PN58C8000 Pink Banding - Page 8 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #211 of 230 Old 03-20-2015, 02:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Update 3
Ok All good managed to flash it with standard remote.

The key to finding that usb d/l is to look not in pdp options but under svc it is located in that folder.

Once in there click on usb d/l (make sure usb is insered into usb port on tv with that folder and file like in service bulletin) and then click right on it and it should say upgrading.
Now don't touch anything and let it finish.

Once it is complete it will turn off and then back on. Takes about 1minute.

Now testing for pink banding on my ps58c7000 and will update how to do it with standard remote. Very simple once you know how.
xlr8or is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 230 Old 03-20-2015, 03:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Update 4
Brilliant the software upgrade has fixed the purple banding on white background.

Very very happy. Will post how it was all done soon but basically its like this and if you are not confident with it don't do it but if you are techy and like this stuff and you root your android then go for it.

Rough outline
1. Plug usb into usb connector with the correct file and folder as per service bulletin.
2. Turn hotel menu on
3. Go into service menu
4. Go into svc/logic usb d/l and click right and it should say upgrading and wait for 1 minute and tv will turn off and then back on again and all should be good.
5. Go back into hotel menu and turn it off. {not that important but nice to return it back to default]

Importantly for my tv
To enable hotel menu on silver remote
press [mute] [1] [1] [9] [enter] whilst tv is on
In there, Enabling Hotel Mode and then
"Clone USB to TV" (to get a current channellist)
It will pop up with something like channels found or something hit ok on that

Press power off on remote

Now enter service menu whilst tv is off
by pressing [info] [menu] [mute] [power] on your remote

It should turn on and you see service menu and you should see an extended menu under control
No need to go into control/pdp but you should see it available if you have correctly enabled hotel mode on and received the extended menu(just check its visible)
Now simply go into svc in default menu and there should be a usb d/l option
click right on remote and right again and it should say upgrading
Don't touch anything and HOLD YOUR BREATH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! for about 1 minute and then it should turn off and then on again.

Check your pinks on white mine is all great now..
and whilst tv is on
Go into hotel menu by pressing on remote
mute 1 1 9 enter
Here just turn off hotel menu by clicking right on it twice and it should say hotel menu off

Voila turn off tv via remote and then back on adjust your picture settings to before and audio and enjoy your new Samsung non pink display with a nice cold beer.

PS - my model was ps58c7000 Samsung 2010 model
I take no responsibility if you fail to follow this guide or you press something else on your remote. It is risky but caveat emptor. Hope this helps someone
LazyBoy1 and cr671 like this.
xlr8or is offline  
post #213 of 230 Old 03-21-2015, 05:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by toneman View Post
I then decided to see if I could install the logic firmware file using the German Samsung software remote alluded to above; I don't know if the firmware actually got installed to the logic board--I could see the progress where it said "Upgrading", then I was able to catch for a very brief moment where I think it said "Success"--I say "brief" and "I think" because next thing I knew, my TV power-cycled...so I can only assume and hope that the logic f/w file was installed from the USB drive since I didn't see any error messages about the upgrade attempt failing due to wrong file or whatnot. Speaking of the file itself--because I don't really know for sure if the file got installed...can anyone else here who was able to install the logic file successfully see what Logic SW version and checksum is being reported on their TV? Mine reports SW version 11-11-30 and Checksum 0x1B35.

Yes I can confirm this is what I also see with new software:
logic sw version 11-11-30
logic sw checksum 0x1B35

The original showed:
logic sw version: 10-06-21
logic sw checksum: 0x160c

Furthermore, I can also confirm the panel temperature shown just above the the logic sw version is cooler on the new software.
My original which showed the pink was 41C whilst with new software it shows 39C.

24hrs and still no pink banding with this software.
The panel is as good as new and exceptional. Thank you Samsung.
xlr8or is offline  
post #214 of 230 Old 03-21-2015, 07:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
toneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northern California
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xlr8or View Post
Yes I can confirm this is what I also see with new software:
logic sw version 11-11-30
logic sw checksum 0x1B35

The original showed:
logic sw version: 10-06-21
logic sw checksum: 0x160c
Thanks for the confirmation!

