PN58C8000 Pink Banding - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2014, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
sub780lime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, no worries about putting it in the Styrofoam while the back is off? That just sounded dangerous to me, but haven't really looked at it. I looked for stands when I first got it and was quite surprised at how expensive they were. If I can find a cheap ebay knockoff, I would do that, but otherwise, will likely try to sell as is, but through in the wall bracket as I won't be using it with the F8500.
sub780lime is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-27-2014, 11:47 AM
Member
 
hawnr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
wow - I should have called squaretrade as well. I did the fix and its good as new. So they let you keep the old tv?
hmm - maybe I should take off the back and set everything back biggrin.gif
hawnr6 is offline  
Old 03-27-2014, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
WVZR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by sub780lime View Post

So, no worries about putting it in the Styrofoam while the back is off? That just sounded dangerous to me, but haven't really looked at it. I looked for stands when I first got it and was quite surprised at how expensive they were. If I can find a cheap ebay knockoff, I would do that, but otherwise, will likely try to sell as is, but through in the wall bracket as I won't be using it with the F8500.

You should have no issues. You might remove the right and left lower screws and then place in the blocks to remove the balance of them. There will be no issues. I stood my C8000 in it's blocks to attach the base and I've got my F8500 blocks here and I'm quite sure it will work well. It won't be there very long for the procedure.

Let them use the F8500 box to transport it since you don't have your C8000 box but I'd be sure to get it returned. When uncrating your F8500 just unlatch the four lower latches on the carton. There's no need to tear it open.

Buy or borrow a DMM.
hobbs47 likes this.
WVZR1 is offline  
Old 03-27-2014, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
WVZR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawnr6 View Post

wow - I should have called squaretrade as well. I did the fix and its good as new. So they let you keep the old tv?
hmm - maybe I should take off the back and set everything back biggrin.gif

I'm quite surprised they didn't have the TSB applied but perhaps the visit by the third party technician wasn't aware of OR didn't feel it a viable fix. The repair facility has to stand behind their repair for a reasonable time and perhaps they didn't think it reasonable. Not every visit could go the same.
WVZR1 is offline  
Old 03-27-2014, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rayjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Send a message via AIM to Rayjr Send a message via Yahoo to Rayjr Send a message via Skype™ to Rayjr
I have been reading this thread for about a week now.
I was gifted a Samsung PN58C680 that had the pink banding issue.....after some reading and finding the Samsung service bulletin... I broke out the trusty Multi Meter and adjusted the VS voltage from the current 200VDC up to the recommended 213VDC....Panel is fixed.
Hardest part of the whole process was removing the 20 screws and reinstalling them.
I do recommend you have a couple extra hands to hold the panel upright while you adjust the voltage...and check the picture.

Just my $.02

RayJr
Rayjr is offline  
Old 03-27-2014, 10:07 PM
Newbie
 
sub780lime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Made the change tonight. Went right to 213v. I leaned the TV against the couch. I didn't really use a test screen, just went off voltage and I would say I am 99% satisfied. I still see the slightest touch of pink in upper right corner in Chrome on my HTPC, but it doesn't show at all on any other input. Very grateful for this advise. I didn't have to shell out much of anything to upgrade my TV, but I can imagine if I would have because of this issue and only found the solution afterwards, I would be quite angry. Instead, I have a much better TV to sell and a possible solution if I run into the same issue on the F8500. Thanks all!
sub780lime is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 08:23 AM
Newbie
 
sub780lime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question, what do you think I should be listing this TV for sale at?
sub780lime is offline  
Old 03-29-2014, 03:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
To Anyone that's made the voltage adjustment.Does the voltage adjustment "completely " get rid of all pink/magenta on full white screens?

Look on craigslist or another site and see what they sell for.People charge a lot for used hdtvs.
Vic12345 is online now  
Old 03-30-2014, 04:44 PM
Member
 
hawnr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vic12345 View Post

To Anyone that's made the voltage adjustment.Does the voltage adjustment "completely " get rid of all pink/magenta on full white screens?

