IR on my vt60!!!! :( - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-21-2013, 10:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
fenderhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I passed out while playing Skyrim and it was stuck on the pause menu for over an hour. Now I have part of the HUD stuck on the screen, its really saddening me considering I paid so much for this TV and I feel like I ruined it.... It's very slight, but I can see these lines at the top, the word "quest" and some other skyrim-esque shapes, faint but they are there. Was running it ok THX cinema, 50 contrast, -7 brightness, 50 color, 0 tint, 50 sharpness, and warm2 color temp.pixel orbiter was on so You could imagine my surprise and frustration when I woke up and realized my tv may be ruined. I lowered the contrast to 40, brightness to -10. Is there anything I can do to fix this? frown.gif
fenderhead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-21-2013, 10:52 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
First ting is to run the screen wiper for an hour or so.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-21-2013, 10:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Phil17108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Yes there is a way not to do that again DON'T DRINK and play video games at the same time
Phil17108 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 08-21-2013, 11:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
fenderhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil17108 View Post

Yes there is a way not to do that again DON'T DRINK and play video games at the same time
I actually came home from a long and very early morning shift at work, and just relaxed a little too much I suppose. No drinking involved, just sleep deprivation. I'm just real upset, and freaking out about my tv. Before I bought it I remember reading reviews, and they had said in order to do permanent damage that you'd have to leave an image on for like 13 hours or something crazy. My console shuts off after an hour of being left allne, and TV goes within 15 mins of no signal. Will the screen wipe really work?
fenderhead is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-21-2013, 11:10 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
That's why they built it into the settings. You left a static screen in place for under 2 hours, so IR is in all likelihood the worst that has happened. Only when it becomes permanent can it be described as damage or burn-in.
fenderhead likes this.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-21-2013, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
fenderhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay. I'm going to run the screen wipe for an hour or so, we'll see what happens. Thanks.
fenderhead is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-21-2013, 11:53 PM
Member
 
Oimagination's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
if it was only left on for an hour it should go away pretty quick just by watching normal content.
Oimagination is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-21-2013, 11:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
fenderhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oimagination View Post

if it was only left on for an hour it should go away pretty quick just by watching normal content.
so I can watch a blu ray or Netflix and it should be okay?
fenderhead is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-22-2013, 01:27 AM
Member
 
dingo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
A couple things to note:
  1. THX modes turn off pixel orbiting, so I wouldn't recommend them for gaming. You can get just as good a picture using Cinema or Custom modes and not lose pixel orbiting (if you want, try settings from CNET, D-Nice, AVForums, etc. as a starting point).
  2. You might want to go into Skyrim's settings and lower the HUD opacity. Doing so wouldn't help with leaving the pause screen up, but it would reduce the potential IR of the compass at the top of the screen.
fenderhead likes this.
dingo99 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 09-27-2013, 05:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 191
fenderhead.

So.......did the IR eventually go away?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc P60vt60 60 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Tc P55vt60 55 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off