Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 349 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 1169Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2015, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 23
3D brightness fluctuations

I take it if they haven't fixed the 3D brightness fluctuations by now there is little hope for a fix ever? The "flicker" introduced by using Cinema Smooth is unacceptable. This is a pretty serious flaw to go unfixed.
crbaldwin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2015, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsskid View Post
Ok, thank you for the update. I just ordered the Fios Quantum Gateway Router that supposedly pushes the range out to 325 ft., and provides dual bands and up to 800 Mbps, so I'll see if that helps.
Just as an update. I purchased the new Gateway router, and I now only get Netflix drops when I utilize the av receiver via toslink.

ISF Calibrator
Samsung PN64F8500
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
Old 01-11-2015, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2267 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbaldwin View Post
I take it if they haven't fixed the 3D brightness fluctuations by now there is little hope for a fix ever? The "flicker" introduced by using Cinema Smooth is unacceptable. This is a pretty serious flaw to go unfixed.
Considering they probably have no engineers working on plasma anymore, they probably will never have any updates that will fix any current issues.
wxman is offline  
Old 01-11-2015, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 6,344
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 445 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr View Post
I have the Roku 3 and is very fast. Samsung has nowhere as many apps as the Roku.
Exactly. I dont use the Samsung to stream. The Roku 2 XS has better antenna for WiFi than the Samsung as well.

Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
Samsung 51F8500 Plasma / Panasonic P50ST60 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Vizio VP322 Plasma
Sony S790 BD / Panasonic BDT-220 / Roku 2 XS & Roku 2 (Ver. 3)
Oppo 983H Anchor Bay VRS / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis / Oppo 970HD MediaTek
Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS
EscapeVelocity is offline  
Old 01-11-2015, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 6,344
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 445 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbaldwin View Post
I take it if they haven't fixed the 3D brightness fluctuations by now there is little hope for a fix ever? The "flicker" introduced by using Cinema Smooth is unacceptable. This is a pretty serious flaw to go unfixed.
I guess we know why nobody is making plasmas anymore.

Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
Samsung 51F8500 Plasma / Panasonic P50ST60 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Vizio VP322 Plasma
Sony S790 BD / Panasonic BDT-220 / Roku 2 XS & Roku 2 (Ver. 3)
Oppo 983H Anchor Bay VRS / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis / Oppo 970HD MediaTek
Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS
EscapeVelocity is offline  
Old 01-11-2015, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Tiki Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Rodney Ontario Canada
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 84
So far the only 3D movie that I have noticed brightness fluctuations was in Gaurdians of the Galaxy, all others (4-5 movies) were fine?
Tiki Steve is offline  
Old 01-11-2015, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 34
At what resolution does the built in HBO Go app stream content? It looks like 720p not 1080p to me.
Michael Vincent Praino is offline  
Old 01-11-2015, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 6,344
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 445 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Here is a great overview of the Panasonic BDT220 (and the BDT500). Same Uniphier Chip & 192hz/32bit audio DAC, but with better analog audio section on the 500. Same Streaming interface. 500 has dual HDMI to 220s single HDMI Uniphier made big improvements to DVD video processing over the BDT210 & BDT310 from the previous year which is a big plus in my book.

It's a great choice.

http://www.bigpicturebigsound.com/Wh...0-BDT220.shtml

I rented some Blu Rays from the library. None are 3D.

So far

Avatar multiple Freezes. Finally gave up.
Frozen, one Freeze rest of movie played fine. Had to skip then rewind.
Harry Potter Deathly Hallows 1 One Freeze, but played through on it's own.
Harry Potter Deathly Hallows 2 No Freezes

My unit might be a bit picky with discs. Which kind of sucks.

Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
Samsung 51F8500 Plasma / Panasonic P50ST60 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Vizio VP322 Plasma
Sony S790 BD / Panasonic BDT-220 / Roku 2 XS & Roku 2 (Ver. 3)
Oppo 983H Anchor Bay VRS / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis / Oppo 970HD MediaTek
Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS
EscapeVelocity is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 12:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 5,589
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1056 Post(s)
Liked: 569
Just wanted to mention again that the 64F8500 has the best PQ of any display I've ever had in my home. Stunning color, amazing performance, wonderful jet black black areas.

Unfortunately the directional buzz was just far too much for me; every night when I shut off the TV I felt relief because that noise I had grown "not to notice" was now gone… not what you want when spending this kind of money on a display.

