Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 363 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10861 of 10885 Old 01-29-2015, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 104
It might be more appropriate for me to say F8500 flicker. Did you ever try a last gen Panny?

Living room: Sony KDL-60NX720, Yamaha RX-V673, NHT Super One/Super Zero w/ NHT Ten Subwoofer, Panasonic DMP-BDT230 Blu-ray.
Man Cave: Samsung PN51F8500, Vizio S4251w-B4 Sound Bar, Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray.
Displays calibrated with HCFR, i1DisplayPro, and Colormunki Photo.
AMartin56 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10862 of 10885 Old 01-30-2015, 08:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by hove131 View Post
The uniformity on my brothers $800 Samsung 5300 plasma blows mine away .... His picture quality mirrors mine and balcks too.... His uniformity is perfect where mine has flaws.... What the hell Samsung ???


Have you seen both TVs side by side in the same room with the same source? I have! Their color is quite close but the similarities stop there. Check out my post in another forum.
scott_home is offline  
post #10863 of 10885 Old 01-30-2015, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere
Posts: 1,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I have been getting a pop up saying something about unable to update. This has not happened before tonight.

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is online now  
post #10864 of 10885 Old 01-30-2015, 08:18 PM
Member
 
abouttreefitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
I have been getting a pop up saying something about unable to update. This has not happened before tonight.
Same here. Weird...
abouttreefitty is online now  
post #10865 of 10885 Old Yesterday, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
yamvmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Having a strange issue. My blacks have gotten bright! On a completely black screen, with lights off, the screen glows. I know for a fact, when I first got the unit this did not happen. Any ideas? Adjusting brightness has no affect, along with cell light. Has anyone had this issue??
yamvmax is offline  
post #10866 of 10885 Old Yesterday, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by goombawa View Post
FYI update on my flickering issue - samsung just replaced my panel (11/14, mex) with one from korea (5/14) and a new power supply and still having the issue.

So, either I try again, or wave the white flag and get an LCD. (w850b, h7150)

Really disheartened.

Edit: Does anyone think the power coming from my wall might be the problem? It didn't with my fujitsu 50" (2004) but wondering if that could be the culprit. I tried going into my monster and direct and both had the problem.
I just remembered... Black Optimizer is known to introduce a bit of flicker on dark areas. I notice it in mostly black screens. I assume the solution is not that easy and you see flicker in bright content as well but you might trying turning Black Optimizer off.

Living room: Sony KDL-60NX720, Yamaha RX-V673, NHT Super One/Super Zero w/ NHT Ten Subwoofer, Panasonic DMP-BDT230 Blu-ray.
Man Cave: Samsung PN51F8500, Vizio S4251w-B4 Sound Bar, Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray.
Displays calibrated with HCFR, i1DisplayPro, and Colormunki Photo.
AMartin56 is online now  
post #10867 of 10885 Old Yesterday, 11:35 AM
sr
Senior Member
 
sr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
I have been getting a pop up saying something about unable to update. This has not happened before tonight.

I also notice that the Update option is grayed out even though the Internet connection test passed. So I contacted Samsung and they recommended that I switch to the TV input temporarily just to perform the update even though I use Input 4 exclusively. When I turned on the TV I happened to notice that I did not have to switch to the TV input as the Update option was available. So I checked it manually and it said that I have the latest update, which is ver. 1204. I guess the TV was having a bad day .
sr is online now  
post #10868 of 10885 Old Yesterday, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by yamvmax View Post
Having a strange issue. My blacks have gotten bright! On a completely black screen, with lights off, the screen glows. I know for a fact, when I first got the unit this did not happen. Any ideas? Adjusting brightness has no affect, along with cell light. Has anyone had this issue??
What is HDMI black level set to? Is this on all sources? I had an issue similar to that after a FW update. I had to do a reset. That cleared it up. Of course, you will have to re-enter all your settings. After that, I always do a full reset after FW updates.
wxman is online now  
post #10869 of 10885 Old Yesterday, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
yamvmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
What is HDMI black level set to? Is this on all sources? I had an issue similar to that after a FW update. I had to do a reset. That cleared it up. Of course, you will have to re-enter all your settings. After that, I always do a full reset after FW updates.
Low, I will try a factory reset. Just do it through menu??? Or is there another way? Thanks
yamvmax is offline  
post #10870 of 10885 Old Yesterday, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by yamvmax View Post
Low, I will try a factory reset. Just do it through menu??? Or is there another way? Thanks
You can do it through the menu. I always disconnect all hdmi cables first and then reset. BTW, it's normal for a plasma to glow. You will not have a totally black screen with light turned off.

