Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 268 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #8011 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Cozmo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Got my openbox set swapped with a brand new one and it came with the dumb remote! Im so happy.
Cozmo85 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8012 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 11:28 AM
Member
 
eelpout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
These are fairly basic browsers, not sure there is an official way to enable what you are looking for. All depends on the site and what they are using to stream the media to you.
The browser in this thing is atrocious. Tried several times to watch Bravo's "Top Chef Duels Knockout" web series to find the video frame not loading, the page hanging or the browser out-right crashing. Of course it doesn't help that these kind of websites overload their pages with animated ads that can wreak havoc on cheap ARM based devices.
eelpout is offline  
post #8013 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 777 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cozmo85 View Post
Got my openbox set swapped with a brand new one and it came with the dumb remote! Im so happy.
It is not dumb, it is mentally challenged.
eric3316 is offline  
post #8014 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Cozmo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
It is not dumb, it is mentally challenged.
Doing 10pt calibration is going to be so much easier with a remote with buttons.
Cozmo85 is online now  
post #8015 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 777 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cozmo85 View Post
Doing 10pt calibration is going to be so much easier with a remote with buttons.
There is software for your computer that allows you to make all the adjustment right from there, never touching any remotes in your TV.

I can't remember what the name of it is but a lot of guys here use it. It's not free but it isn't that expensive either.

You probably even know what I am talking about.
eric3316 is offline  
post #8016 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 11:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,120
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1764 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
There is software for your computer that allows you to make all the adjustment right from there, never touching any remotes in your TV.



I can't remember what the name of it is but a lot of guys here use it. It's not free but it isn't that expensive either.



You probably even know what I am talking about.

If you're talking about CalMan and AutoCal I don't believe that is available for Samsung you'll need to use the remote. AutoCal only works with select TVs.


I'm lost in the blue nowhere.
Ph8te is online now  
post #8017 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 777 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
If you're talking about CalMan and AutoCal I don't believe that is available for Samsung you'll need to use the remote. AutoCal only works with select TVs.


I'm lost in the blue nowhere.
Remembered, it is called ControlCal. It let's you bypass the remote and use your computer to enter in your settings.

I believe autocal with Calman that you are talking about actually calibrates the TV without you doing anything. Controlcal is different then that allowing you to bypass the user menu and control your settings from you PC.

Not sure if it supports Samsung's but it did support 2013 Panasonic's.
eric3316 is offline  
post #8018 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 12:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,120
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1764 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
Remembered, it is called ControlCal. It let's you bypass the remote and use your computer to enter in your settings.



I believe autocal with Calman that you are talking about actually calibrates the TV without you doing anything. Controlcal is different then that allowing you to bypass the user menu and control your settings from you PC.



Not sure if it supports Samsung's but it did support 2013 Panasonic's.

From the looks of it much like AutoCal there is no Samsung capability. turbe is a member of the forums here, but since it hasn't been done yet I doubt it ever will.


I'm lost in the blue nowhere.
Ph8te is online now  
post #8019 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Jnipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to upgrade my Samsung PN63C8000 Plasma to this one due to the PN63C8000 ghosting and pink band issues. How does the picture quality compare between the two? Will I be getting a huge upgrade? Also, I will be mounting this, is the base removable?
Jnipz is offline  
post #8020 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 02:11 PM
Member
 
azcatsfan15's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jnipz View Post
I'm looking to upgrade my Samsung PN63C8000 Plasma to this one due to the PN63C8000 ghosting and pink band issues. How does the picture quality compare between the two? Will I be getting a huge upgrade? Also, I will be mounting this, is the base removable?
Huge upgrade! And yes the base is removable. Very easy to unmounted it! Good decision.
azcatsfan15 is offline  
post #8021 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
ghulands's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by azcatsfan15 View Post
Huge upgrade! And yes the base is removable. Very easy to unmounted it! Good decision.
I mounted my 51" yesterday with a Sanus XF228. It is one solid mount. Took me about an hour to install it - including clean up time! There are a couple of caps that go on the tv where the stand mounts to the tv frame.
ghulands is offline  
post #8022 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 43degsN 92degsW
Posts: 2,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 124
user/owner update.........purchased April of last year, and zero issues other than updating fw. I also can confirm w/out meters that my BL's are still great if not better than the day I got it. I have about 4000hrs on her. I'm sick to my stomach that one day she'll be toast and I'll have to find some other tech that I won't be happy with. maybe I should stock up on another before they vanish forever.
Dianabol5mg and KONICA TECH like this.

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....

64" Samsung F8500 Plasma
55" Samsung B8500 Full Array Lcd
Channel Master Dvr
Onkyo 818
Crown xls-2000
Sony Blu-Ray 790
Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Energy Rc-50 Surround
Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub
airgas1998 is offline  
post #8023 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Cozmo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Anyone have problems with the tv reverting to speakers instead of receiver for sound output? Seems to happen after the tv is powered off and back on.

edit: ARC still seems to work, just turned built in speakers to zero. Weird it resets though.

