Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 442 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1070Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13231 of 13250 Old 02-08-2016, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I usually update, but maybe I should wait this time until further notice.

LN55C630
PN64F8500
Definitive SSA-50
GE Supercinema 3D Array X
Yamaha RX-V479 (evaluating whether to keep)
SVS SB-1000 (evaluating whether to keep)
hpp8140 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13232 of 13250 Old 02-08-2016, 11:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Kazan, Russian Federation
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
i hadn't heard any complaints from ppl who had done the update, specifically about the change. i know there's always a risk of the fw flash causing problems, but that's not something i've ever had an issue with, nor am i complaining about right now.

the ironic thing is that i haven't done ALL the updates partly because of the reasons you posted. i expect no change at all, except for the smart features which i did not use until a few months ago. the only reason i did this fw update was because i knew it came with a 'new' menu system. an actual, noticeable change. it seemed like it was an improvement from what i'd read. oh well
even if I hadn't heard any horror stories (though I believe I had) I wouldn't risk to trust samsung and stress hardware with fw flashing
oh, and I've yet to hear anything positive about tizen
vavan is offline  
post #13233 of 13250 Old Yesterday, 05:59 AM
Member
 
Dan0780's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
sorry, are you talking about the 'overlay' or the full screen? i've set up my apps on the full screen page(the one we've always had) and was happy with how that one worked. with the new 'feature' where you just get an overlay, it seems to keep a list of 'recently used' apps, but i have not found a way to set a favourites list or anything like that. and in order to get back into the full page screen(which i think i still need to use in order to watch locally stored media) requires a few keystrokes to navigate into.


before the update, i'd launch the activity and would be taken to the home screen of the smart menu. it wouldn't launch an app directly, but it would put them at my fingertips ready to go. since the update, i just get the dialog box saying the smart menu is updating, and then a 'no signal' screen(or my htpc if it's still on). and pressing the media hub button only gets me the overlay menu, not the full page that i find much easier to navigate

re-reading what you wrote, i'm now wondering if you are talking about the harmony remote's 'screen' not the tv 'screen'. i have the smart keyboard, so no screen. it worked great for what i had, since it was primarily my HTPC, and a few apps on the tv i was constantly using the keyboard anyway, figured all i needed was to add the ability to turn devices on and select inputs.
Sorry for the delay, I don't read this forum like I used to. No I am not talking about the harmony or main app screen. The overlay that pops up and shows recently used. On each little app icon in the list the upper right corner has two icons I believe. Not in front of my tv right now. One icon to delete it from the recent list and the other icon is a pin. You have to press the up arrow while on the icon. If you click the pin icon it goes to the front of the list and stays there. You have to pin them in the right order to get them where you want in terms of priority but they will remain on that list in that order even if you go use other apps. Then you can set your harmony remote to send the smart hub command, put in a delay for the overlay to pop up and then move right how many times you want until your on the correct app and then select. Just like you did in the main screen before but now with less commands and time to get there.
Dan0780 is offline  
post #13234 of 13250 Old Yesterday, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Someone please post pictures of the update already LOL. Worth more than a thousand words.

LN55C630
PN64F8500
Definitive SSA-50
GE Supercinema 3D Array X
Yamaha RX-V479 (evaluating whether to keep)
SVS SB-1000 (evaluating whether to keep)
hpp8140 is online now  
post #13235 of 13250 Old Yesterday, 10:47 AM
Member
 
SlamKeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
My PN51F8500 had some burn-in from playing through Far Cry 4 twice over a 2 month period. That game had a HUD on the lower left corner with a pure white amoeba directional indicator, and I could see that amoeba on bright screens for months after I stopped playing the game. However, I checked it last night with the screen-wipe utility and I didn't see it anymore.

I had a similar experience with my Panasonic GT50 when my son was using it for NBA2K15 (and he plays for countless hours) and its HUD burned into the lower right corner of the screen, particularly the bright white portions of the HUD. Fortunately, he agreed to use a lower brightness setting after we noticed it, and eventually the retention went away.

