Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 458 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1266Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13711 of 14082 Old 09-20-2016, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 6,599
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 573 Post(s)
Liked: 316
PS - Im probably gonna put a USB powered computer fan on one of the back vents.

Epson 8350 / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
Samsung 51F8500 / Panasonic P50ST60 / Vizio P502ui-B1E / Sony 50W700B
Sony S790 / Panasonic BDT-220 / Roku 2 XS & Roku 2
Sony NT5 / Samsung F550 / Speakercraft CS3 / Yamaha YAS-105
EscapeVelocity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13712 of 14082 Old 09-20-2016, 07:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 6,599
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 573 Post(s)
Liked: 316
I wonder if I should get a spare power supply for the future before they disappear.

Epson 8350 / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
Samsung 51F8500 / Panasonic P50ST60 / Vizio P502ui-B1E / Sony 50W700B
Sony S790 / Panasonic BDT-220 / Roku 2 XS & Roku 2
Sony NT5 / Samsung F550 / Speakercraft CS3 / Yamaha YAS-105
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #13713 of 14082 Old 09-21-2016, 08:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,407
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1704 Post(s)
Liked: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by mithrilG60 View Post
The Main, X-Sustain and Power boards are all available however the Y-Sustain is not. The typical symptom of a y-sustain issue is the TV turns on with a blank screen and blinking LED and eventually sound output. This problem starts intermittently and gets progressively worse as the capacitors that are the root cause continue to degrade.

That doesn't sound like the problem in this case so it might be worth paying to have Samsung send a tech out to troubleshoot the issue and come up with a recommended solution.
So if my set won't come back on immediately after being turned off after its been on for several hours, it the Y-Sustain board? If I let it cool down, it will restart.
JimP is offline  
 
post #13714 of 14082 Old 09-22-2016, 09:45 AM
Member
 
mithrilG60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
So if my set won't come back on immediately after being turned off after its been on for several hours, it the Y-Sustain board? If I let it cool down, it will restart.
Not necessarily, if your TV is not powering on at all to me it suggests an issue with either the power supply board or the main logic board (there are only 4 boards total in this tv). When the issue is with the Y-Sustain the TV still powers on, it just doesn't produce a picture. The following video shows the typical symptoms of a failed Y-Sustain board. Those symptoms tend to initially start of intermittently, often after an accidental power off, and becomes more frequent as the capacitors degrade. Replacing the 3 capacitors as described in the previously linked thread resolves the Y-Sustain issue.

bmcn likes this.

Samsung PN64F8500
Marantz SR5010
Definitive Technology BP9040, CS9060, SR9040
AppleTV 4th gen, Popcorn Hour A-200, HD HomeRun Extend
12 core dual X5690 Xeon HP Z600 w/ 48gb ECC PC3-10600 Plex Media Server running Debian
2x Debian NAS Servers - 32.6TB (formatted) & growing

Last edited by mithrilG60; 09-22-2016 at 10:03 AM.
mithrilG60 is offline  
post #13715 of 14082 Old 09-23-2016, 08:58 AM
Member
 
SteveLilley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all. My F8500 developed a weird little quirk at some point in the last few days and I'm hoping it's not the beginning of something more serious. The Samsung logo and the four little charm icons or whatever you want to call them suddenly appear when I turn the TV on - but they never have before. A trip into the menu reveals the boot logo setting somehow turned itself on, so I turned it off again. However, the four little icons still appear briefly on screen when it starts up even if the Samsung logo doesn't, and no matter what the boot logo setting switches back to "On" again.

Can anybody shed any insight into what this could mean, how it happened and how I get it to stop?
SteveLilley is offline  
post #13716 of 14082 Old 09-23-2016, 10:15 AM
Member
 
mithrilG60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveLilley View Post
Can anybody shed any insight into what this could mean, how it happened and how I get it to stop?
This popped up after the most recent firmware. Appears that Samsung is forcing the boot logo since, as you discovered, you can no longer disable it in the menu. You may be able to disable it in the service menu but I don't know the setting, not a big enough issue for me to investigate it.
bmcn likes this.

