Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,955
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by endlessender View Post

I think you can actually enable both - at least the TVs UI suggests you can. I can enable Game Mode as well as changing the input name to PC.

you might be right, i never even thought of trying that. assumed since PC mode disables all the same features as game mode, and more, that game mode wouldn't change anything, but i don't know. might be worth a try, but i don't know that'd i'd be able to notice a difference. in pc mode it's basically what i'm used to and feels nearly instant to me

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 08:32 AM
Member
 
dusty123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My values is cell light 12
contrast 80
brightness 45
sharpness 0
color 46
red/green 50/50
black optimizer dark room
color space native
color temp standard
all other adjustments are turned off
dusty123 is offline  
post #183 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Watcher12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljmart View Post

a weird hiccup... after i accidentally reset movie mode i noticed black optimizer was set to bright room but greyed out. couldnt figure out what the deal was... so turned tv off then back on. blk optz now available again!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bpmurr View Post

Even in game mode?

For me game mode is way too laggy, but the renaming input to PC trick is acceptable, but not great.
Watcher12 is offline  
post #184 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by dusty123 View Post

My values is cell light 12
contrast 80
brightness 45
sharpness 0
color 46
red/green 50/50
black optimizer dark room
color space native
color temp standard
all other adjustments are turned off
No wonder you say your screen looks "washed out". With those settings, I would not want to watch my tv either...lol Try boosting your contrast to 90-94. Change cell light to 16-20. With low contrast and low cell light, the picture looks very veiled/subdued....not watchable, imo.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #185 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 10:03 AM
Member
 
dusty123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I will try this when I get home but think I tried this last night and it did nothing. The TV looked excellent before the update with these settings but I will try again when I get home. Thanks
dusty123 is offline  
post #186 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by dusty123 View Post

I will try this when I get home but think I tried this last night and it did nothing. The TV looked excellent before the update with these settings but I will try again when I get home. Thanks
Hey Dusty, if you can't see a difference on your 8500 from cell light 12 to cell light 20, then you definitely have something wrong with your tv. There should be a very noticeable/perceivable change to your picture. Updating to 1104 has nothing to do with it......nobody else that I know of on these threads has reported a worsening/degradation of the picture after updating. In fact, many have reported a perceivable enhancement to their 8500's.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #187 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 10:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dusty123 View Post

My values is cell light 12
contrast 80
brightness 45
sharpness 0
color 46
red/green 50/50
black optimizer dark room
color space native
color temp standard
all other adjustments are turned off
Ouch rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post

No wonder you say your screen looks "washed out". With those settings, I would not want to watch my tv either...lol Try boosting your contrast to 90-94. Change cell light to 16-20. With low contrast and low cell light, the picture looks very veiled/subdued....not watchable, imo.


+1
Man those are some truly washed out/dull settings.. Not saying it should look like the Store Display models which can be cranked up to retina searing levels but those are settings I'd expect from a super bright LED panel.

Try something like these biggrin.gif
Cell 16
contrast 95
brightness 46
sharpness 0
color 51
red/green 50/50
Color tone: warm1 or Standard(depending on white preference)
color space native
Dynamic Contrast-Med
Black Level dark
black optimizer dark room
Pinger is offline  
post #188 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 11:55 AM
Member
 
DanBook Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello guys,
I have a 60F85000 awaiting delivery. I've been very excited to see this tv in my living room.

Just thought I'd sound off. I can't wait to try some of your settings.

Dan
DanBook Pro is offline  
post #189 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
coresare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Welcome to the club! I've been using Pie's settings. It's a bad ass TV.
coresare is offline  
post #190 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
shpankey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Glenpool, Ok. USA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Just plug in pie's settings. Or try mine if you have a 65". Your settings are crap, and if you can't tell the difference between cell 20 and cell 12, you have a serious issue on hand and need to get your set replaced asap.

26 What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul? Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul?

Matthew 16:26 NIV
shpankey is offline  
post #191 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 06:06 PM
Member
 
Watcher12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post

you might be right, i never even thought of trying that. assumed since PC mode disables all the same features as game mode, and more, that game mode wouldn't change anything, but i don't know. might be worth a try, but i don't know that'd i'd be able to notice a difference. in pc mode it's basically what i'm used to and feels nearly instant to me

When I am on 'PC' input Game Mode is switched to Off and is grayed out in my menu.
Watcher12 is offline  
post #192 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 07:32 PM
Member
 
ola67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert from VE called today to let me know my calibrated 64" f8500 was ready for shipping after 3.5 weeks of anticipation. Expect it to arrive on Friday! What was interesting was that he told me that Kevin Miller had calibrated the set with a new FW update that had solved CAL Day an CAL Night issuues AND he was 99% sure it also solved the 3D popping issues. They had calibrated the two CAL modes, the movie mode and the 3D mode on my set. I have not seen anything about this new FW here, or in the other thread so I hope he is right. He has been given beta and early release versions by Samsung before. Any one else heard about this new FW?

Can not wait to get it! I am upgrading from a 2006 Sony KDS-R50XBR1 back projection TV so the expectations of a big jump in PQ is high. The bad news Robert gave me was that the nice Samsung audio dock that was supposed to be a free bundle was back ordered and could not be shipped. However, he gave me a discount on the TV instead.
ola67 is offline  
post #193 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 07:42 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ Let us know what the fw version is wink.gif
pieandchips is offline  
post #194 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 08:12 PM
Member
 
ola67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

^ Let us know what the fw version is wink.gif

OK will do!
ola67 is offline  
post #195 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ljmart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: TN / Clwtr FL
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by ola67 View Post

OK will do!
congrats ola! thanks thats all great news that i havent heard yet. hope you love it smile.gif

Samsung PN51F8500. Marantz SR5008. Oppo BDP 103D. Sony BDP S5100. Emp Tek E55TIB LR, E5CIB, E55WIB. Sennheiser Momentum. Sennheiser 598.
ljmart is offline  
post #196 of 7804 Old 06-05-2013, 11:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,191
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

^ with a meter wink.gif It's really the only way.
Only way to be sure, as one back it with readings.

