Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 376 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11251 of 11274 Old Today, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitviper33 View Post
What's going to be more complicated about it? Why would your macro strategy change with the new TV?
It should not, I agree.
One basic example is having 4 HDMI cables hooked up and doing all my switching with the 8500 and not my pre-pro.

Using the alternative method, I bypass many programming functions I have set up in my Harmony remote.

One downside to having the 8500 select sources is that I am using a Darbee enhancer that processes video from all my sources and outputs through one cable to the display.

I am thinking out loud right now, sorry for any incoherence. Just reviewing my options.
videoaddikt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11252 of 11274 Old Today, 09:54 AM
Member
 
ChrisMc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I searched through this tread for the word "wall mount" and found a few mentions of a wall mount for the Samsung Plasma PNXXF8500, but I have some questions regarding those and any others that I might not have seen yet.

My situation is this, I have a brand new house, with a media room spot upstairs. The wall where the TV is to be mounted has an electrical outlet and right next to it a spot where the cables are run from what will be behind the TV to down in the bottom right corner of that same wall where the components hook up. They have HDMI, Coax and CAT5 ran up there behind the TV, the wires are not crimped yet, just hanging out of the hole in the wall, where they have it nicely covered with a hole plate.

So my question is, I need a wall mount that has the blank space to keep the electrical outlet and the other cables from being blocked. The wall mount needs to hold the PN64F8500, 64" Plasma TV, not sure the weight or what kind of stand plate it requires. I don't care if its one that comes out and can swing side to side or just tilts, either is fine, I know the more elaborate ones cost more and I was hoping not to spend too much, but if its a good one I'll consider it. I'm also not apposed to Cheetah quality, or whatever is lower, as long as it will hold my TV and do its job. I'm basically ok with mid-upper range priced stands.

So any suggestions on a stand that will fit my TV and allow my cables room is the advice I'm looking for. The stuff behind the TV is not recessed its flat on the wall.

Thanks.
ChrisMc73 is online now  
post #11253 of 11274 Old Today, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I think this question has come up before, Likely more than once. Any difference between using the 8500 SMART TV for selecting apps vs Roku (etc.) or a high quality SMART BluRay player as far as A/V quality?

(audio processed through a pre pro in either case)
videoaddikt is online now  
post #11254 of 11274 Old Today, 10:09 AM
Member
 
abouttreefitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoaddikt View Post
I think this question has come up before, Likely more than once. Any difference between using the 8500 SMART TV for selecting apps vs Roku (etc.) or a high quality SMART BluRay player as far as A/V quality?

(audio processed through a pre pro in either case)
One difference I notice is that I'm unable to change the picture size when I use the Smart TV Netflix app. I'm able to change it when I use Netflix on my PS3 and PS4.
ChrisMc73 likes this.
abouttreefitty is offline  
post #11255 of 11274 Old Today, 10:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,768
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Since the firmware has shown up to activate PVR, how does it work?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #11256 of 11274 Old Today, 10:22 AM
Member
 
molfious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketro View Post
Hi Molfious,

It is not a continuous flickering actually like on the youtube. But more like pops every few seconds and indeed at cel light 16 and 17 as also mention in one of the replies on that whirpool forum.

But this should have been adressed in earlier FW updates?
Hi Ketro, the pops at cell light 16 and 17 should have already been addressed in a previous firmware release. I believe there is actually a setting in the advanced service menu of the TV that can be checked to validate this. You need a special factory remote or another process already posted in this thread to access this portion of the service menu, so only do so if you know what you are doing. I will check when I get home and post the specific setting.
molfious is online now  
post #11257 of 11274 Old Today, 10:27 AM
Member
 
molfious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prany View Post
No PVR function using base service menu in 1203. Yep, all the settings got messed up.

molfious, per your request:

Offset
R - 140
G - 128
B - 118

Gain
R - 147
G - 128
B - 114
Thanks Pranny you rule!
molfious is online now  
post #11258 of 11274 Old Today, 10:30 AM
Member
 
molfious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting observation. If you look across many series of Samsung TV's; D series, F series etc. you will notice that when samsung sets the default white balance in the service menu they never adjust Green Offset and Gain. They always remain at the default setting which is 128.
molfious is online now  
post #11259 of 11274 Old Today, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,261
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 587 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by molfious View Post
I believe there is actually a setting in the advanced service menu of the TV that can be checked to validate this.
Yes, please share. I've never seen any problems with unstable luminance in 2d mode but I do see it in 3d. Recently did a 3d calibration and some patterns levels would initially display at one luminance value and then a few seconds later increase significantly to a different level. I could see this in 3d playback occasionally as well. I did not try and figure out if cell light and/or any other settings influenced it.
zoyd is online now  
post #11260 of 11274 Old Today, 11:30 AM
Member
 
