judder or trailing on my panasonic plasma - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 Old 06-23-2013, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
 
NateSommers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys, nate here. been reviewing the forums here for a while and i figured its time to join. i have a panasonic vt50 and had it since earlier this year. been fine so far, did about 100-150 hour break in. been noticing some noticeable trailing or judder, i think is what you call it. this only happens on my comcast 1080i cable box i think. i've watched some blueray dvd's before and either i haven't noticed it or its not as apparent. the best way i can explain it is when the shot pans you can see a trailing effect, kinda like your high on acid or something. is there something in the settings that i'm missing?
NateSommers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 07:24 AM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm actually having the same issue. I'm not sure what setting I need to look out for. I think its the pull down? but some settings are greyed out. Anyone else have thoughts on this?
garthy232 is offline  
post #3 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by NateSommers View Post

hey guys, nate here. been reviewing the forums here for a while and i figured its time to join. i have a panasonic vt50 and had it since earlier this year. been fine so far, did about 100-150 hour break in. been noticing some noticeable trailing or judder, i think is what you call it. this only happens on my comcast 1080i cable box i think. i've watched some blueray dvd's before and either i haven't noticed it or its not as apparent. the best way i can explain it is when the shot pans you can see a trailing effect, kinda like your high on acid or something. is there something in the settings that i'm missing?

I use 3:2 pulldown set to on, motion smoother weak on my vt50 don't see any motion issues

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #4 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 08:05 AM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

I use 3:2 pulldown set to on, motion smoother weak on my vt50 don't see any motion issues

Okay, I'll have to check on my 3:2 pull down setting, I think its greyed out on mine, well at least for the comcast box. I have motion smoother to none I believe. Is that the setting where it seems almost unnatural movement? I noticed this when viewing different TV's at the store. Some look like people in the TV are moving unnatural like they would in live TV if that makes sense? Anyway, I'll give those settings a try. thanks chunon!~
garthy232 is offline  
post #5 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,728
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by garthy232 View Post

Okay, I'll have to check on my 3:2 pull down setting, I think its greyed out on mine, well at least for the comcast box. I have motion smoother to none I believe. Is that the setting where it seems almost unnatural movement? I noticed this when viewing different TV's at the store. Some look like people in the TV are moving unnatural like they would in live TV if that makes sense? Anyway, I'll give those settings a try. thanks chunon!~

3:2 pull down will be greyed out always unless you are feeding it analog channels. If its grey out it means you are feeding it a progressive signal so no need for 3:2 pull down. What setting are you using to begin with?

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360 HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #6 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post

3:2 pull down will be greyed out always unless you are feeding it analog channels. If its grey out it means you are feeding it a progressive signal so no need for 3:2 pull down. What setting are you using to begin with?

OP was referring to problems with 1080i content and that setting does impact moving lines of resolution and it doesnt just show up for analog channels any 1080 i content will be affected by that setting, auto is broken in the 2012 models

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #7 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,728
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

OP was referring to problems with 1080i content and that setting does impact moving lines of resolution and it doesnt just show up for analog channels any 1080 i content will be affected by that setting, auto is broken in the 2012 models



That was my understanding on 3:2 pulldown. how are you getting that option on 1080i content? how are you connected? What do you mean auto is broken on 2012 models?

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360 HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #8 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post

That was my understanding on 3:2 pulldown. how are you getting that option on 1080i content? how are you connected? What do you mean auto is broken on 2012 models?

I upconvert everything to 1080i on my Tivo, the option is there and not greyed out. According to CNET the auto settiing does not detect 1080i and fails the de-interlacing test, it also caused a drop in moving lines of resolution when it in auto or off. That was the case in the 2011 models also, I have always set it to on. Now granted that wouldn't impact 720p content but for 1080i i believe it makes a difference.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #9 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,728
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

I upconvert everything to 1080i on my Tivo, the option is there and not greyed out. According to CNET the auto settiing does not detect 1080i and fails the de-interlacing test, it also caused a drop in moving lines of resolution when it in auto or off. That was the case in the 2011 models also, I have always set it to on. Now granted that wouldn't impact 720p content but for 1080i i believe it makes a difference.