Last edited by Cozmo85; 10-11-2014 at 06:23 PM.
Cozmo85 is online now  
post #8024 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 05:15 PM
Newbie
 
Sparhawk73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PN64F8500 PC Driver

Sorry if this has been asked and answered but I couldn't find it.


I have hooked a home theater PC to my receiver and then to my Plasma via HDMI. Of course it only sees a generic pnp monitor. Are there any PC drivers for this set? Do I need them? The video card in this box seems to max out at 1920x1080. 1080p.


Thanks
Sparhawk73 is offline  
post #8025 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 07:05 PM
Member
 
ozzfan84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Where do you get the slides people are talking about to break in the tv? Keep in mind that I have no idea what any of this means so you'll have to treat me like an idiot! Thanks in advance.
ozzfan84 is offline  
post #8026 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 07:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,120
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1764 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzfan84 View Post
Where do you get the slides people are talking about to break in the tv? Keep in mind that I have no idea what any of this means so you'll have to treat me like an idiot! Thanks in advance.

You don't really need slides. Just watch varied content while avoiding static images for long periods of time. Unless you plan on watching nothing but slides for ten1st few hundred hours the varied content is the next best thing. The slide method stems from 1 calibrators method to quickly aging the plasmas phosphors to better prep for professional calibration. If you are not calibrating then there is no real point. There are millions of people who just watch tv and are OK b


I'm lost in the blue nowhere.
Ph8te is online now  
post #8027 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,341
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1242 Post(s)
Liked: 1245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparhawk73 View Post
Sorry if this has been asked and answered but I couldn't find it.


I have hooked a home theater PC to my receiver and then to my Plasma via HDMI. Of course it only sees a generic pnp monitor. Are there any PC drivers for this set? Do I need them? The video card in this box seems to max out at 1920x1080. 1080p.


Thanks
shouldn't be needed, 1080p/60 is the best you'll get to the f8500 anyway

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #8028 of 11786 Old 10-11-2014, 11:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So got the 60 inch delivered today (along with the Oppo). Picture looks fantastic, don't hear any buzz or anything that is noticeable at least. So thats good. No bands that I can see yet.

The only problem is (and its probably not a TV problem) that I don't get any sound through the receiver. I did connect HDMI1 of the Oppo to the TV and 2 to the receiver. Will post in the Oppo thread to see what response I get.

Samsung PN60F8500, Oppo BD-103, Pioneer Elite VSX-33, B&W 685B, B&W 686B, B&W HTM62, B&W ASW610
craygoose is offline  
post #8029 of 11786 Old 10-12-2014, 02:27 AM
Member
 
ozzfan84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
You don't really need slides. Just watch varied content while avoiding static images for long periods of time. Unless you plan on watching nothing but slides for ten1st few hundred hours the varied content is the next best thing. The slide method stems from 1 calibrators method to quickly aging the plasmas phosphors to better prep for professional calibration. If you are not calibrating then there is no real point. There are millions of people who just watch tv and are OK b


I'm lost in the blue nowhere.
Great info here. Thank you very much for your explanation!
ozzfan84 is offline  
post #8030 of 11786 Old 10-12-2014, 07:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Cozmo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by craygoose View Post
So got the 60 inch delivered today (along with the Oppo). Picture looks fantastic, don't hear any buzz or anything that is noticeable at least. So thats good. No bands that I can see yet.

The only problem is (and its probably not a TV problem) that I don't get any sound through the receiver. I did connect HDMI1 of the Oppo to the TV and 2 to the receiver. Will post in the Oppo thread to see what response I get.
HDMI 3 is arc
Cozmo85 is online now  
post #8031 of 11786 Old 10-12-2014, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
You don't really need slides. Just watch varied content while avoiding static images for long periods of time. Unless you plan on watching nothing but slides for ten1st few hundred hours the varied content is the next best thing. The slide method stems from 1 calibrators method to quickly aging the plasmas phosphors to better prep for professional calibration. If you are not calibrating then there is no real point. There are millions of people who just watch tv and are OK b


I'm lost in the blue nowhere.
Can you tell me where in the owner's manual are the instruction for running the break in slides for a new PDP?
9179mhb is offline  
post #8032 of 11786 Old 10-12-2014, 07:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hi,

We are thinking of buying the 64" f8500 but the only concern I have now is the audio out. I will try to explain my setup as easily as I can.

I have a 2 channel high end audio with a tube pre amp to do my audio switching, all analog inputs. On my existing Sony I plug my Blu Ray and DVR HDMI into my TV and do my video switching and use the analog out to my pre amp for audio.

I know the 8500 does not have an analog out and I am concerned about using a outboard DAC and audio lip sync issues, I know you can adjust it but I have an LG in the bedroom hooked up optically to a sound bar and I can never get it looking right.

Is anybody using the optical out to a D2A convertor and how is the audio sync?

Thanks,
Wyatt Earpe is offline  
post #8033 of 11786 Old 10-12-2014, 07:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,120
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1764 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9179mhb View Post
Can you tell me where in the owner's manual are the instruction for running the break in slides for a new PDP?

