Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 226 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6751 of 6762 Old Yesterday, 07:33 AM
Member
 
stanjohn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
Are you in the US? I think it was only the US models that had both remotes in the box (later builds).
Unfortunately I do not live in the US , but I still put up a request to my respective customer support here. No harm in trying my luck.
stanjohn123 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6752 of 6762 Old Yesterday, 08:12 AM
Newbie
 
saru360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
Are you in the US? I think it was only the US models that had both remotes in the box (later builds).
I'm from Europe and a received the two remotes with the tv. Starting in the 6400 series i think every set comes with 2 remotes, the norma button remote and the one for smart tv features "touch control"
saru360 is offline  
post #6753 of 6762 Old Yesterday, 08:40 AM
Member
 
leetchie69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Received it today!!

Simply incredible....the picture is just....no words

Put it to movie mode and have not made any adjustments yet but already it looks fantastic. Running the Disney WOW experience disc with the different scenes from movies...looks awesome.

One question, my samsung Blu Ray played made my tv used a "BD Wise" setting. It was way too bright so I put it back on Movie. Is this setting of any use?

Also my build is March 2014 and I have the 1120 firmware and can not upgrade it.
leetchie69 is offline  
post #6754 of 6762 Old Yesterday, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by leetchie69 View Post
One question, my samsung Blu Ray played made my tv used a "BD Wise" setting. It was way too bright so I put it back on Movie. Is this setting of any use?

I suspect that everyone has to try it and see if they like it or not.


I have a Samsung cable box, and when I enabled the "BD Wise" between the two devices, I thought it made the picture look terrible, so I disabled it and left it disabled. This was some months ago, and now I can't remember the specifics of what it did to the picture.
shadowspawn is offline  
post #6755 of 6762 Old Yesterday, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
mark_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
So is firmware 1200 available now? Turned on my LED this morning and a message came up saying it was available. Never checked the 8500.
mark_b is offline  
post #6756 of 6762 Old Yesterday, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
mightymouseusf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I tried to update on Wednesday and was given the "no updates available" message
mightymouseusf is offline  
post #6757 of 6762 Old Yesterday, 04:14 PM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I joined the group! I went to BesyBuy Magnolia and saw another 64F8500 and it was MUCH brighter. I think the other panel I saw was busted. It was not LED level, but it was pretty close.

So ... I get it delivered on Tuesday (along with a new sectional, entertainment center to put it on and a dining room table! (We just moved)

What do I need to do when I get it? I will be setting it up myself and I have never owned a plasma. I know the Disney WOW Blu-ray is a strong suggestion. I have a PS4 and Xbox One and a very old receiver (That is next on my list)
ParityBit is online now  
post #6758 of 6762 Old Yesterday, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
Are you in the US? I think it was only the US models that had both remotes in the box (later builds).
USA ONLY offer. Canada - buy your own. Amazon has the Remote sans NetFlix Button for about $18. Other Members have found cheaper deals on E-Bay.
p5browne is offline  
post #6759 of 6762 Old Yesterday, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParityBit View Post
So I joined the group! I went to BesyBuy Magnolia and saw another 64F8500 and it was MUCH brighter. I think the other panel I saw was busted. It was not LED level, but it was pretty close.

So ... I get it delivered on Tuesday (along with a new sectional, entertainment center to put it on and a dining room table! (We just moved)

What do I need to do when I get it? I will be setting it up myself and I have never owned a plasma. I know the Disney WOW Blu-ray is a strong suggestion. I have a PS4 and Xbox One and a very old receiver (That is next on my list)
Don't forget Retailers run the sets in TORCH MODE!
p5browne is offline  
post #6760 of 6762 Old Today, 07:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Yes nearly as bright, but it still won't match LCD brightness.
No unit need to be that bright, try turning a unit with to much brightness cranked up in a dark room, you will be blinded....
Ph8te likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #6761 of 6762 Old Today, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
In the US, it should come with 2, even though it says just the smart remote included on the web site. If for some reason you don't get 2, you can get one for free.

https://support-us.samsung.com/cyber...mote/index.jsp
I received my Samsung PN64F8500 yesterday and you both the Smart Remote and the standard remote with channel keypad was in the box.
HLdan is online now  
post #6762 of 6762 Old Today, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,329
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
No unit need to be that bright, try turning a unit with to much brightness cranked up in a dark room, you will be blinded....

Oh I know I was just trying to explain what people meant in regards to the F8500. For bright rooms it should have enough to shine and in dark rooms enough to blind


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off