Official Samsung PNxxF8500 Owners Thread (No Street Price Talk) - Page 91 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 08:56 AM
Member
 
dusty123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
everybody on this forum keeps talking about crosstalk in 3d I have the 64 inch display of the 8500 and I was doing some tests last night I have 4 pair of glasses 2 pair of my glasses made the screen look really good but I have one pair that had a lot of crosstalk that the other two did not have any so it just might be the glasses does doing this just wanted to let everybody know. all the glasses I tested was the ones that were supplied with the TV its just kinda strange two of them was crystal clear and one we had a lot of crosstalk. I never seen the brightness pop's though.
Ken Ross likes this.
dusty123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
icelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien Inferno View Post

Rumor has it that the evolution kit will have a chip in it that will make everything faster. Will it fix the 3D pops? Doubt it but you never know. The good news is samsung releases firmware updates about once a month for this tv. Maybe someday there will be an update to fix the 3D. Some say its the glasses though, some dont. Who the hell knows mad.gif

Well I think I should take the time to do my due diligence and try connecting my PS3 directly to the TV, not that I had any problems with my Pioneer 1222K receiver and 3D pass-through before but JIC, and also give P&C's 3D calibration settings a go. At least it can't hurt anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Epstein View Post

Wow.  Yet another post dealing with 3D problems on the Samsung (crosstalk and brightness pops).

This is worrisome.

I really hate to confirm the bleh 3D performance but I can only in good conscience report what I actually see.

One kinda weird aspect in my experience regarding 3D on the F8500 is that back in April or May I watched some Titanic in 3D on a 51" version at a local Best Buy and there were no issues. It looked great in fact. I just assumed based on that test and the great E8000 3D I would be in heaven with the F8500. Soooo... dunno. Kinda frustrated.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dusty123 View Post

everybody on this forum keeps talking about crosstalk in 3d I have the 64 inch display of the 8500 and I was doing some tests last night I have 4 pair of glasses 2 pair of my glasses made the screen look really good but I have one pair that had a lot of crosstalk that the other two did not have any so it just might be the glasses does doing this just wanted to let everybody know. all the glasses I tested was the ones that were supplied with the TV its just kinda strange two of them was crystal clear and one we had a lot of crosstalk.

Just saw this note. Thanks dusty I will definitely make certain to try out the other 3 pairs of glasses that came with the set and see if there is any improvement.
icelt is offline  
post #2703 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Birdie41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canmore, AB
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I posted my problems a couple of weeks ago, distorted picture and colors that were off, well this was on Firmware 1115 and have upgraded to 1116 and all is fine now. I think if I would have done the factory reset described by MuffinMcFluffin and Damien Inferno (unplug TV, remove all cables) I would not have the technician come out to my place that was looking at a perfect picture eek.gif
I do want to mention that I did NOT do a Factory reset with everything unplugged, only the regular reset within the standard menu options (code 0000) and my picture is back to being perfect. The only thing I hear but still have to test are the 3D issues? But with the 2D picture being this good, I think a lot of us will be hesitant to upgrade to 1117 whenever that one comes out, but hopefully it will address the 3D issues and leave the 2D picture values alone, because I think almost everyone of you agrees that the picture looks (almost) perfect now. cool.gif
Birdie41 is offline  
post #2704 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 09:06 AM
Member
 
dusty123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I just hope that's the problem with yours and make Shure you have good battery's in your glasses GOOD LUCK.
dusty123 is offline  
post #2705 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Mateo, California
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I sent this to Damien via PM, but it really should be public anyway so I'll post the bits here. I was testing 3D and reporting back.

I tried Tangled 3D just to see what happens. Here are my results:

Film Mode Off
I can get the picture to how I want it, but I experience crosstalk. I don't know how to describe the "brightness pops" on this, because it's nothing like the issues I used to have on my D7000 before the proper firmware update where the black levels would rise. Instead, here everything can get extremely dark. It is more of a "darkness pop." I have since realized though that it is not the television that's doing it, it is the glasses. In other words, if you remove the glasses, you won't see the effect on your television. It's a communication issue between the glasses and the television, where the television is telling the glasses to darken at certain moments. Why is this happening? I have no idea.

Cinema Smooth On
The picture seems to get worse, or that you would have to recalibrate your television completely differently if you wanted to use this for 3D. There is significantly less crosstalk and no "darkness pops" to speak of, though there is still more than on my D7000 even with Film Mode Off. However, just like my D7000, if you turn CS on while using 3D, there is a nauseating "flicker" effect that I just can't handle. I used to watch my 3D movies like this on my D7000 because I thought this was the only way to watch them and I would have to live with it, but then I realized that turning off CS was exactly what I needed to do for 3D movies (though 2D movies I much prefer it on). The same goes for the F8500, only when it's set to Off, as I said, there are problems with it as well.

And for the record, I have three models of glasses and I tried them all. I have the ones that came with the TV, the SSG-2100AB's, and the SSG-3570CR's.

