I just got a TC-P42S60 and I'm new to smart tv's and have a question about netflix - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 08-06-2013, 01:56 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys is it normal for other video settings to be disabled or not show up when using the netflix app built into the television. I'm wondering because I'm watching American Dad before it was widescreen so I have two black bars on the side and don't have an option to make the side black bars light grey or stretch the screen... will this hurt my new plasma?

Also I have pixel orbiter set to "on", when the only other option is "auto," is "on" the best option for keeping the screen from burning?

Thanks guys.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-06-2013, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by jboom91 View Post

Hey guys is it normal for other video settings to be disabled or not show up when using the netflix app built into the television. I'm wondering because I'm watching American Dad before it was widescreen so I have two black bars on the side and don't have an option to make the side black bars light grey or stretch the screen... will this hurt my new plasma?

Also I have pixel orbiter set to "on", when the only other option is "auto," is "on" the best option for keeping the screen from burning?

Thanks guys.

I personally would not run anything but full screen material that has no logos for the first 100 hours. Others say you no longer need to burn in a plasma, but I believe it will greatly reduce the chance of any permanent image retention down the road. Think plasma like a ton of tiny candles. When you first light the candle, it will burn fast and bright. Over time it will dim a little and burn much slower. If some candles are burning at a different rate then the others, you will have temporary or possibly (not very likely) permanent image retention.
jboom91 likes this.