Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 225 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6721 of 6747 Old 07-23-2014, 09:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ronald Epstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Have been away from this thread for awhile.

Without reading pages upon pages of replies since my last visit, I'd like to find out if it's safe to update to the latest firmware.

Someone told me that the latest firmware affects brightness levels. I don't believe such things until others confirm.

Thanks
Ronald Epstein is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6722 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 01:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Epstein View Post
Have been away from this thread for awhile.

Without reading pages upon pages of replies since my last visit, I'd like to find out if it's safe to update to the latest firmware.

Someone told me that the latest firmware affects brightness levels. I don't believe such things until others confirm.

Thanks
It's BS
Dianabol5mg is offline  
post #6723 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 04:10 AM
Newbie
 
cyberVinnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just setup my new 8500 to replace my beloved Panasonic plasma done-in by a three-year old. Anyway, I don't have a FiOS set-top box and use a TiVo Roamio instead. Are there any TiVo owners in this thread who were able to get the IR exterder to work with the TiVo?
cyberVinnie is offline  
post #6724 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 04:23 AM
Newbie
 
mbeezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dianabol5mg View Post
It's BS
Confirmed? I'm close to pulling the trigger on this TV but if this is true I might just go with the 8000.
mbeezie is online now  
post #6725 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 04:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Back in post 6692, Chad says the firmware does NOT effect brightness.

Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk)
cgrindst is offline  
post #6726 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 05:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbeezie View Post
Confirmed? I'm close to pulling the trigger on this TV but if this is true I might just go with the 8000.
Had the F8000. To me, it was no brighter than my F8500. Also, in a bright room, 8500 was superior. F8000 is a nice television, but during very dark scenes it will shut itself off. And it will bug you. It does so very fast, but it is quite noticeable.
Dianabol5mg is offline  
post #6727 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 07:13 AM
Newbie
 
mbeezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dianabol5mg View Post
Had the F8000. To me, it was no brighter than my F8500. Also, in a bright room, 8500 was superior. F8000 is a nice television, but during very dark scenes it will shut itself off. And it will bug you. It does so very fast, but it is quite noticeable.
Thanks for the post. As i've been going between these two sets for a week now, it's nice to hear from an owner of both. Any other differences between the two you've noticed?

Last edited by mbeezie; Yesterday at 07:18 AM.
mbeezie is online now  
post #6728 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbeezie View Post
Thanks for the post. As i've been going between these two sets for a week now, it's nice to hear from an owner of both. Any other differences between the two you've noticed?
F8000 on the AMP Clear setting has perfect motion handling. F8500 has less than perfect motion handling. As time goes by, though, the F8500 has really come around and the differences are minimal.
Dianabol5mg is offline  
post #6729 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 07:39 AM
Newbie
 
mbeezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dianabol5mg View Post
F8000 on the AMP Clear setting has perfect motion handling. F8500 has less than perfect motion handling. As time goes by, though, the F8500 has really come around and the differences are minimal.
Interesting. my main use is for watching hockey and action movies. if
motion handling is better on the 8000, maybe I should just go with that one?
mbeezie is online now  
post #6730 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 07:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbeezie View Post
Interesting. my main use is for watching hockey and action movies. if
motion handling is better on the 8000, maybe I should just go with that one?
Not so fast my friend. Im talking movies only(my fault). When you watch sports you are getting a different feed and resolution. I have not watched sports on either television. Football hasnt started yet. Someone else needs to chime in on that one.

Last edited by Dianabol5mg; Yesterday at 03:00 PM.
Dianabol5mg is offline  
post #6731 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 10:02 AM
Member
 
mithrilG60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbeezie View Post
Interesting. my main use is for watching hockey and action movies. if
motion handling is better on the 8000, maybe I should just go with that one?
Plasma is typically better than LCD for fast motion sports like hockey as LCD has to use motion smoothing algorithms to achieve was plasma can do natively. LCD does some things better, gradient dithering for example, but if you're torn between the two and this is your main criteria the F8500 is the better choice. Hockey, rugby, skiing, F1... it all looks fantastic on my F8500.

Samsung PN64F8500
Denon AVR-790
Jamo: S 40 centre channel, S 403 front satellites, and S 40 sub
OrbAudio: Mod1X rear satellites
Popcorn Hour A-200
2x Debian NAS/Media Servers - 28TB & growing
AppleTV 2nd gen
mithrilG60 is offline  
post #6732 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,690
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Is there some issue with periodic frame dropping on the F8500 when you're using Cinema Smooth while the it is fed 1080p23.976 content via HDMI?
Stereodude is offline  
post #6733 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 02:36 PM
Member
 
theodork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA: North Natomas area
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Getting a pn64f8500 delivered today, any tips on quick things to check to make sure I didn't get a lemon? Hoping to power it on and test if for 3 minutes before signing off on the delivery.