Forum Sponsor // \\
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1-866-651-0049 // \\
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #197 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 02:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Halimali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Hello guys,

I hope everybody is enjoying their TV like I do tongue.gif

I have one question. How can I let my TV get access to the shared folder I have via wireless?
I can see my PC show up in the smart hub but when I click on it, it says that it is not accessible
Any help will be much appreciated.

As of June 2013:
2,712 Bluray movies
1,593 DVD movies
356 bluray+DVD series
1,322 bluray+DVD Anime
Halimali is offline  
post #198 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 03:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Damien Inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halimali View Post

Hello guys,

I hope everybody is enjoying their TV like I do tongue.gif

I have one question. How can I let my TV get access to the shared folder I have via wireless?
I can see my PC show up in the smart hub but when I click on it, it says that it is not accessible
Any help will be much appreciated.

you can stream via windows media player here is a link to the instructions:

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/howtoguide/N0000044/5298/54549/PN64F8500AFXZA

Samsung F8500 Service menu factory reset and activating cal modes instructions


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Damien Inferno is online now  
post #199 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 03:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,023
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 1147
Good luck ola67 and thanks for the news on the firmware fix for cal modes and 3D (hopefully). I assume this is a beta release and will be available before too long.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #200 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 04:17 AM
Senior Member
 
surfmlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halimali View Post

Hello guys,

I hope everybody is enjoying their TV like I do tongue.gif

I have one question. How can I let my TV get access to the shared folder I have via wireless?
I can see my PC show up in the smart hub but when I click on it, it says that it is not accessible
Any help will be much appreciated.

Download a program called allshare from samsung. I use it. Works pretty good. Here is a video

My Plasma is a PN51F8500 former 5010fd 8G Kuro owner


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
surfmlb is offline  
post #201 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 06:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Halimali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Thanks a lot. I will download the all share app

As of June 2013:
2,712 Bluray movies
1,593 DVD movies
356 bluray+DVD series
1,322 bluray+DVD Anime
Halimali is offline  
post #202 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 08:07 AM
Member
 
dusty123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinger View Post

Ouch rolleyes.gif
+1
Man those are some truly washed out/dull settings.. Not saying it should look like the Store Display models which can be cranked up to retina searing levels but those are settings I'd expect from a super bright LED panel.

Try something like these biggrin.gif
Cell 16
contrast 95
brightness 46
sharpness 0
color 51
red/green 50/50
Color tone: warm1 or Standard(depending on white preference)
color space native
Dynamic Contrast-Med
Black Level dark
black optimizer dark room

I tried these setting last night and there is still a problem. The problem with my TV is not the brightness of the TV it is the clarity after last update everything looks like it has a haze over it and I am getting a lot of motion blur too. The TV is just not as sharp.
dusty123 is offline  
post #203 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 08:14 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ Pull the plug for 20 minutes. It may need a cold boot, something may have stuck...
Also, check the fw level to make sure the update took successfully.
pieandchips is offline  
post #204 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 08:19 AM
vij
Newbie
 
vij's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dusty123 View Post

I tried these setting last night and there is still a problem. The problem with my TV is not the brightness of the TV it is the clarity after last update everything looks like it has a haze over it and I am getting a lot of motion blur too. The TV is just not as sharp.


Do you have the eco mode on. If it is on, put it to off.

Edit: Sorry, didnt notice you mentioned you checked that in the previous page.
vij is offline  
post #205 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 08:22 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ The OP has reported Eco Mode and Eco Sensor are off.

You have an option to contact Samsung and let them remote in to reset/check things.
pieandchips is offline  
post #206 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
echoesian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While waiting for my new 64F8500, how do you guys run the break-in ? Do you use the solid colors slides running over night?
echoesian is offline  
post #207 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I watch TV smile.gif ...being careful of network bugs, tickers, and letter boxing.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #208 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
echoesian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

I watch TV smile.gif ...being careful of network bugs, tickers, and letter boxing.

I can't because most of the time my mom watches channels with logo on the top right for 3-4 hours in a row... I'm worried it will get burn ...
echoesian is offline  
post #209 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by vij View Post

Do you have the eco mode on. If it is on, put it to off.

Edit: Sorry, didnt notice you mentioned you checked that in the previous page.
Even though my eco sensor was "off", the eco bug had affected my tv. I had a "washed out" look on my tv, the "haze", as dusty calls it. I struggled to see detail, and my tv couldn't get as bright as I thought it should. I played with the eco sensor adjustment by first turning it on, then setting the Min. Cell light to a value that was lower than my current Cell light setting. I then proceeded to turn off the eco sensor, and the veil/subdued look was gone. My screen brightness increased about a factor of four cell light values. It's been looking fine ever since! A couple of good broadcasts to check if you think your tv has a hazy/subdued condition (or whether it is just the crappy broadcast) are QVC and Home Shopping Network (HSN). I think those channels have very bright, haze-free, broadcasts most of the time.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #210 of 7804 Old 06-06-2013, 10:08 AM
Member
 
dusty123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
You guys are making some good suggestions and I appreciate all of it. When I get home I will try what you guy's are talking about I just want my beautiful picture back because I really do love this TV it tops anything I have ever owned and I have owned every TV just about since the pioneer elite kuro.
dusty123 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn60f8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off