Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 169 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5041 of 9848 Old 03-21-2014, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Use a damp soft cloth with distilled water "only" to remove stains from the screen. Then rub gently with a dry soft cloth.
9179mhb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5042 of 9848 Old 03-21-2014, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

polakis

Did you use distilled water on the Samsung microfiber cloth?

JimP
Sorry Jim, I didn't read far back enough.
9179mhb is offline  
post #5043 of 9848 Old 03-21-2014, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Stumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Mini review:

I've had my pn64f8500 for 2 days now and have watched about 6 movies thus far, and couldn't be more happy. Coming from a Mitsubishi DLP and a couple Sharp LCD's, to say the picture is stunning is an understatement.

Right away I set up the TV, input the recommended settings in this thread, and popped in Star Trek Into Darkness.

The paramount clip blew my mind. Then the Bad Robot clip blew my mind. Then the Skydance clip blew my mind. See a pattern?

Everybody who has seen the picture has been shocked, including my blind older parents who still watch standard def channels on their HD TV (they have HD cable ), and my girlfriend who doesn't realize when she chooses the DVD instead of the bluray from the case.

Once I break the 200 hour mark I'm going to pick up a meter and calibrate it myself.

I'm not a fan of using smart functions on a TV, but I honestly enjoy the netflix, spotify and YouTube app, I feel I no longer have a need for my roku.

I'm also enjoying the voice command option for opening apps and setting the sleep timer, makes it very easy.

Protip: there are a ton of pixel flip videos on YouTube, I've been running a 60 minute flipper after each viewing session and turning on the 60 minute sleep timer. I'll continue this until I reach 200 hours, even though I feel breaking in is not necessary.

My set buzzed something terrible initially, and the sound was exactly as described here, a direct beam from the center of the screen, now after ~15 hours it's all but gone. If yours buzzes right away, I hope you experience what I do.

This thread seems to be riddled with people who are having issues and are unhappy with their set. This TV is not without it's quarks, and keep in mind for every person that's unhappy there are dozens who ARE happy. I'm one of those happy people.
greenhavenn likes this.
Stumbo is offline  
post #5044 of 9848 Old 03-21-2014, 08:52 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stumbo View Post

This TV is not without it's quarks...

Don't tell the hadrons that wink.gif

Glad you like the TV
Stumbo likes this.
pieandchips is offline  
post #5045 of 9848 Old 03-22-2014, 07:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Every Display I have owned, I found something they didn't do right or could of done better. In the end after I just started watching them, I liked everyone of them more for what they done right than for what they done wrong or insufficient.
It is so refreshing to hear about someone just enjoying the technology and Happy with their purchase.

"Kudo's" Stumbo.

People need to remember the Old Saying " If someone keep's digging for a Bugger, they will find it".
Tom Riddle likes this.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #5046 of 9848 Old 03-22-2014, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 51

STUMBO...Stay happy and enjoy your new set!:)  The set gets better as it ages, I have over 1500 hours on mine and it still wows me!

KONICA TECH is offline  
post #5047 of 9848 Old 03-22-2014, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I have noticed intermittent motion judder while watching my 64F8500 PDP. The occasional stutter is most evident during the playback of a program recorded to my DVR.

Prior to buying the F8500 I had a PRO-150FD connected to my AVR --> DVR and never experienced any motion judder.

Are there any recommended settings I can/should try to eliminate this problem?
9179mhb is offline  
post #5048 of 9848 Old 03-22-2014, 08:22 AM
Senior Member
 
WVZR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stumbo View Post

This thread seems to be riddled with people who are having issues and are unhappy with their set. This TV is not without it's quarks, and keep in mind for every person that's unhappy there are dozens who ARE happy. I'm one of those happy people.

That's quite true except that it's more like hundreds than dozens - the majority of the "HAPPY" are to busy watching and enjoying to bother with the Internet. I've had three Samsung plasma displays and have never had a buzzer and don't seem to have the issues that most seem to post here. I've kept my connections very straight forward using no AVR in the mix. Yes it does seem to have it's quirks!
WVZR1 is offline  
post #5049 of 9848 Old 03-22-2014, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42degsN 92degsW
Posts: 2,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9179mhb View Post

I have noticed intermittent motion judder while watching my 64F8500 PDP. The occasional stutter is most evident during the playback of a program recorded to my DVR.

Prior to buying the F8500 I had a PRO-150FD connected to my AVR --> DVR and never experienced any motion judder.

Are there any recommended settings I can/should try to eliminate this problem?

I just ran into this issue as well about three weeks ago. never had an issue before, and is not fw # relevant. like you say it's only related to recorded dvr shows.

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....