Tony
toneman is offline  
post #215 of 230 Old 04-08-2015, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
Pres Clubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Firmware wont load

Hi,

I have been reading all these posts from this thread and from the main owners thread. I have to say I am frustrated as hell. i have no problem entering the service menu with the regular remote using the codes but every time I try the download it just says fail.

I have the right structure on usb, file name etc. Even did several new downloads and tried 3 different usb sticks. I have the PN58C7000 and the correct file. i have got into the service in several ways but always a fail. Every time I go into hotel menu I lose my settings as well, which is fine but frustrating as it wont upgrade.

All I can think of is I did upgrade for version 1037 from the tv, and this may have prevented the upgrade. i also did a factory reset from the service menu and tried again with the same fail result

Has anyone with my model had the same experience with trying this after installing 1037? Or maybe is there a way to downgrade that to earlier then try the usb again?

If it wont go I gues I can try the voltage fix but was hoping to avoid that. Everyone that seems to have down the firmware has had great success.
Any feedback appreciated
Pres Clubs is offline  
post #216 of 230 Old 05-14-2015, 01:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the Help

I joined just to say thanks for helping to solve the pink banding problem I had with my Samsung Plasma PN58C800 tv. Special thanks to BigMiggen for posting the LOGIN.bin file and xlr8or for the instructions. I had to try a few different things over a few hours, but these two contributors really helped.

I tried downloading the LOGIN.bin file using Safari on my Mac, but that didn't work. I was able to get the file using Internet Explorer and put it on a FAT32 formatted USB stick. The file gets renamed Logic.bin and put in a PDP_LOGIC folder on the USB stick as instructed.

Put the USB stick into the tv and turn on the tv using {Mute}, {1}, {8}, {2} and {Power} on the tv remote. This should bring up the factory menu.

xlr8or mentioned to activate the hotel option first, so I had done that.

All that said, the extended menu (so you can see the PDP and USB) options did not work at first. I'm not sure what I did other than repeatedly take the USB in/out and turn the tv on/off. So a bit of magic happens in this step.

Attached is a screenshot of the menu for your information. Seems the post wants to turn the image upside down. Sorry about that inconvenience.

Then, for some reason, I saw the extended menu and was able to download the firmware update from the USB. Now, I can watch hockey playoffs without the dreaded pink banding.

By the way, I called Samsung support and they were less than useless. Told me to download the update on their website (which I did and that did not solve the problem). I mentioned the solution on here, and the guy acted like he had no idea. I also tried Geek Squad and they said they could fix it for $79. Okay fine. But the next appointment was in 4 weeks!

So thanks to this thread, I was able to do the firmware update and things are looking good.

And, I will not be buying any Samsung products in the future.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FactoryMenu.jpeg
Views:	77
Size:	408.9 KB
ID:	717186  
nonmuse is offline  
post #217 of 230 Old 06-17-2015, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
This one is stumping me.

My neighbors PN58C8000 went out on him (no picture, no sound). He bought a new tv and I asked him if I could take a crack at fixing the PN58 and if not I would recycle for him. A little research and multi-meter use and I guessed the Zsus and buffers had gone out. Ordered parts ($100), installed and TV fired right up. So far a cheap TV with parts and a little bit of my time.

Now I have the pink banding issue on this TV. I could take it off the wall and open it up and adjust the voltage (super easy) but I am being stubborn and want to flash the TV with new firmware mentioned in this post...but it is not working for me. I must be overlooking an important step. Here is what I have done:

1. Formatted USB drive as FAT32 (doing this from disk utility on iMac)
2. Downloaded logic.bin file with Chrome
3. Created PDP_LOGIC folder in root and put in logic.bin file (renamed from original download)
4. Insert USB and power up TV using mute, 1,8,2 power
5. Entered SVC menu and can see T-CON USB Download...but it is greyed out and I cannot access.

Have tried this with Hotel option on and off but no luck. What am I missing????
Highstormtotal is offline  
post #218 of 230 Old 06-19-2015, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Having the exact same issue as Highstormtotal above ^. On a side note, I've been offered a UN65JS8500 (regularly $3K) for $1K in exchange for my PN63C8000 - does that sound fishy to your guys??? It sounds like a good deal, but I love my plasma (except for the pink banding). It seems like a good deal, but I'd love some advice/opinions. They dont usually "give" stuff away... I went to look at the JS8500, but they wont let you adjust it in the store, and its insanely bright - I'm worried it wont be as good of a picture. Any experience/help would be greatly appreciated.
TexLSU is offline  
post #219 of 230 Old 07-02-2015, 07:21 AM
Member
 
zackshea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Purchase

Do you guys think it would be wise to purchase a 58C8000 with confirmed pink issue? I am tech savvy and believe I could apply the update to fix it. Is it a pretty much guaranteed fix? I could buy it for $575.