In our experience, the burn-in only became an issue when we were using "Vivid" settings where the backlight and contrast were at or near maximum settings, but in every case the retention eventually went away given enough time with normal program content on the screen.

Why shouldn't we list our equipment in our signatures? That's weird.
SlamKeys is offline  
post #13236 of 13250 Old Yesterday, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Breathing Borla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I have updated and have no issues FWIW

64PNF8500 Plasma, Yamama RX-V1900, BIC Acoustech 5.1
Breathing Borla is offline  
post #13237 of 13250 Old Yesterday, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,663
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1395 Post(s)
Liked: 1356
Quote:
Originally Posted by vavan View Post
even if I hadn't heard any horror stories (though I believe I had) I wouldn't risk to trust samsung and stress hardware with fw flashing
oh, and I've yet to hear anything positive about tizen
to each his own. i'm not big on fw updates, but i'm not going to avoid something for no reason either. imo, a lack of positives does not make a negative. if i had waited for positives, i would not have bought the f8500 in the first place(there was no positive reviews related to samsung vs panasonic at the time), and i'd be sitting in the vt60 owners thread instead. at this point, i can honestly say i'm glad that's not the case. i'm not going to sit in my room afraid to use a product because that's a risk to it breaking. i understand why fw updates are done, i understand what the risks are.

i'd also like to say there's a pretty big difference between a general warning about potential risks of doing fw updates, and specific details about a particular update changing things for the worse. kind of like the difference between somebody saying they don't like to invest because there's to much risk of losing their money, vs somebody saying not to invest in a particular stock.

don't take this as me being upset that i wasn't 'warned', i'm not. just me clarifying that your post isn't exactly relevant to what i'm concerned with. it wasn't the fw update PROCESS that was an issue(which is what you really were warning about). i have heard of many ppl having serious issues after doing a fw update. i don't want to start a finger pointing blame off, so let's just say i'm willing to accept what i consider to be a small risk, and easy fix, should there be an error during the update process. that wasn't, and isn't the issue here. just surprised there wasn't more info about the actual update itself. i thought i waited long enough for the dust to settle, but i had not.

but please, let's not make this into something. i'm not blaming the community, or trying to shame anybody for not 'warning me'. just trying to start a dialogue in case others shared my opinion and just didn't feel it was necessary to post, or for some reason they thought they were alone in their opinion and didn't want to go against the grain for whatever reason. and of course for others who have not done the update yet, i want to give them as much info as possible so they can make a better informed decision. if i used the tv differently, i may be more or less likely to recommend the update.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #13238 of 13250 Old Yesterday, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,663
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1395 Post(s)
Liked: 1356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan0780 View Post
Sorry for the delay, I don't read this forum like I used to. No I am not talking about the harmony or main app screen. The overlay that pops up and shows recently used. On each little app icon in the list the upper right corner has two icons I believe. Not in front of my tv right now. One icon to delete it from the recent list and the other icon is a pin. You have to press the up arrow while on the icon. If you click the pin icon it goes to the front of the list and stays there. You have to pin them in the right order to get them where you want in terms of priority but they will remain on that list in that order even if you go use other apps. Then you can set your harmony remote to send the smart hub command, put in a delay for the overlay to pop up and then move right how many times you want until your on the correct app and then select. Just like you did in the main screen before but now with less commands and time to get there.
thanks, i'll have to check it out. i just remember seeing the trash can icon. did not realize there was a way to pin things. if i can set my desired apps on the overlay like i could/can the full screen menu, then that should solve my issue with the update itself. just need to figure out why my tv needs so much time to connect every time it's turned on.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #13239 of 13250 Old Yesterday, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,663
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1395 Post(s)
Liked: 1356
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post
Someone please post pictures of the update already LOL. Worth more than a thousand words.
what do you want exactly? i think in this case pics don't really explain as well as words can. but if you google samsung tizen tv, you'll get plenty of pics of what the update looks like.

