PN58C8000 Pink Banding - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #181 of 202 Old 10-12-2014, 09:37 PM
Member
 
al2fast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just did the voltage adjustment to get rid of the pink banding. Checked with my meter and was at 216v already and bumped up to 218v and pink banding all gone. I have a pnc58c590.
al2fast is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 202 Old 10-26-2014, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So were you able to get your tv fixed after all? I only ask because i have the pn58c8000 with the pink bandwidth and it's driving me nuts. Thinking of buying that factory remote too.
Xtopher34 is offline  
post #183 of 202 Old 10-27-2014, 08:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by psusith View Post
so...i was able to get into the factory menu. I tried the upgrade and it said "no match." i did exactly what the bulletin said - pdp_logic subdirectory, renamed the file to logic.bin, etc. I verified i have the right model number (3d, 58" plasma, 2010). Tried the stick formated in fat and fat32. Nothing seems to make it work. I checked the firmware, and it's the most current. I don't know what's wrong with it. Perhaps it could be because this is my second panel, i had a panel replacement when this issue happened the first time back in 2012, i'm thinking they replaced it with a panel that's slightly different, and this isn't allowing the update.

Guess i'm stuck with the voltage adjustment.
so did you get yout tv to work? I have the same problem it's annoying and i was thinking of buying the factory remote.
Xtopher34 is offline  
post #184 of 202 Old 10-29-2014, 09:05 PM
Newbie
 
snohman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i had the pink banding issue, tried the voltage increase which worked for about 3-4 months, and now its back with a vengeance.

technically, i could go ahead and try to fix this again by increasing the voltage even more but dont feel comfortable continuing to go down this road. already have battled with samsung and had a panel replaced before - the only thing i feel like is worthwhile is to get rid of the TV and buy a new non-Samsung TV at this point...

their tv quality for plasmas from 2010-2011 are notoriously bad.
snohman is offline  
post #185 of 202 Old 11-11-2014, 09:57 PM
Member
 
TheVehicle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the pink banding issue, but fortunately I was still in the last two months of a four-year extended warranty. They came out and replaced the panel today and I've got a brand-new TV!
TheVehicle is offline  
post #186 of 202 Old 11-28-2014, 03:48 PM
Member
 
JasonR27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post
Has anyone tried the network factory remote on the C8000 model? It worked fine on the D7000/D8000 models.

http://samsung.rainerullrich.de/

There is a translation link at the top of the web page.

Larry
Yes! I just tried this and along with some other tips, it worked! My PN58C8000 which has had the pink band progressively getting worse for well over 18 months is fixed!

I downloaded and installed the software linked above. It's not in English, but if you're fairly tech savvy, you can kind of guess what the error messages are saying and move past them. For simplicity's sake, consider turning off your firewall temporarily and run the application "as Administrator".

As I have one of the 3D models linked in the PDF, I could use the software linked from this post:
PN58C8000 Pink Banding

I formatted a thumb drive as FAT32 and put the software in the folder PDP_LOGIC and named it LOGIC.bin

Then I powered down the TV and inserted the thumb drive into one of the USB ports on the TV. Then I turned the TV on and launch the software. Eventually you'll probably be asked for the IP address of your TV. You can probably get that from your router or Samsung DLNA software. Enter the IP and make sure the remote connects successfully. Test it by toggling mute or something simple like that. If it works, hit the "Info" button on your physical remote, and then mash the "Factory" button on the software remote about 4 or 5 times per second. After a few presses, my factory menu came up, WITH the sections that are missing if you access the factory menu via a Mute-1-8-2-Power start-up.

Oh - as others have warned, you will lose some picture settings doing this update! I forgot to jot mine down, but honestly right now I don't even care.

Thank you all for your contributes in this thread! My TV looks like new again, and I didn't even have to pull it off the wall! I'm thrilled, and can hardly wait for my wife to come home and see what I've been up to today.

- Jason
JasonR27 is offline  
post #187 of 202 Old 11-28-2014, 05:14 PM
Member
 
pizzaiolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone tried the bin file on PN63C8000?

Has any brave soul tried this?
pizzaiolo is offline  
post #188 of 202 Old 11-28-2014, 07:52 PM
Member
 
drvasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVZR1 View Post
 I replaced mine with an F8500 but I shopped hard for the VT or ZT first. I'm certainly NOT a "fanboy" but in none of my posts did I ever say "never". I did this time buy the first ever "extended service" plan that I've ever considered.
EDIT: I'm waiting to see if this pans out (The Official Samsung PNxxC6500, PNxxC7000, and PNxxC8000 Owner's Discussion Thread) and try the firmware fix before trying the volt adjustment.