Last edited by wxman; Yesterday at 12:11 PM.
wxman is online now  
post #10871 of 10885 Old Yesterday, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
yamvmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
You can do it through the menu. I always disconnect all hdmi cables first and then reset. BTW, it's normal for a plasma to glow. You will not have a totally black screen with light turned off.
I dont have that issue with my c680, its just about invisible.
yamvmax is offline  
post #10872 of 10885 Old Yesterday, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by yamvmax View Post
I dont have that issue with my c680, its just about invisible.
Let your eyes adjust for a minute or two, in a totally dark room with a black slide displayed on tv. You will see a glow. Even the Kuros will have the plasma glow. The longer your eyes adjust, the brighter it will appear to glow. Plus, the lighter your eye color, the more you will notice the glow in a dark room.
HLdan likes this.

Last edited by wxman; Yesterday at 12:58 PM.
wxman is online now  
post #10873 of 10885 Old Yesterday, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Can anyone comment to the sturdiness on the base mounting stand? Trying to figure out options to get it to swivel. Randy has come up with some options in my thread

pn60f8500 swivel stand?

Seems the easiest option is a 31" turn table, but not sure if stand is sturdy enough for the outer 11" or so on each side to not be supported.

Samsung pn58b540 previously
Now PN60f5300

pn60f8500, on the way - hopefully
atvmxr is online now  
post #10874 of 10885 Old Yesterday, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by atvmxr View Post
Can anyone comment to the sturdiness on the base mounting stand? Trying to figure out options to get it to swivel. Randy has come up with some options in my thread

pn60f8500 swivel stand?

Seems the easiest option is a 31" turn table, but not sure if stand is sturdy enough for the outer 11" or so on each side to not be supported.
The base is actually attached near the ends (on my 51" model it's approximately 4.75" from each end) so I strongly recommend a turn table that's at least wide enough to support where it's attached to the panel otherwise you'll be stressing the base.

Samsung PN51F8500
Samsung PN60E7000
OPPO BDP-103 Universal Disc Player
MartinLogan Motion Vision Gloss Black 5-Channel Soundbar
MartinLogan Dynamo 700 10-inch Wireless Ready Subwoofer
venus933 is online now  
post #10875 of 10885 Unread Yesterday, 03:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 10,285
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Let your eyes adjust for a minute or two, in a totally dark room with a black slide displayed on tv. You will see a glow. Even the Kuros will have the plasma glow. The longer your eyes adjust, the brighter it will appear to glow. Plus, the lighter your eye color, the more you will notice the glow in a dark room.
That's what dim bias lights are for. Mine are just bright enough so that a solid black screen on my F8500 only has the slightest hint of glow to it if you're really looking for it. My white wall ends up at only a few cd/m2.
Stereodude is online now  
post #10876 of 10885 Unread Today, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
yamvmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Let your eyes adjust for a minute or two, in a totally dark room with a black slide displayed on tv. You will see a glow. Even the Kuros will have the plasma glow. The longer your eyes adjust, the brighter it will appear to glow. Plus, the lighter your eye color, the more you will notice the glow in a dark room.
Its definitely lower on the c680. I understand it will always have a little glow, but i swear it has increased from a month ago. Reset didnt do anything.
yamvmax is offline  
post #10877 of 10885 Unread Today, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
That's what dim bias lights are for. Mine are just bright enough so that a solid black screen on my F8500 only has the slightest hint of glow to it if you're really looking for it. My white wall ends up at only a few cd/m2.
But that is a perceived black level rather than true. Nothing wrong with that overall because I use bias lighting too, but not for that reason.
HLdan is online now  
post #10878 of 10885 Unread Today, 09:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbluemax1 View Post
One important thing to consider, ESPECIALLY if you are ONLY using fans for hot air extraction, vs blowers that blow air INTO the equipment:
adding foam or any other form of air filtration over the vent holes will severely restrict the airflow into and through the equipment. Using foam or pleated fiber or any other kind of filters over the intake vent holes while ONLY using heat extraction fans can potentially cause increased heat in components vs without any add-ons at all.

Using a blower that blows filtered air INTO the equipment guarantees that you're generating positive pressure and airflow. Doing it the other way round with filters on air vents and heat extraction fans only does NOT guarantee increased airflow and can very well result in less.


