Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 103 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3061 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Epstein View Post

However, when my F8500 is displaying 3D, I can actually go in and find that the settings are not the same, and thus, make similar changes as the 2D?
Yes. You will notice that they are not the same as when the displaying a 2D movie even though the Picture Mode is still named "Movie".
One obvious example is that the 10-point white balance setting is disabled in 3D.
rickardl is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3062 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 11:54 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Okay I managed to get a shot with my wifes SLR at 1600 ISO with a portrait lens.
Check out the left edges of the teeth where dark meets light you should see individual clusters of black pixels. This pan is right to left. It is much more defined by eye but this at least shows the problem.



pieandchips is offline  
post #3063 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 12:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,163
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

You said the 8000 was just peachy. I pointed out that it's not. However, because of it's very good calibration abilities it's great for day time viewing, just like the 8500, really.

I never said it was just peachy. Please stop putting words in my mouth. And again, not a word from me on black levels. Not one.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #3064 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ronald Epstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
^ Hmm, interesting. I've tried on a PS3 and a Samsung BD player same issue.
Specifically it's the fangs against the dark sky as he passes through. I'll try and take a pic.

 

Just for you...I went in and looked at the scene again.  This time you were more specific what to look for.

 

No, nothing in the fangs.  There are at least 3 shots of the fangs as Bond passes through and beyond.  Nothing that blatantly looks off about it.

Ronald Epstein is offline  
post #3065 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 12:34 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ Thank you appreciated.

It's only during panning shots of certain speeds - that's what CS is attempting to smooth out.
Did you check my post with pics above?

/edit: To confirm, if CS is disabled, but 24Hz is still played, there are no anomalies.
This leads me to think it has to be the CS processing on the TV and not anything else prior in the chain.
pieandchips is offline  
post #3066 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ronald Epstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79

I have CS on.

 

I looked at your screenshot.

 

Once again, I went to the exact scene.

 

No abnormalities in picture (fangs area)

Ronald Epstein is offline  
post #3067 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
^^^ looks fine for me too

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #3068 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 03:54 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Well this is worrying then I had always assumed the problem to be affecting us all.

To clarify this is not on a sill frame but only shows during play.

Everyone can see the issue in the pics I posted I presume?
pieandchips is offline  
post #3069 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I looked for the issue you described in your pictures...got about 18" from the screen and did not see any issues during playback.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #3070 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 04:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

Well this is worrying then I had always assumed the problem to be affecting us all.

To clarify this is not on a sill frame but only shows during play.

Everyone can see the issue in the pics I posted I presume?

Yes, its pretty clear on the picture you posted.

Could it be your bluray player?

What are you using and are you sending the signal through a preamp or receiver?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #3071 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 04:29 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Thanks all for your assistance.

Two different players tested directly into HDMI port on TV / tried different hdmi cables. Amp is Denon 2112ci (passthough HDMI).
It's been like this ever since I had the TV.

With CS disabled it's fine.
pieandchips is offline  
post #3072 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

^ Hmm, interesting. I've tried on a PS3 and a Samsung BD player same issue.
Specifically it's the fangs against the dark sky as he passes through. I'll try and take a pic.

I looked at the exact same scene. 2 different blu ray players. Oppo 83 and the Oppo 93. It shows up on the oppo 83 but not on the 93. Not as bad as your example, but it is there. This tells me it is not the tv, but your blu ray player.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is online now  
post #3073 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 05:27 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Hmm, the plot thickens... I just tried with my HTPC and TMT @ 24Hz - same problem. That's three players tested.

What must CS do to the output to make that happen? As I've said a few times, if you disable CS it completely stops.Everything is crisp and clean again at 60Hz or 24Hz. Turn CS on and it appears again.
pieandchips is offline  
post #3074 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 06:46 PM
Member
 
robnormal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16

Have you tried turning off the Black Optimizer? That's the only reason I could think for the frame to be altered like that. CS shouldn't be processing the image at all, just repeating it 4 times before moving onto the next frame. But maybe the Black Optimizer's reset pulse creates timing issues... Just a thought.

robnormal is offline  
post #3075 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 07:18 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ Good thinking but unfortunately not.
BO off - same.
Different modes - same.

Anyway I've just ordered the BDP-103D so we'll see how that goes in a few days. It was something I was going to do in the next few months anyway.
pieandchips is offline  
post #3076 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 08:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,163
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

confused.gif

Anyway....part of the reason for this could be that Samsung likes to make the customer beta test...I'd be tempted to upgrade to the latest version barring any regressions.