ChrisMc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoaddikt View Post
I think this question has come up before, Likely more than once. Any difference between using the 8500 SMART TV for selecting apps vs Roku (etc.) or a high quality SMART BluRay player as far as A/V quality?

(audio processed through a pre pro in either case)
I don't think there is a A/V quality difference, but someone else might know the exacts of that, but as far as usability and the interface, I've never ever liked any of the apps written for the Smart TVs, they have always been a LOT clunkier and buggy when compared to Xbox, Roku, Apple TV, Amazon apps etc...in my opinion. The device specific apps are better written and flow better and over all perform and look better as far as the UI is concerned. This is my opinion.

Do they work, yes, sometimes just not as well as the apps on the 3rd party devices. But again I don't know the A/V quality differences, I don't think there is much if any.

Last edited by ChrisMc73; Today at 11:34 AM.
ChrisMc73 is online now  
post #11261 of 11274 Old Today, 11:36 AM
Member
 
molfious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your best bet if you use these features a lot it to build a custom Home Theater PC. I do this so I can control my codecs and I get much better picture and sound like this even when compared to my Xbox One and PS4. Really it's the only way to go if you are looking for the best quality.
molfious is online now  
post #11262 of 11274 Old Today, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,261
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 587 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
Since the firmware has shown up to activate PVR, how does it work?
I've only tried a few minutes or recording OTA (just pressed the record button) but it worked fine. The recording shows up on one of the SmartHub pages for playback.
zoyd is online now  
post #11263 of 11274 Old Today, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Vincent Praino View Post
I want to rent the new Hobbit movie now available through either Vudu or AIV apps built into the tv. Does anyone know which would provide a higher quality feed? My internet is fast enough for 1080p (50 mb/s) so it really comes down to the inherent differences between the two sources.
VUDU especially if you use external speakers

Samsung PN51F8500
Samsung PN60E7000
OPPO BDP-103 Universal Disc Player
MartinLogan Motion Vision Gloss Black 5-Channel Soundbar
MartinLogan Dynamo 700 10-inch Wireless Ready Subwoofer
venus933 is offline  
post #11264 of 11274 Old Today, 11:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by venus933 View Post
VUDU especially if you use external speakers
Hmm, I came across this post that seems to think say otherwise (for PQ at least). The Grand Budapest Hotel: Blu-ray vs. Vudu vs. iTunes vs. Amazon
Michael Vincent Praino is online now  
post #11265 of 11274 Old Today, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by venus933 View Post
VUDU especially if you use external speakers
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Vincent Praino View Post
Hmm, I came across this post that seems to think say otherwise (for PQ at least). The Grand Budapest Hotel: Blu-ray vs. Vudu vs. iTunes vs. Amazon
I stand corrected, apparently Amazon has come a long ways. My apologies. Thanks for the link!

Samsung PN51F8500
Samsung PN60E7000
OPPO BDP-103 Universal Disc Player
MartinLogan Motion Vision Gloss Black 5-Channel Soundbar
MartinLogan Dynamo 700 10-inch Wireless Ready Subwoofer
venus933 is offline  
post #11266 of 11274 Old Today, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoaddikt View Post
I think this question has come up before, Likely more than once. Any difference between using the 8500 SMART TV for selecting apps vs Roku (etc.) or a high quality SMART BluRay player as far as A/V quality?

(audio processed through a pre pro in either case)

fwiw, when the 8500's Netflix app was unable to deliver Dolby 5.1, I purchased a Roku3 and the same programming (House of Cards) had better visual quality with the app, less banding, etc..

The difference was enough for me to return the Roku before NF/Sammy got their audio act together.
ChrisMc73 likes this.
bmcn is online now  
post #11267 of 11274 Old Today, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcn View Post
fwiw, when the 8500's Netflix app was unable to deliver Dolby 5.1, I purchased a Roku3 and the same programming (House of Cards) had better visual quality with the app, less banding, etc..

