Is it possible to have over 900 hours usage for a new TV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 06-20-2013, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
 
rjruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: DC
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We supposedely received a "new" TC-P65VT50. We even watched them unbox and screw on the base for the TV with new remote controls and connectors, but no manuals. We did not see any stickers or anything of that sort on the TV itself. Fired it up for assumably the first time and noticed there was no special intro (not sure if there's supposed to be), and the custom picture settings looked like they were set to CNET's settings. I checked the hours used and it read over 900 hours of use and about 100 power cycles. Is it possible that they do lots of testing or breaking in from the manufacturer? Everything else on the panel itself looks new, the backing, components, etc. It acts like a new TV with slight IR from the menu and watching a baseball game. But a simple application of the scrolling white bars gets rid of it completely. I will double check the hours used to make sure I read it correctly when I get home.
rjruiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 06-20-2013, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42degsN 92degsW
Posts: 2,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 102
the simple answer is, double L hockey sticks no. check that # again, and if so well you have some decisions to make.

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....

64" Samsung F8500 Plasma
55" Samsung B8500 Full Array Lcd
Channel Master Dvr
Onkyo 818
Crown xls-2000
Sony Blu-Ray 790
Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Energy Rc-50 Surround
Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub
airgas1998 is online now  
post #3 of 17 Old 06-20-2013, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
smbsocal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
The big question is where did you purchase the TV through if you purchased it through a reseller, so we know where to avoid.
smbsocal is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 06-20-2013, 01:20 PM - Thread Starter
 
rjruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: DC
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We purchased it from BB. In fact we had to wait to get it transferred over for about a week before we had it delivered.
rjruiz is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 06-20-2013, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Jeff Peake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Thats shady, sounds like they sold you a display model.

I had a similar issue with Best Buy. Bought a "new" F8500 plasma. Unboxed it and found a broken off end of an HDMI cable plugged into it. Returned it next day and bought from Cleveland Plasma.

I didnt think to check the hours on it before I returned it. Mine did look new (had stickers on it), so its possible the cable came from the factory.
Jeff Peake is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 06-20-2013, 01:38 PM
Member
 
Jeff Peake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Also, the first time you turn on a VT60 it should take you through a setup process (to set wireless settings and some other stuff).
Jeff Peake is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 06-20-2013, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
 
rjruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: DC
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Peake View Post

Also, the first time you turn on a VT60 it should take you through a setup process (to set wireless settings and some other stuff).

I think I am in the same boat as you. Mine didn't go through any of the setup features. and I just confirmed that it is well over 900 hours.
rjruiz is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 06-20-2013, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42degsN 92degsW
Posts: 2,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjruiz View Post

I think I am in the same boat as you. Mine didn't go through any of the setup features. and I just confirmed that it is well over 900 hours.

then BB bent you over, and took you as a fool. to bad they didn't realize you weren't the average Joe walking off the street. what a disgrace I would be writing to corporate on this one.

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....

64" Samsung F8500 Plasma
55" Samsung B8500 Full Array Lcd
Channel Master Dvr
Onkyo 818
Crown xls-2000
Sony Blu-Ray 790
Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Energy Rc-50 Surround
Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub
airgas1998 is online now  
post #9 of 17 Old 06-20-2013, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
 
rjruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: DC
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by airgas1998 View Post

then BB bent you over, and took you as a fool. to bad they didn't realize you weren't the average Joe walking off the street. what a disgrace I would be writing to corporate on this one.

Trust me, I already have them involved.
rjruiz is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 06-20-2013, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
 
rjruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: DC
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well folks, it boiled down to miscommunication within BB and apparently it was a returned TV so it was in fact used. I am a bit disappointed with the outcome of all this mess and not dealing with BB again. On a positive note, this used TV looks like it was treated very well as I see no blemishes or anything else wrong with it including no burn-in. So we are happy with it, plus we don't have to break it in! Considering we only paid a little over 2000 for it including 2 pairs of new in box 3D glasses, we think its a great deal. Funny though it looks like they knew what they were doing with the TV as it has CNET settings on it when it booted up.
rjruiz is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 06-21-2013, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjruiz View Post

Well folks, it boiled down to miscommunication within BB and apparently it was a returned TV so it was in fact used. I am a bit disappointed with the outcome of all this mess and not dealing with BB again. On a positive note, this used TV looks like it was treated very well as I see no blemishes or anything else wrong with it including no burn-in. So we are happy with it, plus we don't have to break it in! Considering we only paid a little over 2000 for it including 2 pairs of new in box 3D glasses, we think its a great deal. Funny though it looks like they knew what they were doing with the TV as it has CNET settings on it when it booted up.

900 hours and 100ish on/off cycles=a display model, probably not a customer return. Probably did about 3 months display duty.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 06-21-2013, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
 
rjruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: DC
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post

900 hours and 100ish on/off cycles=a display model, probably not a customer return. Probably did about 3 months display duty.

Either way, we have been working with the GM and there is no go on a new TV as expected. Alternatively we were able to achieve a considerable discount and settled on that resolution. The TV works fine and has no issues, we are happy with it.

We appreciate everyone's responses and assistance with this issue.
rjruiz is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 06-21-2013, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adone36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28
What do you mean "no go" on a new tv???? Tell me where you live. I'll come over and rob you. Don't worry, I'll give you half back, we'll call it even.

Tony
adone36 is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 06-22-2013, 01:45 AM
 
somelogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
They "should" get in trouble for it because I believe it's against the law to sell a tv as new when it's not really new. Or is it just an "agreed upon regulation"? I'm pretty sure it's an actual law.
somelogin is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 06-23-2013, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Ace_BB6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Why would you keep it knowing its been used? You paid for a NEW tv?
Ace_BB6 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 06-24-2013, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
gizlaroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Norwich UK
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I would use it as an excuse to get a refund and order a VT60 from somewhere.
gizlaroc is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 06-24-2013, 09:45 AM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've read his other posts and it looks like he bought this TV used to begin with? but man if you bought that TV new? BB should be in major trouble.
garthy232 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off