I guess for now I'll have to wait for LG's flat OLEDs to hit the streets, but I envy those of you who either have a mythical silent 64" set or can live with the directional buzz as you have a truly superior television.
kucharsk is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,151
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 958 Post(s)
Liked: 152
I could be wrong but did someone here mention an issue that their 8500 kept turning off? Last night my wife was watching tv and she came to get me because the tv turned off on its own without sleep time on etc. I turned it back on and all is good. I wanted to bring it up here since someone mentioned it happened to them just to rule out issues.
If this has happened to someone please chime in.
asere is online now  
Old 01-12-2015, 07:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,337
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1076 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
I could be wrong but did someone here mention an issue that their 8500 kept turning off? Last night my wife was watching tv and she came to get me because the tv turned off on its own without sleep time on etc. I turned it back on and all is good. I wanted to bring it up here since someone mentioned it happened to them just to rule out issues.
If this has happened to someone please chime in.
In the last 3 weeks, mine has cycled off/on by itself on 3, maybe 4 times.

That does have me concerned.
JimP is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,151
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 958 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
In the last 3 weeks, mine has cycled off/on by itself on 3, maybe 4 times.

That does have me concerned.
Oh Wow! Have you contacted Samsung about this issue?
asere is online now  
Old 01-12-2015, 08:38 AM
Member
 
mwl001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Happened to me once, this morning, thought at first it was the channel itself, the audio feed seemed to be malfunctioning, but then I lost picture. I received the TV 12/11, so I've had it over a month with no other issue.
mwl001 is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 08:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,337
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1076 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
Oh Wow! Have you contacted Samsung about this issue?
No

Unless it does it often enough for a tech to catch, I don't see any point in it.

I've got an extended warranty so if and when it totally fails, I should be covered.
JimP is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2267 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
For those having their F8500 randomly turning off, have you gone into System, Eco Solution and checked to see if No Signal Power OFF and Auto Power Off were turned off? Also under Screen Burn Protection make sure Auto Protection time is turned off.
wxman is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 09:42 AM
Member
 
BlackLab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just hung my new PN64F8500. Great picture, but...

...a dead pixel in the center of the screen. I'm not looking forward to sorting this out with Samsung. Unfortunately purchased over a month ago (was doing a basement remodel so it sat in the box), so probably no return to Magnolia. :/

It may be your purpose in life to be a cautionary tale to others.
BlackLab is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2267 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackLab View Post
...a dead pixel in the center of the screen. I'm not looking forward to sorting this out with Samsung. Unfortunately purchased over a month ago (was doing a basement remodel so it sat in the box), so probably no return to Magnolia. :/
Did you buy any warranty?
wxman is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 09:51 AM
Member
 
BlackLab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Did you buy any warranty?
Unfortunately, no.

It may be your purpose in life to be a cautionary tale to others.
BlackLab is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
shadowspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Out of Area
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
I could be wrong but did someone here mention an issue that their 8500 kept turning off? Last night my wife was watching tv and she came to get me because the tv turned off on its own without sleep time on etc. I turned it back on and all is good. I wanted to bring it up here since someone mentioned it happened to them just to rule out issues.
If this has happened to someone please chime in.

Happened to me once, around Christmas. Bought it last April.


Had me concerned, but has not happened since.
shadowspawn is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 5,178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackLab View Post
...a dead pixel in the center of the screen. I'm not looking forward to sorting this out with Samsung. Unfortunately purchased over a month ago (was doing a basement remodel so it sat in the box), so probably no return to Magnolia. :/
Best Buy has extended returns on purchases made from Black Friday until around mid January so you may have a chance to return or exchange past the usual deadline. Although they may no longer be able to locate a replacement model as they are now scarce.
tylerSC is online now  
Old 01-12-2015, 10:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,337
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1076 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
For those having their F8500 randomly turning off, have you gone into System, Eco Solution and checked to see if No Signal Power OFF and Auto Power Off were turned off? Also under Screen Burn Protection make sure Auto Protection time is turned off.
I showed No signal Power as being On and turned it off. When I had the display power off/on, it definately had a signal.

I doubt that was the problem but who knows. I'll keep an eye on it and post if it reappears.
JimP is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,151
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 958 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Best Buy has extended returns on purchases made from Black Friday until around mid January so you may have a chance to return or exchange past the usual deadline. Although they may no longer be able to locate a replacement model as they are now scarce.
That is correct till January 15.
asere is online now  
Old 01-12-2015, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2267 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
I showed No signal Power as being On and turned it off. When I had the display power off/on, it definately had a signal.

