Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 227 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #6781 of 6789 Old Yesterday, 12:01 AM
Member
 
stanjohn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
I believe Anynet+(hdmi-CEC) needs to be ON for ARC to function.
So I tried the anynet+HDMI-CEC option turned ON but still no sound was output from my tv to the receiver through hdmi.

I also tried searching for devices through that anynet option but it didn't find anything.

Any other idea to output sound from tv to receiv3r through hdmi.
stanjohn123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6782 of 6789 Old Yesterday, 03:55 AM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post
Can anyone confirm if PC Mode reduces input lag more then what Game Mode offers for PS4 and XB1

Also is the pq the same in both?

I would like to know this also please.
ParityBit is offline  
post #6783 of 6789 Old Yesterday, 05:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanjohn123 View Post
So I tried the anynet+HDMI-CEC option turned ON but still no sound was output from my tv to the receiver through hdmi.



I also tried searching for devices through that anynet option but it didn't find anything.



Any other idea to output sound from tv to receiv3r through hdmi.

Ok, now that you have anynet+HDMI-CEC turned on, you'll need to look at your receiver's connections/settings with regards to its ARC functionality. I brought up a SR6008 owners manual, and see that the hdmi output labeled, MONITOR, needs to be used, as that provides the ARC capability of the unit. Next, you'll need to enable your receiver's "hdmi Control" setting (pg. 155; default is OFF). Once you do this, you'll need to recycle power to your tv to create a new hdmi handshake, which lets your 8500 know of your receiver's new functionality. Refer to pg.120 of your 6008 owners manual for more info about your receiver's hdmi Control function. There are some footnotes about hdmi zone 2 functionality of your receiver not being compatible when the hdmi Control setting is ON. After doing the above, you should go back to your tv's speaker settings to see if more speaker options (i.e. "receiver") became available.

Last edited by DanF8500; Yesterday at 05:50 AM.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #6784 of 6789 Old Yesterday, 07:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Of you could go for the costco 99$ 4 year extended. It just about what you want out of it. There are many who have gone with the SquareTrade from Costco and been happy (saving that money doesn't hurt either). The markups on the warranty offered by BB are crazy. Btw yes you can purchase the Costco ST without being a Costco member and purchase the set elsewhere.
Only downside to there warranties, you can not get 5 years of total coverage and they have a max payout of $4000 on the warranty of $1000 and up. If these two cases are concerning, as they can be, Mack Warranty is there for you.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #6785 of 6789 Old Yesterday, 05:33 PM
Member
 
max-n-tanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fan for tv .3 amps?

Hello I was reading about the fan everyone is using for this tv. Isn't it rated .3 amps so it doesn't matter what USB you use?

P/N AF0007
Fan Dimension 120 x 120 x 25mm
Started Voltage ≦4V
Rated Voltage 5V
Rated Current Max. 0.3A
Power Input Max. 3.6W
Fan Speed 800~1500rpm±250rpm
Max. Air Flow 66.55CFM
Max. Air Pressure 1.42mmH2O
Noise 19bB(A) ~33.5dB(A)
Bearing Type Sleeve
Life Expectation 50,000hrs,25℃
Connector USB
Extension Cable Length 167cm
Weight 267g
* Specifications are subject to change without notice.
* The product picture(s) is only for your reference, it may differ from the actual product.
max-n-tanner is offline  
post #6786 of 6789 Unread Today, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by max-n-tanner View Post
Hello I was reading about the fan everyone is using for this tv. Isn't it rated .3 amps so it doesn't matter what USB you use?

Rated Voltage 5V
Rated Current Max. 0.3A
Power Input Max. 3.6W

I've been a little skittish about that.


Watts = Volts x Amps


So, I would have expected Max Watts to be 1.5W (5 x 0.3).


Or else, Max Amps to be 0.72 (3.6 / 5).


This inconsistency has made me nervous about using the 0.5A USB ports, us plugging two of these into the 1.0A USB port (using a splitter).
shadowspawn is offline  
post #6787 of 6789 Unread Today, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowspawn View Post
I've been a little skittish about that.


Watts = Volts x Amps


So, I would have expected Max Watts to be 1.5W (5 x 0.3).


Or else, Max Amps to be 0.72 (3.6 / 5).


This inconsistency has made me nervous about using the 0.5A USB ports, us plugging two of these into the 1.0A USB port (using a splitter).
As mentioned in a previous posting - most Forum Members will not be running the fan full tilt - a tad noisy. Mid point is about right, and your amperage will be less.
p5browne is offline  
post #6788 of 6789 Unread Today, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
^^^^^^^^^^I guess I worry about it not being fail-safe (which is why I used the term "skittish" rather than "totally opposed").I worry about things like relatives coming to visit, and a young nephew seeing the knob and going "What's this do?"... ZZZZZZT
shadowspawn is offline  
post #6789 of 6789 Unread Today, 06:30 PM
Newbie
 
MrPanther0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok guys, new Pn64F8500 owner here. At my wits end. I can NOT get the TV to sit on its base stand flush. the right side (if youre facing it) will sit flush but the other side has like a 3mm gap between the base stand and the bottom bezel of the tv. Any ideas?
MrPanther0 is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off