64" Samsung F8500 Plasma
55" Samsung B8500 Full Array Lcd
Channel Master Dvr
Onkyo 818
Crown xls-2000
Sony Blu-Ray 790
Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Energy Rc-50 Surround
Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub
airgas1998 is online now  
post #5050 of 9848 Old 03-22-2014, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
WVZR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by airgas1998 View Post

I just ran into this issue as well about three weeks ago. never had an issue before, and is not fw # relevant. like you say it's only related to recorded dvr shows.

Your DVR is from the cable provider or is it a TiVo or? Which provider?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 9179mhb View Post

I have noticed intermittent motion judder while watching my 64F8500 PDP. The occasional stutter is most evident during the playback of a program recorded to my DVR.

Prior to buying the F8500 I had a PRO-150FD connected to my AVR --> DVR and never experienced any motion judder.

Are there any recommended settings I can/should try to eliminate this problem?

Your DVR is which? I believe you mentioned FiOS earlier in a post and I suggested MoCA for a wired solution. Maybe my memory isn't correct either. If I suggested MoCA for the "wired" connection did you do it?
WVZR1 is offline  
post #5051 of 9848 Old 03-22-2014, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Denniswrly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: N,California
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Question: I have now a Comcast Dvr. What settings do i set in it..I know to Native,but there are alot of things can b changed in there..Do i uncheck 480i,720p 108024 108030 etc..ty in advance..smile.gif

64f8500
oppo bdp-103
Denon avr 1803
Energy speakers
Energy sub
Dual recliner lazyboy
xbox 360
Denniswrly is offline  
post #5052 of 9848 Old 03-22-2014, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVZR1 View Post

Your DVR is from the cable provider or is it a TiVo or? Which provider?

My ISP/CATV provider is Verizon FiOS. I have an Actiontec MI424-WR rev. C router and a Motorola QIP7232-P2 DVR. From the ONT there is a split coax connection going to the router, DVR and (1) additional STB.

The set up between the DVR & TV is: fiber --> ONT --> coax --> DVR --> HDMI --> AVR --> HDMI --> F8500.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WVZR1 View Post

Your DVR is which? I believe you mentioned FiOS earlier in a post and I suggested MoCA for a wired solution. Maybe my memory isn't correct either. If I suggested MoCA for the "wired" connection did you do it?

I remember seeing your suggestion before but my understanding is the MoCA bridge provides support for Verizon's program guide, VOD and TV Tier Services.

Since the DVR playback to the F8500 is accomplished with a local HDMI path through the AVR (Pioneer Elite SC-07) I don't understand how the MoCA Ethernet Bridge setting might have an effect regarding the image stuttering on the F8500 during playback of a recorded program from the DVR's internal HDD.
9179mhb is offline  
post #5053 of 9848 Old 03-22-2014, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42degsN 92degsW
Posts: 2,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVZR1 View Post

Your DVR is from the cable provider or is it a TiVo or? Which provider?
Your DVR is which? I believe you mentioned FiOS earlier in a post and I suggested MoCA for a wired solution. Maybe my memory isn't correct either. If I suggested MoCA for the "wired" connection did you do it?
actually OTA using a channel master.

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....

64" Samsung F8500 Plasma
55" Samsung B8500 Full Array Lcd
Channel Master Dvr
Onkyo 818
Crown xls-2000
Sony Blu-Ray 790
Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Energy Rc-50 Surround
Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub
airgas1998 is online now  
post #5054 of 9848 Old 03-22-2014, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Stumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVZR1 View Post

That's quite true except that it's more like hundreds than dozens - the majority of the "HAPPY" are to busy watching and enjoying to bother with the Internet. I've had three Samsung plasma displays and have never had a buzzer and don't seem to have the issues that most seem to post here. I've kept my connections very straight forward using no AVR in the mix. Yes it does seem to have it's quirks!

I agree, it wouldn't be far fetched for me to never check into this thread, but I decided to jump in while I still felt the ecstasy.
Stumbo is offline  
post #5055 of 9848 Old 03-23-2014, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
WVZR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9179mhb View Post

The set up between the DVR & TV is: fiber --> ONT --> coax --> DVR --> HDMI --> AVR --> HDMI --> F8500.
I remember seeing your suggestion before but my understanding is the MoCA bridge provides support for Verizon's program guide, VOD and TV Tier Services.

Since the DVR playback to the F8500 is accomplished with a local HDMI path through the AVR (Pioneer Elite SC-07) I don't understand how the MoCA Ethernet Bridge setting might have an effect regarding the image stuttering on the F8500 during playback of a recorded program from the DVR's internal HDD.