Thank you,
zackshea is offline  
post #220 of 230 Old 07-03-2015, 09:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by zackshea View Post
Do you guys think it would be wise to purchase a 58C8000 with confirmed pink issue? I am tech savvy and believe I could apply the update to fix it. Is it a pretty much guaranteed fix? I could buy it for $575.

Thank you,
If you are tech geek its an easy fix. These plasmas are excellent tv's with superb image quality.
Good luck.
xlr8or is offline  
post #221 of 230 Old 07-03-2015, 09:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highstormtotal View Post
This one is stumping me.

My neighbors PN58C8000 went out on him (no picture, no sound). He bought a new tv and I asked him if I could take a crack at fixing the PN58 and if not I would recycle for him. A little research and multi-meter use and I guessed the Zsus and buffers had gone out. Ordered parts ($100), installed and TV fired right up. So far a cheap TV with parts and a little bit of my time.

Now I have the pink banding issue on this TV. I could take it off the wall and open it up and adjust the voltage (super easy) but I am being stubborn and want to flash the TV with new firmware mentioned in this post...but it is not working for me. I must be overlooking an important step. Here is what I have done:

1. Formatted USB drive as FAT32 (doing this from disk utility on iMac)
2. Downloaded logic.bin file with Chrome
3. Created PDP_LOGIC folder in root and put in logic.bin file (renamed from original download)
4. Insert USB and power up TV using mute, 1,8,2 power
5. Entered SVC menu and can see T-CON USB Download...but it is greyed out and I cannot access.

Have tried this with Hotel option on and off but no luck. What am I missing????
Did you follow my steps ?
xlr8or is offline  
post #222 of 230 Old 07-04-2015, 04:55 PM
Member
 
zackshea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pink Banding

I brought home the 58c8000 today and ran the logic.bin file successfully. Not much improvement with the pink areas. I adjusted the voltage per the service announcement. Not much better. I might have to resell the set, unfortunately. My wife doesn't mind the pink splotches, but it will drive me crazy...

Any other suggestions before I list it for sale again?
zackshea is offline  
post #223 of 230 Old 07-05-2015, 02:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi...I thought I followed them all. I was thinking maybe it was a Mac issue but I formatted as a FAT32 and the tv sees that a USB is there in other menus. Not sure why the T-CON USB download is greyed out.
Highstormtotal is offline  
post #224 of 230 Old 07-09-2015, 07:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've been reading this forum for a couple of years. But never willing to make any adjustment. The other day I decided to take the back off and adjust the voltage. I have a PN58C8000 ... is the voltage adjuster port the extra SMALL screw to the right of all the other Vs stuff? The screw driver I had was too big and almost stripped the screw ... I had a tough time turning it and felt like it never rotated. Thus ... no improvement.

So I decided to try the firmware update. Tell me where I went wrong so far:

I bought a USB stick ... formatted it to FAT32.

I downloaded the mediashare file that was listed above.

I created PDP_LOGIC folder and inserted the file inside that folder.

I then plugged stick into TV usb ... went to hotel as listed above.

But by the time I tried to COPY USB to TV ... it says "Copy date from USB to TV set. All of the TV setting value are changed." So I press OK .... and it says "NO file available. Please check the USB and retry."

So I can't get any further than this. I am using my regular controller that the tv came with. The TV realizes I have a stick plugged into the USB port. I know I have the file inside ...it's all that's even on the USB stick. But I can't even get past this step. What am I doing wrong?
PinkBandit is offline  
post #225 of 230 Old 07-09-2015, 07:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by xlr8or View Post
Did you follow my steps ?
I followed your steps and have been stuck. I used the mediashare file:


I formatted FAT32 ... inserted file in the correctly named folder. And when i get to the USB to TV part it says to check USB, etc. As if there is nothing on it. But I know there is.

