Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 220 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6571 of 10024 Old 07-17-2014, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by leetchie69 View Post
I have an A/C unit about 8 feet to the right of the unit that will be blowing cold air right on to the set so that puppy will be running ice cold in most cases!

I can definitely handle running the slides when I am out or overnight. But I will want to enjoy some blu-rays right off the bat. I will try to avoid movies with black bars at first.
Make sure you have a power conditioner/surge protector if sharing the same leg with the a/c unit. Wall a/c's suck a lot of electricity. Years ago when I used my treadmill in the same room as my Pioneer 5020 and while watching tv, it would trip the circuit breaker for that room.
Ph8te likes this.
wxman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6572 of 10024 Old 07-17-2014, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Make sure you have a power conditioner/surge protector if sharing the same leg with the a/c unit. Wall a/c's suck a lot of electricity. Years ago when I used my treadmill in the same room as my Pioneer 5020 and while watching tv, it would trip the circuit breaker for that room.
Depends on the power requirements of the A/C - higher Wattages should have an independent Power Supply directly from the Panel. A lower wattage A/C, especially during the Summer. may lead to Brownouts, and put a load on the Samsung Plasma, possibly causing damage.
p5browne is offline  
post #6573 of 10024 Old 07-17-2014, 06:04 PM
Member
 
leetchie69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
The A/C unit has its own dedicated outlet..so I assume it runs on a different line than where the surge is plugged into.
leetchie69 is offline  
post #6574 of 10024 Old 07-17-2014, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Jason626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: illinois
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
It was for all sets (per DNice and the other calibrators).


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Check the VE shoot out video at about 28 minute mark. Talks about Panasonic needing 300 hours.

Q&A session
http://youtu.be/lcXcsN37v1I

Side note, they talk about floating blacks and brightness pops too. Floating blacks being reduced and brightness pops being eliminated. Two diffrent things. 3 minute mark and 6 minute.

Last edited by Jason626; 07-17-2014 at 07:55 PM.
Jason626 is online now  
post #6575 of 10024 Old 07-17-2014, 08:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,211
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1261 Post(s)
Liked: 631
Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk)

Kevin came in and said it was for all sets now (as well). It was asked but forget where. It's been posted by more than one calibrator in the forums since then as well. It was the new "standard" where 100 was previous gens.


Pops were still present at that point and still are with some 3D material. They thought they had it fixed, but people here in the forums proved otherwise.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is online now  
post #6576 of 10024 Old 07-18-2014, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hhaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Is there any way to check hours of use on the 8500?
hhaller is offline  
post #6577 of 10024 Old 07-18-2014, 10:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,211
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1261 Post(s)
Liked: 631
Mute 7-3-7


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is online now  
post #6578 of 10024 Old 07-18-2014, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Lodrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anyone else get 'fuzzy noise' during pans in with PC mode?

I sit 7-8ft away from a 51" and I'm noticing that during motion pans I get what I can describe as a a light, noisy fuzz covering the moving objects/scenes that gets more pronounced the faster the pan/motion. I really didn't start seeing it until I started playing DK: Tropical Freeze for the Wii U. Maybe its just dithering? It seems worst in PC mode. I'm coming from a Pioneer 4270 plasma, and wasn't sensitive to 'dithering'(?) on it.
Lodrin is offline  
post #6579 of 10024 Old 07-18-2014, 01:23 PM
Member
 
leetchie69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I plan on getting the Sony HT-XT1 as well.

I would be better off plugging everything via HDMI into the TV and then using the ARC HDMI port to connect to the soundbar right?

The ARC port passes along any digital format? DD, DTS etc..?

I think I read somewhere that the optical out does not.
leetchie69 is offline  
post #6580 of 10024 Old 07-18-2014, 02:09 PM
Member
 
krisb01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently picked up a new 51" and am starting to notice some pretty bad IR. It doesn't last for long so far, but it's quick onset. I have probably just under 100 hours so far, and I have the brightness and contrast turned reasonbly down from the default settings.

Basically it does not take very long for a high contrast image to leave some IR. It goes away fairly quickly so far, but then again I'm trying to be very careful with it. An example of what I'm seeing is a recent Volkswagon commercial that displays black text and the VW logo on a white background for about 5-7 seconds at the end of the ad. When the next ad comes on, the text and VW logo are clearly visible for around 5-10 seconds at it fades away.

After noticing this, I've started seeing similar occurrances during regular programming as some scenes that linger in the same spot for serveral seconds shift to lighter background images.

I haven't noticed much talk about IR concerning this model, so I'm not sure if what I'm seeing is normal. I'm coming from a 9G Kuro, which never experienced any IR whatsoever. I suppose my main concern is that if this IR is happening so quickly, what will it be like if I start to watch something like a baseball game with more static images for longer durations of time? I'd also like to eventually game on this set after it has some more hours on it.

Can anyone shed some light on whether this is normal, and if it will get better over time?
krisb01 is offline  
post #6581 of 10024 Old 07-18-2014, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by krisb01 View Post
I recently picked up a new 51" and am starting to notice some pretty bad IR. It doesn't last for long so far, but it's quick onset. I have probably just under 100 hours so far, and I have the brightness and contrast turned reasonbly down from the default settings.

