Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 333 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9961 of 9984 Old Yesterday, 03:38 PM
Member
 
hairy48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those who've been playing the waiting game for Monoprice to get the 8 Outlet Home Theatre Power Center in stock...they're in! I read about this device on this thread some time back and they were backordered when I went to their site to check them out. The ETA has been updated a couple of times and I confirmed I was on their contact list before the ETA was updated again. They said I would get an email once they were in stock. While I was doing my regular check on their web site today, it still indicated an ETA of 12/26...rechecking 20 minutes later they were in stock.

If you've been waiting for your notification, they're in stock (less one ;-)! I still haven't been notified, but got the order confirmation. Thought I would pass this info along in case you were wanting to condition your power in hopes of taming your buzz. I have no buzzes with my 64" but wanted the clean power.
hairy48 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9962 of 9984 Old Yesterday, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I have my 8500 connected to a Panamax power center. That could be the reason for no buzz on mine.
asere is online now  
post #9963 of 9984 Old Yesterday, 06:14 PM
Member
 
merccrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomnan24 View Post
Mine were cellophane wrapped in approximately a 6x5" box
I just set mine up and they were right on top when you open the box. I had three dead pixles that all came back on with a tap on the glass. Running slides now.
merccrazy is online now  
post #9964 of 9984 Old Yesterday, 07:04 PM
Newbie
 
wmuller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Are the screws on the back of the tv all tight?
All tight.
Bubbles are like someone was learning to place an iPad screens cover on and it's was their first try.

Contacted Samsung. Stated rare occurrence
wmuller is offline  
post #9965 of 9984 Old Today, 12:15 AM
Member
 
twitchyzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this might seem like a stupid question,

how do I click 'More' in the youtube app? witth the touch remote? I cannot figure it out for the life of me. Everytime I try to swipe to it jumps to the following video. I just want a way to click it so I can ensure I'm watching my videos at max quality 1080p. I tried going into the tools from the More button and nothing.

Help!

Also, bumping an unanswered question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by twitchyzero View Post
Also, is it normal for mkv files on the Smart TV to take a full minute? We're talking a full minute or two for x264/DD5.1 1080p ~15Mbps blu-ray rips...yet 720p mkvs loads instantly

Last edited by twitchyzero; Today at 12:32 AM.
twitchyzero is offline  
post #9966 of 9984 Old Today, 09:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
problems/observations

I am a noob so please bare with me!!!!

I have a couple of questions that I thought might be answered here. I have owned a 64F8500 since 1st of November and I have a couple of questions about it (love the TV BTW, most amazing thing ever). I have not had my TV calibrated and I took a month in a half to break it in (all 16:9 viewing, dumb down settings, etc...). I am now viewing most my content off a Oppo 103d and a PS3. So here are some of my questions.

I have a few red dot snow patterns in dark places like the black bars on 2.35 viewing. It is only noticeable when you get up close to the screen, a couple of inches. I have noticed that this is only occurring during bluray play back. It does not happen on the menu screen for my Oppo, the menu screen is completely black. My question is, is this normal. Does everyone experience this. It seems different then red dot snow that I have seen on plasmas when I Googled it.

Another observation is on black bars there is a line of light that is between the picture and the black bars. Is this normal as well. When I turn off the TV or switch to something else, like going back to the home screen on my PS3 I notice that the black bars are visible on black screens as well as this lighter strip of light. This strip is quite thin about a MM, but still noticeable. I don't really know if this makes much since.

I hope that someone could help me with these or have some insight.

R

PS both symptoms are slightly worse when viewing a 3D movie, especially with glasses off.
rmooney696 is offline  
post #9967 of 9984 Old Today, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmooney696 View Post
I am a noob so please bare with me!!!!

I have a couple of questions that I thought might be answered here. I have owned a 64F8500 since 1st of November and I have a couple of questions about it (love the TV BTW, most amazing thing ever). I have not had my TV calibrated and I took a month in a half to break it in (all 16:9 viewing, dumb down settings, etc...). I am now viewing most my content off a Oppo 103d and a PS3. So here are some of my questions.

I have a few red dot snow patterns in dark places like the black bars on 2.35 viewing. It is only noticeable when you get up close to the screen, a couple of inches. I have noticed that this is only occurring during bluray play back. It does not happen on the menu screen for my Oppo, the menu screen is completely black. My question is, is this normal. Does everyone experience this. It seems different then red dot snow that I have seen on plasmas when I Googled it.

Another observation is on black bars there is a line of light that is between the picture and the black bars. Is this normal as well. When I turn off the TV or switch to something else, like going back to the home screen on my PS3 I notice that the black bars are visible on black screens as well as this lighter strip of light. This strip is quite thin about a MM, but still noticeable. I don't really know if this makes much since.

I hope that someone could help me with these or have some insight.

R

PS both symptoms are slightly worse when viewing a 3D movie, especially with glasses off.