All companies like the customer to beta test. wink.gif
Ken Ross is offline  
post #3077 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 08:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,163
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Epstein View Post


Really loving this display.  Much better picture than ZT60.  Additionally, the web browsing works better and I was even able to flawlessly connect and use my Logitech DiNovo keyboard (with trackpad) to navigate the Internet.  Could not do that on the ZT60.

So far, I find this to be a much better display than the ZT60 was.

That's what I've been saying for a long time. ZT60 has a slight edge in black levels that most of the time and in most conditions are difficult to spot, but in most other areas the 8500 gets the nod IMO.

Enjoy. smile.gif
Ken Ross is offline  
post #3078 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Discovered a weird bug tonight while watching The Dark Knight Rises. Twice during the movie, voice activation turned on. Don't know what words or sound from the movie activated it, but it was annoying as it shut off the sound from the movie completely until I gave it a verbal command. First time I thought it was odd, second time it got annoying. Went into Smart Features and turned off Voice Recognition and that solved that issue. Sometimes, smart tv's can be really annoying. My guess is that the bass from the subwoofer shook the remote enough to activate the voice button. That feature will stay off from this point forward, or the remote goes into a different room. tongue.gif

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is online now  
post #3079 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 09:01 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

All companies like the customer to beta test. wink.gif
Some more than others. I've seen 2 firmware updates for the ZT since ownership in June. Following the F8500 over the course of the same time period, there have been at least 4 times as many. Neither of us will convince one another of the other's perspective (we've been down this road before), but the figures are hard to deny.
mo949 likes this.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #3080 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 09:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 46

I can't wait to get another update, the new one should have SMELL-O-VISION. Will come in handy watching the food channel!

hurricanebob likes this.
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #3081 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 11:19 PM
Member
 
icehawk21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just hooked up my new 64F8500 and spent the evening analyzing it as much as possible. I have to say that so far, I am very impressed and pleased with my purchase. It's almost perfect...with the exception of one cyan-colored dead/stuck pixel smack dab in the middle of the display. The good news is that I can't really see it at the distance I'll have the TV from my sitting area - but, goddamn it if I'm not always looking for it since I know it's there. I'm sure I'll get over it soon enough as all of the other fantastic features of the set wow me, but I was wondering the advice of others before I place the TV in its final resting place (it's sitting in front of my current TV so I could confirm everything was working properly before committing to it becoming a permanent fixture). Would others return this TV for a single stuck pixel when everything else seems to be working fine. It doesn't exhibit any other picture quality issues that I've noticed so far and the buzzing is inaudible unless I hang my head behind the TV (which I'll never do). What is Samsung's policy on dead pixels for this TV? I suspect I might get a bit of resistance from my retailer so I'd like to know what Samsung's policy is before I even consider calling up the retailer to inquire about replacing it.

Thanks in advance for any advice. I'm sure that, in time, I'll have many more questions for the current 8500 owners as I better acquaint myself with the TV. In fact, I already do but it's already too late to be asking my current question.
icehawk21 is offline  
post #3082 of 6682 Old 01-12-2014, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Congratulations on your purchase! I just got mine on thursday. I have 3 stuck pixels. One in the middle and the other two on the edges. I can't see them either unless I get close to the screen, and since I have no buzzing i will just forget about exchanging, unless more develop over the next few weeks. I'm sure it is within Samsung's tolerance levels anyway.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is online now  
post #3083 of 6682 Old 01-13-2014, 04:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dougofthenorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
RE: "What is Samsung's policy on dead pixels for this TV?"

Call & find out - in my experience very few screen makers or retailers have decent/fair dead pixel policies rolleyes.gif

If theirs is as shamefull as their buzzing policy (or lack thereof) mad.gif 1 or 5 dead pixels will not qualify for a replacement

But try anyway... please post your results

BTW - I haven't seen many posts about dead pixels for these sets - is this now going to be a new issue for the newest/latest builds??

------------------------
Regards,

Dougofthenorth

Save turtles:
http://www.turtleshelltortue.org
Dougofthenorth is offline  
post #3084 of 6682 Old 01-13-2014, 04:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dougofthenorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Epstein View Post

..oh...

Still trying to figure out how to get rid of drop-down menu that appears when switching sources/changing resolutions.