WVZR1,

I own a PN58C8000 purchased in July 2010. The pink/magenta banding issue has been a huge annoying problem since about 13 months after owning the tv. It usually only rears its ugly head on the display when its mostly white. I was not happy when I first noticed it and also realized the warranty had expired.

I have since then learned to just live with it and every now and then (1-2 times a year) I would do a web search and see if anyone else was having the same issues or knew how to fix it etc. It is embarrassing when watch a movie and a guest, friend, or family member asks about the pink spots... A few months back I finally decided to get rid of my set and purchase a Panasonic VT, ZT or a Samsung F8500.

I'm very happy now that I stumbled upon this thread tonight and I plan to take the back panel off and adjust the voltage and hopefully fix the issue. I could never sell it in the past because I didn't want the buyer to have to deal with the pink problems. I want to sell the tv in great condition.

If I can fix it I will probably decide to sell it and purchase a Samsung 64F8500 to replace it. Do you like yours? how is the PQ compared to my model? Black levels? Contrast, Brightness. All the reviews say "best plasma Samsung has ever produced" but I can't find a Panasonic plasma without paying an outrageous amount of $$$ (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BC4SNMK/...ing=UTF8&psc=1).

I will post up pictures and voltage readings when the project is complete. Thank you all for your help an assistance on this site!

-dave

Last edited by drvasek; 11-29-2014 at 08:19 AM.
drvasek is offline  
post #189 of 202 Old 12-17-2014, 02:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I have the PN63C8000 and I called Samsung for repair and referenced the service bulletin. They would not acknowledge the service bulletin but after 1.5 hours the ECR finally gave me a one-time accommodation for the repair. Today The technician came out and updated the Logic firmware and the pink band is not noticeable at all right now. He did not crank up the voltage and said the LOGIC firmware update usually fixes this problem. I have 90 days on the repair so if it comes back I'm covered for 3 more months.
Jim Smith 2 is offline  
post #190 of 202 Old 12-17-2014, 02:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I have the LOGIC.bin file and will send a link once I have 5 posts.
Jim Smith 2 is offline  
post #191 of 202 Old 12-17-2014, 02:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
The LOGIC.bin file is for the PN63C7000YFXZA or PN63C8000YFXZA models
Jim Smith 2 is offline  
post #192 of 202 Old 12-17-2014, 02:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Here is the LOGIC.bin file for the PN63C7000YFXZA or PN63C8000YFXZA

http://www.mediafire.com/download/el...v8yb/LOGIC.bin
Jim Smith 2 is offline  
post #193 of 202 Old 12-24-2014, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom669 View Post
Are you looking to fix your TV yourself?

This issue is extremely common and can be fixed by adjusting the Vs point on the TV with an insulated screwdriver.

No panel replacement is necessary.
Hello AVS Forum members, I am a newbie to this particular forum and came upon it just by chance searching for a solution to my plasma tv problem. The same one (pink banding) that so many others have been concerned about. I read with interest tom669's solution and decided to give it a try. It seemed too simple, considering I had two tv techies tell me my tv was toast and I needed a new panel. After carefully removing the rear panel, and locating the voltage adjusting screw, turning it very slightly clockwise, cleared the pink bands. At the time of posting, the tv appears back to normal, and I am hoping, it remains that way.
So the main purpose of joining was to express my sincere thanks to tom669 for his advice, he probably saved me megabucks for something I really didn't need.
I'm not much of an expert on electronics, but I do know a few things and I hope I can repay the forum by offering advice to others at some time. Thanks again Mike
jhachey likes this.
Mike381 is offline  
post #194 of 202 Old 12-27-2014, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
viking74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I have a PN51D8000 and just noticed the pink band when watching a hockey game. Only 3 years old and already having problems, then I found this thread. I checked the Vs voltage and it was a 205 when the sticker said 207 so I bumped it up and the pink band is now gone. I don't know if it's a permanent fix but I'm happy for now. Even if I have to adjust it every few years I'd be OK with that.
viking74 is offline  
post #195 of 202 Old 01-01-2015, 03:47 PM
Member
 
PSUSith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Follow on to my previous post. I did not get the factory remote to work. I think when I had my first warranty panel replacement, the new panel either had a different logic board or the most current .bin already on it. So I pumped the voltage to 218v (a service tech already pumped it to 216v as a prior repair - the second time the banding appeared). Well, the 218 worked for about 2 weeks - banding came back again. Overall, highly disappointed with Damnsung over this horrible design flaw. But I found a solution! I dumped this POS for a Sony XBR last weekend. It worked! No pink banding!

