Darbee problem - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-18-2013, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dirtold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is anyone using a Darbee with their F8500?

I am having problems with mine. The Darbee is working
and I can do demo and increase and decrease the amount of processing.
What I cannot do is have the menu appear on my screen. I therefore do not
know how much control I am using. I'm guessing that the Samsung must be
preventing this. I have 6' HDMI cables from my STB to the Darbee and then
another 6' HDMI to the TV.

I have already returned the Darbee and they found no issues. I received my original
Darbee back and it still does as before.

It worked fine on my previous TV.

I guess I might have a Darbee for sale.
Dirtold is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 08-18-2013, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Bruno, California
Posts: 1,634
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 130
I'm using a Darbee on my F8500, as well as on my D7000. I've even tried daisy-chaining my two Darbee's on my D7000, which also worked.

I haven't tried to bring up the menu (did all of my settings options on my D7000 before I got my F8500). I'll try it in about an hour and report back.

By the way, it shows how much I'm using on mine. I just haven't brought up the actual menu is all, but I assume if I can do all of that, then it works.

Worst case scenario is that you can keep pressing Down until your thing is all the way to 0% (no more than 24 clicks, right?), then bring it up to the number that you want. In other words, 10 clicks up would be 50%.

Living Room: Samsung PN60F8500 PDP / Anthem MRX 720 / Klipsch RC-62 II / Klipsch RF-82 II (x2) / SVS PC13-Ultra / Sony MDR-7506 Professional / Sony PS3 / DirecTV HR44-500 / DarbeeVision DVP-5000 Darblet / Panamax M5400-PM / miniDSP UMIK‑1 USB
Bedroom: Samsung PN59D7000 PDP / Energy Power Bar Elite Soundbar & SW / Astro A50 / Sony PS4 / DirecTV C41W-500 / DarbeeVision DVP-5000 Darblet / Hauppauge HD PVR 2
Classroom: SMART Board X800 / Yamaha RX-V667 / Insignia NS-B2111 (x2) / SVS SB-2000
muffinmcfluffin is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 08-19-2013, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dirtold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks Muffin, this should solve my problem..
Will try it later today and report back.
Dirtold is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 08-19-2013, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Bruno, California
Posts: 1,634
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Sorry to not report back. The menu definitely pops up on mine.

Living Room: Samsung PN60F8500 PDP / Anthem MRX 720 / Klipsch RC-62 II / Klipsch RF-82 II (x2) / SVS PC13-Ultra / Sony MDR-7506 Professional / Sony PS3 / DirecTV HR44-500 / DarbeeVision DVP-5000 Darblet / Panamax M5400-PM / miniDSP UMIK‑1 USB
Bedroom: Samsung PN59D7000 PDP / Energy Power Bar Elite Soundbar & SW / Astro A50 / Sony PS4 / DirecTV C41W-500 / DarbeeVision DVP-5000 Darblet / Hauppauge HD PVR 2
Classroom: SMART Board X800 / Yamaha RX-V667 / Insignia NS-B2111 (x2) / SVS SB-2000
muffinmcfluffin is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-19-2013, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 3,565
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1076 Post(s)
Liked: 824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtold View Post

Is anyone using a Darbee with their F8500?

I am having problems with mine. The Darbee is working
and I can do demo and increase and decrease the amount of processing.
What I cannot do is have the menu appear on my screen. I therefore do not
know how much control I am using. I'm guessing that the Samsung must be
preventing this. I have 6' HDMI cables from my STB to the Darbee and then
another 6' HDMI to the TV.

I have already returned the Darbee and they found no issues. I received my original
Darbee back and it still does as before.

It worked fine on my previous TV.

I guess I might have a Darbee for sale.

Pressing Menu only displays what mode you are using and allows you to use select settings or Demo. Pressing the more or less Darbee, lets you see what mode you are on and let's you adjust more or less. This is how you know how much adjustment you are using.

Media room- LG 4K OLED EG9600, Pioneer Elite VSX-90, Samsung 4K K8500, Klipsch Gallery G28's, Klipsch Sub 12, Klipsch RS-52 II, Optik HD cable

Living room- Sony 4K 79XBRX900B, Onkyo RC-360,HTPC, Klipsch Reference R-62II, Rc52II,PS4

Gaming room -Panasonic ST60, PS3, Wii
Latinoheat is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-19-2013, 07:25 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,883
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 766
FYI there is a Darbee thread where various issues are covered

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1399154/darbee-vision-darblet

Randy
Sony 55W800B, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo 2-Tuner Premiere, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890, MX-780, MX-450, MX-500 Remotes.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-20-2013, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dirtold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by muffinmcfluffin View Post

Sorry to not report back. The menu definitely pops up on mine.

Thanks, I still have a few things to try. If they don't work I will revisit the Darbee people. They have been very helpful.
It is important that you get the menu; I just need to figure out why I don't. Despite all this, I could live with doing 50% as you suggested.
You can play with the settings too often.
Dirtold is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off