Basically it does not take very long for a high contrast image to leave some IR. It goes away fairly quickly so far, but then again I'm trying to be very careful with it. An example of what I'm seeing is a recent Volkswagon commercial that displays black text and the VW logo on a white background for about 5-7 seconds at the end of the ad. When the next ad comes on, the text and VW logo are clearly visible for around 5-10 seconds at it fades away.

After noticing this, I've started seeing similar occurrances during regular programming as some scenes that linger in the same spot for serveral seconds shift to lighter background images.

I haven't noticed much talk about IR concerning this model, so I'm not sure if what I'm seeing is normal. I'm coming from a 9G Kuro, which never experienced any IR whatsoever. I suppose my main concern is that if this IR is happening so quickly, what will it be like if I start to watch something like a baseball game with more static images for longer durations of time? I'd also like to eventually game on this set after it has some more hours on it.

Can anyone shed some light on whether this is normal, and if it will get better over time?
That is normal, especially with a new tv. It will get better over time. I still get some IR after watching a baseball game. After the game is over, if I put up a black screen, I can see the IR of the scoreboard. That goes away with normal viewing. I have 1300 hours on my tv. IR is not unusual on the Samsung while burn in is unusual.
wxman is online now  
post #6582 of 10024 Old 07-18-2014, 05:37 PM
Member
 
krisb01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
That is normal, especially with a new tv. It will get better over time. I still get some IR after watching a baseball game. After the game is over, if I put up a black screen, I can see the IR of the scoreboard. That goes away with normal viewing. I have 1300 hours on my tv. IR is not unusual on the Samsung while burn in is unusual.
Thanks for the reply.

I decided to try calling support to see if they had anything to say on the issue. I described the problem to the initial support guy, who then transferred to me Remote Mangement. When the next guy came on the phone, he asked how long I had owned the set, and then proceeded to say that image retention should not be occurring this soon on normal TV watching and advised me to return the set with no further explanation. He was so quick to get off the phone that I didn't have time to even ask why, which is something I thought he would at least explain.

I was expecting to hear that the issue is normal behavior, but being told flat out to return the set is even more disappointing. It's not like I can just pick up another one to try out now that they are scarce.
krisb01 is offline  
post #6583 of 10024 Old 07-18-2014, 09:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by krisb01 View Post
I have the brightness and contrast turned reasonbly down from the default settings.

There's your problem, right there. Good lord, turn your settings up to where they are supposed to be and let it fly. This thing needs to be put through the paces so it can settle in. Give the girl a color spectrum to play with.
Dianabol5mg is offline  
post #6584 of 10024 Old 07-18-2014, 10:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Actual 2014 F8500 ?

All our sets say 1120 is the latest greatest. Samsung website still showing 1119. New purchasers saying their sets say manufactured in 2014 and have 1200 for FW. Smells a little funny here!?
p5browne is offline  
post #6585 of 10024 Old 07-18-2014, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
All our sets say 1120 is the latest greatest. Samsung website still showing 1119. New purchasers saying their sets say manufactured in 2014 and have 1200 for FW. Smells a little funny here!?
FW1200 is the latest FW update for all F series LED tv's. If you go to the Samsung web site, this update came out May 1, 2014. My guess, it is a universal update for all F series tv's, and had no major impact on the F series plasma. Thus, the lack of a rush to post it for update. All F series tv's normally get the same update, whether LED or plasma,
wxman is online now  
post #6586 of 10024 Old 07-18-2014, 11:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
FW1200 is the latest FW update for all F series LED tv's. If you go to the Samsung web site, this update came out May 1, 2014. My guess, it is a universal update for all F series tv's, and had no major impact on the F series plasma. Thus, the lack of a rush to post it for update. All F series tv's normally get the same update, whether LED or plasma,
Then that sounds like all the FW updates are doing is App updating. Surely there are FW differences between LED/LCD and Plasmas! (or, they just like to keep the numbering the same, but that doesn't make sense either - one or the other types must have more updates than the other, or, they hold off updating on both, and do the same # for both.)

Also of note, noticed the NetFlix Icon is no longer a Solid Red, but White with Red Border and Lettering. Seems to have been a PQ improvement as well. Maybe a 2K Codec improvement when they started setting up for 4K.
p5browne is offline  
post #6587 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 03:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Mute 7-3-7


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
hmmm tried this but nothing
Macroblocker is offline  
post #6588 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
cooknl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Amsterdam
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macroblocker View Post
hmmm tried this but nothing
DO a MUTE 737 ENTER, enter being the button in the middle of the arrow buttons.
Also note this will NOT work with the small remote U MUST use the oldstyle ALL BUTTON remote to make this work.

Rob
Ph8te likes this.
cooknl is offline  
post #6589 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 10:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,466
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Now may be the time. I have one vender who says the 8500 are all gone and they can not get any more. I have another guy who still has them.

May be time to stop kicking tires before there are no plasma's left for a decent price.........

