Horizontal Bars from Cable Box/Wii - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-26-2013, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
monkeymonkey35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I'll just lay it all out:


The gear:
Panasonic Veira 50 inch Plasma
Denon AVR 3805 Receiver
Sony DVD player
Verizon Set Top Box
Verizon Modem/Wireless Router
Turntable plugged into receiver power outlet
Nintendo Wii
Very old house

Everything is plugged into one surge protector, on one outlet.

Upon installing the Verizon Cable TV, I noticed extremely faint horizontal bars. They only occured when the STB was connected and powered off. When you turned the STB on, they were gone completely (even if the image was very dark). So, I was convinced it was fine. At this time, the cable box was connected via component directly into the TV. Audio would output from the TV into the receiver via optical. Everything was fine.

Being as I have two other video outputting devices (the DVD and Wii), I decided to run them all through the receiver. Now, I get stronger horizontal bars that don't go away from video that goes through the receiver.

Cable TV: very strong horizontal bars
Wii: weaker horizontal bars
HDMI from computer to TV: no bars
TV apps (netflix): no bars

I tried turning the cable box off (and unplugging it), and the Wii still emits bars, so that might rule out a COAX grounding issue?
One other thing I tried was running the cable box to a different power outlet, and another time running the receiver from a different power outlet. This didn't fix it.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! (please let me know if there's a specific product you use!)
monkeymonkey35 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 07-26-2013, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,690
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeymonkey35 View Post

So, I'll just lay it all out:


The gear:
Panasonic Veira 50 inch Plasma
Denon AVR 3805 Receiver
Sony DVD player
Verizon Set Top Box
Verizon Modem/Wireless Router
Turntable plugged into receiver power outlet
Nintendo Wii
Very old house

Everything is plugged into one surge protector, on one outlet.

Upon installing the Verizon Cable TV, I noticed extremely faint horizontal bars. They only occured when the STB was connected and powered off. When you turned the STB on, they were gone completely (even if the image was very dark). So, I was convinced it was fine. At this time, the cable box was connected via component directly into the TV. Audio would output from the TV into the receiver via optical. Everything was fine.

Being as I have two other video outputting devices (the DVD and Wii), I decided to run them all through the receiver. Now, I get stronger horizontal bars that don't go away from video that goes through the receiver.

Cable TV: very strong horizontal bars
Wii: weaker horizontal bars
HDMI from computer to TV: no bars
TV apps (netflix): no bars

I tried turning the cable box off (and unplugging it), and the Wii still emits bars, so that might rule out a COAX grounding issue?
One other thing I tried was running the cable box to a different power outlet, and another time running the receiver from a different power outlet. This didn't fix it.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! (please let me know if there's a specific product you use!)

Post a picture of the problem.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28'sCenter Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II (new)Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3Receiver - Onkyo RC-360HTPC - Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 07-26-2013, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
monkeymonkey35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not going to be near the TV in question for a few hours. They're really just faint horizontal bars running up the screen. Bar Hum.
monkeymonkey35 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 07-27-2013, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
monkeymonkey35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did I post this in the wrong forum?
monkeymonkey35 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
monkeymonkey35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone?? This is really frustrating. Attached is a photo of the issue.


monkeymonkey35 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,690
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 152
So you say this happened when you installed the Verizon cable box? And you can see them on cable and wii but not on computer? This would rule out the tv, if it was you would see them in every input or source. Have you tried an HDMI cable from cable to tv? Maybe your component inputs are no good.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28'sCenter Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II (new)Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3Receiver - Onkyo RC-360HTPC - Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
monkeymonkey35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

It started when I connected the video components to my receiver. From the receiver they go to the TV.
The TV is fine, I'm sure of that.
Before I had things going through the receiver, there were very faint bars, but only from the cable box, and they were indiscernible while watching.
monkeymonkey35 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,690
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Try an HDMI cable first from cable box straight to tv. And go from there.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28'sCenter Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II (new)Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3Receiver - Onkyo RC-360HTPC - Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
monkeymonkey35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will definitely try that to troubleshoot. There are a lot of benefits from running things through the receiver, so if possible, I will be shooting for that. Thanks.
monkeymonkey35 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,690
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeymonkey35 View Post

I will definitely try that to troubleshoot. There are a lot of benefits from running things through the receiver, so if possible, I will be shooting for that. Thanks.

Yeah of course I have everything running through my receiver as well, we're just trying to find out the problem first.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28'sCenter Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II (new)Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3Receiver - Onkyo RC-360HTPC - Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
njera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
How are you running audio from the computer to receiver... optical, coax, or analog RCA? PCs typically connect audio ground to case ground, which is usually ok but sometimes can create a ground loop.
njera is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
monkeymonkey35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Verizon box to TV via HDMI works perfectly, no interference.

@njera, audio from Verizon Box and Wii goes into receiver via RCA.
I think there is a ground loop, but I don't know how to defeat it.
monkeymonkey35 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
njera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Actually, I was wondering about: "HDMI from computer to TV: no bars"
Do you have any audio running from the computer to your receiver? Just want to try to rule things out one by one.
njera is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
monkeymonkey35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, sorry, gotcha. It goes to the receiver via digital optical. (Computer HDMI->Tv->Optical->Receiver)
monkeymonkey35 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic 50 Inch Plasma Tcp50x5 , Denon Avr 3805s Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - Tcp50x5 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off