A lot of recent posts indicate the latest FW updates solve this... 1115/1116/1117

------------------------
Regards,

Dougofthenorth

Save turtles:
http://www.turtleshelltortue.org
Dougofthenorth is offline  
post #3085 of 6682 Old 01-13-2014, 05:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Some more than others. I've seen 2 firmware updates for the ZT since ownership in June. Following the F8500 over the course of the same time period, there have been at least 4 times as many. Neither of us will convince one another of the other's perspective (we've been down this road before), but the figures are hard to deny.

Its hard to know what that really means.

It could mean that even if Panasonic has a minor problem, they won't go back to fix it or that there are no more problems.

If the past, once panels start shipping, unless its a big problem like the luminance controls not working on the VT50, then they don't issue any firmware updates. Its more or less if you want a display that doesn't have that problem then buy a new one.
Ken Ross likes this.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #3086 of 6682 Old 01-13-2014, 05:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Mateo, California
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougofthenorth View Post

A lot of recent posts indicate the latest FW updates solve this... 1115/1116/1117

I don't recall a single one that has.

Ronald, do you mean the one that says you must be connected to an STB or something stupid?
muffinmcfluffin is offline  
post #3087 of 6682 Old 01-13-2014, 06:18 AM
Senior Member
 
CamaroDrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by icehawk21 View Post

I just hooked up my new 64F8500 and spent the evening analyzing it as much as possible. I have to say that so far, I am very impressed and pleased with my purchase. It's almost perfect...with the exception of one cyan-colored dead/stuck pixel smack dab in the middle of the display. The good news is that I can't really see it at the distance I'll have the TV from my sitting area - but, goddamn it if I'm not always looking for it since I know it's there. I'm sure I'll get over it soon enough as all of the other fantastic features of the set wow me, but I was wondering the advice of others before I place the TV in its final resting place (it's sitting in front of my current TV so I could confirm everything was working properly before committing to it becoming a permanent fixture). Would others return this TV for a single stuck pixel when everything else seems to be working fine. It doesn't exhibit any other picture quality issues that I've noticed so far and the buzzing is inaudible unless I hang my head behind the TV (which I'll never do). What is Samsung's policy on dead pixels for this TV? I suspect I might get a bit of resistance from my retailer so I'd like to know what Samsung's policy is before I even consider calling up the retailer to inquire about replacing it.

Thanks in advance for any advice. I'm sure that, in time, I'll have many more questions for the current 8500 owners as I better acquaint myself with the TV. In fact, I already do but it's already too late to be asking my current question.

If the only flaw is a dead pixel then you can only return it based on a satisfaction guarantee, Samsung nor anyone else will replace based on 1 pixel out. The good news is you can't see it from your normal viewing distance, you don't have a buzzer or any other issues. Personally I would be tempted to try to return it but worried I could do a lot worse, and you are right, in a short time it will likely not matter unless you are OCD about this kind of stuff like I can be. I guess the real question is, will it ruin your overall experience.

As for placement, I kept mine on a stand, we move the room around occasionally so on the wall would not work for us.
CamaroDrvr is offline  
post #3088 of 6682 Old 01-13-2014, 06:25 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
One could assume that a high percentage of the updates are for Smart function fixes / upgrades and not for picture refinements.
pieandchips is offline  
post #3089 of 6682 Old 01-13-2014, 07:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ronald Epstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
A lot of recent posts indicate the latest FW updates solve this... 1115/1116/1117

 

 

I was hesitant to do the update to 1117, but I'll try it.

 

 

Ronald, do you mean the one that says you must be connected to an STB or something stupid?

 

 

Quote:
Nope.  It's a drop-down bar from the top of the screen that has the HDMI input, current resolution, time and date.

 

 

It drops down when I insert a Blu-ray.  It drops down when the picture goes from FBI warning to main menu.  It's the change of resolution (even slightly) that causes it to drop.  There is nothing in the menu system that I can see that turns that off. I will update the firmware today.  If that does not work, I will call Samsung.

Ronald Epstein is offline  
post #3090 of 6682 Old 01-13-2014, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Epstein View Post


I was hesitant to do the update to 1117, but I'll try it.


Ronald, do you mean the one that says you must be connected to an STB or something stupid?




It drops down when I insert a Blu-ray.  It drops down when the picture goes from FBI warning to main menu.  It's the change of resolution (even slightly) that causes it to drop.  There is nothing in the menu system that I can see that turns that off. I will update the firmware today.  If that does not work, I will call Samsung.

I get the same dropdown message. On 1117. Whenever I switch inputs, a dropdown message tells me the image resolution, i.e; 1080i 60 and the date/time. When i switch to blu ray it says 1080p 24 and date/time.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off