Then again there are some super cheap Panasonic TH-85PF12U going for $700 more than a new PN64F8500............ LOL
.
Damien Inferno likes this.

Last edited by Cleveland Plasma; 07-20-2014 at 12:51 PM.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #6590 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 11:20 AM
Member
 
shn750's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
64F8500 Panel Heat

Hello All,

I just received my 64F8500. I noticed that the panel feels fairly hot, especially on the upper left (when looking at the front). When placing my hand on the rear metal panel, I would say that after 5 seconds with my hands touching, it's hot to the touch to the point of having to remove my hands. Is this normal?

BTW the TV is wall mounted is about 1.5 ft from the wall.

Thanks
Steve
shn750 is offline  
post #6591 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 11:24 AM
Member
 
kwest2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Now may be the time. I have one vender who says the 8500 are all gone and they can not get any more. I have another guy who still has them.

May be time to stop kicking tires before there are no plasma's left for a decent price.........
Yep, Pauls TV told me this. Amazon still has >100 60" and >10 64", but I wouldn't wait long. Seems Samsung is stopping distribution sooner rather than later.
kwest2 is offline  
post #6592 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Now may be the time. I have one vender who says the 8500 are all gone and they can not get any more. I have another guy who still has them.

May be time to stop kicking tires before there are no plasma's left for a decent price.........
yea i was kicking the tires since April and finally did it last week !
Macroblocker is offline  
post #6593 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Lodrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by shn750 View Post
I just received my 64F8500. I noticed that the panel feels fairly hot, especially on the upper left (when looking at the front). When placing my hand on the rear metal panel, I would say that after 5 seconds with my hands touching, it's hot to the touch to the point of having to remove my hands. Is this normal?
I'll second the suggestion of someone earlier in this thread to use a Thermaltake USB powered fan. I ordered one and attached it to the back panel using Command picture hanging adhesive. I removed two of the screws and the inner grill (The one I set against the holes on the panel). I cut out centimeter triangles of the adhesive that just cover 2 of the screw positions, while leaving 2 screws to keep the nob and outer grill on. The adhesive is kinda like a soft velcro so I can take the fan on/off w/o issue.

The back panel on that side of the screen is now cold to the touch when running. I ordered another one for the 'right side' which also gets hot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0006.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	273.0 KB
ID:	170402  
Rojo_P and vavan like this.
Lodrin is offline  
post #6594 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Works Perfectly

No screws, no velcro, no adhesive (What would heat do to this?) just a piece of wire that came with the TV from somewhere.
Plug into the 1.0A USB Port - turns on and off with the set. Set Speed to about midpoint where you can barely hear it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	F8500_Back_Fan.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	210.1 KB
ID:	170586  
Rojo_P and vavan like this.

Last edited by p5browne; 07-19-2014 at 04:08 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #6595 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 04:29 PM
Member
 
shn750's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I'll try it the fan. So is the consensus that these panels do indeed get on the hotter side? I looked at the service menu by clicking MUTE 7 3 7 ENTER and the temperature is showing 43C-44C. That seems pretty hot.

Thanks
Stefve
shn750 is offline  
post #6596 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by shn750 View Post
Ok I'll try it the fan. So is the consensus that these panels do indeed get on the hotter side? I looked at the service menu by clicking MUTE 7 3 7 ENTER and the temperature is showing 43C-44C. That seems pretty hot.

Thanks
Stefve
It's not so much that panel temperature to worry about, it's the backside of the tv. The lower panel temperature is just an added benefit of cooling the back side. If your tv is brand new, 43 to 44C is not unusual. You are talking about a panel temperature near 110F.
wxman is online now  
post #6597 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 06:21 PM
Member
 
Schack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooknl View Post
DO a MUTE 737 ENTER, enter being the button in the middle of the arrow buttons.
Also note this will NOT work with the small remote U MUST use the oldstyle ALL BUTTON remote to make this work.

Rob
Have tried this using the all button remote---no luck. Do I hold the mute button down while entering the 737?
Schack is offline  
post #6598 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 06:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schack View Post
Have tried this using the all button remote---no luck. Do I hold the mute button down while entering the 737?
I find I have to aim the remote and be within 4 feet from the tv
KONICA TECH is online now  
post #6599 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 06:37 PM
Member
 
gary777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Macomb, MI. US
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
You can watch movies with black bars just don't do extended marathons remember there are millions of people who didn't do anything and are very happy with their sets coming here you can become a little OCD with prep and potential issues that you never saw before.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Truer words were never spoken. I am now leery about buying any new TV since coming here...
gary777 is offline  
post #6600 of 10024 Old 07-19-2014, 06:52 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by gary777 View Post
Truer words were never spoken. I am now leery about buying any new TV since coming here...
True that ! If you read enough of the forums here, there is no way you will ever purchase any TV.
What a Shame, that so many people only write about the things, that in their perception are wrong with a Display. I would rather focus on the wonderful technology that I have lived long enough to see. It isn't perfect but, it a hell of alot better than it was 10 years ago.
I for one hope I have not seen the last of it.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off