Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 139 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4141 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 12:40 AM
Member
 
WantsNWarrants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Woodland Hills CA
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I don't get it. If you buy the TV from a reputable retailer, you can return or exchange it if the buzzing bothers you. Most of the retailers I speak of have a 15 day return\exchange window; many have twice that and a few quadruple.

In my setup, think of an L. My couch is the vertical portion and the love seat the horizontal. I have the (64") TV aimed to the intersection and NOBODY hears buzzing. Yes, if I'm in the intersection I can hear a buzz up to about 4 feet from the set. With the PQ, smart (which I don't use) features, and the ability of this set to render an awesome image, I just fail to understand the furor over a buzz that approximates flourescent light. If your set is beyond your comfort level, exchange or retun it! And STOP WHINING.
cooknl and BobNYC like this.

Potentially useful stuff,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
WantsNWarrants is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4142 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 04:15 AM
Member
 
dusty123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
firmware 1119 is available
dusty123 is offline  
post #4143 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 04:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
leftyguitar1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Texas
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
f/w 11.18
60 buzz
May 2013 build date, even though VE just shipped to me late last week NIB.
leftyguitar1963 is offline  
post #4144 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 04:53 AM
Senior Member
 
jjclecky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good morning all, I'm on my fourth generation samsung plasma. I had the A,B,D and now the F series. My struggle is that prior to my 64f8500 I always had the display calibrated ( D-nice is the man) but the pic quality on this display is so superb that I'm feeling I might not do it. What's everyone's opinion on this? Thanks.
jjclecky is offline  
post #4145 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 05:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ronald Epstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 84

jjclecky,

 

Thought my F8500 looked incredible out of the box using recommended settings on this forum.

 

My calibrator, Gregg Loewen of Lion AV, was able to make it look even better.

 

I think the benefit of calibration, by someone that truly knows what they are doing, is that you know your display is looking as perfect as it can be.

 

Even though prior to the calibration I was using other calibrator's settings posted on this forum, there were substantial differences in numbers across the board of where my settings should have been.

 

...but that being said, I don't give any fault to any individual that feels their display looks perfect to their eyes without calibration.  I am just saying that it does make a difference.

 

By the way, I think D-NICE would be an exceptional choice.  I have spoken to him on the phone several times.  Very knowledgeable.  Well respected (he calibrates for Value Electronics). He was my original choice to calibrate my display.  The only reason I went with Gregg at the last minute was because of his immediate availability in my area and the fact that he had calibrated my older display several years back. 

Ronald Epstein is offline  
post #4146 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Out of the Box Meter Scan - usually on the Grayscale, it's pretty flat from about 50% and down, 60% and up, Meter reading starts to get spikey. CMS not too bad, but Luminance is off.
Brightness and Contrast right on, or within a few clicks. Sharpness, definitely too High! 0 to 20 is more appropriate. Cell light, adjust to your conditions.
p5browne is offline  
post #4147 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 08:00 AM
Member
 
tyler webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Guy this may be a stupid question but does anyone have a photo i can see of the Brightness Pops? I have had my F8500 for 3 week and have at least 100 hours on it yesterday after about 8 straight hours of watching TV the blacks started to look dull. I went up close to the TV and saw what i would discribe as red, green flickers in the indivdual pixels. It occourded after a long day watching golf then fireing up VUDU on my oppo Bd-103 and watching All Is Lost. the black bars were dull, unsually the black bars are so black the disapear. Has anyone seen this ?
tyler webb is offline  
post #4148 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 08:23 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ What's your brightness set to?
pieandchips is offline  
post #4149 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 08:30 AM
Member
 
tyler webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Brightness is set to 47. Motion control and all the gimmicks are off.
tyler webb is offline  
post #4150 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 08:49 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ Pull the HDMI cable to reset the handshake. It could be the 103 having a moment(?)
pieandchips is offline  
post #4151 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 09:47 AM
Newbie
 
randomhero11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FW 1119 is available. There is an actual change log for this FW. http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/PN60F8500AFXZA

Anyone see any difference? I updated, but did not have any time to play around with it.
randomhero11 is offline  
post #4152 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 10:34 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ Let me guess without even clicking your link:

Solves brightness popping
Improves PQ
Something about improving wifi
Makes better bagels
Damien Inferno and Angelp1977 like this.
pieandchips is offline  
post #4153 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 10:44 AM
Member
 
tyler webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anyone have any idea how to fix this. I have does the firm ware update and in plugged and plugged back in all HDMI cables.
tyler webb is offline  
post #4154 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler webb View Post

Guy this may be a stupid question but does anyone have a photo i can see of the Brightness Pops? I have had my F8500 for 3 week and have at least 100 hours on it yesterday after about 8 straight hours of watching TV the blacks started to look dull. I went up close to the TV and saw what i would discribe as red, green flickers in the indivdual pixels. It occourded after a long day watching golf then fireing up VUDU on my oppo Bd-103 and watching All Is Lost. the black bars were dull, unsually the black bars are so black the disapear. Has anyone seen this ?

