Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 227 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6781 of 6804 Old 07-28-2014, 03:55 AM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post
Can anyone confirm if PC Mode reduces input lag more then what Game Mode offers for PS4 and XB1

Also is the pq the same in both?

I would like to know this also please.
ParityBit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6782 of 6804 Old 07-28-2014, 05:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanjohn123 View Post
So I tried the anynet+HDMI-CEC option turned ON but still no sound was output from my tv to the receiver through hdmi.



I also tried searching for devices through that anynet option but it didn't find anything.



Any other idea to output sound from tv to receiv3r through hdmi.

Ok, now that you have anynet+HDMI-CEC turned on, you'll need to look at your receiver's connections/settings with regards to its ARC functionality. I brought up a SR6008 owners manual, and see that the hdmi output labeled, MONITOR, needs to be used, as that provides the ARC capability of the unit. Next, you'll need to enable your receiver's "hdmi Control" setting (pg. 155; default is OFF). Once you do this, you'll need to recycle power to your tv to create a new hdmi handshake, which lets your 8500 know of your receiver's new functionality. Refer to pg.120 of your 6008 owners manual for more info about your receiver's hdmi Control function. There are some footnotes about hdmi zone 2 functionality of your receiver not being compatible when the hdmi Control setting is ON. After doing the above, you should go back to your tv's speaker settings to see if more speaker options (i.e. "receiver") became available.

Last edited by DanF8500; 07-28-2014 at 05:50 AM.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #6783 of 6804 Old 07-28-2014, 07:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Of you could go for the costco 99$ 4 year extended. It just about what you want out of it. There are many who have gone with the SquareTrade from Costco and been happy (saving that money doesn't hurt either). The markups on the warranty offered by BB are crazy. Btw yes you can purchase the Costco ST without being a Costco member and purchase the set elsewhere.
Only downside to there warranties, you can not get 5 years of total coverage and they have a max payout of $4000 on the warranty of $1000 and up. If these two cases are concerning, as they can be, Mack Warranty is there for you.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #6784 of 6804 Old 07-28-2014, 05:33 PM
Member
 
max-n-tanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fan for tv .3 amps?

Hello I was reading about the fan everyone is using for this tv. Isn't it rated .3 amps so it doesn't matter what USB you use?

P/N AF0007
Fan Dimension 120 x 120 x 25mm
Started Voltage ≦4V
Rated Voltage 5V
Rated Current Max. 0.3A
Power Input Max. 3.6W
Fan Speed 800~1500rpm±250rpm
Max. Air Flow 66.55CFM
Max. Air Pressure 1.42mmH2O
Noise 19bB(A) ~33.5dB(A)
Bearing Type Sleeve
Life Expectation 50,000hrs,25℃
Connector USB
Extension Cable Length 167cm
Weight 267g
* Specifications are subject to change without notice.
* The product picture(s) is only for your reference, it may differ from the actual product.
max-n-tanner is offline  
post #6785 of 6804 Old 07-29-2014, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by max-n-tanner View Post
Hello I was reading about the fan everyone is using for this tv. Isn't it rated .3 amps so it doesn't matter what USB you use?

Rated Voltage 5V
Rated Current Max. 0.3A
Power Input Max. 3.6W

I've been a little skittish about that.


Watts = Volts x Amps


So, I would have expected Max Watts to be 1.5W (5 x 0.3).


Or else, Max Amps to be 0.72 (3.6 / 5).


This inconsistency has made me nervous about using the 0.5A USB ports, us plugging two of these into the 1.0A USB port (using a splitter).
shadowspawn is offline  
post #6786 of 6804 Old 07-29-2014, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowspawn View Post
I've been a little skittish about that.


Watts = Volts x Amps


So, I would have expected Max Watts to be 1.5W (5 x 0.3).


Or else, Max Amps to be 0.72 (3.6 / 5).


This inconsistency has made me nervous about using the 0.5A USB ports, us plugging two of these into the 1.0A USB port (using a splitter).
As mentioned in a previous posting - most Forum Members will not be running the fan full tilt - a tad noisy. Mid point is about right, and your amperage will be less.
p5browne is offline  
post #6787 of 6804 Old 07-29-2014, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 22
^^^^^^^^^^I guess I worry about it not being fail-safe (which is why I used the term "skittish" rather than "totally opposed").I worry about things like relatives coming to visit, and a young nephew seeing the knob and going "What's this do?"... ZZZZZZT
shadowspawn is offline  
post #6788 of 6804 Old 07-29-2014, 06:30 PM
Newbie
 
MrPanther0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok guys, new Pn64F8500 owner here. At my wits end. I can NOT get the TV to sit on its base stand flush. the right side (if youre facing it) will sit flush but the other side has like a 3mm gap between the base stand and the bottom bezel of the tv. Any ideas?
MrPanther0 is offline  
post #6789 of 6804 Old 07-29-2014, 07:10 PM
Newbie
 
MrPanther0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry for the double post. Here are some pictures of what I am talking about
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20140729_205055.jpg (133.0 KB, 55 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20140729_205120.jpg (101.3 KB, 51 views)
MrPanther0 is offline  
post #6790 of 6804 Old 07-29-2014, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 438
I didn't have that issue with mine. The base / stand sort of snapped in place. There were small locating pins in the corners though.
Stereodude is online now  
post #6791 of 6804 Old 07-29-2014, 07:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPanther0 View Post
Sorry for the double post. Here are some pictures of what I am talking about
You have the inserts backwards, one is for the left side, they have to be correct.