I didn't mean to imply that it would have any effect on the stutter but you originally remarked that you couldn't do a wired Ethernet connection and I mentioned the MoCA bridge as a solution for the wired connection. I was curious if you had actually done the MoCA or were doing a wireless connection. The MoCA bridge can supply you with a wired connection for all of your devices at the same location. I believe most bridges supply 4 Ethernet.
WVZR1 is offline  
post #5056 of 9848 Old 03-23-2014, 07:38 AM
Member
 
polakis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Problem with my screen solved. Received the special screen cleaner kit and the stain vanished! First wiped whole screen with sprayed cloth then wiped with clean dry cloth and my screen is as good as new!!!!
wxman, icelt and Damien Inferno like this.
polakis is offline  
post #5057 of 9848 Old 03-23-2014, 10:16 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ smile.gif
pieandchips is offline  
post #5058 of 9848 Old 03-23-2014, 02:02 PM
Member
 
polakis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
polakis is offline  
post #5059 of 9848 Old 03-23-2014, 04:26 PM
Member
 
chrislax19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hey guys, I just got my TV setup and am watching cable TV. The picture is very dark almost like it got dim after a few minutes of tunring it on... Is there a setting that makes this happen that I can turn off?

 

Thanks for any help!!

chrislax19 is offline  
post #5060 of 9848 Old 03-23-2014, 04:36 PM
Member
 
tegee26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17

That's GREAT news.  That would have been a bummer if the screen was damage.

 

Now you can continue to enjoy your TV

tegee26 is offline  
post #5061 of 9848 Old 03-23-2014, 04:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrislax19 View Post

Hey guys, I just got my TV setup and am watching cable TV. The picture is very dark almost like it got dim after a few minutes of tunring it on... Is there a setting that makes this happen that I can turn off?

Thanks for any help!!
Turn all ECO or Power saving stuff OFF. Some people prefer it on for different times of the day. Till you get used to the display turn it off, watch for a while so you can tell what it does. Some situations it is a good thing. As far as the power saving thing
If it's on saves you 10 cents a month.
chrislax19 likes this.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #5062 of 9848 Old 03-23-2014, 04:59 PM
Member
 
MarcDBecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I wanted to write a review of my calibration from ChadB. I had him calibrate both my 64” Samsung F8500 (full ISF calibration) along with my older Panasonic S-1 (Geek Buster calibration) a few weeks ago. I had initially used some of the settings that people had posted from their professional calibrations, but I always felt like I should be getting more out of the TV. The improvements Chad made to my TV were pretty obvious and I was very pleased with the final results. Colors now seem accurate, shadow detail is improved, and the TV now really pops in both night and day time viewing environments.

Chad was pretty much what I expected based on prior reviews, he’s low key, easy to get along with, and takes great pride in his work. One of the things that I think sets him apart from some of the calibrators I had e-mailed back and forth with, is that he is truly wants to understand your typical viewing environment. I have a lot of light in my room, so I needed a good amount of light output from the set during the day. For Cal-Day, he was able to get 53 Fl, using 19 Cell Light and 99 contrast. He thought he might have been able to get another 2-3 Fl if he pushed it to 20 Cell light, but I was happy leaving it at 19. For Movie mode, the TV was outputting 39.8 Fl, which works great as my room never turns into a bat cave. In terms of the calibration, Cal Day and Movie went very smoothly, but Chad seemed to be unhappy with his initial 3D results. He spend a considerable amount of time getting it right and spent more time on that mode compared to the other two in order to get it to his standards. While I believe he quotes how long it will take to calibrate a TV, he definitely will stay until he is happy with the results, rather than working for a set period of time.

While I was expecting a big improvement with Samsung and Chad delivered, I had lower expectations for the Panasonic. Despite being his geek buster calibration, he turned my S-1 into something I really enjoy now. He was able to improve the color accuracy, along with getting more light output from the TV as well. For those who are concerned about the price of an ISF calibration, I would highly consider his geek buster calibration as well, as the improvement was pretty significant in my o.0
pinion. I’ve included a copy of my calibration results minus the settings per Chad’s request.

MarcBeckerSamsungF8500cal-day_SR.pdf 794k .pdf file

MarcBeckerSamsungF8500movie_SR.pdf 791k .pdf file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf MarcBeckerSamsungF8500cal-day_SR.pdf (793.8 KB, 37 views)
File Type: pdf MarcBeckerSamsungF8500movie_SR.pdf (791.3 KB, 44 views)
Chad B likes this.
MarcDBecker is offline  
post #5063 of 9848 Old 03-23-2014, 05:05 PM
Member
 
chrislax19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenee View Post

Turn all ECO or Power saving stuff OFF. Some people prefer it on for different times of the day. Till you get used to the display turn it off, watch for a while so you can tell what it does. Some situations it is a good thing. As far as the power saving thing
If it's on saves you 10 cents a month.