So, I have the factory remote as well as the standard BN59-01055A remote (great condition) for sale. I use DirectV so I hardly used the silver remote. PM me if you want one or both.
PSUSith is offline  
post #196 of 202 Old 01-02-2015, 05:08 PM
Member
 
pizzaiolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Smith 2 View Post
Here is the LOGIC.bin file for the PN63C7000YFXZA or PN63C8000YFXZA

http://www.mediafire.com/download/el...v8yb/LOGIC.bin
Jim, thank you very much!
pizzaiolo is offline  
post #197 of 202 Old 01-05-2015, 07:17 PM
Newbie
 
flsts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the PN58C680. I had been living with the pink bands for a while. They showed up just after my extended warranty ran out. I used the service mode IR codes on My Pronto remote to create a Service button. I downloaded the firmware for the 58 inch 3D and the first try didn't work. I got a mismatch error. I knew I had everything right so I downloaded the file again. The first time it was 83K. The second time it was 704K. The download must have been bad the first time. With the good file it took the upgrade and my bands are gone!!!

Thanks to everyone for sharing your knowledge, experience, and files!

-=Scott=-
flsts is offline  
post #198 of 202 Old 01-15-2015, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TH3_FRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Has anyone tried to program a Harmony with the service IR codes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by flsts View Post
I have the PN58C680. I had been living with the pink bands for a while. They showed up just after my extended warranty ran out. I used the service mode IR codes on My Pronto remote to create a Service button. I downloaded the firmware for the 58 inch 3D and the first try didn't work. I got a mismatch error. I knew I had everything right so I downloaded the file again. The first time it was 83K. The second time it was 704K. The download must have been bad the first time. With the good file it took the upgrade and my bands are gone!!!

Thanks to everyone for sharing your knowledge, experience, and files!

-=Scott=-
TH3_FRB is offline  
post #199 of 202 Old 01-16-2015, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUSith View Post
Follow on to my previous post. I did not get the factory remote to work. I think when I had my first warranty panel replacement, the new panel either had a different logic board or the most current .bin already on it. So I pumped the voltage to 218v (a service tech already pumped it to 216v as a prior repair - the second time the banding appeared). Well, the 218 worked for about 2 weeks - banding came back again. Overall, highly disappointed with Damnsung over this horrible design flaw. But I found a solution! I dumped this POS for a Sony XBR last weekend. It worked! No pink banding!

So, I have the factory remote as well as the standard BN59-01055A remote (great condition) for sale. I use DirectV so I hardly used the silver remote. PM me if you want one or both.
I ordered a factory remote from e-Bay, which arrived yesterday. It didn't work at first, either (maybe because I have a PN58C7000, not 8000). Finally, using it in concert with the default TV remote, and putting the TV in 'hotel' mode, I got the cycling screens (R,G,B,gray). Sorry, but I was poking around pretty randomly, so I'm not sure what did it. The Control menu then gave me the option of downloading the USB stick with 'logic.bin' on it. I had tried the 'hotel mode' route before I ordered the factory remote, and it did not work for me.

In the end, I guess the important thing is, the download worked 100%. This is my second panel (the first was replaced when 18 months old after a long battle with Samsung. I specifically asked the tech if this meant I'd need a new panel every year, and he laughed and said "No, they usually last a lot longer".The second started showing the bands after about a year, and I've put up with them getting steadily worse for over a year now). The TV looks, if anything, BETTER than ever! So I'm happy with the TV again, but will not be purchasing Samsung products in the future. They know they have a problem, and know how to fix it, but have a company mentality that prevents them from doing so. I'll shop for a different mentality from now on...
hevkev is offline  
post #200 of 202 Old 01-17-2015, 09:41 PM
Member
 
JCUMV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just did the Logic.bin update and on my PN58C8000 and it worked like a charm. There a lot of detail and 'How-To' over on the official owners thread. FYI, I did not need to make any adjustments to voltage. Good luck to all.
JCUMV is offline  
post #201 of 202 Old 01-19-2015, 10:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
toneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northern California
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post
Has anyone tried the network factory remote on the C8000 model? It worked fine on the D7000/D8000 models.

http://samsung.rainerullrich.de/

There is a translation link at the top of the web page.