There are none.


I'm lost in the blue nowhere.
Ph8te is online now  
post #8034 of 11786 Old 10-12-2014, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Cozmo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Are there any android apps that work on these tv's that dont require a samsung phone/tablet.
Cozmo85 is online now  
post #8035 of 11786 Old 10-12-2014, 09:43 AM
Member
 
mjnoles1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone close to Northern, VA area to check out a Samsung PN51F8500 tv for me?

I can buy one for $799. Can anyone check it out for me?
mjnoles1 is offline  
post #8036 of 11786 Old 10-12-2014, 09:54 AM
Member
 
WantsNWarrants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Woodland Hills CA
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzfan84 View Post
Where do you get the slides people are talking about to break in the tv?
The slides are here:
http://www.eaprogramming.com/downloa...kIn_Images.zip
WantsNWarrants is offline  
post #8037 of 11786 Old 10-12-2014, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
YES! Best Buy just matched Abe's of Maine price on the 64" for me. They have it for $1959!!!! I take delivery Friday. I'm upgrading from my PN50C550 and had to get another before they stop making them!
DJPrelude likes this.
wfarrell4 is offline  
post #8038 of 11786 Old 10-12-2014, 10:51 AM
EdL
Member
 
EdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bellevue, NE
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs up Simply Amazing!

I've been in Mitsubishi RPTV and DLP since the dawn of HDTV. Received my 64" F8500 yesterday and it feels like HD is new again!
Out the box in movie mode is amazing, whites are white and the black detail (wrinkles, creases, in clothes) is off the chain.

EdL
EdL is offline  
post #8039 of 11786 Old 10-12-2014, 11:03 AM
Member
 
MikeD2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Wiring Devices Help !!

Looking for input on connecting my A/V components to the pn64f I ordered. My DVD was hopelessly out of date, so I have a new Sony S5200 coming as well.

Other gear is an old JVC VCR (still have a huge collection of tapes that get watched on occasion), TW HD DVR box (Scientific America 8300HD) & a JVC D412 AVR.

The goal is to maximize the features of the TV and allow for audio from both the TV and AVR for all 3 sources. Can't afford a new AVR for the near future, so I need to work around the D412 even tho I know it will not process anything beyond your basic 5.1 SS signal. It has 2 HDMI inputs (v1.1) and an HDMI output, but is not 3D or ARC compliant. It also has 2 optical & 1 coax digital input, 1 optical output (labeled PCM/Stream) + a ton of (useless these days) RCA component input/outputs).

Assuming the digital optical audio output on the TV switches when you switch the "source" you want to view (please says this is true, can't find anything in the manual that says how it works - LOL), and there is no disadvantage to passing the audio signal thru the TV, my thoughts were:

VCR to TV - old school 3 RCA jack component cable
DVR to TV - HDMI cable
S5200 to TV - HDMI cable
TV to AVR - digital optical cable

optionally (if there is an advantage to adding more cables):

DVR to AVR - run an optical cable or digital coax for audio
S5200 to AVR - run an optical cable for audio

Since there are only 2 optical inputs, I have to decide which 2 devices would be connected directly via optical. The TV seems mandatory and direct connecting the S5200 would allow me to play CD's without turning on the TV.

Comments, thoughts, suggestions ??
MikeD2 is offline  
post #8040 of 11786 Old 10-12-2014, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by PathofNeo View Post
Forgive me if this has been brought up 1000 times.. but I'm seriously on the fence with a 51F8500. I currently have a D-Nice calibrated Pioneer 5020FD (tweaked for better blacks) and am thinking about picking up one of these to have as a backup for myself while the price is still good. I know it probably won't impress me as much as my Kuro but I'm really not interested in LCDs and from what I hear.. these and the last Panasonics are the best.

My concern however is this floating black issue. I had a Samsung C8000 plasma when it came out and to this day I still think that plasma had more natural sharpness and the smoothest (not frame interpolated) motion I'd ever seen on a plasma. However, the blacks would rise and drop constantly watching blu-rays and I just couldn't handle it. I believe we called it 'brightness pop' back then. I'd like to know if floating blacks are the same or different than brightness pops like I saw on my C8000. The single most irritating thing for me is the anamorphic bars not being consistent. For some reason my eyes are drawn to the black area in the bars during films (not all the time) and I notice these things and I'm hoping the F8500 doesn't have this problem. I'm reading now that after the update supposedly the floating blacks are fixed but the black level is raised? Okay I suppose I can handle this too as long as it doesn't 'pop'.

I really want to like this set but would like a current answer to this question before I spend the money. Thanks!!!
Buy from a place where there is free return shipping. As far as most of us actual owners are concerned, floating black is impossible to see unless you are running test patterns. Ive looking for them since day one and ive never seen them. My black bars never change. If there are floating blacks, which calibrators say is there, they are subtle and mostly unnoticeable. Brightness pops were fixed with update. Hockey looks great. The more hours put on the television, the better it looks, imo.
Dianabol5mg is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off