The red dithering in letterboxes is normal and is probably the right setting. But if it bothers you lower brightness by a tick or two until it goes away. Just be aware that you might lose some shadow detail in the process.


As far as the line goes vary your content more. I doubt it's permanent but I could see that happening if you ONLY watch letterbox.
AMartin56 is online now  
post #9968 of 9984 Old Today, 09:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey, thank you so much for the quick response. I am not to worried about the line but wanted to know if it was normal to have. I try to very my content (harder then I thought it was going to be as I only watch movies on the display), nothing seems to be burning as of know. It was a big difference compared to my last TV (LCD). Glad to know all these are pretty normal. YAY!!!

r
rmooney696 is offline  
post #9969 of 9984 Old Today, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmooney696 View Post
Hey, thank you so much for the quick response. I am not to worried about the line but wanted to know if it was normal to have. I try to very my content (harder then I thought it was going to be as I only watch movies on the display), nothing seems to be burning as of know. It was a big difference compared to my last TV (LCD). Glad to know all these are pretty normal. YAY!!!

r
Well I wouldn't say the line is NORMAL since it's a form of IR. But I think it will go away if you take steps to correct it. Run the screen wipe for a bit after watching a letterbox movie. And while screen fit is the best setting for picture quality changing screen size to 16:9 will move the line a bit and give the original location a bit of a rest. You might also leave it running full screen content overnight from time to time on a reliable source without logos to even things out. Just make sure all screen savers etc are disabled.
AMartin56 is online now  
post #9970 of 9984 Old Today, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I read if you use cinema smooth for bd you lose some black level. Has anyone observed this?
asere is online now  
post #9971 of 9984 Old Today, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
I read if you use cinema smooth for bd you lose some black level. Has anyone observed this?
That was an old bug from over a year ago. That bug has long since been fixed.
wxman is online now  
post #9972 of 9984 Old Today, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Well I may have missed out on the final Best Buy shipment, as a few stores in Charlotte, Raleigh, and Atlanta regions had them in stock right before Christmas and were still available on Friday. But now they are no longer available for store pick up, ship to store, or home delivery. I was needing to wait until payday to purchase the 51 inch for $999. Just missed out again, and Amazon price has now doubled. But I already upgraded the E7000 to the 8500 interface with the Evolution Kit, and the pic quality is excellent and very bright, and I also have a 5300 and a 4500 so I am still very pleased with what I have.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9973 of 9984 Old Today, 02:52 PM
Member
 
jk_bama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need help desperately.

My TV 's HDMI connections stopped working. I had shut off the TV and then turned on.
None of the HDMI ports work. Over the Air works fine. I checked the temperature it was 34.

What is a better option returning TV to amazon (will I get replacement?) or calling Samsung service technician. It been just 2 weeks since I got the TV. Had been running the slides so far. There were no issues with panel before the HDMI just quit.
jk_bama is online now  
post #9974 of 9984 Old Today, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 100
^^Although I did still find one regional store with a new 60 inch still in stock for $1499, but I definitely don't have those funds available right now. So sadly these last few remaining models may now be it.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9975 of 9984 Old Today, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk_bama View Post
I need help desperately.

My TV 's HDMI connections stopped working. I had shut off the TV and then turned on.
None of the HDMI ports work. Over the Air works fine. I checked the temperature it was 34.

What is a better option returning TV to amazon (will I get replacement?) or calling Samsung service technician. It been just 2 weeks since I got the TV. Had been running the slides so far. There were no issues with panel before the HDMI just quit.
Sorry to hear that. Was there a power surge or static discharge? Apparently some of these Samsung plasmas are very vulnerable to HDMI failure due to power surges. Especially from the cable box. But your Component connection should still work with the red, blue and green cable, and it is still HD. And there may be a HDMI to USB adapter that may work, but not sure. But there are now HDMI surge protectors that fit directly into the HDMI input where the HDMI cable goes in. May be worth looking at for future reference. You can try returning to Amazon, but be sure they have a replacement available as supply is now running out. And there may be no more future shipments.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9976 of 9984 Old Today, 03:12 PM
Member
 
WantsNWarrants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Woodland Hills CA
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk_bama View Post
I need help desperately.

My TV 's HDMI connections stopped working. I had shut off the TV and then turned on.
None of the HDMI ports work. Over the Air works fine. I checked the temperature it was 34.

What is a better option returning TV to amazon (will I get replacement?) or calling Samsung service technician. It been just 2 weeks since I got the TV. Had been running the slides so far. There were no issues with panel before the HDMI just quit.
Try a full reset before calling Samsung.

A "full reset" means:
1) unplug the TV's power cord
2) unplug all HDMI cables from the TV
3) plug in the power
4) turn on the set
5) navigate to Supoport -> Self Diagnosis -> Reset
6) when the TV reboots, power off and reconnect the HDMI cable(s).

When the reset completes, you will have to run through the setup again becase almost all settings are wiped by a full reset.

If that fails, then call Samsung.
WantsNWarrants is offline  
post #9977 of 9984 Old Today, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk_bama View Post
I need help desperately.