So it looks like 3D is still out of the question for me on this set. I'll stick to watching 3D content on my D7000 then.
Damien Inferno likes this.
muffinmcfluffin is offline  
post #2706 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Damien Inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hey everyone just wanted to say I was about to do another factory reset this time with ALL cables disconnected to see if it would make my picture even better.When I went to unplug the optical cable the plastic piece on the optical port of the tv cracked off and now no longer works. I called samsung and got a repair ticket. Was told they will call in 1 to 2 business days and set up a home visit. Im guessing it should be an easy repair--- we shall see. Anyway make sure you are careful when unplugging and plugging in your optical cable.

Samsung F8500 Service menu factory reset and activating cal modes instructions

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475066/official-samsung-pnxxf8500-owners-thread-no-street-price-talk/2460#post_24101072
Damien Inferno is offline  
post #2707 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 11:27 AM
Member
 
sumik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know what kind of WiFi device is installed in 8500, is it N or AC ?
Wondering what router to buy.
sumik is offline  
post #2708 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42degsN 92degsW
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumik View Post

Does anyone know what kind of WiFi device is installed in 8500, is it N or AC ?
Wondering what router to buy.

N, it's definitely not AC I think just a few apple devices have AC.
sumik likes this.

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....

64" Samsung F8500 Plasma
55" Samsung B8500 Full Array Lcd
Channel Master Dvr
Onkyo 818
Crown xls-2000
Sony Blu-Ray 790
Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Energy Rc-50 Surround
Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub
airgas1998 is offline  
post #2709 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42degsN 92degsW
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Actually I'm way behind, still on 1112.

I'm on 1109 and have no desire to change that. you know the old saying "if it ain't broke".

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....

64" Samsung F8500 Plasma
55" Samsung B8500 Full Array Lcd
Channel Master Dvr
Onkyo 818
Crown xls-2000
Sony Blu-Ray 790
Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Energy Rc-50 Surround
Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub
airgas1998 is offline  
post #2710 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 12:29 PM
Member
 
thebigkahuna1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Skittish new plasma owner here. I have about 200 hours on my 64f8500 so far. I am an avid sports fan and video gamer who watches football all day Sundays and sometimes NFL Redzone (which has continuous static displays). Yesterday I watched CNN for about 20 minutes and had IR which was very noticeable. I also get IR quickly playing video games. My settings are turned down, brightness, contrast, and sharpness to low levels and this still happens. Am I overreacting thinking plasma is not for me? Does aggressive IR lessen as the display ages to the point that watching channels with constant displays is not a concern? I love the picture quality of this TV and I do not relish the thought of buying an F8000 LCD with all the problems that go with edge lit sets but I haven't been comfortable watching TV to this point.

PSN ID: thebigkahuna1
thebigkahuna1 is online now  
post #2711 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Mateo, California
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
The F8500's get IR very quickly. It also goes away very quickly. However the other day I swear I noticed a faint "ESPN" while running the screen wipe for a second, so I'm going to refrain from watching ESPN with Screen Fit for the next couple of weeks.

As always, just vary your viewing habits and you'll never have any issues.
muffinmcfluffin is offline  
post #2712 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 03:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,552
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveC56 View Post

Ken: Let us know what you're impressions are after downloading/installing firmware 1116.

Happy New Year to all AVS Forum members!

Dave, installed FW 1116 this morning and really see no changes in PQ at all. It looked great before and after the update. So from my point of view, I see no differences between 1112 and 1116. Maybe that's a good thing! smile.gif
Ken Ross is offline  
post #2713 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 03:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,552
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by airgas1998 View Post

I'm on 1109 and have no desire to change that. you know the old saying "if it ain't broke".

You are a wise man, Air! biggrin.gif
Ken Ross is offline  
post #2714 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 04:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ronald Epstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 82
So the problems with 3D playback are fixed by switching glasses for one person and another reports communication issues that darkens 3D content. Can't say this makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside knowing I will be receiving this display in a week.
Ronald Epstein is offline  
post #2715 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
CamaroDrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien Inferno View Post

Thanks for the correction. I edited it.

When I did this back from 1114 to 1115 when mine went to lunch, I did not do the cables either, but did unplug it after the Factory Reset. Still made a night and day difference.
Damien Inferno likes this.
CamaroDrvr is offline  
post #2716 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 07:56 PM
Member
 
solobaric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I've had my 51" for a day now. The picture on Dish Network channels is fantastic. But when I go to the channel guide the words are extremely fuzzy/blurry. I have been fiddeling with picture size and modes and can't get the guide clear. Any tips to get the guide to be more legible?
solobaric is offline  
post #2717 of 7203 Old 12-31-2013, 10:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Mateo, California
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by solobaric View Post

So I've had my 51" for a day now. The picture on Dish Network channels is fantastic. But when I go to the channel guide the words are extremely fuzzy/blurry. I have been fiddeling with picture size and modes and can't get the guide clear. Any tips to get the guide to be more legible?