I up convert everything to 1080p on my Onkyo receiver and for cable/satellite it's greyed out. Maybe it's because I have a Darbee in the chain , therefore not giving me that option. How about bluray, do you get that option? Cnet settings for my GT50 is that you have it off.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360 HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #10 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post

I up convert everything to 1080p on my Onkyo receiver and for cable/satellite it's greyed out. Maybe it's because I have a Darbee in the chain , therefore not giving me that option. How about bluray, do you get that option? Cnet settings for my GT50 is that you have it off.

No it only availible for 1080i material, bluray it is not valid. I was only referring to 1080i cable content. If you read the CNET reviews they mention the setting should be on for 1080i sources, I don't know maybe its a placebo effect for me but I know that impacts moving lines of resolution so I leave it on. I believe CNET settings are done with a bluray source in mind so it would follow they would list that setting as in the off position.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #11 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 11:15 AM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious though, when you switch from different content but using the same physical hdmi cable, I assume the TV will not recognize this and the picture settings will remain the same. The reason why I ask is the all-in-one receiver we have is setup this way. So basically the flow goes coax -> cable box -> all-in-one receiver -> TV
garthy232 is offline  
post #12 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by garthy232 View Post

Just curious though, when you switch from different content but using the same physical hdmi cable, I assume the TV will not recognize this and the picture settings will remain the same. The reason why I ask is the all-in-one receiver we have is setup this way. So basically the flow goes coax -> cable box -> all-in-one receiver -> TV

I don't believe that is true it detects whether it is recieving a 1080i signal or not and remembers the setting or disables it if is not appropriate. For me I only deal with the one resolution so it is not an issue

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #13 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 11:19 AM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

I don't believe that is true it detects whether it is recieving a 1080i signal or not and remembers the setting or disables it if is not appropriate. For me I only deal with the one resolution so it is not an issue

Alright, well I guess my concern is when I'm switching between our blu-ray 1080p and cable 1080i. Is this something I need to be concerned with?
garthy232 is offline  
post #14 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by garthy232 View Post

Alright, well I guess my concern is when I'm switching between our blu-ray 1080p and cable 1080i. Is this something I need to be concerned with?

Again it would only be active for 1080i content your bluray is outputting 1080p, pretty easy to confirm set it to on when displaying 1080i from you cable box then switch over to bluray confirm it is greyed out. Im 99.9 % sure it isnt an issue. Are your motion issues only on your cable source or on bluray also ?

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #15 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 11:32 AM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Again it would only be active for 1080i content your bluray is outputting 1080p, pretty easy to confirm set it to on when displaying 1080i from you cable box then switch over to bluray confirm it is greyed out. Im 99.9 % sure it isnt an issue. Are your motion issues only on your cable source or on bluray also ?

Okay. Yes, the motion issues are only with the cable box, and I gues more apparent with certain channels.
garthy232 is offline  
post #16 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by garthy232 View Post

Okay. Yes, the motion issues are only with the cable box, and I gues more apparent with certain channels.

Also as i mentioned above i am a fan of the motion smoother on "weak" again I believe it affects moving lines of resolution

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #17 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,728
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by garthy232 View Post

Okay. Yes, the motion issues are only with the cable box, and I gues more apparent with certain channels.

My guess is your provider. Some HD channels are not as good as others therefore you see blur or other artifacts. Not all HD providers are created equal.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360 HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #18 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 12:56 PM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post

My guess is your provider. Some HD channels are not as good as others therefore you see blur or other artifacts. Not all HD providers are created equal.

Right, I figured this was the case.

So the 3:2 pulldown is active for me, I was able to switch it on "on" and trying out the motion smoother to "weak".