the new 'stuff' with this update is that when you push the 'smart hub' button, it doesn't take you to the smart hub anymore. instead you get an on-screen display of popular apps you can scroll through, and the option to go into the smart hub from that on-screen menu, which is overlayed on top of whatever source you're currently viewing. which is all well in good, probably a nice thing when it works well.

i'm just having some issues, in that it doesn't seem to work until 20-30seconds after the tv is turned on. so i'm just sorta sitting there twiddling my thumbs waiting. i think in this case it's really a video that's needed, and i'm not really motivated enough to make that happen. it's a bit of a hassle for me to do that, to be honest

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #13240 of 13250 Old Yesterday, 11:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
just surprised there wasn't more info about the actual update itself. i thought i waited long enough for the dust to settle, but i had not.
Well, Samsung never quite got their act together in publishing on their Support Site what each released firmware upgrade actually fixed/improved. They started publishing version notes for some real early releases, but fell miserably short on updating those version notes. We wouldn't need to wait for any dust to settle if they acted in a professional manner! We would just glance at the Version notes, and decide for ourselves if we wanted to do an update. Samsung's FW support site is really outdated with regards to those version release notes. It's a shame a mega electronics company cannot publish simple notes when releasing a fw update. This should be standard operating protocol for any firmware/software release by any company!

Notice the latest notes for the latest fw update in the attached photo below. The notes for the current update are linked to an earlier update....major fail!! (When was the last time an update actually improved picture quality?)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BC72E8C7-6331-4809-9D1E-CF92251B7872.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	101.4 KB
ID:	1243121  
vavan likes this.

Last edited by DanF8500; Today at 12:20 AM.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #13241 of 13250 Old Yesterday, 11:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Kazan, Russian Federation
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
to each his own. i'm not big on fw updates, but i'm not going to avoid something for no reason either. imo, a lack of positives does not make a negative.
sure. I see no reason to upgrade fw if I don't have problems with currently installed one and don't know a single positive change in newer one. all I know is that samsung restricting features with newer versions

Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
it wasn't the fw update PROCESS that was an issue(which is what you really were warning about). i have heard of many ppl having serious issues after doing a fw update
given we have no chances to get replacement tv if update process goes wrong I don't think I'm in position to accept even slightest risk anymore
vavan is offline  
post #13242 of 13250 Old Today, 05:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I was just browsing at Best Buy last night and wandered into the Magnolia section where they had the $7-9k latest Samsung's and Sonys.

I was less than impressed with their PQ. Very unnatural looking. I'm so glad I got my 64" in 2014 before they stopped making them.

The only PQ that was comparable was the LG OLEDs.
wfarrell4 is offline  
post #13243 of 13250 Old Today, 05:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWalker View Post
That may be because my post was to the other F8500 forum.

For why and how I added fans see:
Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk]
post#2630 04-15-2013 01:22PM.

For reasoning behind number and placement of fans see:
Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk]
post#3225 04-20-2013 08:40 PM.

Current Mute-7-3-7-Enter display shows:
My set now has 3680 hours
After more than 10hrs on today, the screen is 29C or 84F

Temperature at set's intake vent is 76.7F.
Temperature of right most fan's exhaust is 79.4F.
The fan's exhausts have a mix of air drawn in from the intake vents and air drawn in around the fan. This mixing helps cool the row of capacitors at the back top right of the set.

Entire back of set has no hot spots and feels room temperature.
No audible fan noise in front of set.

Did the full time with break-in slides. Maybe because of this, I see no color variation across the screen for white and other break-in slides.