Last edited by KONICA TECH; 07-29-2014 at 07:17 PM. Reason: spelling
KONICA TECH is online now  
post #6792 of 6804 Old 07-29-2014, 07:19 PM
Member
 
cjpk248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPanther0 View Post
Sorry for the double post. Here are some pictures of what I am talking about
As long as the mounting plate and screws are properly aligned and in place I wouldn't worry about it. Mine sits really tight on the right side (sitting in front of the screen) and the left side is a little displaced like yours. It's secured perfectly though so I'm good with it. Granted my left side isn't quite that bad.
cjpk248 is offline  
post #6793 of 6804 Old 07-29-2014, 07:21 PM
Member
 
cjpk248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post
You have the inserts backwards, one is for the left side, they have to be correct.
I didn't think they would fit backwards.
cjpk248 is offline  
post #6794 of 6804 Old 07-29-2014, 07:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk)

^^ Your goal to mount the base stand to your tv should be *uniformity* on both sides. It's perfectly fine if you can't get the tv to sit flush with the stand. I have a few millimeter gap on both sides. It's been fine since I put it together in April of 2013. In fact, I like the visual effect of the tv seemingly "floating" in air off its base. Looks really cool!
DanF8500 is online now  
post #6795 of 6804 Old 07-29-2014, 07:22 PM
Member
 
cjpk248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowspawn View Post
^^^^^^^^^^I guess I worry about it not being fail-safe (which is why I used the term "skittish" rather than "totally opposed").I worry about things like relatives coming to visit, and a young nephew seeing the knob and going "What's this do?"... ZZZZZZT
I just used one of these plugged into the surge strip with the TV and called it a day.

http://www.ianker.com/product/71AN7105-W5A
cjpk248 is offline  
post #6796 of 6804 Old 07-29-2014, 07:35 PM
Newbie
 
MrPanther0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post
You have the inserts backwards, one is for the left side, they have to be correct.
Do you think that is really the case? I can check here in a few minutes

EDIT: Yeah its not that. They wouldn't even fit into the opposite sides. For the life of me I cant figure it out. Only real problem is the screws wont go in to secure it to the base.

Last edited by MrPanther0; 07-29-2014 at 08:11 PM.
MrPanther0 is offline  
post #6797 of 6804 Old 07-30-2014, 06:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPanther0 View Post
Do you think that is really the case? I can check here in a few minutes

EDIT: Yeah its not that. They wouldn't even fit into the opposite sides. For the life of me I cant figure it out. Only real problem is the screws wont go in to secure it to the base.

I never said they were in the wrong end, they are facing the wrong way. At least the end that is giving you trouble by no fitting flush is. I was wrong to say left, maybe front side.
KONICA TECH is online now  
post #6798 of 6804 Old 07-30-2014, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPanther0 View Post
Only real problem is the screws wont go in to secure it to the base.
Have you tried a little careful mechanical persuasion via the Fonz method?
Stereodude is online now  
post #6799 of 6804 Old 07-30-2014, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
pitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Make sure the insert is seated all the way down in the stand. Even if it's not properly seated, you can still screw it down. This is a bit of a design flaw IMO. This is what happened to me. I reseated the insert making sure it was totally flush, screwed it back in, and then the TV perfectly snapped into place on the stand.
KONICA TECH likes this.
pitchman is offline  
post #6800 of 6804 Old Today, 08:51 AM
Member
 
jpdyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I gave up.

Picking up my PN51F8500 today, replacing my (still good) PN50B860. Being at work today is like Christmas Eve.
jpdyson is online now  
post #6801 of 6804 Old Today, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpdyson View Post
I gave up.

Picking up my PN51F8500 today, replacing my (still good) PN50B860. Being at work today is like Christmas Eve.
Awesome! But what do you mean when you say "I gave up"?
HLdan is offline  
post #6802 of 6804 Old Today, 11:19 AM
Member
 
jpdyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLdan View Post
Awesome! But what do you mean when you say "I gave up"?
Willpower...

I was going to try and hold out for the Vizio P-series to see if I could make the, um, "transition" to LCD. I got worried I wouldn't have the option of the 8500 for long.
jpdyson is online now  
post #6803 of 6804 Old Today, 11:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPanther0 View Post
Ok guys, new Pn64F8500 owner here. At my wits end. I can NOT get the TV to sit on its base stand flush. the right side (if youre facing it) will sit flush but the other side has like a 3mm gap between the base stand and the bottom bezel of the tv. Any ideas?


I had a similar problem and couldn't get the screws to align. The next day my son and lifted the set slightly, one on each side and it popped perfectly in place and the screws were perfectly aligned. I think the problem was when we original put the set on the stand that it went in on one side first. The stand is solid now.


Good luck
whm01 is offline  
post #6804 of 6804 Old Today, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpdyson View Post
Willpower...

I was going to try and hold out for the Vizio P-series to see if I could make the, um, "transition" to LCD. I got worried I wouldn't have the option of the 8500 for long.
You did the right thing. Speaking from personal experience after my first flat screen TV being a Samsung LCD which I humbly returned within a week and bought a Panny Plasma and now I have a 64F8500, there's no way I could go back to LCD even if it was a FALD set.
HLdan is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off