Sorry OP, didn't mean to hijack your thread lol.
garthy232 is offline  
post #19 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Hopefully that reduces your issues has always worked for me

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #20 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 01:08 PM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I really appreciate it. Gonna have to play it out and observe for the next few days or so.
garthy232 is offline  
post #21 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Also make sure sharpness is at 25 or lower that can cause artifacts as well

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #22 of 29 Old 06-24-2013, 04:12 PM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Also make sure sharpness is at 25 or lower that can cause artifacts as well

Okay, keepin' an eye out for 'em.
garthy232 is offline  
post #23 of 29 Old 06-25-2013, 06:12 AM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have my motion smoother set to medium. There was a show in particular last night that really showed the difference between the different motion smoother settings. It had a toy trian set with words on the sides that showed them moving at a good speed from left to right. I had to put motion smoother to at least medium so it wouldn't "trail" or I assume "judder". 3:2 pull down is also set to on, although I'm not sure if I'm supposed to see any noticeable differences? Also, sharpness is at 25, although I think I see some artifcats on moving objects, but perhaps that's because of the incoming signal and not the TV?
garthy232 is offline  
post #24 of 29 Old 06-25-2013, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by garthy232 View Post

So I have my motion smoother set to medium. There was a show in particular last night that really showed the difference between the different motion smoother settings. It had a toy trian set with words on the sides that showed them moving at a good speed from left to right. I had to put motion smoother to at least medium so it wouldn't "trail" or I assume "judder". 3:2 pull down is also set to on, although I'm not sure if I'm supposed to see any noticeable differences? Also, sharpness is at 25, although I think I see some artifcats on moving objects, but perhaps that's because of the incoming signal and not the TV?

Maybe I just don't see the judder but have never had to use medium, 25 would be the max setting can always be lower. I am wondering if you don't havea a hdmi or cable box issue ?

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #25 of 29 Old 06-25-2013, 08:17 AM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Maybe I just don't see the judder but have never had to use medium, 25 would be the max setting can always be lower. I am wondering if you don't havea a hdmi or cable box issue ?

Perhaps its a cable box issue? It is straight hdmi cables from cable box to receiver to tv and I'm pretty sure the cable box is 1080i as that what it displays on the front panel of the cable box.
garthy232 is offline  
post #26 of 29 Old 06-25-2013, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Cuda1169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Maybe I just don't see the judder but have never had to use medium, 25 would be the max setting can always be lower. I am wondering if you don't havea a hdmi or cable box issue ?

There's been a lot written about judder and sometimes it is inherent in the source. I have a 60ST50 and notice judder from my fios box during the rolling end credits of movies. This type of judder is apparent with the motion smoother set to off or weak. With the smoother set to medium or higher, judder disappears but the Soap Opera Effect takes over. I just keep the smoother set to weak for my fios box and it is fine for me and there is none of the dreaded SOE at this setting. When viewing via blu-ray the motion smoother is off and I have no noticeable judder, though I suspect the ST50 is doing some motion smoothing of its own.

Also my fios box can be juddery at times so I have to quickly pause/play live TV and this corrects the issue. So sometimes it can be the cable box.
chunon likes this.
Cuda1169 is offline  
post #27 of 29 Old 06-25-2013, 11:31 AM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuda1169 View Post

There's been a lot written about judder and sometimes it is inherent in the source. I have a 60ST50 and notice judder from my fios box during the rolling end credits of movies. This type of judder is apparent with the motion smoother set to off or weak. With the smoother set to medium or higher, judder disappears but the Soap Opera Effect takes over. I just keep the smoother set to weak for my fios box and it is fine for me and there is none of the dreaded SOE at this setting. When viewing via blu-ray the motion smoother is off and I have no noticeable judder, though I suspect the ST50 is doing some motion smoothing of its own.

Also my fios box can be juddery at times so I have to quickly pause/play live TV and this corrects the issue. So sometimes it can be the cable box.

Yeah see, I hate to overcorrect this issues because of the SOE. I am noticing it now a little on certain cable TV content. It just doesn't look natural to me, so I am thinking I might go back to weak setting and live with it.
garthy232 is offline  
post #28 of 29 Old 06-25-2013, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Cuda1169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I went back and forth between the weak and medium setting as well and decided that weak was the best for my cable box viewing.
Cuda1169 is offline  
post #29 of 29 Old 06-26-2013, 05:37 AM
 
garthy232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, too much SOE on medium, so I am satisfired with weak.
garthy232 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off