PN51F8500 - Turning pink with Fios Box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 06-23-2013, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bturkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: tampa,fl,us
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jut hooked up my new set - seems when the channel goes from SD to HD programming it turns pink - any help is greatly appreciated. Last night watched a whole hd movie no issues - watching ESPN HD the issue occurs when regular SD commercial come on then the box goes back to HD
bturkel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 06-23-2013, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Pink briefly, or permanently?
Try setting up box to always output 1080p/1080i signal.
tom669 is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 06-23-2013, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bturkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: tampa,fl,us
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Once it turns pink it sticks - if I switch from one input back to STB input on receiver it goes away - this did not happen on my Pioneer Elite I just pulled down - I have changed HDMI inputs on TV same result. I used a different HDMI cord, same results. I even pulled another Fios box out of a room, same results.

The box is set to 1080i and SD is off
bturkel is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 06-23-2013, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Maybe try another TV to rule out a software / config bug with box?
tom669 is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 06-23-2013, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bturkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: tampa,fl,us
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is not the box I tried two boxes they all do the same thing - my Elite worked fine until I took it down - I think it is the either the SD OD which was off I going to text it in 480i and 480p to see if that helps - as I said we watched a 2 hr movie in HD fine last night - it is only when you ware watching a channel which has some SD commercials on them - it seems to turn pink when is tries to switch back to HD have. For instance Apple TV and Netflix through Apple TV fine I 2 theories

1- the Samsung is bad

2 - the Samsung is incompatiable with my Sony ES receiver
bturkel is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 06-23-2013, 02:28 PM
939
Member
 
939's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Make sure the "RGB Only Mode" is set to OFF.
You'll find it in: Picture > Advanced Settings
939 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 06-23-2013, 03:05 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Over the years i have gotten pink screens from time to time from three different cable DVRs / cable boxes on all four of my Plasma TVs, a small HP/Sharp LCD TV, and a small Toshiba LCD TV - all when connected via HDMI.

There have been others here who have had the same thing happen to them with various TVs. It seems to be a resolution issue or handshake issue from the HDMI source, not a problem with the TV.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 06-23-2013, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bturkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: tampa,fl,us
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I changed the SD override ont the STB from ofd to 480i I think that maybe the issue
bturkel is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 06-23-2013, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bturkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: tampa,fl,us
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope - tried 480i/480p and off - now trying stretch - if it continues I am taking set back - originally had the 55VT60 but it was a hair too wide for my space - I think I will modify my cabinet and go with the 60vt60
bturkel is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 06-24-2013, 05:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bturkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: tampa,fl,us
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it is theSony DA5500ES receiver I have I run all HDI through it - it is doing something when the the picture changes from SD to HD - never had this issue in 4 years -
bturkel is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 06-24-2013, 09:37 PM
Member
 
anis_ber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
it's only when you go thru AV receiver?
did you try to bypass the receiver? directly from STB to TV?
I'd suggest to try another AV receiver too, you would be surprised about various incompatibility, it's crazy to take the TV back when it has nothing to do with TV
Ken Ross likes this.
anis_ber is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn51f8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off