Thank you! Where can i find these "ECO" settings? And any in particular i should turn off?
chrislax19 is offline  
post #5064 of 9848 Old 03-23-2014, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Denniswrly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: N,California
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrislax19 View Post

Thank you! Where can i find these "ECO" settings? And any in particular i should turn off?
Menu>System>Eco Solution> Energy Saving OFF> Eco Sensor OFF:)

64f8500
oppo bdp-103
Denon avr 1803
Energy speakers
Energy sub
Dual recliner lazyboy
xbox 360
Denniswrly is offline  
post #5065 of 9848 Old 03-23-2014, 11:17 PM
Member
 
mmmccall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I posted this to the Denon thread as I'm not sure if its the F8500 that's repsonsible or the Denon receiver so I wanted to get some opinions:

"Thought I'd throw a question up and see if anyone is experiencing the same situation as me:

I have a Samsung F8500 plasma and a Denon x3000 fed with a ps3, ps4, DirecTV, and AppleTV. If I'm watching DirecTV programming, AppleTV, or a DVD then there are no lip sync issues. However, when watching a blu ray at 24p on my ps3 I have lip sync issues and have to engage a 130ms audio delay using the Denon. Now its not really an issue because the audio delay fixes it, but I just found it strange that I only experience it with 24p blu rays. Anyone else have the same thing going on?"
mmmccall is offline  
post #5066 of 9848 Old 03-24-2014, 05:32 AM
Member
 
SteveLilley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have that exact same issue going on. Only with 24p Blu-ray content from the PlayStation 4. It's odd.
SteveLilley is offline  
post #5067 of 9848 Old 03-24-2014, 06:58 AM
Newbie
 
charwood1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVZR1 View Post

I'd do a couple things before going to the aggravation of changing the cables. I'd power down the display and remove the power cord from the outlet, restart and I'd likely see if maybe I hadn't set the screen saver to on in the menu. I believe it's MENU > SYSTEM > SCREEN BURN IN

Looks like KT pushed the "submit" while I was thinking!

I unplugged the the TV for 5 minutes. Made sure all my HDMI cables where plugged in. I then plugged the TV back in and have not had an issue since. I wonder if I may have plugged an HDMI cable in with the TV on, which may have confused it.

Thanks,
charwood1111 is offline  
post #5068 of 9848 Old 03-24-2014, 07:53 AM
Member
 
Colonel Badger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
This may be the wrong thread so Mods feel free to move.

I'm very close to pulling the trigger on a PN51F8500 (I don't have room for anything bigger). However I have a few noob questions that I've searched and can't find an answer on

1. Does the optical out send 5.1 out or is it Stereo ? I'm interested in sending DirecTV, BluRay etc. to it and then having the TV send the optical audio back to my receiver!

2. I'm initially going to just watch the TV *WITHOUT* using any break-in slides until the number of hours is high enough for calibration. Can someone point me to the basic settings I should use for this purpose? What viewing mode should I use, what should I switch off and leave on?

Thanks

Mark.
Colonel Badger is offline  
post #5069 of 9848 Old 03-24-2014, 10:49 AM
Member
 
sam2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

Guys, My TV screen gets really dirty whenever my daughter touches its screen with sticky fingers. After spending almost 30 mins, I made sure Screen is again glossy and shiny. Guess what, within next hour what I see? She was eating cookies and she again touched it , and now I had really sticky stuff on my screen.

 

To clean it off, trust me I have used all cleaners including Windows cleaner/Auto Glass Cleaner and cleaner for eye glasses. Every time I clean it, it gets worse. So finally I decide to get some distilled water and had wiped off entire screen with damp cloth couple of times, but still was getting some stains.

 

Finally after spending around 45mins I have again used Auto glass cleaning solution, which had worked well and now its spotless.

sam2013 is offline  
post #5070 of 9848 Old 03-24-2014, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
dvzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would never touch F8500 screen with the AutoGlass, it contains tar solvents, major major damage to the AR coating can happen if not already. Use distilled water or if things are sticky go to Costco or Sam's Club Optical and they sell coated lens cleaner there, it is not like AutoGlass you need to gently wipe it on the trouble spot and leave it there for a min or two but it will clean your screen without damaging. It costs next to nothing and fairly safe for AR coatings even on glasses lenses. I do not think even that is 100% safe but I have kids too and this is what I used with success on F8500.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam2013 View Post

Guys, My TV screen gets really dirty whenever my daughter touches its screen with sticky fingers. After spending almost 30 mins, I made sure Screen is again glossy and shiny. Guess what, within next hour what I see? She was eating cookies and she again touched it , and now I had really sticky stuff on my screen.

To clean it off, trust me I have used all cleaners including Windows cleaner/Auto Glass Cleaner and cleaner for eye glasses. Every time I clean it, it gets worse. So finally I decide to get some distilled water and had wiped off entire screen with damp cloth couple of times, but still was getting some stains.

Finally after spending around 45mins I have again used Auto glass cleaning solution, which had worked well and now its spotless.
dvzzz is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off