I doubt that was the problem but who knows. I'll keep an eye on it and post if it reappears.
I had that issue 3 or 4 times when I first got my tv a year ago. Would shut off while watching DirecTV. Turned No Signal Power to off and hasn't done it again in a year. HDMI handshakes can cause weird issues at times.
wxman is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 11:47 AM
Newbie
 
coolcobramatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Paducah KY
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Finally got my 64 delivered Saturday and knock on wood, no stuck pixels, no buzz and a perfect picture. My only oddities are that voice recognition kicked on totally by itself a few times, resolved by turning off VR, and the stupid Samsung logo screensaver kept kicking in every 5-7 minutes while watching my first blu ray. A call to Samsung netted no help as did turning off everything I could find related to screen protection. I finally found something to do with "pixel" someting or other and it seems to have stopped the logo for now. Funny thing was I watched regular satellite for 5-6 hours beforehand and not once did that damn logo pop up. I have an Oppo blu ray so it had to be the TV's screen protection somehow.

Other than those obnoxious little quandries, the PQ and fluidity of the images are so captivating I am praying no other glitches show up. I DO NOT want to return this wonderful TV. I want to love it!
Blue Rain likes this.

Samsung PN64F8500
Oppo BDP-93, Playstation 4
Panamax 5300-PM
Martin Logan Theos
Musical Fidelity A300
Paradigm PS 1200 sub
coolcobramatt is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 01:39 PM
Member
 
BlackLab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Best Buy has extended returns on purchases made from Black Friday until around mid January so you may have a chance to return or exchange past the usual deadline. Although they may no longer be able to locate a replacement model as they are now scarce.
Thanks for the tip. It'll be interesting to see how closely (if at all) Magnolia mirror's Best Buy's policies.

It may be your purpose in life to be a cautionary tale to others.
BlackLab is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
I showed No signal Power as being On and turned it off. When I had the display power off/on, it definately had a signal.

I doubt that was the problem but who knows. I'll keep an eye on it and post if it reappears.
There's also the feature that turns the F8500 off when you're just not "using" the TV. For example, if you don't change the volume or use the remote for anything for 4 hours that involves the TV it will automatically shut off. You can change this in settings. It's on by default from the factory.
Blue Rain likes this.
HLdan is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 02:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,337
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1076 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLdan View Post
There's also the feature that turns the F8500 off when you're just not "using" the TV. For example, if you don't change the volume or use the remote for anything for 4 hours that involves the TV it will automatically shut off. You can change this in settings. It's on by default from the factory.
Did check that and it was in the off position already. Just to be on the safe side, I did turn it on then off again.

But why would it turn itself back on instantly? That's what's puzzling to me.
JimP is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackLab View Post
...a dead pixel in the center of the screen. I'm not looking forward to sorting this out with Samsung. Unfortunately purchased over a month ago (was doing a basement remodel so it sat in the box), so probably no return to Magnolia. :/
I'm not telling you not to bother, but at the same time there's a couple of reasons that it would not be a good idea to attempt to return/exchange it for one bad pixel. First, it's a discontinued set and getting a replacement of the same model at this point is pretty much not gonna happen. Also while you could stand the chance of getting a perfect screen, you could also stand the chance of getting a screen more flawed than the one you have. It could have multiple bad pixels, poor screen uniformity or even louder buzzing like some here have reported. You got the last best plasma, one bad pixel can't be all that noticeable when watching at a proper viewing distance. Heck, people on the Samsung H5000 thread are saying they don't notice the Pentile screen (the panel that looks like a screen door) at a certain distance.

My point is nothing is perfect and you will get an imperfect set even with the exchange, so I would recommend keeping it. If you give it back and there are no more you won't be able to get it back.
Blue Rain and venus933 like this.
HLdan is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 02:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
Did check that and it was in the off position already. Just to be on the safe side, I did turn it on then off again.

But why would it turn itself back on instantly? That's what's puzzling to me.
Oh, it turned itself back on? If you see that again make sure it's not the TV refreshing the HDMI connection. This happens often and Samsung has not issued a fix. It's a handshaking issue. If I turn on my DirecTV DVR first then the F8500 then all is well. If I turn the TV on first, then turn on my DirecTV DVR everything will play just fine but after 5-10 minutes the screen goes completely black and then turns back on showing the HDMI input selection at the top of the screen.

I have also understood by other members here that this happens when the resolution has changed on the HDMI connected product. I haven't experienced that however.
HLdan is offline  
Old 01-12-2015, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
But why would it turn itself back on instantly? That's what's puzzling to me.
If the power is cut and then brought back it will shut off and then back on (assuming its not plugged into a surge protector).
Michael Vincent Praino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off