So far I'm just planning to hookup my macbook pro to it via HDMI and do a quick test with white and black screens to check for damage, and then check the screen hours. (press mute,7,3,7,ok and on MRT you will see the hours) I have a universal remote that I'm hoping to press these commands with.

In the box it should have... TV, Smart Touch Remote, 4 Pairs of 3D Active Glasses, and Documentation.

Anything else to look out for?

Last edited by theodork; Yesterday at 02:42 PM.
theodork is offline  
post #6734 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by theodork View Post
Getting a pn64f8500 delivered today, any tips on quick things to check to make sure I didn't get a lemon? Hoping to power it on and test if for 3 minutes before signing off on the delivery.

So far I'm just planning to hookup my macbook pro to it via HDMI and do a quick test with white and black screens to check for damage, and then check the screen hours. (press mute,7,3,7,ok and on MRT you will see the hours) I have a universal remote that I'm hoping to press these commands with.

In the box it should have... TV, Smart Touch Remote, 4 Pairs of 3D Active Glasses, and Documentation.

Anything else to look out for?
If you are buying it in the US, there should be 2 remotes. The smart remote and a standard remote.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #6735 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 03:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys, I just got a killer deal on a 64F8500! I guess now I start at page one of this thread and read on through.
Hoeft87 is online now  
post #6736 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
If you are buying it in the US, there should be 2 remotes. The smart remote and a standard remote.
The U.S. Samsung website shows that only the Smart Touch remote is included.
HLdan is offline  
post #6737 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 04:39 PM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So iwentinto magnolias at Best Buy and the panel there was really dark looking, compared to any of the 4K panels.

I thought I had read that the panels were nearly as bright? The settings were all the way up. It is kinda making me think again.
ParityBit is online now  
post #6738 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,316
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLdan View Post
The U.S. Samsung website shows that only the Smart Touch remote is included.

2 remotes have been included for months now. It was mail/online submission, now they just include it in the box.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is offline  
post #6739 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
2 remotes have been included for months now. It was mail/online submission, now they just include it in the box.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Well that's great to hear. Thanks for this. My TV is being delivered tomorrow. I was actually expecting only the smart touch remote.
HLdan is offline  
post #6740 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,316
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParityBit View Post
So iwentinto magnolias at Best Buy and the panel there was really dark looking, compared to any of the 4K panels.



I thought I had read that the panels were nearly as bright? The settings were all the way up. It is kinda making me think again.

Yes nearly as bright, but it still won't match LCD brightness. If you need that "ultra" bright picture and are willing to spend more, get possibly worse night time viewing (MLL) and live with poor off angle viewing then 4K may be for you. Of course if you get the set professionally calibrated they all go down to about 35/40ftl for night viewing. In the end it comes down to what is important to you.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is offline  
post #6741 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 04:57 PM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was surprised is all. I am wondering if it was just a bad/old panel or something.
ParityBit is online now  
post #6742 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLdan View Post
The U.S. Samsung website shows that only the Smart Touch remote is included.
In the US, it should come with 2, even though it says just the smart remote included on the web site. If for some reason you don't get 2, you can get one for free.

https://support-us.samsung.com/cyber...mote/index.jsp

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #6743 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
In the US, it should come with 2, even though it says just the smart remote included on the web site. If for some reason you don't get 2, you can get one for free.

https://support-us.samsung.com/cyber...mote/index.jsp
Awesome! I didn't know samsung was offering this. That puts my mind to rest because I'm not too fond if the smart remote due to the lack of channel number buttons although I would be using my DirecTV DVR remote. If I don't get the second remote in the box per my delivery tomorrow I'll use that link you provided.
HLdan is offline  
post #6744 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
In the US, it should come with 2, even though it says just the smart remote included on the web site. If for some reason you don't get 2, you can get one for free.

https://support-us.samsung.com/cyber...mote/index.jsp

I ordered one via that link a few weeks ago, but never received my remote....I guess I'll try entering the required info again. Not sure what happened.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #6745 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,316
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
I ordered one via that link a few weeks ago, but never received my remote....I guess I'll try entering the required info again. Not sure what happened.


Did you call or chat with Samsung? I think it takes a few weeks for it to be shipped (trying to remember those that have ordered it from earlier in the thread).
Ph8te is offline  
post #6746 of 6747 Old Yesterday, 08:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 123
^ I probably should have called Samsung instead. After entering the required info on that link, a popup window says that I would be receiving my remote in 5-7 business days.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #6747 of 6747 Old Today, 01:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Gradius2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Iquique, Chile
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Got my PL64F8500 for just US$ 1770 (delivered) today!

Of course it was a promo, couldn't pass this one.

TV is from May 28, 2013, brand new, sealed on box.

Last FW here is 1116.1 (T-FXPUABC).

[]s,
Fernando
Gradius2 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off