Samsung PN64F8500
Marantz SR5010
Definitive Technology BP9040, CS9060, SR9040
AppleTV 4th gen, Popcorn Hour A-200, HD HomeRun Extend
12 core dual X5690 Xeon HP Z600 w/ 48gb ECC PC3-10600 Plex Media Server running Debian
2x Debian NAS Servers - 32.6TB (formatted) & growing
mithrilG60 is offline  
post #13717 of 14082 Old 09-23-2016, 11:44 AM
Member
 
SteveLilley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mithrilG60 View Post
This popped up after the most recent firmware. Appears that Samsung is forcing the boot logo since, as you discovered, you can no longer disable it in the menu. You may be able to disable it in the service menu but I don't know the setting, not a big enough issue for me to investigate it.
Oh. Alright then. That's weird, but if it's not something I did or if something isn't breaking down, I supposed I don't care.
SteveLilley is offline  
post #13718 of 14082 Old 09-24-2016, 01:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by mithrilG60 View Post
This popped up after the most recent firmware. Appears that Samsung is forcing the boot logo since, as you discovered, you can no longer disable it in the menu. You may be able to disable it in the service menu but I don't know the setting, not a big enough issue for me to investigate it.
Same here.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #13719 of 14082 Old 09-26-2016, 12:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 6,599
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 573 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Im so happy to have the Samsung 51" F8500 back. Missed that gorgeous picture!

I think overall I like the F8500 better than the Panasonic 50" ST60.

I might keep an eye out for a 55" VT60..to replace the ST60. The laggy UI is one of the things that bugs me. The improved input lag would be appreciated as well. Plus the improved AR filter.

Is the VT60 equivalent of the F8500 AR Filter, does it have the louvre filter as well? Or is that only the ZT60 that has that. Thanks

Epson 8350 / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
Samsung 51F8500 / Panasonic P50ST60 / Vizio P502ui-B1E / Sony 50W700B
Sony S790 / Panasonic BDT-220 / Roku 2 XS & Roku 2
Sony NT5 / Samsung F550 / Speakercraft CS3 / Yamaha YAS-105
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #13720 of 14082 Old 09-26-2016, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,407
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1704 Post(s)
Liked: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeVelocity View Post
Im so happy to have the Samsung 51" F8500 back. Missed that gorgeous picture!

...snip...
Glad you got your F8500 working again.

As good as these TVs look when well calibrated, its worth holding off upgrading until you don't have any other choice.
EscapeVelocity likes this.
JimP is offline  
post #13721 of 14082 Old 09-26-2016, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
Glad you got your F8500 working again.

As good as these TVs look when well calibrated, its worth holding off upgrading until you don't have any other choice.
I have a 2005 50PX50U a 2007 PRO-150FD and a 64F8500 all going strong... knock on wood/plastic/wood... the last thing I need is another HD (or UHD) TV to watch cable TV (although I do have Verizon FiOS) with or the latest Hollywood bomb on BD disc from Redbox.
9179mhb is offline  
post #13722 of 14082 Old 09-28-2016, 03:38 AM
Member
 
mbeezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hi all! Been a happy owner of a 60" F8500 for the last two years. I'm curious if there is any way to enable 24p over non-HDMI sources. I stream most of my content through the Plex app and most of my content is in 24p, however, it doesn't play as 24p since I am streaming it.

My girlfriend's TV (a newer Vizio) is able to play 24p regardless of the source and makes me pretty jealous!

Is 24p over non-HDMI sources still a no-go on this wonderful TV?
mbeezie is offline  
post #13723 of 14082 Old 09-30-2016, 12:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Kazan, Russian Federation
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 12
as my 51f8500 going to kids room I have a wall mounting question. should I remove couple of those screws below upper mounting holes?
vavan is offline  
post #13724 of 14082 Old 09-30-2016, 03:50 PM
Member
 
zaockle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by vavan View Post
as my 51f8500 going to kids room I have a wall mounting question. should I remove couple of those screws below upper mounting holes?
no, do not remove any screws. use spacers. if the spacers that come with your mount are long, go online and buy some shorter ones.
vavan likes this.

Home Theater: Samsung PN51F8500|Samsung TW-J5500|Apple TV 4K|Panasonic DMP-UB900|Custom W10 HTPC running MPC-BE w/ LAV+madVR|Panamax M5400-PM

Gaming: Asus VG248QE|Custom W10 6700K+980Ti|J-Tech 5x1 HDMI switch|PS3 Original 60GB|PS Vita TV|Wii U|Schiit Jotunheim w/DAC|Sony MDRZ7 w/XLR4
zaockle is offline  
post #13725 of 14082 Old 09-30-2016, 03:53 PM
Member
 
zaockle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbeezie View Post
Hi all! Been a happy owner of a 60" F8500 for the last two years. I'm curious if there is any way to enable 24p over non-HDMI sources. I stream most of my content through the Plex app and most of my content is in 24p, however, it doesn't play as 24p since I am streaming it.

My girlfriend's TV (a newer Vizio) is able to play 24p regardless of the source and makes me pretty jealous!

Is 24p over non-HDMI sources still a no-go on this wonderful TV?
I dont have much experience with any app other than netflix, but that adjusts the refresh rate of the TV. It wont let you go into cinema smooth mode though. But yes, nonHDMI inputs like AV and component will not allow 1080p24 afaik. This is just an overall weakness of Samsung. Their motion handling has always been pretty bad. Sony generally have this down to a science.

