Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 244 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7291 of 7308 Old 08-26-2014, 10:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddomino1 View Post
I'm new to this thread as I will be receiving my f8500 tomorrow. Where can I find these "Break In" slides that you mention? Any other thing I should know about getting this baby up and running the correct way? Anyone using aftermarket power cords on this TV?
Welcome! The slides are easy to run just follow the directions; not sure if I can post the link but Google search "evangelo slides" and it's the first link.

Download zip and extract, copy to USB drive, plug drive into TV, run as a slideshow on slow setting.

As for break-in settings I'm playing it extra safe cause I dropped almost $4k so I am using Movie mode and turned contrast, brightness, sharpness all to like 50 for the first 200 hours. Oh and "Cell light" to 12-14. The funny thing is it still looks better than the H7150 I had for a few days. Not gonna lie, I ran a few Blu-Rays and TV on OOB settings to see what it can do lol Can't wait till 200 hours are up.....
rodddogg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7292 of 7308 Old 08-26-2014, 10:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodddogg View Post
Welcome! The slides are easy to run just follow the directions; not sure if I can post the link but Google search "evangelo slides" and it's the first link.

Download zip and extract, copy to USB drive, plug drive into TV, run as a slideshow on slow setting.

As for break-in settings I'm playing it extra safe cause I dropped almost $4k so I am using Movie mode and turned contrast, brightness, sharpness all to like 50 for the first 200 hours. Oh and "Cell light" to 12-14. The funny thing is it still looks better than the H7150 I had for a few days. Not gonna lie, I ran a few Blu-Rays and TV on OOB settings to see what it can do lol Can't wait till 200 hours are up.....
Oh and most importantly when playing 16:9 or 4:3 content make sure to zoom in so the black bars are not showing. And when watching network television zoom in on channels that have the network's logo on bottom right/left like CNN, Food Network, ESPN etc. This 'should' help prevent burn-in and IR when the phosphors are shining brightest on the set.
rodddogg is offline  
post #7293 of 7308 Old 08-26-2014, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
koan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by sedin View Post
Has anyone used this power conditioner? Does it eliminate or at least reduce the buzz?
Good reviews on the U.S. Amazon site product page.
koan is offline  
post #7294 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 02:42 PM
Member
 
333hp7900rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the PN64F8500 delivered last weekend. My retailer only had the floor model left, & I made sure it there was no burn-in. Got a great deal too. He said it was on display since Jan 2014, & guessed it had around 1500 hours of use. TV was made in March 2013 according to the sticker on back of TV.

I wanted to see how many hours of use it really had. Since I'm in Canada it only came with the small Smart TV remote. I tried inputting the Mute 7-3-7-ENTER code to look at the MRT value, with a old RCA universal remote & my Yamaha receiver remote. I can't seem to get the code to work. Looks like the TV was updated in the store cause it has the latest firmware of 1120 on it.

Any ideas? Thanks.

Samsung PN64F8500 on Sanus VMAA26, Yamaha RX-V3800, BDi Ola 8137 Cabinet
Paradigm Monitor Series - Front: Monitor 9 v3, Center: CC-370 v4, Rear: Atom Monitor v5 OmniMount'd, Sub: PW2100 10" v2
PS4, PS3, OLED PS Vita, iPhone 5, iPad 3, Other Gear: Sony KDL-52W3000, Sony KDL-46NX800, Yamaha RX-V1000
Wish List: Denon AVR-X4100W, Oppo BDP-103
333hp7900rpm is offline  
post #7295 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 04:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by 333hp7900rpm View Post
I got the PN64F8500 delivered last weekend. My retailer only had the floor model left, & I made sure it there was no burn-in. Got a great deal too. He said it was on display since Jan 2014, & guessed it had around 1500 hours of use. TV was made in March 2013 according to the sticker on back of TV.

I wanted to see how many hours of use it really had. Since I'm in Canada it only came with the small Smart TV remote. I tried inputting the Mute 7-3-7-ENTER code to look at the MRT value, with a old RCA universal remote & my Yamaha receiver remote. I can't seem to get the code to work. Looks like the TV was updated in the store cause it has the latest firmware of 1120 on it.

Any ideas? Thanks.
Order a regular remote off of ebay or Amazon. They're not that expensive.
Ph8te and 333hp7900rpm like this.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #7296 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 04:24 PM
Member
 
333hp7900rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
Order a regular remote off of ebay or Amazon. They're not that expensive.
Thanks, I just got it to work. It's hitting Enter that doesn't work on the universal remote. So I hit Mute - 7 - 3 - 7 on universal remote & then click the touch pad on the smart remote. Worked & my MRT was 1444. My retailer told me the truth which is refreshing. Thanks.