Max
Agree with what Max is saying. Blowing in air with 2 of my 12V USB fans with the filter on I found the panel temperature reduce by 3-5 degrees Centigrade compared to when I disconnect them. I have posted both ways of setting up the exhaust fans i.e., simply mounting them on the top of the air vent of the F8500 and the second way of mounting them directly over the heat sinks on the circuit boards area (with little serious DIY work).

Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk)

Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk)

If you want to buy a good dust filter to cover your fans blowing in here is the link. It lets a good amount of air through even though it filters tiny dust particles.
http://ebay.to/1yZUyuS

Last edited by scothernman; Today at 10:42 AM.
scothernman is offline  
post #10879 of 10885 Unread Today, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Off topic but might be of interest:
Page numbers of posts in a forum are based on the number of posts per page that you selected to display. Also, when a post is deleted, page numbers of later posts may change. Post # in the upper right corner of each post does not change.

To get a link to a particular post, which can be inserted in your new post: First click on "post # x of x" for the post of interest. That will display the post of interest at the top of the page. Copy the URL of post from your browser's address line. Paste URL into your new post.

Continuing off topic, there is quick way to navigate to the newest posts in your subscribed threads. Click on "Thread Subscriptions" link at the top of a page. Clicking the ">" link in the "Last Post" column will take you directly to the last post of the thread. This eliminates scrolling past all the older posts on the last page of the thread.
scothernman likes this.

Last edited by JRWalker; Today at 10:04 AM.
JRWalker is online now  
post #10880 of 10885 Unread Today, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by scothernman View Post
Agree with what Max is saying. Blowing in air with 2 of my 12V USB fans with the filter on I found the panel temperature reduce by 3-5 degrees Centigrade compared to when I disconnect them. I have posted both ways of setting up the exhaust fans (available on Page 357) i.e., simply mounting them on the top of the air vent of the F8500 and the second way of mounting them directly over the heat sinks on the circuit boards area (with little serious DIY work)

...
Installing intake fans seems like overkill. I've got four 120mm fans installed on the top vents running at medium-low speed and I haven't seen the panel reach over 34 degrees and it's been as low as 27. There is just one slightly warm spot I can feel and that's above the Evolution kit port.

I'll reevaluate after I put a filter on the intake vents, but at this point I think exhausting the hot air out of the TV is good enough.
idclyne is online now  
post #10881 of 10885 Unread Today, 10:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 10,285
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLdan View Post
But that is a perceived black level rather than true.
Perception is reality.

Works for me until OLED irons out it's kinks. I probably still won't want to watch in complete darkness though.
Stereodude is online now  
post #10882 of 10885 Unread Today, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 45
IMO: Anything that restricts airflow through a set's intake or exhaust vents comes with high risk. That includes blocking exhaust vents to increase exhaust fan efficiency and adding filters to intake vents. Fan failure or loss of power to the fans can happen and is easily overlooked, resulting in possible catastrophic failure of the set.
JRWalker is online now  
post #10883 of 10885 Unread Today, 11:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
Perception is reality. .
Said another way: Reality is the illusion that our subconscious creates so our conscious can function.
JRWalker is online now  
post #10884 of 10885 Unread Today, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
HLdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
Perception is reality.

Works for me until OLED irons out it's kinks. I probably still won't want to watch in complete darkness though.
Understandable. And I agree about using the bias lighting to compensate for total darkness. While I do like watching a really good movie in a "darker" environment, I can't stand watching any TV of any sort in total darkness and that's why I use bias lighting. I don't use it to make the black levels appear blacker, although that's a nice benefit, but it's to give the room some form of dramatic lighting so my eyes don't get blinded.
I never understand why some people here seem to like watching movies in complete darkness. That's not common for most people.
HLdan is online now  
post #10885 of 10885 Unread Today, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLdan View Post
Understandable. And I agree about using the bias lighting to compensate for total darkness. While I do like watching a really good movie in a "darker" environment, I can't stand watching any TV of any sort in total darkness and that's why I use bias lighting. I don't use it to make the black levels appear blacker, although that's a nice benefit, but it's to give the room some form of dramatic lighting so my eyes don't get blinded.
I never understand why some people here seem to like watching movies in complete darkness. That's not common for most people.
I prefer watching in a dark room with no bias lighting. To me, bias lightning detracts from the viewing experience. I have tried the ideal lume lights behind the tv and even with most of the light baffled, it still ruins the experience.
wxman is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off