When watching an actual blu ray movie, do the black bars disappear? If they do, then it's likely the app on the oppo, or the oppo itself. Also when I use my Roku, I have to change HDMI black level on my tv to low instead of normal because it uses RGB. Perhaps VUDU changed their streaming, and you may want to check that out while watching VUDU.
wxman is offline  
post #4155 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 10:48 AM
Member
 
tyler webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
tyler webb is offline  
post #4156 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 10:51 AM
Member
 
tyler webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler webb View Post


This is when the screen saver is running.
tyler webb is offline  
post #4157 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
icelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

^ Let me guess without even clicking your link:

Solves brightness popping
Improves PQ
Something about improving wifi
Makes better bagels

LOL. Almost spot on Pie!

Quote:
Upgrade File(USB type) (Firmware) (ver.1119.1)

This firmware is for TV Model(s): PDP F8500
The version is 1116.1
This firmware update will improve the following:

- Soves swipe motion could not move the picture to next picture.

- Solves Network Connection issue with Wireless router.

- Solves Brightness Popping issue.

- Improves picture quality.

- Supports more MSO in OnTV feature.

- Enhances Voice Recognition feature.

- Automatically provides lox and cream cheese with every bagel served
icelt is offline  
post #4158 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler webb View Post

This is when the screen saver is running.

Try a different HDMI cable. You could have a bad cable.
wxman is offline  
post #4159 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 10:54 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler webb View Post

This is when the screen saver is running.

Oh, that's weird. If they were just green I'd call it plasma dither which can be fixed by turning down brightness.
That looks different.

What happens if you adjust any of your settings?
Is it like this on all sources?
pieandchips is offline  
post #4160 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 10:55 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post

Try a different HDMI cable. You could have a bad cable.

Yes yes, that could be it....
pieandchips is offline  
post #4161 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
cooknl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Amsterdam
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 24
1119.1 changelog says its for 1116.1 so it dont mean anything.
cooknl is offline  
post #4162 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 11:01 AM
Member
 
mmmccall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

^The closest I have come in my search are these, but I'd have to test them:

Device Code: 7.7 Function: 220PICTURE MODE USER 1
0000 006D 0000 0022 00AC 00AC 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0689

Device Code: 7.7 Function: 219PICTURE MODE USER 2
0000 006D 0000 0022 00AC 00AC 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0689

Device Code: 7.7 Function: 218PICTURE MODE USER 3
0000 006D 0000 0022 00AC 00AC 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0689

/Edit: When I get home I will add them to my Harmony DB and test.

/Edit2: Movie, Standard and Dynamic are already in the Harmony DB for the F8500. Interestingly Relax is not.

Any success with getting Cal Day and Cal Night to work on a Harmony?
mmmccall is online now  
post #4163 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 11:01 AM
Member
 
tyler webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just bought a new cable. Oppo HDMI 1 just video, hDMI 2 just audio. All this just started last night.
tyler webb is offline  
post #4164 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler webb View Post

Just bought a new cable. Oppo HDMI 1 just video, hDMI 2 just audio. All this just started last night.

Switch cables. New cables can go bad. Try HDMI 2 cable in HDMI 1 port. If you do not have this problem watching regular tv or a different source, then it could very well be your OPPO or cable.
wxman is offline  
post #4165 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 11:09 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmccall View Post

Any success with getting Cal Day and Cal Night to work on a Harmony?

No sorry. I did post no go yesterday frown.gif
pieandchips is offline  
post #4166 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Denniswrly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: N,California
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
So, Doin the update to 1119. So i turn tv off ,unplug cables,Turn tv back on do update then??smile.gif

64f8500
oppo bdp-103
Denon avr 1803
Energy speakers
Energy sub
Dual recliner lazyboy
xbox 360
Denniswrly is offline  
post #4167 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denniswrly View Post

So, Doin the update to 1119. So i turn tv off ,unplug cables,Turn tv back on do update then??smile.gif

Yes. Some people do a full reset. I don't unless it looks bad after the update.
Denniswrly likes this.
wxman is offline  
post #4168 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 11:30 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ anyone finding it 'dull' after an update please try what worked for me. It does not require a reset. Report back if it works.
Denniswrly likes this.
pieandchips is offline  
post #4169 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 12:14 PM
Member
 
mmmccall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

^ anyone finding it 'dull' after an update please try what worked for me. It does not require a reset. Report back if it works.

What's the process? I don't think I saw that post. I'll try it tonight and report back
mmmccall is online now  
post #4170 of 7825 Old 02-17-2014, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
HDgeneration's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I still believe that after the 1119 update the Samsung F8500 still has brightness pop issues. Not sure if this is considered brightness pop, but when I tune in to the Cartoon Network channel and I wait for the CN logo to appear right when it goes into commercials the background goes from bright white to dull white. Is that the brightness pop I am witnessing?
HDgeneration is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn60f8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off