Home Theater: Samsung PN51F8500|Samsung TW-J5500|Apple TV 4K|Panasonic DMP-UB900|Custom W10 HTPC running MPC-BE w/ LAV+madVR|Panamax M5400-PM

Gaming: Asus VG248QE|Custom W10 6700K+980Ti|J-Tech 5x1 HDMI switch|PS3 Original 60GB|PS Vita TV|Wii U|Schiit Jotunheim w/DAC|Sony MDRZ7 w/XLR4
zaockle is offline  
post #13726 of 14082 Old 10-01-2016, 01:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaockle View Post
I dont have much experience with any app other than netflix, but that adjusts the refresh rate of the TV. It wont let you go into cinema smooth mode though. But yes, nonHDMI inputs like AV and component will not allow 1080p24 afaik. This is just an overall weakness of Samsung. Their motion handling has always been pretty bad. Sony generally have this down to a science.
Yes...however motion is subjective to the individual, the F8500 motion is incredible with or without cinema smooth enabled imo. Sony might have it down to a science...but I'm more inclined to think that a plasma will have better motion than lcd/led. Plasma sets have simply have a more natural look in regards to this...again imo.
bmcn likes this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #13727 of 14082 Old 10-03-2016, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Breathing Borla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I still love my 64 F8500

I put cooling fans on the back to help make it last as long as possible

I hope nothings happens, no better options out there that I can see at this size or larger for around the same 2500 I paid for this one

still wow me with the PQ
EscapeVelocity, tomsag and bmcn like this.

64PNF8500 Plasma, Yamama RX-V1900, BIC Acoustech 5.1
Breathing Borla is offline  
post #13728 of 14082 Old 10-03-2016, 12:00 PM
Member
 
zaockle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
Yes...however motion is subjective to the individual, the F8500 motion is incredible with or without cinema smooth enabled imo. Sony might have it down to a science...but I'm more inclined to think that a plasma will have better motion than lcd/led. Plasma sets have simply have a more natural look in regards to this...again imo.
Let me rephrase. Sony has motion detection and compensation, such as IVTC, down to a science. From what I gather from other threads and reviews, Samsung still has really bad support for these kind of things.

But I agree, the motion look on a plasma is still better than LCD panels. You can put as much black frame insertion as you want, it still doesn't mask the way LCD looks plastic and weird.

Home Theater: Samsung PN51F8500|Samsung TW-J5500|Apple TV 4K|Panasonic DMP-UB900|Custom W10 HTPC running MPC-BE w/ LAV+madVR|Panamax M5400-PM

Gaming: Asus VG248QE|Custom W10 6700K+980Ti|J-Tech 5x1 HDMI switch|PS3 Original 60GB|PS Vita TV|Wii U|Schiit Jotunheim w/DAC|Sony MDRZ7 w/XLR4
zaockle is offline  
post #13729 of 14082 Old 10-04-2016, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
xkegsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PN51F8500 Past few month been getting a static screen, like old tvs had with every color and white displaying, intermittently when changing inputs. Happens once every couple of weeks and goes away when changing inputs. I can't force it to happen it just happens. Is this a sign of a bigger problem?


Thanks
xkegsx is offline  
post #13730 of 14082 Old 10-04-2016, 01:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NOVA
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by xkegsx View Post
PN51F8500 Past few month been getting a static screen, like old tvs had with every color and white displaying, intermittently when changing inputs. Happens once every couple of weeks and goes away when changing inputs. I can't force it to happen it just happens. Is this a sign of a bigger problem?


Thanks
Is your tuner set on a blank channel? Sometimes when changing sources, the TV briefly shows what is on the tuner.

LN55C630, PN64F8500, Definitive SSA-50, GE Supercinema 3D Array X, Paradigm Millenia CT
hpp8140 is offline  
post #13731 of 14082 Old 10-04-2016, 11:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Kazan, Russian Federation
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breathing Borla View Post
I still love my 64 F8500

I put cooling fans on the back to help make it last as long as possible

I hope nothings happens, no better options out there that I can see at this size or larger for around the same 2500 I paid for this one

still wow me with the PQ
I loved my ps51f8500 and put couple of fans hoping that would help but that didn't save me from failed panel (vertical lines)
vavan is offline  
post #13732 of 14082 Old 10-05-2016, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NOVA
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by vavan View Post
I loved my ps51f8500 and put couple of fans hoping that would help but that didn't save me from failed panel (vertical lines)
Does it happen on all sources? Could be mainboard.

