Samsung PN60E550D1F no picture, has sound, capacitors look ok - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Robb009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Samsung PN60E550D1F lost it's picture. It still has sound. I took the back panel off and all the capacitors look ok. There are no signs of excessive heat on any of the boards. Is there a way to test the boards to isolate the failed board? I was hoping to just replace a few capacitors, but now I'm stumped. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Robb009 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 06:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 70
In a dark room, can you see any glow from the screen?
tom669 is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Robb009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for responding. No there is no glow at all. I even put my eye up to it in a dark room and nada. It's just out of warranty and didn't get used that much. Everything looks so nice and perfect on the inside :/
Robb009 is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 70
OK, do you have a digital multimeter available, or can you borrow one? You will need it to diagnose where the fault is.
tom669 is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Robb009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I've got a multimeter & been probing around and finding some voltages on most boards but I don't know what I'm doing or what voltages I should be finding. 5.5v seems rather common. Thanks, again, for responding.
Robb009 is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 70
OK, on the back metal plate of the plasma display panel there is a sticker marked SAMSUNG with VS, VA and other voltages written on it. This is the "panel sticker". Please note the voltages or take a picture of the sticker for me to see. Typical range for Vs and Va on 2012 series Samsung is 205 to 215V and 50V to 58V respectively.

Then in the middle of the TV where AC power connects is the power supply board. There should be test points for Vs and Va on there, among others. Set your DMM on volts DC; if it has separate ranges, select 600V or 1000V. The black probe goes on an exposed part of the chassis and the red probe on the test point. Check the voltage matches the panel sticker within about 2 volts.
tom669 is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Robb009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ugh, lost internet.

It's says Vs - 211; Va - 57. On the power board, I'm getting VS-TP - 10v; VA-TP - 0v. The fuse passes an ohm test. I think you're on to something. You're good!
Robb009 is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Just to confirm were those voltages measured while the set had audio and would normally have a picture?

Does it spike up at any time or is it permanently measuring around those values?

At this point it is either a power supply fault (unlikely) or a Y-main, X-main or control board fault, reasonably likely.

Can you supply a photo of the overall chassis layout so the Y-main and X-main can be isolated?
tom669 is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Robb009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here you go.
Yes, it powered on I heard my ps3 intro sound before I checked voltages and they were steady
I noticed a spark on the large black transistor looking component when I tried to do an ohm reading on the IC in the following
Robb009 is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Where is that transistor located?

Try powering the set on with both the top orange and bottom orange large boards disconnected from the power board and from each other. Leave the flat white ribbon on each connected, and leave them connected to their respective buffer/extension boards (green and orange.) Do Vs and Va briefly rise to their rated voltages? (It will shut down due to Y-main/X-main fault detect. No image expected on display.)
tom669 is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Robb009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Transister like component was on the power supply...I hope I didn't mess it up. The Va & Vs did not rise.
With the x & y boards disconnected, it will not power up & voltage is zero. With x and/or y connected, Vs spikes around 200v & rapidly decreases to 10v while Va spikes around 40 something volts & decreases to zero. I appreciate your assistance and lesson. Thank you.
Robb009 is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 70
OK. Below the power board, and underneath the stand bracket is a small green circuit board. It should have an LED on it. The LED will either blink once a second, indicating normal operation, or it will blink once every 5 seconds, indicating a fault. What does it do?
tom669 is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Robb009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Once every five seconds. You are a saint!
Robb009 is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 02:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 70
OK. In which case, replace both the X-main and Y-main boards.

Once place to buy:
http://www.shopjimmy.com/samsung-bn96-22115a-y-main-board.htm
http://www.shopjimmy.com/samsung-bn96-22114a-x-main-board.htm

You may be able to buy them cheaper elsewhere. Replacing both is recommended due to how the energy recovery circuit chains the two boards together. Failure of one may cause damage to the other.

Check PBA (BN44-xxxxxxxA) matches, as well as REV number.

After doing so, apply all firmware updates available for your model to avoid repeat failure.

If you PM me, I'll send you the Service Fast Track guide for this panel. I can't distribute it here directly, as Samsung don't like that.
tom669 is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Robb009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, Tom, I wasn't expecting to get through this so easily. Thank you very much for walking me through this problem. I learned a lot today. You and avsforum are awesome! Cheers!
Robb009 is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 09-16-2013, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Glad to help. Anything saved from landfill is a victory. Please reply back if the problem is fixed for future reference.
tom669 is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 06-28-2014, 06:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Fixed?????

Hello, Robb009 did you ever get the tv fixed.... which board was the problem... Thanks..
hooptydude95 is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 06-28-2014, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooptydude95 View Post
Hello, Robb009 did you ever get the tv fixed.... which board was the problem... Thanks..
I believe it was eventually determined that the panel was cracked and this was causing his fault.
tom669 is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 06-28-2014, 04:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i like that,Copy:This is the "panel sticker". Please note the voltages or take a picture of the sticker for me to see. Typical range for Vs and Va on 2012 series Samsung is 205 to 215V and 50V to 58V respectively.
onetwosrecv is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn60e550 Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off