order. It may work - in the sense that the TV powers on a produces a picture with no warning messages - or it may not. It's possible, e.g., that the board will detect it is in the wrong TV and not work. On the other hand, it may be that there is very little actual difference between the boards for the 60" and 65" and the boards may be interchangeable. However, you should be cautious. Even if the TV does appear to operate correctly, the 60" and 65" models may have slightly different cell geometry which would necessitate the use of colour tracking tables specific to each of those particular sizes. Or there may be other differences. I don't think the 65" A board is likely to blow the 60" model up, but still I would be cautious about using the wrong board for that size.

Secondly, you can get the fans to work. For me this is by far the cheapest and most straightforward option. There is a sort of extension lead the fans connect to that goes to the A board. If you could obtain the correct one for the 60" model (it's only some wires and a connector), then that will suffice to connect the left and right fans. We know that regular ZTs in this size come with two fans so that is a configuration that I would hope would work. My only reservation would be that there might be something unusual about your ZT that means an extra fan is required. In which case, you could do the above and connect up the two fans and then find a way of connecting the 3rd. If you go this route then, to my mind, you will end up with the closest equivalent to a regular 60" ZT. Moreover, you won't have to replace the A board again, an operation that comes with a certain amount of risk.

You might wish to look at this thread, where people are experimenting with fans on their VT60s.

Once again, if you could supply me with the service manual/technical guide mentioned in the thread above, I would be very grateful. I'm fascinated by how these things work and am always keen to extend my knowledge.

Good luck and do take care, especially with any ribbon connectors.

PS:

Picture modes for the US ZT60 from page 36 of the eHelp document here:

Vivid
Standard
Home Theater
THX Cinema
THX Bright Room
THX3D Cinema
EBU
Cinema
Custom
Professional 1
Professional 2
fluxo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65zt60 65 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60zt60 60 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off