Internet Audio on the TC-P65VT50 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-12-2013, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cigarjohn47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
When I first got my Panasonic TC-P65VT50 I had it connected to my cable box and used the TV's built in speakers. I was able to access the internet like Pandora and YouTube and was able to hear sounds through my TV Speakers. Now I just recently purchased a 7.1 receiver and I'm using the HDMI ARC channels and now I have my cable box connected to my receiver instead of my TV. What puzzles me is the ARC should allow Audio to output from the TV to the Receiver but it doesn't while using the internet. I see that the TV has only one Optical output port on it but that still doesn't output any audio to my receiver when on the internet and all it's applications. Does anyone have similar issues? Please let me know if this can be resolved or not. Thanks.
Cigarjohn47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-12-2013, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cigarjohn47 View Post

When I first got my Panasonic TC-P65VT50 I had it connected to my cable box and used the TV's built in speakers. I was able to access the internet like Pandora and YouTube and was able to hear sounds through my TV Speakers. Now I just recently purchased a 7.1 receiver and I'm using the HDMI ARC channels and now I have my cable box connected to my receiver instead of my TV. What puzzles me is the ARC should allow Audio to output from the TV to the Receiver but it doesn't while using the internet. I see that the TV has only one Optical output port on it but that still doesn't output any audio to my receiver when on the internet and all it's applications. Does anyone have similar issues? Please let me know if this can be resolved or not. Thanks.

You have 2 hdmi inputs one for the cable box and one for the tvs arc enabled hdmi port ?

When I used arc my wiring was:

STB > HDMI > TV
TV > HDMI(arc) > Reciever

Got sound from both Cablebox and internal apps thru reciever

64F8500
55ST60
Harmony 650
Sony XT1 Soundbase
OPPO 103d
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
chunon is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-12-2013, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cigarjohn47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks for responding back so quickly. I'm using a HDMI from my cable box output to my Input HDMI on my receiver. So all cable content whether it be audio or video will first go to the receiver so the receiver will output the audio to my surround speakers and my video to my TV. I just have one HDMI ARC output cable going from my receiver to my TV's HDMI ARC Input and have my receiver set for 'through' so any video from my DVD Burner and BD will be processed in those devices and not to let the receiver do any video processing. I can hear internet audio from my receivers apps. and BD apps. but not through my TV's apps. unless I turn on the TV's speakers. I hope this helps.
Cigarjohn47 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-12-2013, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cigarjohn47 View Post

Thanks for responding back so quickly. I'm using a HDMI from my cable box output to my Input HDMI on my receiver. So all cable content whether it be audio or video will first go to the receiver so the receiver will output the audio to my surround speakers and my video to my TV. I just have one HDMI ARC output cable going from my receiver to my TV's HDMI ARC Input and have my receiver set for 'through' so any video from my DVD Burner and BD will be processed in those devices and not to let the receiver do any video processing. I can hear internet audio from my receivers apps. and BD apps. but not through my TV's apps. unless I turn on the TV's speakers. I hope this helps.

Is there an arc setting on your reciever ? Assuming your reciever is arc compatible ? Sorry if that sounds like a dumb question

64F8500
55ST60
Harmony 650
Sony XT1 Soundbase
OPPO 103d
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
chunon is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-12-2013, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 2,347
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cigarjohn47 View Post

When I first got my Panasonic TC-P65VT50 I had it connected to my cable box and used the TV's built in speakers. I was able to access the internet like Pandora and YouTube and was able to hear sounds through my TV Speakers. Now I just recently purchased a 7.1 receiver and I'm using the HDMI ARC channels and now I have my cable box connected to my receiver instead of my TV. What puzzles me is the ARC should allow Audio to output from the TV to the Receiver but it doesn't while using the internet. I see that the TV has only one Optical output port on it but that still doesn't output any audio to my receiver when on the internet and all it's applications. Does anyone have similar issues? Please let me know if this can be resolved or not. Thanks.


Try this first, have everything connected HDMI to receiver than output HDMI to TV HDMI arc input 2. Now go to TV settings- Menu-setup-viera link settings-default speakers- and choose Theater. Than I don't know what receiver you have but on my onkyo I just enable ARC and it works.

Other option is optical which should work also. Optical to receiver.

TV's - Panasonic 55ST60 , Panasonic 55GT50 THX, Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's, Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52, Sub-Klipsch Sub 12, Surround - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360, HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,7 TB, Video Processor -Darbee

http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2236715
Latinoheat is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-12-2013, 12:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cigarjohn47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I believe that no question is dumb on AVS. AVS is a place where we can hopefully find answers to most of our A/V problems.

Yes, my receiver has ARC.
Cigarjohn47 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-12-2013, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cigarjohn47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have an Integra DHC-80.3. I have my cable box HDMI connected to my pre-amp's cbl/tv HDMI input. I then have my pre-amp's TV HDMI ARC output connected to my TV's HDMI ARC Input. I do have ARC turned on on my TV and pre-amp, but I'm going to go check on this now.l

So your saying with this setting, you can hit your TV's internet button, choose an app. and be able to hear audio through the speakers connected to your receiver?
Cigarjohn47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt50 65 Inch Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off