My wife and I continue to marvel at the set's picture quality, especially since we added a Darblet 5000, shortly after we got the set. Even 3D is great! I post frequently to forum Darbee vision darblet .
One year update from my above post. Set now has 5638 hours. Have been running with my original fan configuration since April 2013. After warmup: Exhaust temperature max still about 5F above air temperature at intake vent. Entire back of set feels room temperature.

No problems experienced with set. Beautiful picture.
wackedtv and vavan like this.
JRWalker is online now  
post #13244 of 13250 Old Today, 08:34 AM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
what do you want exactly? i think in this case pics don't really explain as well as words can. but if you google samsung tizen tv, you'll get plenty of pics of what the update looks like.

the new 'stuff' with this update is that when you push the 'smart hub' button, it doesn't take you to the smart hub anymore. instead you get an on-screen display of popular apps you can scroll through, and the option to go into the smart hub from that on-screen menu, which is overlayed on top of whatever source you're currently viewing. which is all well in good, probably a nice thing when it works well.

i'm just having some issues, in that it doesn't seem to work until 20-30seconds after the tv is turned on. so i'm just sorta sitting there twiddling my thumbs waiting. i think in this case it's really a video that's needed, and i'm not really motivated enough to make that happen. it's a bit of a hassle for me to do that, to be honest
So the all apps screen is gone completely? I'm not a fan of over engineered interfaces in general these days. I like to view all apps not scroll endlessly across a screen. UI gets more annoying by the minute, like Windows 10 LOL.

What Samsung needed to fix was the random lockups in the menu and stop the overdone useless laggy animations haha. Now they've added another usability issue, since this new version takes longer to load.

LN55C630
PN64F8500
Definitive SSA-50
GE Supercinema 3D Array X
Yamaha RX-V479 (evaluating whether to keep)
SVS SB-1000 (evaluating whether to keep)

Last edited by hpp8140; Today at 08:38 AM.
hpp8140 is online now  
post #13245 of 13250 Old Today, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Is this view available? I could live with that.


LN55C630
PN64F8500
Definitive SSA-50
GE Supercinema 3D Array X
Yamaha RX-V479 (evaluating whether to keep)
SVS SB-1000 (evaluating whether to keep)
hpp8140 is online now  
post #13246 of 13250 Old Today, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,027
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1362 Post(s)
Liked: 1061
Tizen 1, shortly to increase to Tizen 2 - is a learning in progress OS. In other words, the more you use it, the speedier it gets.

OS will not go into full function until the set logs in, which, now takes longer under Tizen. Once you see you're logged in, you should be good to go.
Have not tested whether it's a faster boot up if there's no account login registered.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
PN64F8500 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
p5browne is online now  
post #13247 of 13250 Old Today, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Another question...If you push the "sources" button on the remote, is that Tizen also?

LN55C630
PN64F8500
Definitive SSA-50
GE Supercinema 3D Array X
Yamaha RX-V479 (evaluating whether to keep)
SVS SB-1000 (evaluating whether to keep)
hpp8140 is online now  
post #13248 of 13250 Old Today, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post
Is this view available? I could live with that.

You can keep your old view. Just more steps.


Hit the app button
Go to featured, click on it.
On app icon, click.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	261.7 KB
ID:	1244809  

ISF Calibrator
Samsung PN64F8500
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.

Last edited by dsskid; Today at 04:27 PM.
dsskid is online now  
post #13249 of 13250 Old Today, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsskid View Post
You can keep your old view. Just more steps.

Hit the app button
Go to featured, click on it.
On app icon, click.
Thanks, that was helpful. So it looks similar to this...


LN55C630
PN64F8500
Definitive SSA-50
GE Supercinema 3D Array X
Yamaha RX-V479 (evaluating whether to keep)
SVS SB-1000 (evaluating whether to keep)
hpp8140 is online now  
post #13250 of 13250 Old Today, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post
Thanks, that was helpful. So it looks similar to this...

Click on that app icon, and it will look like the pic I posted in the previous link.

ISF Calibrator
Samsung PN64F8500
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off