Vertical black bar on 42" panasonic plasma - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-20-2013, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
djpattiecake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
got this from a friend. 42PZ80U, the left 3 inches of the screen are black. Anyone know if theres a circuit panel or something I can replace to fix this?

djpattiecake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-20-2013, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 123
If you see no lines or anything at all in the bar, it's reasonably likely the connector is simply loose or the C board is bad.

But if you see any lines or pixels lighting up in the dead bar, the plasma panel is bad.
Straybeat and djpattiecake like this.
tom669 is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-20-2013, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
djpattiecake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom669 View Post

If you see no lines or anything at all in the bar, it's reasonably likely the connector is simply loose or the C board is bad.

But if you see any lines or pixels lighting up in the dead bar, the plasma panel is bad.

its pitch black, no pixels, lines or anything. Is there a service manual available for these? I need to know how to get at that C board/connector
djpattiecake is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 07-20-2013, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 123
PM me, I'll forward you the service manual link (free.)

Can't post it here because Panasonic patrol these forums and they're not partial to having service manuals released.
djpattiecake likes this.
tom669 is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-20-2013, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
djpattiecake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems like I need a C2 buffer board. Does that sound right?
djpattiecake is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-20-2013, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 123
(manual sent)

Locate the region of panel affected. In this case left of screen from front so locate the board on the back of the panel. There are two C boards on 42" 1080p PDP. Your fault is on C2, the righthand board (looking from rear of set.)

With power off (unplug set) disconnect last C board connector. Plug it in again. Check if picture comes back. If not replace C2. If pic does come back you may need to resecure connector and consider contact cleaner on it.

NOTE: Never disconnect/reconnect these connectors with power on, otherwise you could fry the plasma panel permanently!
djpattiecake likes this.
tom669 is online now  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-20-2013, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
djpattiecake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks ill give that a try!
djpattiecake is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-20-2013, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
djpattiecake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK I may have screwed it up even more, im not sure.


I unplugged every ribbon cable on the far left and replugged them back in snugly.

Then i powered on the TV and not only did I still have the vertical line on the left, but now I have horizontal black lines all over the place.


Is this thing fried?
djpattiecake is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-20-2013, 03:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 123
You did the ones on the left of the panel? That is a common problem. They're a bugger to get aligned but you haven't broken anything, just unplug them and line them up perfectly. When you plug the connector in, you'll feel a little "click" when you plug it in if you got it right. Of course, power must be off while doing this.

Your connectors of interest run along the bottom of the panel, not the side.
djpattiecake likes this.
tom669 is online now  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-20-2013, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
djpattiecake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK. i got rid of the horizontal lines. *phew*

i unplugged and plugged the bottommost right panel ribbon cable and its still black. I unplugged it again and powered on the TV to make sure I had the right cable. It was all white and crazy looking. I plugged it back in, still pitch black. Now I just need a new c2 panel I guess. Thanks so much tom.

Any idea how to remove this panel? it seems like its behind a million things including the support to the stand!
djpattiecake is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-20-2013, 11:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 123
You have to take the stand off to get to it.
djpattiecake likes this.
tom669 is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off