Replacing ST60 for more game capable display - need input - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 06-27-2013, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Atty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Panasonic agreed today to let me return my ST60 due to the input lag. I am looking for a new TV now. I'm wondering what the best options are.

I'm still looking at Panasonic because I get a discount with them and the prices are great. I know the S60 is a great option, I don't really care for 3D or smart features, but I don't want to lose too much black levels/IQ (I am not a videophile though) but I am afraid of going down to 2 HDMI ports. I had 4 on my last TV and with 3 I am switching them out every know and again.

I'd appreciate some input from you guys. What are the best options out there? Should I look LED instead? I'm not too versed with the TV world and want to make a good choice.
Atty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 06-27-2013, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
yaomizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
VT or ZT becomes the obvious choice


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

yaomizzle is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 06-27-2013, 12:48 PM
Member
 
gregleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
gregleg is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 06-27-2013, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
BriscoCountyJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
You could get a good low cost Monoprice HDMI switcher unit to deal with extra HDMI inputs if you need them.
BriscoCountyJr is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 06-27-2013, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
yaomizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
U guys are ignoring the fact tht he doesn't wanna sacrifice PQ. Switches won't help PQ if he gets a worse off tv


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

yaomizzle is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 06-27-2013, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Atty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaomizzle View Post

VT or ZT becomes the obvious choice


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
I want to stay in the same price range. VT and ZT are insanely expensive in comparison.
Atty is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 06-27-2013, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Atty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by BriscoCountyJr View Post

You could get a good low cost Monoprice HDMI switcher unit to deal with extra HDMI inputs if you need them.
What quality loss or issues exist using HDMI switches?
Atty is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 06-27-2013, 03:57 PM
Senior Member
 
yaomizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Well unless you want to go to the mirror like display of the s60 you don't really have options


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

yaomizzle is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 06-27-2013, 05:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Atty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaomizzle View Post

Well unless you want to go to the mirror like display of the s60 you don't really have options


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Is it really that bad? I have a semi bright room, I can control it by closing the two window shades but sometimes I like their to be light in it.
Atty is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 06-28-2013, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
huyqt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do you guys think about "downgrading" to the ST50 or GT50?

I'm in the same boat as OP.
huyqt is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 06-28-2013, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Not really a huge downgrade IMO and you get less game lag

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 06-28-2013, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
badmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The s64?
Moonchilde likes this.
badmeng is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 06-29-2013, 09:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Moonchilde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 104
S60, S64, F500, or F5500.
Moonchilde is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 06-29-2013, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
yaomizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonchilde View Post

S60, S64, F500, or F5500.

All of these are step downs/big step downs and don't the samsungs have bad input lag?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

yaomizzle is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 06-29-2013, 09:57 PM
Senior Member
 
PogueSquadron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
A step down in PQ, but a major step up in input lag, at least on the S60/S64. It all depends on what your standards are for PQ and whether or not you care about 3D. the S60/S64 also doesn't handle 24p properly, but I've read this is mostly avoided by having the BD player do the 24p conversion instead of the TV.
PogueSquadron is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off