Look on craigslist or another site and see what they sell for.People charge a lot for used hdtvs.

i'd say 99% gone - you can only see it sometimes when you really look for it
hawnr6 is offline  
Old 03-30-2014, 07:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Ok thanks Hawnr6.Reason I asked was because the abl makes the lighter/whiter screens warmer/redder.
Vic12345 is online now  
Old 03-31-2014, 03:03 PM
Newbie
 
sub780lime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was 95% gone. I didn't spend a lot of time fine-tuning it and on all input devices but my HTPC it was gone, so I wasn't too worried. Because the TV is so old, not a lot up for sale and even less with pricing. Can't really go off used Amazon prices as realistic, so I am just looking for some general opinions - what would owners list theirs for?
sub780lime is offline  
Old 04-01-2014, 03:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Answer my own question.In service menu I lowered all white balance too 128 or lower and it has reduced most of the "pink/red color film" on full white screens.I'm still seeing discoloring in the brightest white areas like clouds,waterfalls though.I lowered white gains about 25 each which is quite a lot.bias just slightly reduced.....NOTE I have too completely readjust the whole white balance all over though.I have to do more tweaking ,but now it's a bit softer looking on some stuff and much cleaner on other stuff.****I use cool color tone on tv which has the exact same color/white balance as the service mode****.Be aware you can fry your tv by going into service mode, and write down the settings before changing anything.

Edit I've still got somewhat minor pink bands going across full white screens which I only notice on white screen commercials,and a couple of very minor purple blotches/dirty screen panning on hockey.Its still seems like a big improvement the way I did it,however I'm not sure if I could of just lowered red gain to zero in regular menu.
Vic12345 is online now  
Old 04-06-2014, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whityfrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Just adjusted my 58c8000. Vs was at 210 and sure enough 213 did the trick. Took the yrr clockwise from 3 o clock to 4:30 and have noticeably better blacks also. Just FYI, there are two adjustment pots right next to eachother in the yrr area. Its the one on the right. Will definently hold off on the 8500 purchase as my plasma is performing better than ever. Also keep in mind the back panel has two types of screws. They are the same size but the outer screws are threaded differently than the inland screws. Please keep these separated.
whityfrd is offline  
Old 04-06-2014, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whityfrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vic12345 View Post

To Anyone that's made the voltage adjustment.Does the voltage adjustment "completely " get rid of all pink/magenta on full white screens?

Look on craigslist or another site and see what they sell for.People charge a lot for used hdtvs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawnr6 View Post

i'd say 99% gone - you can only see it sometimes when you really look for it

Oh its definently gone. What's left behind is the usual dithering that may be mistaken for banding.
whityfrd is offline  
Old 04-08-2014, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
CW4Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just completed the voltage change on our PN58C6500. Found the voltage was set at just a touch over 209 volts. We had a tremendous amount of pink banding at the top and abouut 1/2 of the center. Our unit was purchased in 9/2010. With a volt meter I moved the VS pot upto 213 and OMG the tv picture is better than new. Now only if the voltage fix holds for another 3 years or so!

Thanks to all of the folks who have contributed to this resolution!
CW4Pilot is offline  
Old 04-14-2014, 06:55 PM
Member
 
kwokdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the firmware update described in the service bulletin required in order to safely adjust the voltage?

Ready to do this thang tonight....
kwokdog is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 12:01 PM
Member
 
kwokdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwokdog View Post

Is the firmware update described in the service bulletin required in order to safely adjust the voltage?

Ready to do this thang tonight....

Did the update. No pink banding anymore. Set the voltage to 212.8, a bit above where it stopped showing the band but a bit under 213.... Also, my firmware was up to date before performing the adjustment.

2 questions:

- Is this something we can expect to encounter again / have to make another adjustment in the future?
- Can someone please provide the link to the CNET recommended settings (or are there other more qualified recommended settings available)? EDIT: http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_102-500232/samsung-pn50c8000-picture-settings/

Thanks!





kwokdog is offline  
Old 04-17-2014, 09:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
On mine there's 2 issues -pink discoloring which may show up in various ways banding,discoloring anywhere etc..There's also the purple dirty screen too that mostly only shows on hockey/winter sports which is more noticable when the camera moves from side too side.
Vic12345 is online now  
Old 04-18-2014, 07:13 PM
Member
 
kwokdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwokdog View Post

Did the update. No pink banding anymore. Set the voltage to 212.8, a bit above where it stopped showing the band but a bit under 213.... Also, my firmware was up to date before performing the adjustment.

2 questions:

- Is this something we can expect to encounter again / have to make another adjustment in the future?
- Can someone please provide the link to the CNET recommended settings (or are there other more qualified recommended settings available)? EDIT: http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_102-500232/samsung-pn50c8000-picture-settings/

Thanks!

OK so my screen just went pop fiz. Totally dead display. Still have audio but something is definitely fried..... Beware!!!
kwokdog is offline  
Old 04-18-2014, 08:24 PM
Member
 
kwokdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwokdog View Post

OK so my screen just went pop fiz. Totally dead display. Still have audio but something is definitely fried..... Beware!!!