Larry
Thanks for the info--I tried it myself...had to open port TCP 55000 on my router to allow this tool to communicate with my PN58C8000 (instructions mention that this may need to be done)...was then able to access full service menu options including the one to perform the Logic USB D/L.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigMiggen View Post
When he wasn't looking I copied the file. it is the 3d 58 inch firmware. I have a pn58c6500 and the 3d version does indeed work on my tv as stated in the service bulliten(although my tv isn't 3d). Sorry for all you guys with the 64 inchers. I only have the 58 inch 3d firmware. By the way, the firmware was enough, didn't need to adjust the voltage. Mine is 209.4v from the factory by yhe way.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/bgmlscnmvzynfz6/[3D58]LOGIC.bin
Thanks for the Logic f/w!

Anyways, I did the Vs adjustment first (thanks to tom669 for the Vs suggestion)--it was set to 207 V...I bumped it up to 213 V (roughly 1/8 turn clockwise on the pot); in my estimation it got rid of most of the pink banding--in really "hard-driven" bright/white scenes I could see some very faint pink banding but not really bright-pink or stretching horizontally across the screen every now and then. Basically not perfect but helluva much better than before.

I then decided to see if I could install the logic firmware file using the German Samsung software remote alluded to above; I don't know if the firmware actually got installed to the logic board--I could see the progress where it said "Upgrading", then I was able to catch for a very brief moment where I think it said "Success"--I say "brief" and "I think" because next thing I knew, my TV power-cycled...so I can only assume and hope that the logic f/w file was installed from the USB drive since I didn't see any error messages about the upgrade attempt failing due to wrong file or whatnot. Speaking of the file itself--because I don't really know for sure if the file got installed...can anyone else here who was able to install the logic file successfully see what Logic SW version and checksum is being reported on their TV? Mine reports SW version 11-11-30 and Checksum 0x1B35.

In any case, after installing (I think) the Logic file the pink banding is 99% no longer evident--I don't know if it's just my eyes playing tricks on me or maybe I must be trying really hard to look for even the slightest pink banding, but on mostly/nearly all-white scenes I do see some very faint banding--actually it's more like very faint splotches rather than banding, and I do mean "very faint"...and this could very well be due to the fact that my display is ~4 years old since after all it is a C-series Samsumg plasma--but under normal viewing (i.e., I'm not OCD consciously trying to look for it) I don't see it at all.

Bottom line--after doing the above I no longer have to consider replacing my display with a newer model, or have a service tech come out to fix it, or even perhaps paying for those consumer equipment protection plans like what DirecTV offers (yes they can and will retroactively cover equipment bought before you enroll in their plan, within reason) to get it fixed.

Tony

Last edited by toneman; 01-19-2015 at 10:09 AM.
toneman is offline  
post #202 of 202 Unread Today, 10:54 PM
Senior Member
 
pretsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NKY
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonR27 View Post
Yes! I just tried this and along with some other tips, it worked! My PN58C8000 which has had the pink band progressively getting worse for well over 18 months is fixed!

I downloaded and installed the software linked above. It's not in English, but if you're fairly tech savvy, you can kind of guess what the error messages are saying and move past them. For simplicity's sake, consider turning off your firewall temporarily and run the application "as Administrator".

As I have one of the 3D models linked in the PDF, I could use the software linked from this post:
PN58C8000 Pink Banding

I formatted a thumb drive as FAT32 and put the software in the folder PDP_LOGIC and named it LOGIC.bin

Then I powered down the TV and inserted the thumb drive into one of the USB ports on the TV. Then I turned the TV on and launch the software. Eventually you'll probably be asked for the IP address of your TV. You can probably get that from your router or Samsung DLNA software. Enter the IP and make sure the remote connects successfully. Test it by toggling mute or something simple like that. If it works, hit the "Info" button on your physical remote, and then mash the "Factory" button on the software remote about 4 or 5 times per second. After a few presses, my factory menu came up, WITH the sections that are missing if you access the factory menu via a Mute-1-8-2-Power start-up.

Oh - as others have warned, you will lose some picture settings doing this update! I forgot to jot mine down, but honestly right now I don't even care.

Thank you all for your contributes in this thread! My TV looks like new again, and I didn't even have to pull it off the wall! I'm thrilled, and can hardly wait for my wife to come home and see what I've been up to today.

- Jason
I just wanted to confirm, I just did this method tonight on my PN58C8000 and it does work with the software. Also used the correct 3D58logic.bin file as well. Thanks so much!
pretsam is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn58c8000 58 3d Plasma Tv 16 9 Hdtv 1080p 58in Ws Plasma 1080p 3d Ready 600hz 4 Hdmi Ultra S , Samsung Pn58c8000 58 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off