The difference was enough for me to return the Roku before NF/Sammy got their audio act together.
so you are saying the NF issue is resolved with the Samsung. As usual Roku sets the standard for others to follow. Good stuff!
ChrisMc73 likes this.
videoaddikt is online now  
post #11268 of 11274 Old Today, 01:24 PM
Member
 
ChrisMc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcn View Post
fwiw, when the 8500's Netflix app was unable to deliver Dolby 5.1, I purchased a Roku3 and the same programming (House of Cards) had better visual quality with the app, less banding, etc..

The difference was enough for me to return the Roku before NF/Sammy got their audio act together.
This is good to know, thanks for sharing, I don't have ROKU but this may be what I get now, which version of the ROKU is the one you have? Is it the top ROKU out now?
ChrisMc73 is online now  
post #11269 of 11274 Old Today, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 307
I have the ROKU 3 and it's PQ for Netflix is better than the Samsung Smarthub app, and better that my OPPO 103D Netflix app. Hands down.
ChrisMc73 likes this.
wxman is online now  
post #11270 of 11274 Old Today, 02:02 PM
Member
 
molfious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
Yes, please share. I've never seen any problems with unstable luminance in 2d mode but I do see it in 3d. Recently did a 3d calibration and some patterns levels would initially display at one luminance value and then a few seconds later increase significantly to a different level. I could see this in 3d playback occasionally as well. I did not try and figure out if cell light and/or any other settings influenced it.
Sorry Zoyd, the setting I was looking at isn't actually for this. It controls the pop-up message displayed by your TV.
molfious is online now  
post #11271 of 11274 Old Today, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisMc73 View Post
This is good to know, thanks for sharing, I don't have ROKU but this may be what I get now, which version of the ROKU is the one you have? Is it the top ROKU out now?

No, my experience is the opposite and opposite to wxman's.

For me, the 8500's NF Smartapp delivers noticeably better NF PQ compared to the Roku3, which I returned to the retailer.

Last edited by bmcn; Today at 02:11 PM.
bmcn is online now  
post #11272 of 11274 Unread Today, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoaddikt View Post
so you are saying the NF issue is resolved with the Samsung. As usual Roku sets the standard for others to follow. Good stuff!

Yes, the 8500's NF DD 5.1 audio issue was fixed in early February.

Netflix in stereo not 5.1

Last edited by bmcn; Today at 02:24 PM.
bmcn is online now  
post #11273 of 11274 Unread Today, 02:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
I have the ROKU 3 and it's PQ for Netflix is better than the Samsung Smarthub app, and better that my OPPO 103D Netflix app. Hands down.
Interesting the Roku3 has better NF PQ than the 103D. You convinced me I need to test another Roku3, which I thought had inferior NF PQ to the 8500 app. Perhaps a cable issue, lol. Thanks.
bmcn is online now  
post #11274 of 11274 Unread Today, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisMc73 View Post
I searched through this tread for the word "wall mount" and found a few mentions of a wall mount for the Samsung Plasma PNXXF8500, but I have some questions regarding those and any others that I might not have seen yet.

My situation is this, I have a brand new house, with a media room spot upstairs. The wall where the TV is to be mounted has an electrical outlet and right next to it a spot where the cables are run from what will be behind the TV to down in the bottom right corner of that same wall where the components hook up. They have HDMI, Coax and CAT5 ran up there behind the TV, the wires are not crimped yet, just hanging out of the hole in the wall, where they have it nicely covered with a hole plate.

So my question is, I need a wall mount that has the blank space to keep the electrical outlet and the other cables from being blocked. The wall mount needs to hold the PN64F8500, 64" Plasma TV, not sure the weight or what kind of stand plate it requires. I don't care if its one that comes out and can swing side to side or just tilts, either is fine, I know the more elaborate ones cost more and I was hoping not to spend too much, but if its a good one I'll consider it. I'm also not apposed to Cheetah quality, or whatever is lower, as long as it will hold my TV and do its job. I'm basically ok with mid-upper range priced stands.

So any suggestions on a stand that will fit my TV and allow my cables room is the advice I'm looking for. The stuff behind the TV is not recessed its flat on the wall.

Thanks.
Monoprice has a large selection of wallmounts and I believe they display the backplates for each wallmount.
bmcn is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off