Samsung PN64F8500 on Sanus VMAA26, Yamaha RX-V3800, BDi Ola 8137 Cabinet
Paradigm Monitor Series - Front: Monitor 9 v3, Center: CC-370 v4, Rear: Atom Monitor v5 OmniMount'd, Sub: PW2100 10" v2
PS4, PS3, OLED PS Vita, iPhone 5, iPad 3, Other Gear: Sony KDL-52W3000, Sony KDL-46NX800, Yamaha RX-V1000
Wish List: Denon AVR-X4100W, Oppo BDP-103
333hp7900rpm is offline  
post #7297 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 04:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Does anyone have a pic of the F8500 displaying a full field of black in a darkened environment? I'm interested to see how much plasma glow it has. I would greatly appreciate it!

fdsfds
Tom Riddle is offline  
post #7298 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,733
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Riddle View Post
Does anyone have a pic of the F8500 displaying a full field of black in a darkened environment? I'm interested to see how much plasma glow it has. I would greatly appreciate it!

This may be pointless due to the compression and camera as well as camera settings. Any light picked up by the camera in a dark room would also be exaggerated unless the picture was taken with a good manual setting and a set exposure level. Even then it wouldn't be that accurate.

It may be better to ask if someone has a comparison between two sets to give you a better idea.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is offline  
post #7299 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 05:11 PM
Member
 
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Riddle View Post
Does anyone have a pic of the F8500 displaying a full field of black in a darkened environment? I'm interested to see how much plasma glow it has. I would greatly appreciate it!
A pic won''t ever give you the real reading you need.
nipalikewalnuts is offline  
post #7300 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 05:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
This may be pointless due to the compression and camera as well as camera settings. Any light picked up by the camera in a dark room would also be exaggerated unless the picture was taken with a good manual setting and a set exposure level. Even then it wouldn't be that accurate.

It may be better to ask if someone has a comparison between two sets to give you a better idea.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Great point! I would take a comparison between it and any plasma. Just curious.

fdsfds
Tom Riddle is offline  
post #7301 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,733
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Riddle View Post
Great point! I would take a comparison between it and any plasma. Just curious.

That would defeat the purpose unless you've seen said comparison set in a dark room if you go back a few pages in this thread or the other F8500 thread there is a comparison shot made of the f8500 and another older plasma in a darkens room with a dark image picture being shown.

Unfortunately they haven't implemented the gallery feature yet to make the photos in a thread easily accessible.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is offline  
post #7302 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 05:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
That would defeat the purpose unless you've seen said comparison set in a dark room if you go back a few pages in this thread or the other F8500 thread there is a comparison shot made of the f8500 and another older plasma in a darkens room with a dark image picture being shown.

Unfortunately they haven't implemented the gallery feature yet to make the photos in a thread easily accessible.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Sure, it's flawed by design, but better than what I have now....nothing. I would prefer to see the set in person in a darkened environment, but that won't happen. I'm hesitant to purchase until I can gauge how dark it is, because if I purchase this set, I'm locked in for a few years.

fdsfds
Tom Riddle is offline  
post #7303 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,733
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Riddle View Post
Sure, it's flawed by design, but better than what I have now....nothing. I would prefer to see the set in person in a darkened environment, but that won't happen. I'm hesitant to purchase until I can gauge how dark it is, because if I purchase this set, I'm locked in for a few years.

My point was compare to what you had, much easier to get a visual comparison then. If someone tells you there is glow but it's better than the LG Plasma but worse than a ZT60 without knowledge of what each looks like the comparison would not do you any good just trying to save you from disappointment or holding off buying because of certain reports


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is offline  
post #7304 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Any owners using a Samsung BD-H6500 BluRay player with this display?

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is offline  
post #7305 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Just remember, the Plasma Glow fades as you put on the hours of usage. Allow a full 1000 hours. Will probably start to notice around 500 hours.
p5browne is offline  
post #7306 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
My point was compare to what you had, much easier to get a visual comparison then. If someone tells you there is glow but it's better than the LG Plasma but worse than a ZT60 without knowledge of what each looks like the comparison would not do you any good just trying to save you from disappointment or holding off buying because of certain reports


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
True. This is an interesting position, buy one of the greatest plasmas ever made or hold onto my trusty VT30 until OLED takes off and is affordable - if it ever does. I kept telling myself the shootout would give me the answer, but now the situation is more convoluted.

fdsfds
Tom Riddle is offline  
post #7307 of 7308 Old Yesterday, 11:53 PM
Senior Member
 
cooknl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Amsterdam
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Riddle View Post
True. This is an interesting position, buy one of the greatest plasmas ever made or hold onto my trusty VT30 until OLED takes off and is affordable - if it ever does. I kept telling myself the shootout would give me the answer, but now the situation is more convoluted.
Tom my advise quit procrastenating (spelling) en go buy the set. It has no use watching youre blacks keep getting lighter as youre VT-30 gets older.

You wont be disapointed, and the good thing is you can still get one now maybe in a month you will be kicking yourselve cause they are all gone.
Get it man!!!!!

Rob
cooknl is online now  
post #7308 of 7308 Old Today, 12:07 AM
Member
 
gary777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Macomb, MI. US
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Can anyone tell me if my Comcast remote for my DVR's can be programed to control the basic operations, such as power, volume, switch inputs on the F8500.
I had no problem doing so with a new Samsung 22 LED I picked up a months. I ago also using a Comcast DVR with the 22" Basic controls work fine..

Thanks
gary777 is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn60f8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off