Check your Dish video settings and make sure everything is ship-shape there, like you're using 1080i or whatever.

You're signaling through HDMI, correct?
muffinmcfluffin is offline  
post #2718 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 05:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Damien Inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Is there a way without an optical cable to get audio from the smart hub to a receiver with hdmi pass through?

Samsung F8500 Service menu factory reset and activating cal modes instructions

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475066/official-samsung-pnxxf8500-owners-thread-no-street-price-talk/2460#post_24101072
Damien Inferno is offline  
post #2719 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 05:53 AM
Member
 
DaveC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Dave, installed FW 1116 this morning and really see no changes in PQ at all. It looked great before and after the update. So from my point of view, I see no differences between 1112 and 1116. Maybe that's a good thing! smile.gif

Ken, thanks. That was my observation as well. Happy New Year!

Dave

 

Samsung PN64F8500, Marantz AV8801, MM8077, MM7025, OPPO BDP-103, Sony C333ES CD Changer, Thorens TD-190, DirecTV HD DVRs HR44-500 & HR24-100

DaveC56 is offline  
post #2720 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 06:03 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien Inferno View Post

Is there a way without an optical cable to get audio from the smart hub to a receiver with hdmi pass through?

Yes, by using ARC but its an unstable medium for most.
pieandchips is offline  
post #2721 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Damien Inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

Yes, by using ARC but its an unstable medium for most.
Im using arc hdmi3 and the receiver switches to AV1 but no sound.

Samsung F8500 Service menu factory reset and activating cal modes instructions

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475066/official-samsung-pnxxf8500-owners-thread-no-street-price-talk/2460#post_24101072
Damien Inferno is offline  
post #2722 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 06:22 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Check you have CEC enabled on both receiver and TV.
pieandchips is offline  
post #2723 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Damien Inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

Check you have CEC enabled on both receiver and TV.
pretty sure it is everything else works fine. When im in smarthub i got to sound on the tv and switch it to receiver and anynet connects to it the receiver switches to AV1 and it says decoder off. I have a yamaha rx-465

Samsung F8500 Service menu factory reset and activating cal modes instructions

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475066/official-samsung-pnxxf8500-owners-thread-no-street-price-talk/2460#post_24101072
Damien Inferno is offline  
post #2724 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 07:51 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ Then I think there is a tweak you have to make to your Yamaha.- On my Denon I have to switch HDMI audio out from TV to AMP for ARC to work.
pieandchips is offline  
post #2725 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Damien Inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

^ Then I think there is a tweak you have to make to your Yamaha.- On my Denon I have to switch HDMI audio out from TV to AMP for ARC to work.
Thanks will try to figure it out.

Samsung F8500 Service menu factory reset and activating cal modes instructions

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475066/official-samsung-pnxxf8500-owners-thread-no-street-price-talk/2460#post_24101072
Damien Inferno is offline  
post #2726 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 08:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Well Guys. On the upgrade to 1116. I got a meter on the set today and saw very little change. It was not enough to worry about. The change difference could come from Temp, Time of Day, just numerous things, it was that small. I do think there are static charges that can build up on microchips and the unplugging of the set could make everything better. On my set that was not the case.
Glen

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #2727 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 49

The "fix" that I came out with was only for people THAT WERE EXPERIENCING poor picture quality after doing resets or firmware updates....naturally they will not help a perfectly running set. This is why I do not post here with tips that help others, someone always tries to prove you wrong. p5browne asked if he could post my findings and I gave him the OK, now I wish I did not, except for muffin.

KONICA TECH is online now  
post #2728 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Damien Inferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

^ Then I think there is a tweak you have to make to your Yamaha.- On my Denon I have to switch HDMI audio out from TV to AMP for ARC to work.
I think my receiver from 2009 is too old and doesn't have the ARC tech built in. It certainly doesn't have 3D pass through.

Samsung F8500 Service menu factory reset and activating cal modes instructions

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475066/official-samsung-pnxxf8500-owners-thread-no-street-price-talk/2460#post_24101072
Damien Inferno is offline  
post #2729 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Mateo, California
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post

The "fix" that I came out with was only for people THAT WERE EXPERIENCING poor picture quality after doing resets or firmware updates....naturally they will not help a perfectly running set. This is why I do not post here with tips that help others, someone always tries to prove you wrong. p5browne asked if he could post my findings and I gave him the OK, now I wish I did not, except for muffin.

And you saved me so much, yes you did. smile.gif
muffinmcfluffin is offline  
post #2730 of 7203 Old 01-01-2014, 11:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 62
The post you made was very helpfull to many on these forums what works for one may not work for another. Keep posting
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post

The "fix" that I came out with was only for people THAT WERE EXPERIENCING poor picture quality after doing resets or firmware updates....naturally they will not help a perfectly running set. This is why I do not post here with tips that help others, someone always tries to prove you wrong. p5browne asked if he could post my findings and I gave him the OK, now I wish I did not, except for muffin.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn64f8500 64 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60f8500 60 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn60f8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off