LN55C630, PN64F8500, Definitive SSA-50, GE Supercinema 3D Array X, Paradigm Millenia CT
hpp8140 is offline  
post #13733 of 14082 Old 10-05-2016, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Tiki Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Rodney Ontario Canada
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaockle View Post
Let me rephrase. Sony has motion detection and compensation, such as IVTC, down to a science. From what I gather from other threads and reviews, Samsung still has really bad support for these kind of things.

But I agree, the motion look on a plasma is still better than LCD panels. You can put as much black frame insertion as you want, it still doesn't mask the way LCD looks plastic and weird.


I was just in looking at the new Sony 4K's, they had the Sony Rep there and I asked about motion etc, he said Sony was the best...until I said I had a F8500 plasma, he then said, "yes you will notice the motion effects", said that most other people wouldn't!!

Samsung 60" F8500
Samsung BD-F7500
Pioneer 1024K
PSB Image 8C,5T,2B,Alpha
Polk PSW10 (x 2)
Monster HTS5100mkII
Tiki Steve is offline  
post #13734 of 14082 Old 10-05-2016, 11:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Kazan, Russian Federation
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post
Does it happen on all sources? Could be mainboard.
even with no source at all. of course it's panel
vavan is offline  
post #13735 of 14082 Old 10-06-2016, 03:45 PM
DB2
Advanced Member
 
DB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am a current F8500 owner looking to upgrade to an LG B6 OLED tv.

Could anyone comment about the difference in brightness between a properly calibrated F8500 and a calibrated LG B6 OLED? Would I be looking at about the same brightness or would the OLED be brighter?

Also, what would be the most noticeable improvements improvements in PQ going to the LG B6?

I would be primary using the set for HDTV Sports, i have projector i use for movies.

Thanks in advance.

"I usually sit closer to 2 X screen width, or I look like a cat watching a ping pong tournament." -Free
DB2 is offline  
post #13736 of 14082 Old 10-07-2016, 11:25 AM
Newbie
 
illbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DB2 View Post
I am a current F8500 owner looking to upgrade to an LG B6 OLED tv.

Could anyone comment about the difference in brightness between a properly calibrated F8500 and a calibrated LG B6 OLED? Would I be looking at about the same brightness or would the OLED be brighter?
I recently went from a 60" F8500 to the 65" B6. Neither were professionally calibrated, but the B6 in ISF Dark is noticeably brighter than my F8500 was in Movie mode with cell light cranked all the way to 20. Enough so I actually I turned down the OLED Light from the default value as I felt it was too bright.
illbill is offline  
post #13737 of 14082 Old 10-08-2016, 11:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by DB2 View Post
I am a current F8500 owner looking to upgrade to an LG B6 OLED tv.

Could anyone comment about the difference in brightness between a properly calibrated F8500 and a calibrated LG B6 OLED? Would I be looking at about the same brightness or would the OLED be brighter?

Also, what would be the most noticeable improvements improvements in PQ going to the LG B6?

I would be primary using the set for HDTV Sports, i have projector i use for movies.

Thanks in advance.
I own both the f8500 and the e6, and as much as I hate to say this...the E6 beats it in every way...better color, contrast and true black. As far as brightness, the oled is brighter...and neither of my sets are calibrated.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #13738 of 14082 Old 10-09-2016, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,407
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1704 Post(s)
Liked: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
I own both the f8500 and the e6, and as much as I hate to say this...the E6 beats it in every way...better color, contrast and true black. As far as brightness, the oled is brighter...and neither of my sets are calibrated.
At least your honest enough to say that they weren't calibrated.
vavan likes this.
JimP is offline  
post #13739 of 14082 Old 10-11-2016, 12:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Well...I guess I'm not the only one...

New here...and guess what...

After about 6 months of dealing with power issues with the F8500 (typically would turn on after a few power on's and off's)...it's finally showing no picture or any signs of wanting to corporate. Called Samsung today...no help...

Purchased in June of 2013 for $3500 so it's a little over 3 years old...

Love the thing...any advice would be appreciated...
TheStixter is offline  
post #13740 of 14082 Old 10-11-2016, 03:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,407
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1704 Post(s)
Liked: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStixter View Post
Well...I guess I'm not the only one...

New here...and guess what...

After about 6 months of dealing with power issues with the F8500 (typically would turn on after a few power on's and off's)...it's finally showing no picture or any signs of wanting to corporate. Called Samsung today...no help...

Purchased in June of 2013 for $3500 so it's a little over 3 years old...

Love the thing...any advice would be appreciated...
How technical are you.....meaning would you be ok taking it apart to replace a circuit board? If so, go back and read the last few pages where board replacement is discussed.
JimP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off