I got to the hotel part also through the service menu, didn't realize you could do that also.
PinkBandit is offline  
post #226 of 230 Old 07-09-2015, 08:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highstormtotal View Post
Hi...I thought I followed them all. I was thinking maybe it was a Mac issue but I formatted as a FAT32 and the tv sees that a USB is there in other menus. Not sure why the T-CON USB download is greyed out.
I had the same problem when I tried it. Were you able to get the USB copied to TV portion correct? I couldn't even get past that.
PinkBandit is offline  
post #227 of 230 Old 07-10-2015, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Update

Sorry for the multiple posts. Here is an update:

I think the error I made was not renaming the [3D58]LOGIC.bin to simply LOGIC.bin. It struck me today, thus I corrected that mistake.

Inserted USB this morning ... you can get to the hotel mode through the MUTE 1 8 8 Power (or whatever the numbers were) that get you to the service options. You don't have to do anything special to get to the hotel option beforehand. It also gets you to the next steps. Keep in mind I simply used my regular controller my TV came with.

Anyway, I chose the clone tv to USB option (whichever was second to last) and it actually worked. Then I continued the steps as stated by others above. The logic USB d/l actually said "Upgrading..." for about a minute or so, then the TV turned itself off. I turned it back on with the special steps just so I could turn off hotel mode. I couldn't find where I could see my updated LOGIC firmware information ... however, I turned on my TV and used my DVR recording of something that is my reference material for the HUGE pink banding and .... drum roll ... it was GONE!

I mean, maybe there is something slightly there in the upper right. I see just a little bit of dithering or linebleed, whatever the term. But that was slightly present whenever I first got the TV. Just part of the plasma deal. But as far at the PINK BANDING goes ... it was 99% better. Not even close. I went from being bombarded and embarrassed by it, to having to look really hard to try to see it, and then wondering if I can even see the slightest traces ... which I'm not sure I can. So the firmware WORKS.

I might still try to up the voltage a tad just because that seemed to be the original fix in this thread. But I'm still trying to figure out which screw is the actual voltage screw that requires turning. No one can really point that out to me on here.

ANYWAY, the bottom line is the FIRMWARE worked for me. And so if I can follow the steps, ANYONE can, because I'm not really very knowledgeable when it comes to uploading stuff, unscrewing stuff, blah blah. I just can't believe my TV looks as good as new. I never had any burn in issues or buzzing. The only thing that was awful was the PINK BANDING that developed. I was actually looking into blowing money on a new TV soon because I felt this set was shot.

Anyway, thanks for the people who provided the help.
PinkBandit is offline  
post #228 of 230 Unread Today, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
justinclarke83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to say thank you for all your post everybody. I bought a PN58C8000 when it came out for $3,000. It started the pink band a year later. A samung repair guy tweaked the voltage and it got better but not much. I just moved and after the move the banding got really bad. I was just about to trash the tv it when I came here and read about the bin file update. luckily I still had my factory remote and it worked!! no more pink band!!!. You just don't know how happy I am to have this fixed. I can't believe i dealed with this for so many years. Thanks again uploader of the file and everyones instructions and comments.
justinclarke83 is offline  
post #229 of 230 Unread Today, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
A few tips that would have saved me some time:
1. Make sure you've downloaded the LOGIC.bin file correctly. It should be about 700K. If you're downloading from the original mediafire link, click through to the awful mediafire site -- you can't just right-click and save.
2. If you don't see the "extended" menus when you're in the factory menu, go to the Hotel section and use the option to copy from the tv to usb. When you return back up the menus, you should now have the extended menus.
3. At least on my version of firmware, the download logic from usb option isn't under the svc menu; it's under the control/pdp menu.

My tv still isn't perfect, so I'll probably adjust the voltage at some point, but it's already better. Thanks for everyone's work here.
Jdpinkbands is online now  
post #230 of 230 Unread Today, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
jhachey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have the logic.bin file for the PN63C590? I was able to remove my pink band with the voltage adjustment, but it would be nice to have the firmware update too. Looking at Service Bulletin that was attached to one of the previous posts, I guess I'm looking for the file: [2D63]LOGIC.bin
jhachey is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn58c8000 58 3d Plasma Tv 16 9 Hdtv 1080p 58in Ws Plasma 1080p 3d Ready 600hz 4 Hdmi Ultra S , Samsung Pn58c8000 58 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off