Product Name SKU Price Qty Subtotal
Subtotal $93.02
UPS - UPS Ground $11.80
Discount (SJHDR9) -$9.30
Grand Total $95.52

Samsung BN96-14979A Y-Main Board
sj-BN96-14979A $24.34
Ordered: 1
$24.34
Samsung BN44-00334A Power Supply
sj-BN44-00334A $44.34
Ordered: 1
$44.34
Samsung BN96-14977A X-Main Board
sj-BN96-14977A $24.34
Ordered: 1
$24.34
kwokdog is offline  
Old 04-18-2014, 11:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
That's a pain,but thanks for the update.Now I'm really thinking twice about doing this.
Vic12345 is online now  
Old 04-19-2014, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
What was the original voltage before you made adjustment?
Vic12345 is online now  
Old 04-28-2014, 03:14 PM
Member
 
kwokdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Voltage was 209 before adjustment. I just received a new power supply, x and y main boards. We shall see how that goes...
kwokdog is offline  
Old 04-28-2014, 05:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by sub780lime View Post

It was 95% gone. I didn't spend a lot of time fine-tuning it and on all input devices but my HTPC it was gone, so I wasn't too worried. Because the TV is so old, not a lot up for sale and even less with pricing. Can't really go off used Amazon prices as realistic, so I am just looking for some general opinions - what would owners list theirs for?

I fix TVs regularly for resale. A 60" FHD plasma in my area (UK) goes for about £500 on free ad sites, which is about $850. However UK prices are higher. Bigger TVs are also a real pain to sell. So maybe $600 to $700, lowering price by $50 per week until sold.

My university has a 63" Sammy professional plasma monitor up on the wall with this problem. Over the past month, it's been getting worse, now the bottom half of the screen is pink on a full white pattern. Just waiting for them to take it down and throw it by the dumpsters... it'll be in the car in 30 seconds. That being said it's been cycling about 10 different slides for the past 2 years so I wouldn't be surprised if it is burned in badly.
tom669 is online now  
Old 04-28-2014, 07:51 PM
Newbie
 
selivingston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just did the Vs adjustment this morning and the banding disappeared on my 58C8000. Tonight, no banding, but a small white disc now showing constantly at the bottom of the screen about 1/3 of the screen width from right edge. I don't see this mentioned by anyone else.

]
selivingston is offline  
Old 04-29-2014, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by selivingston View Post

Just did the Vs adjustment this morning and the banding disappeared on my 58C8000. Tonight, no banding, but a small white disc now showing constantly at the bottom of the screen about 1/3 of the screen width from right edge. I don't see this mentioned by anyone else.

]

Did you chip or crack the panel while working on it at all?
tom669 is online now  
Old 04-29-2014, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
selivingston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No chips or cracks I'm aware of. Did not drop the panel or anything like that. It worked fine in the morning after we made the adjustment and was alright when I first turned it on later in the evening, but then the issue showed up about 5 minutes later.
selivingston is offline  
Old 04-29-2014, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by selivingston View Post

No chips or cracks I'm aware of. Did not drop the panel or anything like that. It worked fine in the morning after we made the adjustment and was alright when I first turned it on later in the evening, but then the issue showed up about 5 minutes later.

Check that area very carefully with the TV, any mark visible while it is off? I have never seen a plasma panel do that. I think it's some kind of internal gas leakage which probably isn't repairable. Mechanical stress when working on it could have damaged that part of the panel.
tom669 is online now  
Old 04-29-2014, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
selivingston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help. Unfortunately, you're right. I looked at that area with a drop light with the TV turned off and sure enough there is a crack. Like I said we didn't drop it or anything so I'm not sure how it happened.
selivingston is offline  
Old 04-29-2014, 02:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by selivingston View Post

Thanks for the help. Unfortunately, you're right. I looked at that area with a drop light with the TV turned off and sure enough there is a crack. Like I said we didn't drop it or anything so I'm not sure how it happened.
When you were working on it, did you use cushions on it laid down, or did you have it mounted on the stand? These newer panels can flex when on the stand (very thin) which can stress the panel if pushing on the back of it.
tom669 is online now  
 

Tags
Samsung Pn58c8000 58 3d Plasma Tv 16 9 Hdtv 1080p 58in Ws Plasma 1080p 3d Ready 600hz 4 Hdmi Ultra S , Samsung Pn58c8000 58 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off