My TV 's HDMI connections stopped working. I had shut off the TV and then turned on.
None of the HDMI ports work. Over the Air works fine. I checked the temperature it was 34.

What is a better option returning TV to amazon (will I get replacement?) or calling Samsung service technician. It been just 2 weeks since I got the TV. Had been running the slides so far. There were no issues with panel before the HDMI just quit.

Since the tv is still working, it should not be that hard of a fix for a samsung tech. They will just replace the HDMI board. If Amazon can guarantee you a replacement, I would go that route first.
wxman is online now  
post #9978 of 9984 Old Today, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Since the tv is still working, it should not be that hard of a fix for a samsung tech. They will just replace the HDMI board. If Amazon can guarantee you a replacement, I would go that route first.
I would make very sure that Amazon has a replacement in stock, as they are about sold out. But what is the estimated cost of replacing the HDMI board? Can it be done without replacing the entire board? As I know that can be expensive.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9979 of 9984 Old Today, 03:30 PM
Member
 
jk_bama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Since the tv is still working, it should not be that hard of a fix for a samsung tech. They will just replace the HDMI board. If Amazon can guarantee you a replacement, I would go that route first.
I am ok with the TV except now the HDMI quit.

Is this a physical defect, or reset should do? Will I continue to have these HDMi issues?

Is this a very common defect in Samsung? NEver had any such issues with my Panny Plasma.

Amazon replacement is still a hassle especially since the TV is so heavy plus the hours spend with the slides. Do they come and pack the TV?

I had these green monster surge protector which disconnects power on receiver circuit when TV is shut off. It is possible that might have created a surge. Receiver is connected to TV through HDMI.
jk_bama is online now  
post #9980 of 9984 Old Today, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 100
There has been an issue with HDMI failure on the upper tier Samsung models, perhaps due to the thin panels. The HDMI failed on our E7000 during a distant thunderstorm, but the 4500 was not damaged. And the cable box shorted out and damaged the HDMI on my sister's D6500, and the HDMI stopped working. The HDMI connections appeared to be better grounded on the lower tier models. But our workaround solution was to connect the TiVo Premiere box with the Component cable and also use the OTA antenna input. But this may not be satisfactory for others.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9981 of 9984 Old Today, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk_bama View Post
I am ok with the TV except now the HDMI quit.

Is this a physical defect, or reset should do? Will I continue to have these HDMi issues?

Is this a very common defect in Samsung? NEver had any such issues with my Panny Plasma.

Amazon replacement is still a hassle especially since the TV is so heavy plus the hours spend with the slides. Do they come and pack the TV?

I had these green monster surge protector which disconnects power on receiver circuit when TV is shut off. It is possible that might have created a surge. Receiver is connected to TV through HDMI.
You have a one year warranty with Samsung, so you can go that route. You could also try to do a reset and see if that fixes it. Have you tried unplugging the tv, unplug the hdmi cables, and then hold in the toggle switch in the back for a few seconds? Give that a try, and leave the tv unplugged for a few minutes. Then hook up hdmi cables and power back on.
wxman is online now  
post #9982 of 9984 Old Today, 04:58 PM
Member
 
jk_bama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
You have a one year warranty with Samsung, so you can go that route. You could also try to do a reset and see if that fixes it. Have you tried unplugging the tv, unplug the hdmi cables, and then hold in the toggle switch in the back for a few seconds? Give that a try, and leave the tv unplugged for a few minutes. Then hook up hdmi cables and power back on.
Did not do all those things. I did try to unplug all connections and shut off/on TV.. that did not help.

Where is the toggle switch?
jk_bama is online now  
post #9983 of 9984 Old Today, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk_bama View Post
Did not do all those things. I did try to unplug all connections and shut off/on TV.. that did not help.

Where is the toggle switch?
Toggle is on lower bottom left below HDMI ports. I would try unplugging etc, per my last post.
wxman is online now  
post #9984 of 9984 Old Today, 05:14 PM
Member
 
sawzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cape may n.j.
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WantsNWarrants View Post
Try a full reset before calling Samsung.

A "full reset" means:
1) unplug the TV's power cord
2) unplug all HDMI cables from the TV
3) plug in the power
4) turn on the set
5) navigate to Supoport -> Self Diagnosis -> Reset
6) when the TV reboots, power off and reconnect the HDMI cable(s).

When the reset completes, you will have to run through the setup again becase almost all settings are wiped by a full reset.

If that fails, then call Samsung.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk_bama View Post
I need help desperately.

My TV 's HDMI connections stopped working. I had shut off the TV and then turned on.
None of the HDMI ports work. Over the Air works fine. I checked the temperature it was 34.

What is a better option returning TV to amazon (will I get replacement?) or calling Samsung service technician. It been just 2 weeks since I got the TV. Had been running the slides so far. There were no issues with panel before the HDMI just quit.
Did you try this fix ??
sawzalot is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off